DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-11, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravasz et al. (US Pub: 2021/0090337 A1) in view of Wada et al. (US Pub: 2021/0142049 A1) and Ito et al. (US Pub: 2024/0187562 A1).
As to claim 1, Ravasz teaches a method (i.e. the interactive augmented reality method of Ravasz figure 1-13 embodiment) (see Fig. 1-13, [0100-0104]) comprising:
at a computing system including non-transitory memory and one or more processors (i.e. as seen in figures 1 and 3 embodiment the computer system 100 is demonstrated to use memory 10 and processor 110 to implement the augmented reality system) (see Fig. 1, 3, [0065-0067]), wherein the computing system is communicatively coupled to a display device and one or more input devices via a communication interface (as seen in figure 1-3 embodiment of Ravasz, the computer network model in which a local computer device along with the network resource is able to implement a display and hand gesture input systems) (see Fig. 1-3, [0052-0067]):
detecting a user interaction with virtual content (i.e. as seen in figure 13 embodiment the computer system detects user’s hand movement as well as the finger moving gesture toward the object 1308 for virtual content interaction) (see Fig. 13, [0104]);
in accordance with a determination that a position of a hand is directing toward the direction of the virtual content, rendering the user interaction with the virtual content by correcting the position of the hand and rendering the user interaction with the virtual content based on the corrected position of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 12-13 the user’s finger and hand movement when directed toward the virtual object 1308 is able to meet a threshold value a snap function is able to capture the virtual object that is closes to the direction of movement) (see Fig. 12-13, [0101-0104]); and
in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is outside of the threshold indication of the virtual content, rendering the user interaction with the virtual content without correcting the position of the hand (i.e. the system and method of Ravasz explicitly display the hand movement of the user as it is travelling in the augmented reality system, wherein when the user’s hand is outside of the snaping distance no correction is needed since the snap function is not enabled) (see Fig. 12-13, [0101-0104]).
However, Ravasz does not explicitly teach the user’s hand is within a threshold distance of the virtual content but instead uses a general direction indicating means of cone or cylinder coverage of the virtual content (i.e. Ravasz is silent with the term of a threshold distance between user’s hand and actual content, but rather indicate the concept indirectly with the snapping functions) (see Fig. 10-13).
Wada teaches the detection of the user’s hand is within a threshold distant of the virtual content (i.e. as seen in figures 1-3 embodiment Wada, the user’s hand interaction with the key target as seen in figure 3 which shows the holding concept, direct to a visual recognition of the hand having a threshold be detection that registers a correction of image from user hand being separate with the key object and the user holding the object direction which shows a direct distance base determinant algorithm) (see Fig. 1-3, [0055-0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the accepted filing data of the current application to have used the distance based algorithm of Wada for user body part detection with respect to object in the overall system of Ravasz to further improve the user motion detection in complex user operation where different user motion is detected, in order to improvement system detection accuracy (see Wada, [0006]).
Furthermore, Ravasz and Wada do not explicitly teach detection user hand based on depth data (i.e. Ravasz and Wada only uses generic three-dimensional image data for detection of user interaction and do not explicitly define a depth data separate from the video image input) (see Wada Fig. 1-3, [0055-0056]).
Ito teaches teach detection user hand based on depth data (i.e. as seen in figure 3 of Ito the system of Ito specifically teaches a CPU which detects the user’s hand orientation based on images captured by the depth sensor 153 and the camera 154, and cause the display 14 to display a virtual line 51 extending in the detection direction and the pointer 52) (see Fig. 3, [0065]).
Since Ravasz, Wada and Ito all teaches a special detection system for user’s hand movement and gesture capture for computer input, they are analogous as having the same view of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the accepted filing date to have further refined the gesture input system of Ravasz and Wada with the depth sensing data method of Ito to create a more precise representation of the input gesture in the virtual space in increase user ergonomics during the input feedback environments (see Fig. 3, [0064-0065]).
