DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is less than 50 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 14 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claims recite the limitation “said drive wheel”, however there is no drive wheel disclosed in the specification. Further, the Examiner is unsure if the Applicant is making reference to one of the aforementioned wheels, or to a newly cited wheel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost (United States Patent Application US 2020/0346871 A1) in view of Ballard (United States Patent US 4,858,752).
Claims 2, 3, 6, 8-10, 13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost (United States Patent Application US 2020/0346871 A1) in view of Ballard (United States Patent US 4,858,752) in further view of Frank (United States Patent US 2,816,453A).
Claims 4, 5, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost (United States Patent Application US 2020/0346871 A1) in view of Ballard (United States Patent US 4,858,752) in further view of Frank (United States Patent US 2,816,453A) and Fenile (United States Patent Application US 2017/0225693A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Frost discloses a non-lubricated chain comprising a plurality of link segments, each of which comprises a load link, a drive link, and a guide link;(Figure 1: Bakery chain segment 1)said load link comprising a load link body extending from a tail end and a leading end; said load link body being carried on two parallel vertically oriented all load wheels on either side of said load link body, which roll in said track on a fixed axel extending through an axel opening in said load link body; (Figure 3: Drive link 10 and load wheels 20)said load link body comprising a lateral coupling opening at its tail end adapted to couple to said drive link, and a vertical link coupling opening at its leading end adapted to couple to said guide link;(Figure 3: Vertical link pin hole 11 and lateral link pin hole 12)said drive link comprising a "U" shaped body, having a base with two spaced legs extending forwardly and adapted to receive and couple to said tail end of said load link between said two legs; said base of said U being adapted to couple to said guide link;(Figure 1: Tail link 50)said guide link being comprised of vertically spaced top and bottom guide link plates carrying a horizontally oriented all polymeric guide wheel rotating on a fixed axel extending vertically between said top and bottom guide plates through an axel receiving opening in said all polymeric guide wheel; said guide link top and bottom plates extending forward form said guide wheel to a forward end where they are adapted to embrace top and bottom and couple with said base of said drive wheel; (Figure 2: Side links 30 and guide wheel 40 with guide wheel axle 41)said top and bottom guide plates extending rearwardly from said guide wheel to a tail end where they are adapted to couple with the leading end of said load link.(Figure 2: Links 30 connected by side link pin 31).
However, Frost does not disclose A "no lube" conveyor comprising: a non-lubricated conveyor chain and non-lubricated track in which said non-lubricated chain travels; comprising polymeric wheels.
Ballard discloses a similar "no lube" conveyor comprising: a non-lubricated conveyor chain and non-lubricated track in which said non-lubricated chain travels; to allow for a conveyor system that eliminates the need for continuous lubrication that can cause contamination of food products being processed (Column 1, line 20-35).polymeric wheels(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost to include the non-lubricating properties as taught by Ballard. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveyor system that eliminates the need for continuous lubrication that can cause contamination of food products being processed (Column 1, line 20-35).
Regarding Claim 2, Frost in view of Ballard discloses the no lube conveyor of claim 1, as seen above.
However, Frost in view of Ballard does not disclose in said coupling between said load link and said drive link, and said coupling between said drive link and said guide link and said guide link and said load link are all fitted with polymeric bushings to prevent contact between said coupled links.
Frank discloses a similar no-lube conveyor comprising in said coupling between said load link and said drive link, and said coupling between said drive link and said guide link and said guide link and said load link are all fitted with polymeric bushings to prevent contact between said coupled links.(Column 2, lines 13-26: "Thus, a very thin walled Nylon liner 16 is provided between the pin 13 and the bushing 12, this liner being preferably split longitudinally to allow for thermal expansion under operating conditions and being fitted closely to the interior bore of the bushing 12. A Nylon roller sleeve 15 is fitted over the bushing 12, this sleeve being a loose fit on the bushing so that it may rotate freely thereon. Additionally, a very thin Nylon disc or washer 17 is provided between the side plates 18 and 19, to reduce friction between these parts without substantially increasing the overall width of the chain to a point where any appreciable alteration is made in standard chain specifications for most industrial applications.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost in view of Ballard to include the bushings as taught by Frank. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for the utmost sanitary conditions when handling certain products by eliminating metal to metal contact of the movable parts of the chain (Column 1, lines 35-58).
