DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (US 2006/0203204 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a first light source (114-G, figure 5) configured to output first light,
A first sensor (116-G, figure 5) configured to detect a first measured value corresponding to a temperature of the first light source (paragraph 0085); and
A controller (130, figure 1) configured to control an output from the first light source based on the first measured value (figure 2A).
Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches the controller is configure to control the output from the first light source by controlling a first drive current (the output light amount of an LED, S220, S230, figure 2A, is directly proportional to the drive current supplied to the LED, therefore control of the current is inherent to this arrangement), which is supplied to the first light source based on the first measured value (S210, figure 2A).
Regarding claim 3, Yu teaches the controller is configured to calculate a value that sets the first drive current based on the first measured value, a first coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the first light source, and a first power setting value for the first light source (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Yu teaches a second light source (114-R, figure 5) configured to output a second light; and
A second sensor (116-RB, figure 5) configured to detect a second measured value corresponding to a temperature of the second light source,
Wherein the controller is configured to control an output from the second light source based on the second measured value (S220, S230, figure 2A).
Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches the controller is configured to control the output from the first light source by controlling a first drive current, which is supplied to the first light source, based on the first measured value (G-LED, figure 3), and
Control the output from the second light source (R-LED, figure 3) by controlling a second driving current, which is supplied to the second light source based on the second measured value (the output light amount of an LED, S220, S230, figure 2A, is directly proportional to the drive current supplied to the LED, therefore control of the current is inherent to this arrangement).
Regarding claim 6, Yu teaches the controller is configured to calculate a first power setting value for the first light source and a second power setting value for the second light source , based on a target value expressed in a first color system (paragraph 0054-0055), a first standard value expressed in the first color system and set in advance in correspondence with the first light source, and a second standard value expressed in the first color system and set in advance in correspondence with the second light source (see figure 3),
Calculate a value that sets the first drive current based on the first measured value, a first coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the first light source, and the first power setting value (figure 3 and figure 2A), and
Calculate a value that sets the second drive current based on the second measured value, a second coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the second light source and the second power setting value (figure 3 and figure 2A).
Regarding claim 7, Yu teaches before calculating the first and second power setting values the controller is configured to
Correct the first standard value based on the first measured value and a first correction coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the first light source (S220, figure 2A and G-LED, figure 3), and
Correct the second standard value based on the second measured value and a second correction coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the second light source (S220, figure 2A and R-LED, figure 3).
Regarding claim 12, Yu teaches a light modulator (180, figure 1) configured to modulate light output from the light source apparatus and a projection system (190, figure 1) configured to project the light modulated by the light modulator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2006/0203204 A1) in view of Watanabe et al. (US 2013/0334965 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yu teaches a third light source (114-B, figure 5) configured to output a third light, and
Wherein the controller is configured to control an output from the third light source based on the temperature of the third light source (figure 2A and figure 4).
Yu does not teach a third sensor configured to detect a third measured value corresponding to a temperature of the third light source.
Watanabe teaches a third sensor configured to detect a third measured value corresponding to a temperature of the third light source (7B, figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display system of Yu to dispose each light source independently with its respective temperature sensor as shown in Watanabe in order to more accurately regulate each light source.
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches the controller is configured to control the output from the first light source by controlling a first drive current, which is supplied to the first light source, based on the first measured value (G-LED, figure 3), and
Control the output from the second light source (R-LED, figure 3) by controlling a second driving current, which is supplied to the second light source based on the second measured value (the output light amount of an LED, S220, S230, figure 2A, is directly proportional to the drive current supplied to the LED, therefore control of the current is inherent to this arrangement), and
Control the second output form the third light source by controlling a third drive current, which is supplied to the third light source, based on the third measured value (B-LED, figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches the controller is configured to calculate a first power setting value for the first light source and a second power setting value for the second light source and a third power setting value for the third light source, based on a target value expressed in a first color system (paragraph 0054-0055), a first standard value expressed in the first color system and set in advance in correspondence with the first light source, and a second standard value expressed in the first color system and set in advance in correspondence with the second light source (see figure 3), and a third standard value expressed in the first color system and set in advance in correspondence with the third light source (figure 3),
Calculate a value that sets the first drive current based on the first measured value, a first coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the first light source, and the first power setting value (figure 3 and figure 2A), and
Calculate a value that sets the second drive current based on the second measured value, a second coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the second light source and the second power setting value (figure 3 and figure 2A), and
Calculate a value that sets the third drive current based on the third measured value, a third coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the third light source, and the third power setting value (see figure 3 and figure 2A, see also figure 4 middle graph).
Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches before calculating the first and second and third power setting values the controller is configured to
Correct the first standard value based on the first measured value and a first correction coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the first light source (S220, figure 2A and G-LED, figure 3), and
Correct the second standard value based on the second measured value and a second correction coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the second light source (S220, figure 2A and R-LED, figure 3), and
Correct the third standard value based on the third measured value and a third correction coefficient set in advance in correspondence with the third light source (S220, figure 2A and B-LED figure 3).
Conclusion
/RYAN D HOWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 9/15/2026