DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 02/26/2025 in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 11-12, 14 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being antcipated by Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1).
As to claims 1, 11 and 17, Burema discloses an agricultural system (see Fig 2) comprising:
an aerial vehicle configured to apply an agricultural product to a defined location within a field (see parag [0049]); and
a base station (Fig 15, parag [0053]) including a docking station (Fig 15, hovering area), the base station comprising:
a power source station (Fig 15, recharge station) configured to store independently identifiable batteries (see parag [0075], 12V LiPo batteries are used);
a power exchange device (parag [0053], Table 2, component 3) configured to install one of the independently identifiable batteries within the aerial vehicle;
a power transfer device configured to transfer the one of the independently identifiable batteries to the power exchange device (see Figs 22-24, the process of replacing batteries between Carousel and the UAV); and
a control unit (see parag [0030], control system) configured to:
identify each of the independently identifiable batteries (see parags [0073], [0165]); and
provide power to one or more of the independently identifiable batteries stored within the power source station (Fig 24, parag [0155]).
As to claim 2, Burema discloses the agricultural system of claim 1, wherein the power source station defines one or more storage compartments (Fig 24, IGBT power module) that respectively house the independently identifiable batteries.
As to claim 3, Burema discloses the agricultural system of claim 2, further comprising: a charging system (see Fig 24, power supply for recharging batteries) including respective charging assemblies associated with each of the one or more storage compartments.
As to claim 4, Burema discloses the agricultural system of claim 3, wherein the charging assemblies are configured as respective charge ports (see Fig 24, parag [0155], each IGBT module is responsible for charging one battery) that physically mate with the independently identifiable batteries to supply power thereto.
As to claims 7 and 14, Burema discloses the agricultural system of claim 3, further comprising: a generator (see Fig 24, power line/generator) electrically coupled with the control unit and configured to supply power to the charging system.
As to claim 12, Burema discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: charging, with the power source station, the independently identifiable battery while the independently identifiable battery is positioned within a storage compartment of the power source station (Fig 24, parag [0155]).
As to claim 15, Burema discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: determining, with the computing system, a defined state of charge needed to complete a defined flight plan for the aerial vehicle (see parag [0108]).
As to claim 16, Burema discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising: comparing, with the control unit, the defined state of charge to a current state of charge of the independently identifiable battery (see parag [0073]).
As to claim 18, Burema discloses the agricultural system of claim 17, further comprising: a control unit (see parag [0030], control system) configured to: provide power to one or more independently identifiable batteries stored within the power source station (Fig 24, parag [0155]).
As to claim 19, Burema discloses the agricultural system of claim 17, further comprising: a control unit (see parag [0030], control system) configured to: select one of the independently identifiable batteries based at least in part on a state of charge of the independently identifiable batteries (see parag [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1) in view of KR20220090444 A (hereinafter KR444).
As to claim 5, Burema does not disclose the agricultural system of claim 3, wherein the charging assemblies are configured to wirelessly transmit power to the respective batteries.
However, KR444 discloses the charging assemblies are configured to wirelessly transmit power to the respective batteries (see parag [0041]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema to include teachings as taught by KR444 in order to wirelessly provide power for the device.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1).
As to claims 6 and 13, Burema does not disclose the agricultural system of claim 3, further comprising: a powertrain control system electrically coupled with the control unit and configured to supply power to the charging system. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema to include the powertrain control system as an alternative power source in order to provide power to the system, this involves only routine skills in the art.
Claim(s) 8-10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burema et al (hereinafter Burema) (US 2014/0303814 A1) in view of CN117656898 A (hereinafter CN898).
As to claims 8 and 20, Burema does not disclose the agricultural system of claim 3, further comprising: an identification system including one or more sensing devices configured to identify each of the independently identifiable batteries within the power source station.
However, CN898 discloses an identification system including one or more sensing devices configured to identify each of the independently identifiable batteries within the power source station (see parag [0071]). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system of Burema to the sensing device as taught by CN898 in order to effectively identify batteries in the compartment.
As to claim 9, the combination of Burema and CN898 discloses the agricultural system of claim 8, wherein a respective sensing device of the one or more sensing devices is associated with each of the one or more storage compartments (CN898, parags [0038]).
As to claim 10, the combination of Burema and CN898 discloses the agricultural system of claim 9, wherein the sensing device includes an RFID system (CN898, see parag [0047]).
Conclusion
/DUC M PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 February 19, 2026
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849