DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on
08/19/2026. Claims 1-12 have been canceled. Claims 13-31 have been added. Claims 13-31 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13, 26, 27, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the support plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 13 recites “a base support plate” in line 2, and it is unclear whether “the support plate” refers to “a base support plate” or to a different, unrecited structure. As such, metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined. For examination purposes, “the support plate” is interpreted as “the base support plate.” Appropriate correction is required.
All claims dependent from claim 13 have been rejected due to their dependency on claim 13.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the support plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the support plate” is interpreted as “the base support plate.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the support plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the support plate” is interpreted as “the base support plate.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the support plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the support plate” is interpreted as “the base support plate.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the support plate" in line 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the support plate” is interpreted as “the base support plate.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-16, 18, 20-22, and 24-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6672017 B2 Larson (Larson) in view of US 10457481 B2 Medina (Medina).
Regarding claim 13, Larson discloses an anchor guard (Fig. 2—20) for protecting a column (Fig. 1—14) of a commercial storage rack (Fig. 1—10) that is anchored to a floor (col. 2 ln. 36) with a base support plate (Fig. 5—48) having an assembly of hardware (Fig. 5—50) securing the base support plate (Fig. 5—48) to the floor (col. 2 ln. 36), the support plate having a thickness (Fig. 5a—48), a front edge (Fig. 5a—48) with a width (Fig. 5—48, width of support plate spanning bolts 50), and side edges (Fig. 5—48, sides of support plate) with a length (Fig. 5a—48, extending to anchor guard) extending from the front edge (Fig. 5a—48) in a rearward direction towards the column (Fig. 5a—14), the anchor guard (Fig. 2—20), comprising: a front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure) having a bottom edge (Fig. 3—20, towards top left of figure) and a width (Fig. 3—20, spanning left to right of figure) from a first front end (Fig. 2—20, bottom right of figure) a second front end (Fig. 2—20, top right of figure), the width of the front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure) being wider than the width (Fig. 5—48, width of support plate spanning bolts 50) of the support plate (Fig. 5—48); a first side wall (Fig. 3—20, bottom left of figure) and a second side wall (Fig. 3—20, top right of figure) each respectively extending rearwardly from the first and second front ends (Fig. 2—20, bottom right and top right of figure) of the front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure), the first and second side walls (Fig. 3—20, bottom left and top right of figure) spaced apart at least the width of the front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure), each side wall having a bottom edge (Fig. 3—20, spanning bottom left and top right of figure); the bottom edges of the front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure) and the first and second side walls (Fig. 3—20, bottom left and top right of figure) defining a horizontal first plane (Fig. 5a); a partition wall (Fig. 2—26) spaced rearward from the front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure) with a gap (Fig. 2—distance in between partition wall and front wall) therebetween and extending from the first side wall (Fig. 3—20, bottom left of figure) to the second side wall (Fig. 3—20, top right of figure), the partition wall (Fig. 2—26) having a bottom edge (Fig. 3—40, towards center of figure) raised above the horizontal first plane (Fig. 5a) by at least the thickness (Fig. 5a—48) of the support plate (Fig. 5—48), whereby the partition wall (Fig. 2—26) can be placed over the support plate (Fig. 5—48) with the bottom edges of the front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure) and the side walls (Fig. 3—20, bottom left and top right of figure) resting on the floor (Fig. 5a—52), the partition wall (Fig. 2—26) . . .
Larson fails to disclose said partition wall including at least one bolt receiving structure adapted to secure said partition wall to said column. However, Medina teaches at least one bolt receiving structure (Fig. 5.1—8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the partition wall of Larson by incorporating the at least one bolt receiving structure as taught by Medina, in order to secure the partition wall to the column of Larson. Doing so would fixedly anchor the partition wall to the column, preventing the anchor guard from shifting or separating from the column upon impact by a vehicle. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would reduce the risk of the partition wall shifting, rotating, or separating from the column when struck, thereby improving the structural integrity of the anchor guard and its ability to protect the column.
Regarding claim 14, Larson discloses the partition wall (Fig. 2—26). Larson fails to disclose it including two bolt receiving structures. However, Medina teaches two bolt receiving structures (Fig. 5.1—8). The motivation to combine Larson and Medina set forth above for claim 13 applies equally here.
Regarding claim 15, Larson discloses the partition wall (Fig. 2—26) is parallel to the front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure).
Regarding claim 16, Larson discloses the partition wall (Fig. 2—26) and front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure) are perpendicular to the first and second side walls (Fig. 3—20, bottom left and top right of figure).
Regarding clam 18, Larson discloses a top edge (Fig. 2—26, top) of the partition wall (Fig. 2—26). Larson fails to disclose the bolt receiving structure is a U- shaped groove extending down from it. However, Medina teaches the bolt receiving structure (Fig. 5.1—8) is a U- shaped groove (Fig. 5.1—8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bolt receiving structure of Larson, as modified by Medina, to be a U-shaped groove as further taught by Medina, in order to allow the partition wall to be slid or lowered over the bolts already anchored to the column, so that the wall can be installed and removed without fully removing the bolts or nuts. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would simplify installation and maintenance of the anchor guard while retaining a secure bolted connection.
