DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 is rendered indefinite because of the term “type”. The addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression [e.g. filament] extends the scope of the expression so as to render the claim indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(b).
Claim 16 is rendered indefinite because the claim depends upon itself. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting the claim to depend on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al., KR 20200073189.
Regarding claims 1-2, 5 and 17-18, Oh discloses a boron nitride nanosheet-cellulosic nanofiber composite film [0032]. Paragraph 0046 discloses that the boron nitride nanosheet is exfoliated. Paragraph 0018 discloses that the weight ratio of boron nitride nanosheets and cellulose nanofibers ranges from 0.1:99.9 to 10:90 [see also paragraph 0037]. Paragraph 0048 discloses that boron nitride nanosheet has a thickness ranging from 1 to 30 nm.
Regarding claim 3, it is disclosed in paragraph 0049 that the cellulose nanofibers have a width ranging from 1 to 50 nm [diameter].
Regarding claim 4, paragraph 0049 discloses that the length of the cellulose nanofibers range from 5 to 50 µm.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 8-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,264,416. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite
A composition comprising: a boron nitride nanomaterial and a cellulose nanomaterial, wherein: wherein the boron nitride nanomaterial comprises exfoliated boron nitride; wherein the exfoliated boron nitride nanomaterial comprises boron nitride nanosheets; wherein the cellulose nanomaterial comprises cellulose nanofibers, cellulose nanocrystals, or combinations thereof; and wherein the boron nitride nanomaterial and the cellulose nanomaterial are present in a weight ratio of from about 10:1 to about 1:10 as recited in present claim 1 and patented claim 1.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the boron nitride nanosheets have an average thickness of from about 5 nm to about 15 nm as recited in present claim 2 and patented claim 2.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the cellulose nanomaterial comprises cellulose nanofibers having an average diameter of less than about 500 nm as per present claim 3 and patented claim 3.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the cellulose nanomaterial comprises cellulose nanocrystals having an average particle size of less than about 500 nm in the longest dimension as per present claim 4 and patented claim 4.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the boron nitride nanomaterial and the cellulose nanomaterial are present in a weight ratio of from about 5:1 to about 1:5 as per instant claim 5 and patented reference claim 5.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the composition further comprises a component selected from an acid-based coagulant, an electrolyte coagulant, a plasticizer, a lipid, and combinations thereof as per present claim 5 and patented claim 8.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the plasticizer is an epoxidized soybean oil, castor oil, cardanol, citrate or derivative thereof, succinate or derivative thereof, isosorbide, glycerol, or combinations thereof as per present claim 7 and patented claim 9.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the acid-based coagulant comprises citric acid as per present claim 8 and patented claim 10.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the electrolyte coagulant comprises a cationic polymer as per present claim 9 and patented claim 11.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the cationic polymer comprises chitosan as per present claim 10 and patented claim 12.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite wherein the lip comprises cottonseed oil, sunflower oil, linseed oil, beeswax, or combinations thereof as per present claim 11 and patented claim 13.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite a filament as per present claim 13 and patented claim 14.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite a yarn comprising the filament as per present claim 15 and patented claim 15.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite an article the filament as per present claim 16 and patented claim 16.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite a film, a sheet, a cast material, or a molded material comprising the composition as per present claim 17 and patented claim 17.
The claims in both the present application and the patented reference recite an article comprising the film, the sheet, the cast material, or the molded material as per instant claim 18 and patented claim 18.
In regards to present claim 12, the patented reference is silent to the plasticizer being present in an amount from about 0.1 wt% to about 50% based on the dry mass of the composition. However, this is an optimizable feature. A plasticizer affects the flexibility of the composition. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the amount of plasticizer to about 0.1 wt% to about 50% based on the dry mass of the composition for enhanced flexibility of the composition.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786