Regarding claim 3, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 2, as seen above. Frost further discloses in which said track is enclosed.(Figures 1 and 2: Track shown around links 1).
Regarding claim 4, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 3, as seen above
However, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank does not disclose in which said track is made of stainless steel.
Fenile discloses a similar no-lube conveyor in which said track is made of stainless steel.(Paragraph 0140: "The runner rail can be of plastic. The runner rail can be of metal, such as aluminum or steel, in particular stainless steel. The runner rail can be designed of one part or of several parts. The runner rail can be an extruded profile. The runner rail can be a shaped profile that is shaped, for example, from sheet metal.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost in view of Ballard and Frank to include the properties as taught by Fenile. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a stable, secure, quiet and reliable movement of the carriage along the runner rail, in particular also with travel past bends, which is to say curved travel (Paragraph 0016).
Regarding Claim 5, Frost in view of Ballard, Frank and Fenile discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 4, as seen above. Ballard further discloses in which said all polymeric load wheels, guide wheels and polymeric bushings are made of high temperature polymer.(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
Regarding claim 6, Frost in view of Ballard and Frank discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 2, as seen above. Ballard further discloses in which said all polymeric load wheels, guide wheels and polymeric bushings are made of high temperature polymer.(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
Regarding claim 7, Frost in view of Ballard discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 1, as seen above. Ballard further discloses in which said all polymeric load wheels and guide wheels are made of high temperature polymer.(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.").
Regarding Claim 8, Frost discloses a non-lubricated chain comprising a plurality of link segments, each of which comprises a load link, a drive link, and a guide link;(Figure 1: Bakery chain segment 1)said load link comprising a load link body extending from a tail end and a leading end; said load link body being carried on two parallel vertically oriented all polymeric load wheels on either side of said load link body, which roll in said track on an axle extending through an axel opening in said load link body (Figure 3: Drive link 10 and load wheels 20) said load link body comprising a lateral coupling opening at its tail end adapted to couple to said drive link, and a vertical link coupling opening at its leading end adapted to couple to said guide link;(Figure 3: Vertical link pin hole 11 and lateral link pin hole 12)said drive link comprising a "U" shaped body, having a base with two spaced legs extending forwardly and adapted to receive and couple to said tail end of said load link between said two legs; said base of said U being adapted to couple to said guide link;(Figure 1: Tail link 50)said guide link being comprised of vertically spaced top and bottom guide link plates carrying a horizontally oriented all polymeric guide wheel rotating on a fixed axel extending vertically between said top and bottom guide plates through an axel receiving opening in said all polymeric guide wheel;(Figure 2: Side links 30 and guide wheel 40 with guide wheel axle 41)said guide link top and bottom plates extending forward form said guide wheel to a forward end where they are adapted to embrace top and bottom and couple with said base of said drive wheel; said top and bottom guide plates extending rearwardly from said guide wheel to a tail end where they are adapted to couple with the leading end of said load link.(Figure 2: Links 30 connected by side link pin 31)
However, Frost does not disclose A "no lube" conveyor comprising: a non-lubricated conveyor chain and non-lubricated track in which said non-lubricated chain travels; which rotates with said all polymeric load wheel with polymeric bushings at its ends; and polymeric wheels and bushings.
Ballard discloses a similar “no lube” conveyor comprising A "no lube" conveyor comprising: a non-lubricated conveyor chain and non-lubricated track in which said non-lubricated chain travels;(Column 1, lines 6-8: "This invention relates in general to conveyor systems and more particularly to plastic wheel assemblies for use with overhead conveyor systems.") polymeric wheels and bushings(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost to include the non-lubricating properties as taught by Ballard. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveyor system that eliminates the need for continuous lubrication that can cause contamination of food products being processed (Column 1, line 20-35).
