Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 29, 35, and 48 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 29 recites “end to end” and should be “end-to-end”.
Claim 35 recites “factor” and should be “factory”.
Claim 48 recites “end to end” and should be “end-to-end”.
Claim 48 in line 6 recites “said first lugs of said first segment aligning with said first lug of said second segment” and should be “said first lug of said first segment aligning with said first lug of said second segment” since it is a singular first lug of the first segment aligned with the respective first lug of the second segment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motoyama (US 2017/0328501 A1)
Motoyama discloses a coupling (Fig. 4 shows a coupling) for joining pipe elements in end-to-end relation (Fig. 10 shows an example of how a coupling shown in Fig. 4 joins pipe elements in an end-to-end relation), said coupling comprising:
first and second segments configured to attach to one another end to end surrounding a central space for receiving said pipe elements (Fig. 4, segments 11 define first and second segments which are configured to attach to one another end-to-end surrounding a central space for receiving the pipe elements), each segment of said first and second segments comprising a first lug extending from a first end thereof (Fig. 4, at each 11b define a first lug extending from a first end of each 11), said first lug of said first segment aligning with said first lug of said second segment (Fig. 4, both first lugs at 11b are align with respect to each other);
a first adjustable fastener extending between said first lugs along a longitudinal axis (Fig. 4, fastener 13),
wherein each said segment further comprises a first action surface positioned between said central space and said first lug of said segment (Fig. 4, surface at each 11b define a first action surface which are positioned between the central space and the first lug of each segment), and a first support surface positioned on said first lug of said segment (Fig. 4, portion at 11d define a first support surface positioned on the first lug), said first fastener being positioned between said first action surface and said first support surface (Fig. 4, 13 is between 11b and 11d),
wherein said first support surface of at least one of said segments is offset from said first action surface of said at least one segment, said offset being measured from said first action surface in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said first adjustable fastener (Fig. 4, support surface at 11d is offset relative to the first action surface at 11b and the offset is measured from the first action surface in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of 13), and
wherein, upon adjusting said first adjustable fastener to draw said first and second segments toward one another, said first support surface of said first segment contacts said first support surface of said second segment (Fig. 4, upon adjusting 13, each 11 are drawn together, the first support surfaces at 11d contact as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29, 32-38, and 40-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Gieter John (EP 3736477 A1, hereinafter “John”) in view of Bancroft (US 2013/0125373 A1).
In regard to claim 29, John discloses a coupling (Fig. 1B shows a coupling) in a factory assembled configuration for joining pipe elements in end-to-end relation (Fig. 1B, the coupling is at least in a state prior to fully assembled, therefore, can be reasonably interpreted as a factory assembled configuration for joining pipe elements in an end-to-end relation as shown in Fig. 4), said coupling comprising:
first and second segments (See image below, indicated first and second segments), wherein in said factory assembled configuration, said first and second segments are attached to one another end to end surrounding a central space (See image below, at least prior to full assembly, the segments are attached to one another end to end surrounding a central space), each segment of said first and second segments comprising a first lug extending from a first end thereof and a second lug extending from a second end thereof (See image below, indicated first and second lugs), said first and second lugs of said first segment aligning respectively with said first and second lugs of said second segment (See image below, indicated first lugs and second lugs are respectively aligned with one another);
a first adjustable fastener extending between said first lugs along a longitudinal axis and a second adjustable fastener extending between said second lugs along a longitudinal axis (See image below, indicated first and second fasteners which each have a respective longitudinal axis), wherein each fastener of said first adjustable fastener and said second adjustable fastener is tightenable to draw said first and second segments toward one another from said factory assembled configuration to a fully installed configuration (See image below, the fasteners are tightenable to draw the segments together to a fully installed configuration);
wherein each said segment further comprises:
a first action surface positioned between said central space and said first lug of said segment, and a first support surface positioned on said first lug of said segment (See image below, indicated first action surface is between the central space and first lug, and indicated first support surface is positioned on the first lug), said first fastener being positioned between said first action surface and said first support surface (See image below, the first fastener is between the first action surface and the first support surface), said first support surface being oriented transversely to a first plane (See image below, indicated first support surface is oriented transverse to a first plane. A first plane can be defined as a plane perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the pipes.), said first plane containing said longitudinal axis of said first fastener and said longitudinal axis of said second fastener (See image below, the first plane which is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the pipes contains the longitudinal axis of the first and second fasteners);
a second action surface positioned between said central space and said second lug of said segment (See image below, indicated second action surface is positioned between the central space and the second lug), and a second support surface positioned on said second lug of said segment (See image below, indicated second support surface is positioned on the second lug), said second fastener being positioned between said second action surface and said second support surface (See image below, the second fastener is positioned between the second action surface and the second support surface), said second support surface being oriented transversely to said first plane (See image below, second support surface is oriented transversely to the first plane similar to the first support surface),
wherein in the fully installed configuration, respective first support surfaces of said first and second segments are in contact and respective second support surfaces of said first and second segments are in contact (Fig. 1A shows the fully install configuration such that the first support surfaces are in contact and the second support surfaces are in contact), and
wherein in the factory assembled configuration, said first support surface of at least one of said segments is offset from said first action surface of said at least one segment, said offset being measured from said first action surface in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said first adjustable fastener (See image below, the first support surface is offset from the first action surface and the offset is measured from the first action surface in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the first fastener).
