DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPub20230129031.
Regarding claims 1-4: ‘031 teaches glass comprising a composition allowing for overlap with the individual ranges of claims 1-2 (0009-0031, 0041-0042, 0048-0068, 0099-0118) (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding the ratios of claims 1-3 and the condition of claim 4, note that not only does ‘031’s glass composition allow for ratios overlapping that of claims 1-3 and allow conditions of claim 4 to be met (MPEP 2144.05), but additionally note that given that ‘031’s Examples clearly suggests ratios as claimed being desirable in ‘031’s glasses (see for instance Ex 24 of Table 1 where R2O/Al2O3= 1.07, RO/Al2O3=1.51, RO+R2O/Al2O3=2.58) and clearly suggests glasses according to their invention can be made free of at least one of the oxides claimed (see Examples), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to include ratios and conditions as claimed within ‘031 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 5: ‘031’s glass can have a YM of 80-100GPa (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6: Given that ‘031’s glass meets that claimed, one would conclude the same properties would result (MPEP 2112).
Alternatively, as ‘031’s Examples clearly suggests suggest property values being desirable in ‘031’s glasses (see Examples), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to make ‘031’s glasses have property values as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 7-8: ‘031 teaches a method for ion-exchanging a glass substrate made of their glasses discussed previously, comprising ion-exchanging the glass in a molten salt bath of NaNO3, wherein the glass article comprises a CS layer extending from a surface of the glass article to a DOC, the glass article comprises a central tension region (0034-0035).
Regarding claim 9: The molten salt bath is at 400-550oC (0037).
Regarding claim 10: The ion-exchanging can further comprise a second molten salt bath treatment after the first bath (0144).
Regarding claim 11, 15-18: ‘031 teaches glass articles comprising a compressive stress layer extending from a surface of the glass to a DOC, a central tension region and a composition at the center of the glass is ‘031’s glass composition previously discussed (0009-0031, 0041-0042, 0048-0068, 0099-0118).
Regarding claim 12 and 13: ‘031 may not discuss the specific property at the depths as claimed, however, initially note that ‘031’s glass overlaps with that claimed.
Additionally, Applicants disclose that their glass thickness can be 0.2-2mm (see Applicants’ publication par 0098) and teach their glass being formed by ion exchanging with a NaNO3 salt bath at a temperature of 400-550oC for 1-50hr (see Applicants’ publication 0079, 0084-0085, Applicants’ claims 8 and 9). ‘031 similarly teaches their glass being 0.2-2mm (0047) and forming their glass by ion exchanging with a NaNO3 salt bath at a temperature of 400-550oC for 0.5-48hr (0035, 0037-0038).
Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same stress profile results to be obtained (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 14: ‘031’s CS layer comprises a CS spike extending from the surface of the glass article to a DOCsp of 3-10micron (0046, 0133).
Regarding claim 19: As discussed above, ‘031’s glass can have a YM of 80-100GPa (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 20: ‘031 teaches a consumer electronic product meeting the conditions claimed (0071).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPub20220324746.
Regarding claims 1-2: ‘746 teaches glass comprising a composition (0047) allowing for overlap with the individual ranges and ratio of claim 1 (MPEP 2144.05) and overlapping the ratio and substantially all of the individual ranges of claim 2 (MPEP 2144.05) except for the Al2O3 range. However, note that the 12.5% end point of ‘746’s Al2O3 range is so close to the 12% Al2O3 end point of the claimed range to render it obvious (MPEP 2144.05, Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
Regarding claim 3 and 4: ‘746’s composition allows for ratios overlapping that of claim 3 (MPEP 2144.05) and allows for compositions meeting the condition of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5-6: ‘Given that ‘746’s glass meets that claimed, one would conclude the same properties would result (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claims 7-8: ‘746 teaches a method for ion-exchanging a glass substrate made of their glasses discussed previously, comprising ion-exchanging the glass in a molten salt bath of NaNO3, wherein the glass article comprises a CS layer extending from a surface of the glass article to a DOC, the glass article comprises a central tension region (see 0085, 0147-0148 Examples).
Regarding claim 9: The molten salt bath is at 400-550oC (Examples).
Regarding claim 10: The ion-exchanging can further comprise a second molten salt bath treatment after the first bath (0147, 0149).
Regarding claim 11, 15-18: ‘746 teaches glass articles comprising a compressive stress layer extending from a surface of the glass to a DOC, a central tension region and a composition at the center of the glass is ‘746’s glass composition previously discussed.
Regarding claim 12 and 13: ‘746 may not discuss the specific property at the depths as claimed, however, initially note that ‘746’s glass overlaps with that claimed.
Additionally, Applicants disclose that their glass thickness can be 0.2-2mm (see Applicants’ publication par 0098) and teach their glass being formed by ion exchanging with a NaNO3 salt bath at a temperature of 400-550oC for 1-50hr (see Applicants’ publication 0079, 0084-0085, Applicants’ claims 8 and 9). ‘746 similarly teaches their glass being 0.2-2mm (0121) and forming their glass by ion exchanging with a NaNO3 salt bath at a temperature and duration falling within Applicants’ disclosed ranges (see Examples).
Given the similarities, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same stress profile results to be obtained (MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 14: ‘746’s CS layer comprises a CS spike extending from the surface of the glass article to a DOCsp of 3-11micron (0119) overlapping the range claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 19: As discussed above, given the similarities in ‘746, one skilled in the art would expect the same properties (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 20: ‘746 teaches a consumer electronic product meeting the conditions claimed (0049).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,098,094. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art discussed above.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,709,566. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art discussed above.
Claims 1, 3-15, 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-37 of U.S. Patent No. 11,485,674. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art discussed above.
Claims 1, 3-15, 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15, 17, 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,459,855. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and any additional limitations presently claimed would have been obvious in view of the prior art discussed above.
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784