Frank discloses a similar “no lube” conveyor which rotates with said all polymeric load wheel with polymeric bushings at its ends;(Column 2, lines 13-26: "Thus, a very thin walled Nylon liner 16 is provided between the pin 13 and the bushing 12, this liner being preferably split longitudinally to allow for thermal expansion under operating conditions and being fitted closely to the interior bore of the bushing 12. A Nylon roller sleeve 15 is fitted over the bushing 12, this sleeve being a loose fit on the bushing so that it may rotate freely thereon. Additionally, a very thin Nylon disc or washer 17 is provided between the side plates 18 and 19, to reduce friction between these parts without substantially increasing the overall width of the chain to a point where any appreciable alteration is made in standard chain specifications for most industrial applications.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost to include the bushings as taught by Frank. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for the utmost sanitary conditions when handling certain products by eliminating metal to metal contact of the movable parts of the chain (Column 1, lines 35-58).
Regarding Claim 9, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank discloses the “no lube” conveyor of claim 8, as seen above. Frost discloses wherein in which said guide wheel also rotates with its axel extending through said axel opening in said guide,(Figure 2: Side links 30 and guide wheel 40 with guide wheel axle 41), and further Frank discloses fitted with polymeric bushings at its ends.(Column 2, lines 13-26: "Thus, a very thin walled Nylon liner 16 is provided between the pin 13 and the bushing 12, this liner being preferably split longitudinally to allow for thermal expansion under operating conditions and being fitted closely to the interior bore of the bushing 12. A Nylon roller sleeve 15 is fitted over the bushing 12, this sleeve being a loose fit on the bushing so that it may rotate freely thereon. Additionally, a very thin Nylon disc or washer 17 is provided between the side plates 18 and 19, to reduce friction between these parts without substantially increasing the overall width of the chain to a point where any appreciable alteration is made in standard chain specifications for most industrial applications.")
Regarding Claim 10, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank discloses the “no lube” conveyor of claim 9, as seen above. Frost discloses in which said track is enclosed.(Figures 1 and 2: Track shown around links 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank discloses the “no lube” conveyor of claim 10, as seen above.
However, Frost in view of Ballard and Frank does not disclose in which said track is made of stainless steel.
Fenile discloses a similar no-lube conveyor in which said track is made of stainless steel.(Paragraph 0140: "The runner rail can be of plastic. The runner rail can be of metal, such as aluminum or steel, in particular stainless steel. The runner rail can be designed of one part or of several parts. The runner rail can be an extruded profile. The runner rail can be a shaped profile that is shaped, for example, from sheet metal.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost in view of Ballard and Frank to include the properties as taught by Fenile. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a stable, secure, quiet and reliable movement of the carriage along the runner rail, in particular also with travel past bends, which is to say curved travel (Paragraph 0016).
Regarding Claim 12, Frost in view of Ballard, Frank and Fenile discloses the “no lube” conveyor of claim 11, as seen about. Ballard further discloses in which said all polymeric load wheels, guide wheels and polymeric bushings are made of high temperature polymer.(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
Regarding Claim 13, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 9, as seen above. Ballard further discloses in which said all polymeric load wheels, guide wheels and polymeric bushings are made of high temperature polymer.(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
Regarding Claim 14, Frost in view of Ballard discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 1, as seen above. Ballard further discloses in which said all polymeric load wheels and guide wheels are made of high temperature polymer.(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
Regarding Claim 15, Frost discloses A method of proofing bread and liked goods for baking comprises employing a "no lube" conveyor comprising: a non-lubricated bakery conveyor chain and non-lubricated track in which said non-lubricated bakery chain travels; employing all load wheels and all guide wheels in said bakery chain and said track and advancing said non-lubricated bakery chain on said non-lubricated track through a proofing oven.(Paragraph 0002: "Conveyor chains, including without limitation floor mounted, apparatus mounted and overhead mounted, are used in numerous manufacturing and processing industries. They comprise links joined by link pins. The chains are typically supported either directly or indirectly by load bearing wheels which run in a supporting track. The so called “bakery chains” are examples of chains which are directly supported by load bearing wheels. At least some of the links (drive links) include load bearing wheels which support the chain vertically, as well as horizontal guide wheels which are load bearing when the chain travels around a curve or a corner. In some systems the chains are supported by trolleys which include load bearing wheels.").