As to claim 15, Ravasz teaches a computing system (i.e. the interactive augmented reality computing system of Ravasz figure 1-13 embodiment) (see Fig. 1-13, [0100-0104]) comprising:
one or more processors (i.e. element 412) (see Fig. 4, [0070]);
a non-transitory memory (i.e. 414, 418) (see Fig. 4, [0070]);
an interface for communicating with a display device and one or more input devices (i.e. projection display 434 and the interface 432 of figure 4) (see Fig. 4, [0070]); and
one or more programs stored in the non-transitory memory, which, when executed by the one or more processors (i.e. the interactive augmented reality computing system Ravasz figure 1-13 embodiment uses electronic components) (see Fig. 1-13, [0070]), cause the computing system to:
detect a user interaction with virtual content (i.e. as seen in figure 13 emboidment the computer system detects user’s hand movement as well as the finger moving gesture toward the object 1308) (see Fig. 13, [0104]);
in accordance with a determination that a position of a hand is within a threshold of the virtual content, render the user interaction with the virtual content by correcting the position of the hand and rendering the user interaction with the virtual content based on the corrected position of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 12-13 the user’s finger and hand movement when directed toward the virtual object 1308 is able to meet a threshold value a snap function is able to capture the virtual object that is closes to the direction of movement) (see Fig. 12-13, [0101-0104]); and
in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is outside of the threshold of the virtual content, render the user interaction with the virtual content without correcting the position of the hand (i.e. the system and method of Ravasz explicitly display the hand movement of the user as it is travelling in the augmented reality system, wherein when the user’s hand is outside of the snaping distance not correct is need since the snap function is not enabled) (see Fig. 12-13, [0101-0104]).
However, Ravasz do not explicitly teach the user’s hand is within a threshold distance of the virtual content but instead uses a general direction indicating means of cone or cylinder coverage of the virtual content (i.e. Ravasz is silent with the term of a threshold distance between user’s hand and actual content, but rather indicate the concept indirectly with the snapping functions) (see Fig. 10-13).
Wada teaches the detection of the user’s hand is within a threshold distant of the virtual content (i.e. as seen in figures 1-3 embodiment Wada, the user’s hand interaction with the key target as seen in figure 3 which shows the holding concept, direct to a visual recognition of the hand having a threshold be detection that registers a correction of image from user hand being separate with the key object and the user holding the object direction which shows a direct distance base determinant algorithm) (see Fig. 1-3, [0055-0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the accepted filing data of the current application to have used the distance based algorithm of Wada for user body part detection with respect to object in the overall system of Ravasz to further improve the user motion detection in complex user operation where different user motion is detected, in order to improvement system detection accuracy (see Wada, [0006]).
Furthermore, Ravasz and Wada do not explicitly teach detection user hand based on depth data (i.e. Ravasz and Wada only uses generic three-dimensional image data for detection of user interaction and do not explicitly define a depth data separate from the video image input) (see Wada Fig. 1-3, [0055-0056]).
Ito teaches teach detection user hand based on depth data (i.e. as seen in figure 3 of Ito the system of Ito specifically teaches a CPU which detects the user’s hand orientation based on images captured by the depth sensor 153 and the camera 154, and cause the display 14 to display a virtual line 51 extending in the detection direction and the pointer 52) (see Fig. 3, [0065]).
Since Ravasz, Wada and Ito all teaches a special detection system for user’s hand movement and gesture capture for computer input, they are analogous as having the same view of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the accepted filing date to have further refined the gesture input system of Ravasz and Wada with the depth sensing data method of Ito to create a more precise representation of the input gesture in the virtual space in increase user ergonomics during the input feedback environments (see Fig. 3, [0064-0065]).
