DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 06/02/2026 in which claims 1-14 and 17-21 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11-12, 14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1) in view of Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) (US 2022/0179008 A1).
As to claim 1, Burema discloses an agricultural system (see Fig 2) comprising:
an aerial vehicle configured to apply an agricultural product to a defined location within a field (see parag [0049]); and
a base station (Fig 15, parag [0053]) including a docking station (Fig 15, hovering area), the base station comprising:
a power source station (Fig 15, recharge station) configured to store independently identifiable batteries (see parag [0075], 12V LiPo batteries are used);
a power exchange device (parag [0053], Table 2, component 3) configured to install one of the independently identifiable batteries within the aerial vehicle;
a power transfer device configured to transfer the one of the independently identifiable batteries to the power exchange device (see Figs 22-24, the process of replacing batteries between Carousel and the UAV); and
a control unit (see parag [0030], control system) configured to:
identify each of the independently identifiable batteries (see parags [0073], [0165]);
provide power to one or more of the independently identifiable batteries stored within the power source station (Fig 24, parag [0155]).
Burema does not disclose determine a status of a first independently identifiable battery and a status of at least a second independently identifiable battery stored within the power source station; compare the status of the first independently identifiable battery to the status of the at least second independently identifiable battery; and select the one of the independently identifiable batteries to be transferred to the power exchange device based at least in part on the comparison of the status of the first independently identifiable battery to the status of the at least second independently identifiable battery. However, Lee discloses determine a status of a first independently identifiable battery and a status of at least a second independently identifiable battery stored within the power source station; compare the status of the first independently identifiable battery to the status of the at least second independently identifiable battery; and select the one of the independently identifiable batteries to be transferred to the power exchange device based at least in part on the comparison of the status of the first independently identifiable battery to the status of the at least second independently identifiable battery
(see claim 1, parag [0025]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema to include the teachings as taught by Lee in order to quickly and accurately diagnose a battery bank having a failure in a connection state among a plurality of battery banks (parag [0009]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Burema and Lee discloses the agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the power source station defines one or more storage compartments (Fig 24, IGBT power module) that respectively house the independently identifiable batteries.
As to claim 3, the combination of Burema and Lee discloses the agricultural system of claim 2, further comprising: a charging system (see Fig 24, power supply for recharging batteries) including respective charging assemblies associated with each of the one or more storage compartments.
As to claim 4, the combination of Burema and Lee discloses the agricultural system of claim 3, wherein the charging assemblies are configured as respective charge ports (see Fig 24, parag [0155], each IGBT module is responsible for charging one battery) that physically mate with the independently identifiable batteries to supply power thereto.
As to claims 7 and 14, the combination of Burema and Lee discloses the agricultural system of claim 3, further comprising: a generator (see Fig 24, power line/generator) electrically coupled with the control unit and configured to supply power to the charging system.
As to claim 11, Burema discloses a method for an agricultural operation (see Fig 2) , the method comprising: receiving, from a computing system (see parag [0113]), instructions to transfer an independently identifiable battery (see parag [0075], 12V LiPo batteries are used) for an aerial vehicle (parag [0056], aerial farm robot) from a power source station (Fig 15, parag [0053]) to a power exchange device (parag [0053], Table 2, component 3); determining, with a control unit (see parag [0030], control system), a state of charge of the independently identifiable battery (Fig 24, parag [0155]); and transferring, with a power transfer assembly, the independently identifiable battery from the power source station to the power exchange device based at least in part on the state of charge of the independently identifiable battery (see Figs 22-24, the process of replacing batteries between Carousel and the UAV).
Burema does not disclose: determining, with the computing system, a defined state of charge needed to complete a defined flight plan for the aerial vehicle; comparing, with the control unit, the defined state of charge to the current state of charge of the independently identifiable battery. However Lee discloses determining, with the computing system, a defined state of charge needed to complete a defined flight plan for the aerial vehicle; comparing, with the control unit, the defined state of charge to the current state of charge of the independently identifiable battery (see claim 1, parag [0025]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema to include the teachings as taught by Lee in order to quickly and accurately diagnose a battery bank having a failure in a connection state among a plurality of battery banks (parag [0009]).
As to claim 12, the combination of Burema and Lee discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: charging, with the power source station, the independently
identifiable battery while the independently identifiable battery is positioned within a storage compartment of the power source station (Fig 24, parag [0155]).
As to claim 15, the combination of Burema and Lee discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining, with the computing system, a defined state of charge needed to complete a defined flight plan for the aerial vehicle (see parag [0108]).