However, Frost does not disclose comprising polymeric wheels and refraining from lubricating chain.
Ballard discloses a similar no-lube conveyor comprising polymeric wheels(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")and refraining from lubricating chain (Column 1, lines 6-8: "This invention relates in general to conveyor systems and more particularly to plastic wheel assemblies for use with overhead conveyor systems.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost to include the non-lubricating properties as taught by Ballard. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveyor system that eliminates the need for continuous lubrication that can cause contamination of food products being processed (Column 1, line 20-35).
Regarding Claim 16, Frost discloses A method of baking bread and liked goods in a high temperature baking oven comprising employing a "no lube" conveyor comprising: a non-lubricated bakery conveyor chain and non-lubricated track in which said non-lubricated bakery chain travels; employing all load wheels and all guide wheels in said bakery chain, and said track and advancing said non-lubricated bakery chain on said non-lubricated track through a high temperature bakery oven.(Paragraph 0002: "Conveyor chains, including without limitation floor mounted, apparatus mounted and overhead mounted, are used in numerous manufacturing and processing industries. They comprise links joined by link pins. The chains are typically supported either directly or indirectly by load bearing wheels which run in a supporting track. The so called “bakery chains” are examples of chains which are directly supported by load bearing wheels. At least some of the links (drive links) include load bearing wheels which support the chain vertically, as well as horizontal guide wheels which are load bearing when the chain travels around a curve or a corner. In some systems the chains are supported by trolleys which include load bearing wheels.").
However, Frost does not disclose polymeric wheels which are made from high temperature polymers, and refraining from lubricating chain.
Ballard discloses a similar no-lube conveyor comprising polymeric wheels which are made from high temperature polymers, (Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")and refraining from lubricating chain (Column 1, lines 6-8: "This invention relates in general to conveyor systems and more particularly to plastic wheel assemblies for use with overhead conveyor systems.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost to include the non-lubricating properties as taught by Ballard. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveyor system that eliminates the need for continuous lubrication that can cause contamination of food products being processed (Column 1, line 20-35).
Regarding Claim 17, Frost discloses a plurality of link segments, each of which comprises a load link, a drive link, and a guide link;(Figure 1: Bakery chain segment 1)said load link comprising a load link body extending from a tail end and a leading end; said load link body being carried on two parallel vertically oriented all load wheels on either side of said load link body, which roll in a track on a fixed axel extending through an axel opening in said load link body;(Figure 3: Drive link 10 and load wheels 20)said load link body comprising a lateral coupling opening at its tail end adapted to couple to said drive link, and a vertical link coupling opening at its leading end adapted to couple to said guide link;(Figure 3: Vertical link pin hole 11 and lateral link pin hole 12)said drive link comprising a "U" shaped body, having a base with two spaced legs extending forwardly and adapted to receive and couple to said tail end of said load link between said two legs; said base of said U being adapted to couple to said guide link;(Figure 1: Tail link 50)said guide link being comprised of vertically spaced top and bottom guide link plates carrying a horizontally oriented all polymeric guide wheel rotating on a fixed axel extending vertically between said top and bottom guide plates through an axel receiving opening in said all polymeric guide wheel; said guide link top and bottom plates extending forward form said guide wheel to a forward end where they are adapted to embrace top and bottom and couple with said base of said drive wheel;(Figure 2: Side links 30 and guide wheel 40 with guide wheel axle 41)said top and bottom guide plates extending rearwardly from said guide wheel to a tail end where they are adapted to couple with the leading end of said load link.(Figure 2: Links 30 connected by side link pin 31).
However, Frost does not disclose A "no lube" conveyor chain comprising: polymeric wheel.
Ballard discloses a similar A "no lube" conveyor chain comprising: (Column 1, lines 6-8: "This invention relates in general to conveyor systems and more particularly to plastic wheel assemblies for use with overhead conveyor systems.") polymeric wheels(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost to include the non-lubricating properties as taught by Ballard. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for a conveyor system that eliminates the need for continuous lubrication that can cause contamination of food products being processed (Column 1, line 20-35).