As to claim 20, Ravasz teaches a non-transitory memory (i.e. 414, 418) (see Fig. 4, [0070]) storing one or more programs, which, when executed by one or more processors (i.e. element 412) (see Fig. 4, [0070]) of a computing system with an interface for communicating with a display device (i.e. projection display 434 of figure 4) (see Fig. 4, [0070]) and one or more input devices (i.e. the objection selection engine 436 and interface 432) (see Fig. 4, [0070]), cause the computing system (i.e. the interactive augmented reality computing system Ravasz figure 1-13 embodiment uses electronic components) (see Fig. 1-13, [0070]) to:
detect a user interaction with virtual content (i.e. as seen in figure 13 emboidment the computer system detects user’s hand movement as well as the finger moving gesture toward the object 1308) (see Fig. 13, [0104]);
in accordance with a determination that a position of a hand is within a threshold of the virtual content, render the user interaction with the virtual content by correcting the position of the hand and rendering the user interaction with the virtual content based on the corrected position of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 12-13 the user’s finger and hand movement when directed toward the virtual object 1308 is able to meet a threshold value a snap function is able to capture the virtual object that is closes to the direction of movement) (see Fig. 12-13, [0101-0104]); and
in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is outside of the threshold of the virtual content, render the user interaction with the virtual content without correcting the position of the hand (i.e. the system and method of Ravasz explicitly display the hand movement of the user as it is travelling in the augmented reality system, wherein when the user’s hand is outside of the snaping distance not correct is need since the snap function is not enabled) (see Fig. 12-13, [0101-0104]).
However, Ravasz do not explicitly teach the user’s hand is within a threshold distance of the virtual content but instead uses a general direction indicating means of cone or cylinder coverage of the virtual content (i.e. Ravasz is silent with the term of a threshold distance between user’s hand and actual content, but rather indicate the concept indirectly with the snapping functions) (see Fig. 10-13).
Wada teaches the detection of the user’s hand is within a threshold distant of the virtual content (i.e. as seen in figures 1-3 embodiment Wada, the user’s hand interaction with the key target as seen in figure 3 which shows the holding concept, direct to a visual recognition of the hand having a threshold be detection that registers a correction of image from user hand being separate with the key object and the user holding the object direction which shows a direct distance base determinant algorithm) (see Fig. 1-3, [0055-0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the accepted filing data of the current application to have used the distance based algorithm of Wada for user body part detection with respect to object in the overall system of Ravasz to further improve the user motion detection in complex user operation where different user motion is detected, in order to improvement system detection accuracy (see Wada, [0006]).
Furthermore, Ravasz and Wada do not explicitly teach detection user hand based on depth data (i.e. Ravasz and Wada only uses generic three-dimensional image data for detection of user interaction and do not explicitly define a depth data separate from the video image input) (see Wada Fig. 1-3, [0055-0056]).
Ito teaches teach detection user hand based on depth data (i.e. as seen in figure 3 of Ito the system of Ito specifically teaches a CPU which detects the user’s hand orientation based on images captured by the depth sensor 153 and the camera 154, and cause the display 14 to display a virtual line 51 extending in the detection direction and the pointer 52) (see Fig. 3, [0065]).
Since Ravasz, Wada and Ito all teaches a special detection system for user’s hand movement and gesture capture for computer input, they are analogous as having the same view of endeavor. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the accepted filing date to have further refined the gesture input system of Ravasz and Wada with the depth sensing data method of Ito to create a more precise representation of the input gesture in the virtual space in increase user ergonomics during the input feedback environments (see Fig. 3, [0064-0065]).
As to claim 2, Ravasz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the user interaction with the virtual content includes detecting an eye tracking input (i.e. as seen in figure 2A, 2B, the HMD system of Ravasz include the additional eye tracking system) (see Fig. 2, [0062-0063]).
As to claim 3, Ravasz teaches the method of claim 2, wherein, in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is outside of the threshold distance of the virtual content, rendering the user interaction with the virtual content is based on the eye tracking input (i.e. as seen in figure 7 the detection system of Ravasz used the projection 706 with a dominant eye origin point 702 and a fingertip control point 704 which means the eye track input is used for input purpose) (see Fig. 7, [0086]).
As to claim 4, Ravasz teaches the method of claim 3, wherein, in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is outside the threshold distance of the virtual content, rendering the user interaction with the virtual content is further based on changes in the position of the hand (i.e. when the snap function is not met as the user’s hand is outside the threshold distance as taught in Ravasz in view of Wada, the virtual content is still rendered based on the change of the user’s fingertip in the form of the ray projection input) (see [0101]).
As to claim 8, Ravasz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the user interaction with the virtual content includes detecting a gestural input including changes in the position of the hand (i.e. the system of Ravasz teaches detecting the user’s fingertip movement which is a gesture input included with the changes of the position of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 7 the detection system of Ravasz used the projection 706 with a dominant eye origin point 702 and a fingertip control point 704 which means the eye track input is used for input) (Fig. 7, [0086]).