Medina does not explicitly disclose the U-shaped groove extending downward from a top edge. Nonetheless, the specifically claimed orientation of the groove is an obvious matter of design choice and is not patentably distinct over the prior art. Here’s why.
First, the courts have held that a change in the position or orientation of a known element, where the change does not modify the option of the device, is not patentably distinct (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). Here, Medina teaches a U-shaped groove that receives a bolt. Whether the open end of the groove faces upward, downward, or sideways, the groove performs the same function of receiving and retaining a bolt to secure the wall to the column. Applicant has not disclosed that a downward orientation yields any criticality or unexpected results.
Second, a downward opening groove extending from the top edge is one of a small, finite number of identified, predictable orientations (up, down, sideways) available to a person of ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to orient the groove of Medina to extend down from the top edge of the partition wall of Larson, in order to allow the wall to be lowered onto the bolts for easier installation. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results.
Regarding claim 20, Larson, as modified by Medina, discloses the front wall (Larson Fig. 2-20, towards right of figure). Larson does not explicitly disclose that the front wall is about 13 inches wide.
Nonetheless, the claimed width is an obvious matter of design choice. Courts have held that a change in size of a known device is not patentably distinct where the claimed device would not perform differently than the prior art device (See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)). Applicant has not disclosed that a 13-inch width performs differently from other widths or is critical (See MPEP 2144.05(III)). It would have been obvious to size the front wall of Larson to about 13 inches wide in order to span the support plate and column being protected, so the guard fits over the base hardware which Larson clearly does. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would provide the same impact protection with a predictable fit.
Regarding claim 21, Larson, as modified by Medina, discloses the first and second side walls (Fig. 3-20, bottom left and top right of figure) having a length extending rearward from the front wall. Larson does not explicitly disclose that the side walls are about 13 inches long.
Nonetheless, the claimed length is an obvious matter of design choice, for the reasons given for claim 20 (See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A) and § 2144.05(III)). It would have been obvious to make the side walls about 13 inches long in order to extend rearward far enough to enclose the support plate and its bolts on three sides which Larson clearly does. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would give the guard a footprint matched to the base plate, protecting the hardware from impact.
Regarding claim 22, Larson, as modified by Medina, discloses the front wall (Fig. 2-20, towards right of figure) and the first and second side walls (Fig. 3-20, bottom left and top right of figure), each having a height. Larson does not explicitly disclose a height of about 5 inches.
Nonetheless, the claimed height is an obvious matter of design choice, for the reasons given for claim 20 (See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A) and § 2144.05(III)). It would have been obvious to make the walls about 5 inches high in order to cover the support plate and anchor hardware while keeping the guard low enough to avoid obstructing the rack, which Larson clearly does. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would provide impact protection at the vehicle-strike height for the base hardware.
Regarding claim 24, Larson discloses the partition wall (Fig. 2-26) spaced rearward from the front wall (Fig. 2-20, towards right of figure) with a gap (Fig. 2—distance in between partition wall and front wall) therebetween. Larson does not explicitly disclose that the gap is about 5.25 inches.
Nonetheless, the claimed spacing is an obvious matter of design choice, for the reasons given for claim 20 (See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A) and § 2144.05(III)). It would have been obvious to dispose the partition wall about 5.25 inches rearward from the front wall in order to place the bolt receiving structures over the column bolts while clearing the support plate. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would allow the partition wall to rest over the plate and align with the column for secure anchoring.
Regarding claim 25, Larson discloses the partition wall (Fig. 2-26) spaced rearward from the front wall (Fig. 2-20, towards right of figure). Larson does not explicitly disclose that the spacing is about 5.25 inches.
Nonetheless, this is an obvious matter of design choice, for the reasons given for claims 20 and 24 (See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A) and § 2144.05(III)). It would have been obvious to dispose the partition wall about 5.25 inches rearward from the front wall of the guard of claim 22 in order to align the bolt receiving structures with the column bolts while clearing the support plate. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results.
Regarding claim 26, Larson discloses the bottom edges (Fig. 3—20, spanning bottom left and top right of figure) of the front wall (Fig. 2-20, towards right of figure) and the first and second side walls (Fig. 3-20, bottom left and top right of figure) define an open space (Fig. 3—40,42) that can receive and partially enclose the support plate (Fig. 5—48).
Regarding claim 27, Larson discloses the bottom edges (Fig. 3—20, spanning bottom left and top right of figure) of the front wall (Fig. 2-20, towards right of figure) and the first and second side walls (Fig. 3-20, bottom left and top right of figure) define an open space (Fig. 3—40,42) that can receive and partially enclose the support plate (Fig. 5—48).
Regarding claim 28, Larson discloses the bottom edges (Fig. 3—20, spanning bottom left and top right of figure) of the front wall (Fig. 2-20, towards right of figure) and the first and second side walls (Fig. 3-20, bottom left and top right of figure) define an open space (Fig. 3—40,42) that can receive and partially enclose the support plate (Fig. 5—48) with the partition wall (Fig. 2-26) positioned above the support plate (Fig. 5—48).
