DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant’s amendment filed 2/4/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sharrah et al (US 2012/0033415 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Sharrah et al disclose a work light comprising:
a base (100) including a bottom surface1;
a light fixture (200) supported by the base;
a magnet (340) adjacent to the bottom surface, the magnet configured to create a magnetic connection between the bottom surface of the base and a work surface to selectively secure the base to the work surface; and
a boot (360) coupled to the base and extending over the bottom surface, the boot configured to reduce a strength of the magnetic connection between the base and the work surface. (Figure 15A/15B; see at least [0031] onward)
In regard to claim 2, Sharrah et al disclose the boot inhibits the base from being magnetically secured to the work surface.
In regard to claim 3, Sharrah et al disclose the base is securable to the work surface via the magnetic connection while the boot is attached to the base.
In regard to claim 4, Sharrah et al disclose the magnet is exposed on a surface of the base, and wherein the boot covers the magnet.
In regard to claim 5, Sharrah et al disclose the boot is formed of a rubber material. (See [0075])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharrah et al (US 2012/0033415 A1).
In regard to claim 9 and 10, Sharrah et al fail to disclose a toe and tab portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a toe and tab portion to the rubber cover of Sharrah et al in order to simplify removal of the cover.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 15-18, and 20 are allowed.
Claims 6-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art, Sharrah et al (US 2012/0033415 A1), does not include the base includes an aperture, and wherein the boot includes a protrusion that is configured to be inserted into the aperture to couple the boot to the base as required by the claim and there is no motivation absent the applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the Sharrah et al reference in the manner required by the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that prior art fails to teach the magnetic feature of the bottom of the lamp. The Examiner’s problem is that the bottom is poorly defined. What is the top of the lamp? This isn’t claimed. If the applicant wishes to clearly define all the required geometry, then the Examiner would consider such a claim. However, as it stands, the Examiner can interpret the placement of the magnet as the bottom of the lamp.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875
1 See Arguments