As to claim 16, the combination of Burema and Lee discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: comparing, with the control unit, the defined state of charge to a current state of charge of the independently identifiable battery (see parag [0073]).
As to claim 21, the combination of Burema and Lee discloses the agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to: determine a defined state of charge needed to complete a defined flight plan for the aerial vehicle; compare the defined state of charge to a current state of charge of at least one of the independently identifiable batteries stored within the power source station; and select the one of the independently identifiable batteries to be transferred to the power exchange device based at least in part on the comparison (Lee, see claim 1, parag [0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1) in view of Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) (US 2022/0179008 A1) further in view of KR20220090444 A (hereinafter KR444).
As to claim 5, Burema does not disclose the agricultural system of claim 3, wherein the charging assemblies are configured to wirelessly transmit power to the respective batteries.
However, KR444 discloses the charging assemblies are configured to wirelessly transmit power to the respective batteries (see parag [0041]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema and Lee to include teachings as taught by KR444 in order to quickly and effectively transmit and transmit power in different directions and orientations.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1) in view of Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) (US 2022/0179008 A1) further in view of Doering et al (hereinafter Doering) (US 2022/0003197 A1).
As to claims 6 and 13, the combination of Burema and Lee does not disclose the agricultural system of claim 3, further comprising: a powertrain control system electrically coupled with the control unit and configured to supply power to the charging system. However, Doering discloses a powertrain control system electrically coupled with the control unit and configured to supply power to the charging system (see parag [0034]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema and Lee to include the powertrain control system as taught by Doering in order to control the expansion combustion event and resulting in more robust expansion combustion engine restarts.
5. Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1) in view of Lee et al (hereinafter Lee) (US 2022/0179008 A1) further in view of CN117656898 A (hereinafter CN898).
As to claim 8, the combination of Burema and Lee does not disclose the agricultural system of claim 3, further comprising: an identification system including one or more sensing devices configured to identify each of the independently identifiable batteries within the power source station.
However, CN898 discloses an identification system including one or more sensing devices configured to identify each of the independently identifiable batteries within the power source station (see parag [0071]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema and Lee to the sensing device as taught by CN898 in order to improve the statistical accuracy of the battery circulation in the power storage cabinet, so as to improve the traceability of the battery.
As to claim 9, the combination of Burema, Lee and CN898 discloses the agricultural system of claim 8, wherein a respective sensing device of the one or more sensing devices is associated with each of the one or more storage compartments (CN898, parags [0038]).
As to claim 10, the combination of Burema, Lee and CN898 discloses the agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the sensing device includes an RFID system (CN898, see parag [0047]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1) in view of CN117656898 A (hereinafter CN898).
As to claim 20, Burema does not disclose the agricultural system of claim 17, further comprising: an identification system including one or more sensing devices configured to identify each of the independently identifiable batteries within the power source station. However, CN898 discloses an identification system including one or more sensing devices configured to identify each of the independently identifiable batteries within the power source station (see parag [0071]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema and Lee to the sensing device as taught by CN898 in order to improve the statistical accuracy of the battery circulation in the power storage cabinet, so as to improve the traceability of the battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1).
As to claim 17, Burema discloses an agricultural system (Fig 2) comprising:
an aerial vehicle configured to apply an agricultural product to a defined location within a field (see parag [0049]);
a base station (Fig 15, parag [0053]) including a docking station (Fig 15, hovering area), the base station comprising:
a platform having a first platform portion and a second platform portion, wherein the second platform portion is movable relative to the first platform portion between a standby position and a servicing position to adjust a distance between the aerial vehicle and the platform (see Fig 15, the robot can move from the hovering area to recharge station or refill station depended the status of the robot);
a power source station (Fig 15, recharge station) configured to store independently identifiable batteries (see parag [0075], 12V LiPo batteries are used); and a power exchange device (parag [0053], Table 2, component 3) configured to install one of the independently identifiable batteries within the aerial vehicle; and a power transfer device configured to transfer the one of the independently identifiable batteries to the power exchange device (see Figs 22-24, the process of replacing batteries between Carousel and the UAV).
As to claim 18, Burema discloses the agricultural system of claim 17, further comprising: a control unit (parag [0030], control system) configured to: provide power to one or more independently identifiable batteries stored within the power source station (Fig 24, parag [0155]).
As to claim 19, Burema discloses the agricultural system of claim 17, further comprising: a control unit (parag [0030], control system) configured to: select one of the independently identifiable batteries based at least in part on a state of charge of the independently identifiable batteries (see parag [0073]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed on 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) claims 1, 11 and 17 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Burema, Lee, KR444, Doering and CN898.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC M PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 September 24, 2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836