Regarding claim 29, Larson discloses the support plate (Fig. 5—48) has a periphery (Fig. 5—48, surrounding edge) and the front wall (Fig. 2-20, towards right of figure) and side walls (Fig. 3-20, bottom left and top right of figure) enclose at least three sides of the periphery (Fig. 5—48, surrounding edge) of the support plate (Fig. 5—48), with the partition wall (Fig. 2-26) positioned above the support plate (Fig. 5—48).
Regarding claim 30, Larson discloses the partition wall (Fig. 2-26) and the column (Fig. 1—14).
Larson fails to disclose at least one bolt extends through the bolt receiving structure and bolts said partition wall to said column. However, Medina teaches at least one bolt (col. 4 ln. 30) extends through the bolt receiving structure (Fig. 5.1—8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the partition wall and column of Larson, as modified by Medina, by incorporating at least one bolt extending through the bolt receiving structure, as taught by Medina, in order to fasten the partition wall to the column. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would complete the bolted connection to the column bolt holes of Larson (Fig. 1), so the bolt receiving structure actually secures the partition wall against shifting or separating from the column upon impact.
Regarding claim 31, Larson discloses the partition wall (Fig. 2-26) and the column (Fig. 1—14).
Larson fails to disclose at least one bolt extends through the bolt receiving structure and bolts said partition wall to said column. However, Medina teaches at least one bolt (col. 4 ln. 30) extends through the bolt receiving structure (Fig. 5.1—8).
Claim(s) 19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 6672017 B2 Larson (Larson) in view of US 10457481 B2 Medina (Medina) and in further view of US 6609620 B1 Kautz (Kautz).
Regarding claim 19, Larson discloses the front wall (Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure), the first and second side walls (Fig. 3—20, bottom left and top right of figure) and the partition wall (Fig. 2—26).
Neither Larson nor Medina disclose or teach they are each made of metal. However, Kautz teaches all features of the column protector are each made of metal (col. 5 claim 6).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front wall, the first and second side walls, and the partition wall of Larson, as modified by Medina, by making each of them out of metal, as taught by Kautz, in order to provide a rigid, impact-resistant guard capable of withstanding repeated vehicle strikes and protecting the column. Such a modification would not produce any unexpected results. Moreover, doing so would improve the durability and longevity of the anchor guard in a commercial storage rack environment, because metal resists deformation, abrasion, and wear better than softer materials.
Even more so, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie determination of obviousness (See MPEP 2144.07). Here, Kautz teaches that the anchor guard are made out of metal. Larson, as modified by Medina, is directed to an anchor guard that protects a storage rack column from vehicle impact, so the guard must resist impact, deformation, and abrasion. Metal is a known material suited to that purpose, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have selected it for those features on that basis. Applicant has not shown that using metal for these features produces any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 23, Larson, modified by Medina and further modified by Kautz, disclose the front wall (Larson Fig. 2—20, towards right of figure) and first and second side walls (Larson Fig. 3—20, bottom left and top right of figure) are each made of metal (Kautz col. 5 claim 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons For Allowable Subject Matter
None of the cited prior art, considered alone or in combination, discloses or teaches a partition wall having a top edge that is lower than the height of both the front and side wall’s top edges.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 08/19/2026 have been fully considered.
Formal Issues. Applicant argues (Remarks, p. 6) that the § 112(f) interpretation of "mechanism for securing the anchor guard to the column and support plate" and the antecedent basis rejections of former claims 1, 6, 7 and 11 are moot in view of new claims 13-31. Claims 1-12 are canceled, so these arguments are moot. New claims 13 and 26-29 are rejected under § 112(b) as set forth above.
Prior Art Rejections. Applicant argues (Remarks, p. 7) that Larson describes a "completely different structure" than new claims 13-31, and in particular that Larson does not describe:
a front wall and a partition wall spaced rearwardly from the front wall with a gap therebetween,
the front wall resting on the floor and the partition wall resting on the base plate,
any attachment structure for securing the partition wall to the column, or
the partition wall at all, because Larson shows only bolts extending through the column protector into the floor.
These arguments are moot. The claims have been replaced, and the new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 applies Larson in view of Medina and in further view of Kautz. Applicant does not address Larson in view of Medina and in further view of Kautz.
Applicant also states that the dependent claims identify additional distinctions but will not be addressed individually. A general allegation that claims are patentable does not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b), which requires distinct and specific arguments. See MPEP § 714.02. Each of claims 14-31 is separately addressed above, and Applicant's remarks are therefore not persuasive as to those claims.
Applicant's statements on support, no disclaimer, and means-plus-function claiming are noted. No limitation of claims 13-31 has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
The arguments directed to Larson are moot because of the new grounds of rejection. Claims 13-31 stand rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly:
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASA FRANKLIN SOLOMON/Examiner, Art Unit 3632
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632