DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings received on 2/26/2025 are accepted for examination purposes.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 7, recites an extra “and”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arai (US-2024/0232325).
As to Claim 1, Arai teaches ‘An electronic device comprising: a communication device that communicates with an external device [Fig 1 (120, 200) – printer includes a communication I/F that communicates with mediation server and terminal]; a storage device that stores therein a log-in password of a default user and a default value [Fig 1 (134), par 0023 – memory stores an initial password (i.e., default value) and a current password of an administrator (i.e., default user)]; and a control device including a processor, and configured to act, when the processor executes a device control program, as a device controller that resets, upon receipt of a request to reset the log-in password via the communication device, the log- in password of the default user, by rewriting the log-in password to the default value [Fig 8, par 0058, 0094-0095, 0098-0099 – controller of printer resets its password by changing the current password to the initial password after receiving a reset request from the server for resetting the password of the printer]’.
Further, in regards to claim 8, the electronic device of claim 1 performs the program on the computer-readable, non-transitory recording medium of claim 8.
As to Claim 2, Arai teaches ‘further comprising: a display device [Fig 1 (114) – display unit]; and an operation device that receives an input of an instruction of a device user [Fig 1 (112) – operation unit], wherein the device controller causes the display device, upon receipt of the request to reset the log-in password via the communication device, to display an approval screen for acquiring approval for resetting the log-in password, and resets the log-in password of the default user to the default value, upon receipt of the approval for resetting the log-in password, via the operation device [par 0058, 0094-0095, 0098-0099 – printer displays a confirmation (i.e., approval) screen for checking with the administrator whether the password is to be reset after receiving a reset request from the server and resets its password by changing the current password to the initial password once administrator selects OK]’.
As to Claim 7, Arai teaches ‘A device management system that manages an electronic device, the device management system comprising: a communication device that communicates with an external device [Arai: Fig 1 (200, 220), par 0030 – mediation server includes a communication I/F that communicates with a printer (i.e., electronic device) and terminal (i.e., external device)]; and a control device including a processor, and configured to act, when the processor executes a device management program, as a device manager that transmits a request to reset a log-in password of a default user, to the electronic device via the communication device [Fig 8, par 0058, 0094-0095, 0098-0099 – controller of server sends a second reset request to printer for requesting a reset of the password of the printer to reset a current password to an initial password of an administrator]’.
Further, in regards to claim 9, the device management system of claim 7 performs the program on the computer-readable, non-transitory recording medium of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai in view of Murata (US-2024/0403408).
As to Claim 3, Arai teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in dependent claim 2 and independent claim 1. Arai does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the device controller restricts acceptance of operations other than a specific operation with respect to the operation device, when the log-in password of the default user accords with the default value’.
Murata in the proposed combination teaches ‘wherein the device controller restricts acceptance of operations other than a specific operation with respect to the operation device, when the log-in password of the default user accords with the default value [Fig 7D, par 0046, 0048 – displaying a password change warning screen if a request for access to a remote UI is issued in a default state, thus restricting operation of any operation other than operate printer and change password]’.
Arai and Murata are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems and authentication systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a restricted UI displaying a warning screen, as taught by Murata. The motivation for doing so would have been to preventing a remote attacker from illegally changing a printer operation setting and a network connection setting in a state in which a password has not been authenticated, or in a case where an operation is executed in the default state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Murata with Arai to obtain the invention as specified in dependent claim 3.
As to Claim 6, Murata in the proposed combination teaches ‘wherein the device controller keeps from restricting the acceptance of the operations other than the specific operation, when the log-in password of the default user discords with the default value [Fig 7A, par 0044-0045 – displaying an unrestricted screen when a password has been authenticated that does not limit operations of the printer]’.
Arai and Murata are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems and authentication systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include an unrestricted UI, as taught by Murata. The motivation for doing so would have been to preventing a remote attacker from illegally changing a printer operation setting and a network connection setting in a state in which a password has not been authenticated, or in a case where an operation is executed in the default state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Murata with Arai to obtain the invention as specified in dependent claim 6.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai in view of Murata and further in view of Sato (US-2010/0235883).
As to Claim 4, Arai in view of Murata teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in dependent claim 3. Arai in view of Murata does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the device controller disconnects connection to a device management system managing the electronic device, upon receipt of the request to reset the log-in password from the device management system via the communication device, and upon resetting the log-in password of the default user to the default value’.
Sato in the proposed combination of Arai in view of Murata teaches ‘wherein the device controller disconnects connection to a device management system managing the electronic device, upon receipt of the request to reset the log-in password from the device management system via the communication device, and upon resetting the log-in password of the default user to the default value [Fig 13, par 0130, 0136 – password of an administrator of the remote UI is changed from an initial value and automatically disconnects the image forming apparatus from the global network]’.
Arai in view of Murata are analogous art with Sato because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems and authentication systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include an automatic disconnection, as taught by Sato. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensuring the security of the image forming apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Sato with Arai in view of Murata to obtain the invention as specified in dependent claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Arai in view of Murata, Sato and the prior art cited or searched does not disclose expressly the combination of limitations including “wherein the device controller reconnects to the device management system, when the log-in password of the default user is changed from the default value” as recited in dependent claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record
a. US Publication No. 2024/0232325
b. US Publication No. 2024/0403408
c. US Publication No. 2010/0235883
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
d. US Publication No. 2022/0131993 teaches a client terminal requesting initial password restored
e. US Publication No. 2023/0401022 teaches a remote UI screen of a printer for a smartphone
/MIYA J CATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681