DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Acknowledgements
This office action is in response to the application filed 2/26/2025.
Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (US 2017/0342635 A1).
Re claims 1-2, Song discloses a washing machine (abstract) comprising:
a tub (ref. 5);
a detergent box (ref. 10) configured to store liquid detergent to be supplied to the tub;
a magnet (ref. 211) generating a magnetic field;
a floating case (ref. 200, see figs. 3-4) in the detergent box and configured to move vertically in the detergent box depending on a height of the liquid detergent stored in the detergent box, the floating case configured to support the magnet;
a magnetic field sensor (ref. 300, see fig. 4) at a side of the floating case and configured to detect the magnetic field generated by the magnet and output an electrical signal indicative of an amount of the liquid detergent stored in the detergent box based on the detected magnetic field (¶ [0051]-[0052]); and
a user interface (ref. 500) configured to output information on the amount of the liquid detergent stored in the detergent box based on the electrical signal output from the magnetic field sensor (¶ [0057]-[0059] displays indications of a shortage).
Re claim 2, wherein the user interface includes a display configured to display the information (¶ [0057]-[0059]).
Re claim 7, wherein the floating case includes: a base supporting the magnet (see fig. 4 bottom of ref. 210), and a cover (top of ref. 210) covering an upper side of the magnet, and an upper surface of the cover includes an inclined portion extending from an upper end of the cover toward the base and inclined with respect to a horizontal direction (see fig. 5 ref. 201 appearing to have an inclined upper side surface; see also embodiments in Figs. 6-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2017/0342635 A1)
Re claims 8-9, Song discloses as shown above including multiple shapes of the upper surface of the cover (see figs. 5-8). Regarding “wherein the inclined portion includes a conical portion having a horizontal width that decreases as a distance from the upper end of the cover decreases”, Song further discloses a pointed top that is substantially similar to a conical portion and it further being simply an obvious change in shape to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape. wherein the inclined portion includes a curved portion between the conical portion and the base and having an inclination angle with respect to the horizontal direction that increases as a distance from the base decreases (Song discloses curved portions as claimed, as seen in Fig. 6 and Fig. 8. Here, the change in shape to provide a straight conical portion and curved portion be simply an obvious change in shape. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2017/0342635 A1) in view of KR20090075089A (cited by Applicant) (machine translation attached).
Re claims 3-4, Song discloses as shown above including a base supporting the magnet (see fig. 4) but does not explicitly disclose a leg extending from the base toward a bottom surface of the detergent box so that, with a vertical position of the floating case being at a lowest position in the detergent box, the leg is supported on the bottom surface of the detergent box. However, KR’089 discloses it is known in the washing machine art (abstract) with floaters for detecting fluid levels (abstract) to provide a leg (refs. 134) extending from the base (ref. 32) toward a bottom surface of the box so that, with a vertical position of the floating case being at a lowest position.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the floater to further include legs, as suggested by KR’089, in order provide a minimum height for the floater and further limit the movement to only vertical movement.
Re claim 4, KR’089 discloses wherein a horizontal area of the leg is less than a horizontal area of the base (see fig. 4).
Re claims 5-6, Regarding “wherein a lower end of the leg that contacts the bottom surface of the detergent box when the vertical position of the floating case is at the lowest position has a horizontal width that is less than a horizontal width of an upper end of the leg that is adjacent to the base.”, the mere change in shape of the leg to be tapered would have been an obvious engineering design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art, for the purposes of minimizing volume consumption while maintaining stability. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) Changes in Shape. wherein at least a portion of the leg has a horizontal area that decreases as a distance of the leg away from the base increases (see above, the change to a tapered leg is an obvious change in shape).
Re claims 10-13, Regarding “wherein the detergent box includes a guide rib along a periphery of the floating case configured to guide movement in a vertical direction of the floating case in the detergent box”, KR’089 discloses a guide rib (ref. 350). wherein the guide rib extends upward from a bottom surface of the detergent box (see fig. 9) (also consider Song figs. 5 showing structures secured to bottom surface of the detergent box). wherein the guide rib includes a plurality of guide ribs, the plurality of guide ribs (KR’089 see fig. 9 extending lateral walls of ref. 350 on either side of W) form a movement space in which the floating case is movable in the vertical direction, and the box further includes a cap (ref. 350a) covering an upper side of the movement space and coupled to an upper end of each guide rib of the plurality of guide ribs. wherein the guide rib includes a support portion (see fig. 8 bottom of ref. 350) protruding from a lower portion of the guide rib and configured so that, with a vertical position of the floating case being at a lowest position in the detergent box, a lower portion of the floating case is supported on the lower portion of the guide rib and the floating case is spaced apart from a bottom surface of the detergent box.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record does not teach, suggest or motivate a detergent detection electrode configured to detect a height of the liquid detergent stored in the detergent box; and at least one controller electrically connected to the detergent detection electrode and configured to receive the electrical signal from the magnetic field sensor, wherein the at least one controller is configured to: based on the height of the liquid detergent detected by the detergent detection electrode being greater than or equal to a predetermined height and a height of the liquid detergent based on the amount of the liquid detergent indicated by the electrical signal received from the magnetic field sensor being less than the predetermined height, determine that the floating case is stuck to the detergent box, in the context of claim 14 in combination with a magnetic field sensor to determine that the floating case is stuck.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 107083648 B note electrodes for detergent level detection, as alternative to magnetic sensing.
KEVIN G. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/KEVIN G LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1711