Regarding Claim 18, Frost in view of Ballard discloses the no lube conveyor of claim 17, as seen above.
However, Frost in view of Ballard does not disclose in said coupling between said load link and said drive link, and said coupling between said drive link and said guide link and said guide link and said load link are all fitted with polymeric bushings to prevent contact between said coupled links.
Frank discloses a similar no-lube conveyor comprising in said coupling between said load link and said drive link, and said coupling between said drive link and said guide link and said guide link and said load link are all fitted with polymeric bushings to prevent contact between said coupled links.(Column 2, lines 13-26: "Thus, a very thin walled Nylon liner 16 is provided between the pin 13 and the bushing 12, this liner being preferably split longitudinally to allow for thermal expansion under operating conditions and being fitted closely to the interior bore of the bushing 12. A Nylon roller sleeve 15 is fitted over the bushing 12, this sleeve being a loose fit on the bushing so that it may rotate freely thereon. Additionally, a very thin Nylon disc or washer 17 is provided between the side plates 18 and 19, to reduce friction between these parts without substantially increasing the overall width of the chain to a point where any appreciable alteration is made in standard chain specifications for most industrial applications.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Frost in view of Ballard to include the bushings as taught by Frank. The motivation for the modification would have been to allow for the utmost sanitary conditions when handling certain products by eliminating metal to metal contact of the movable parts of the chain (Column 1, lines 35-58).
Regarding Claim 19, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 18, as seen above. Ballard further discloses in which said all polymeric load wheels, guide wheels and polymeric bushings are made of high temperature polymer.(Column 2, lines 43-64: "Wheels 16, in a preferred embodiment of the present invention, are preferably provided by utilizing a self-lubricating thermoplastic material. Many examples of a suitable plastic material are available in the art. For example, DuPont Zytel.RTM. ST Nylon Polyamide produced by the E.I. DuPont DeNemours and Company, of Wilmington, Del., is one such suitable material. Additionally, wheel 16 may be manufactured or formed from a plastic manufacturer then sold under the trade name "1900 UHNW", by Hercules Chemical, Inc., of Wilmington, Del. Alternately, an ultra-high molecular weight polymer manufactured and sold under the registered trademark "IMPAX", by Impax Plastics, Inc., of Gastonia, N.C., may also be utilized. The Applicants have discovered that wheel 16 may be manufactured of any suitable type of plastic having an ultra-high molecular weight and high abrasion resistance. Preferably a material having a low coefficient of friction which is self-lubricating will be utilized so that wheel 16 will not require periodic maintenance or lubrication during use. Additionally, a plastic material which is not subject to excessive wear problems is preferred.")
Regarding Claim 20, Frost in view of Ballard in further view of Frank discloses the no-lube conveyor of claim 18, as seen above. Frost further discloses in which said load wheel and said guide wheel rotate with their axels which extend through said axel openings,(Figure 2: Side links 30 and guide wheel 40 with guide wheel axle 41), and Frank further discloses fitted with polymeric bushings at their ends.(Column 2, lines 13-26: "Thus, a very thin walled Nylon liner 16 is provided between the pin 13 and the bushing 12, this liner being preferably split longitudinally to allow for thermal expansion under operating conditions and being fitted closely to the interior bore of the bushing 12. A Nylon roller sleeve 15 is fitted over the bushing 12, this sleeve being a loose fit on the bushing so that it may rotate freely thereon. Additionally, a very thin Nylon disc or washer 17 is provided between the side plates 18 and 19, to reduce friction between these parts without substantially increasing the overall width of the chain to a point where any appreciable alteration is made in standard chain specifications for most industrial applications.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent US 7,086,525 B2 (Kilby, Leonard): Kilby discloses a similar conveyor chain used in ovens and proofers comprising bearing support, rotating and pivoting components, antifriction bearings, plain bearings and antifriction coating, as seen on Figure 4.
United States Patent US 3,074,355 (Schreyer, K.D.): Schreyer discloses a similar free link conveyor power chain comprising links, wheels, flanges, track and guide rollers as seen in Figure 1.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651
/GENE O CRAWFORD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3651