As to claim 9, Ravasz teaches the method of claim 8, wherein, in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is within the threshold distance of the virtual content, rendering the user interaction with the virtual content is based on changes in the corrected position of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 6-7 the system of Ravasz tracks the user’s hand as well as the fingertip which when display on the HMD device would at least include the user finger joint) (see Fig. 6-7, [0086-0087]).
As to claim 10, Ravasz teaches the method of claim 9, wherein, in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is outside the threshold distance of the virtual content, rendering the user interaction with the virtual content is based on the changes in the position of the hand (i.e. when the snap function is not met as the user’s hand is outside the threshold distance as taught in Ravasz in view of Wada, the virtual content is still rendered based on the change of the user’s fingertip in the form of the ray projection input) (see [0101]).
As to claim 11, Ravasz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the position of the hand includes one or more locations of one or more joints of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 6-7 the system of Ravasz tracks the user’s hand as well as the fingertip which when display on the HMD device would at least include the user finger joint) (see Fig. 6-7, [0086-0087]).
As to claim 14, Ravasz teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising displaying, via the display device, the rendered user interaction with the virtual content (i.e. Ravasz teaches the HMD device which displays the image in figure 2A and 2B embodiments) (see Fig. 2A, 2B, [0052]).
As to claim 16, Ravasz teaches the computing system of claim 15, wherein the computing system detects the user interaction with the virtual content by detecting an eye tracking input and renders the user interaction with the virtual content based on the eye tracking input and changes in the position of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 2A, 2B, the HMD system of Ravasz include the additional eye tracking system) (see Fig. 2, [0062-0063]).
Claim 5-7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravasz et al. in view of Wada et al. and Ito et al. as applied to claim 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Karmon et al. (US Pub: 2018/0307319 A1).
As to claim 5, Ravasz, Wada, and Ito teaches the method of claim 1, but do not teach wherein detecting the user interaction with the virtual content includes a voice input (i.e. Ravasz teaches using user gesture but is silent with respect of voice input contents).
Karmon teaches wherein detecting the user interaction with the virtual content includes a voice input (i.e. Karmon teaches in the background of the invention the user interface for a computer can include voice interface) (see [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the accepted filing date of the current application to have used the Karmon voice interface in the Ravasz Figure 4 interface system, in order to further expand the interface and reduce the invention into practice (see Karmon [0003] and Ravasz Fig. 4).
As to claim 6, Ravasz, Wada, Ito and Karmon teaches the method of claim 5, wherein, in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is within the threshold distance of the virtual content, rendering the user interaction with the virtual content is based on the voice input (i.e. Karmon teaches in the background of the invention the user interface for a computer can include voice interface) (see [0003]) and the corrected position of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 6-7 the system of Ravasz tracks the user’s hand as well as the fingertip which when display on the HMD device would at least include the user finger joint) (see Fig. 6-7, [0086-0087]).
As to claim 7, Ravasz, Wada, Ito and Karmon teaches the method of claim 5, wherein, in accordance with a determination that the position of the hand is outside the threshold distance of the virtual content, rendering the user interaction with the virtual content is based on the voice input (i.e. Karmon teaches in the background of the invention the user interface for a computer can include voice interface) (see [0003]).
As to claim 17, Ravasz, Wada, Ito and Karmon teaches the computing system of claim 15, wherein the computing system detects the user interaction with the virtual content by detecting a voice input and renders the user interaction with the virtual content based on the voice input (i.e. Karmon teaches in the background of the invention the user interface for a computer can include voice interface) (see [0003]) and the corrected position of the hand (i.e. as seen in figure 6-7 the system of Ravasz tracks the user’s hand as well as the fingertip which when display on the HMD device would at least include the user finger joint) (see Fig. 6-7, [0086-0087]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The newly introduced art Ito is cited to address the newly introduced amendment to the independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art Chen et al. (US Pub: 2019/0340821 A1) is cited to teach another type of augmented display system with depth data sensing capacity in figures 1-4 embodiments.
/CALVIN C MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629 June 23, 2026