John does not expressly disclose the first and second segments are supported in spaced apart relation at a distance permitting said pipe elements to be inserted into said central space.
In the related field of pipe couplings with a clamp, Bancroft teaches a coupling (Fig. 1, coupling at 11) having two segments (Fig. 1, segments 13 and 15) with a central space (Fig. 1, central space at 25) and gasket (Fig. 3, gasket at 43), wherein the coupling that allows the gasket to support the segments in spaced apart relation sufficient to permit insertion of pipes into the central space without disassembling the coupling (In [0036] discloses at least 43 allows support to the segments in a spaced apart relation sufficient to permit insertion of pipes into the central space without disassembly) in order to have the advantage of ease of assembly and allowing general tolerance for pipes to be installed (In [0036] discloses assembly of the pipes without disassembly of the coupling and in [0005-0008] disclose the invention intends to solve the previous problems of prior arts by allowing a generous tolerance for pipe elements to be installed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling of John to include the segments and gasket be designed such that the segments can be in a spaced apart relation sufficient to permit insertion of pipes into the central space without disassembling the coupling with a reasonable expectation of success in order to have the advantage of ease of assembly and allowing general tolerance for pipes to be installed as taught by Bancroft.
In regard to claim 32, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein in said fully installed configuration, said respective first action surfaces of said first and second segments are spaced from one another in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said first adjustable fastener (Fig. 1A shows the fully installed configuration such that the first action surfaces are spaced from one another in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis of the first adjustable fastener such that there is a gap as shown).
In regard to claim 33, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein in said fully installed configuration, said respective second action surfaces of said first and second segments are spaced from one another in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said second adjustable fastener (Fig. 1A, similar to claim 32 above, the second action surface are spaced apart).
In regard to claim 34, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein in said factory assembled configuration, said second support surface of at least one of said segments is offset from said second action surface of said at least one segment, said offset being measured from said second action surface in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said second adjustable fastener (Figs. 1A-1B and see image above for claim 29, the second support surface is offset from the second action surface similar to the first action surface being offset from the first support surface).
In regard to claim 35, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein in said factory assembled configuration, said first support surface is oriented perpendicularly to said first plane, and said second support surface is oriented perpendicularly to said first plane (See image above for claim 29, the first and second support surfaces are oriented perpendicular to the first plane).
In regard to claim 36, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein in said factory assembled configuration, said first action surface is oriented perpendicularly to said first plane and said second action surface is oriented perpendicularly to said first plane (See image above for claim 29, the first and second action surfaces are oriented perpendicular to the first plane).
In regard to claim 37, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein said first support surface of at least one of said segments is oriented at a first orientation angle measured with respect to a second plane extending between said first and second segments (See image above for claim 29, a second plane can be defined as aligned with the longitudinal axis of the pipe elements and perpendicular to the fasteners, therefore, the first support surface is at least at an angle relative to the second plane), wherein said second plane is perpendicular to said longitudinal axes of said first adjustable fastener and said second adjustable fastener (See image above for claim 29, as previously mentioned above, the second plane can be defined is perpendicular to the fasteners).
In regard to claim 38, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 37, and John further discloses wherein said first action surface of said at least one segment is oriented at a second orientation angle measured with respect to said second plane (See image above for claim 29, the first action surface is at least at a second orientation angle relative to the second plane).
In regard to claim 40, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein:
said first action surface and said first support surface of said first segment are oriented at a first orientation angle measured with respect to a second plane extending between said first and second segments (See image above for claim 29, the first action surface and the first support surface of the first segment are at least at an angle with respect to a second plane as previously mentioned above), wherein
said second plane is perpendicular to said longitudinal axes of said first adjustable fastener and said second adjustable fastener (See claim 37 above for the same reasons with regard to defining the second plane);
said first action surface and said first support surface of said second segment are oriented at a second orientation angle measured with respect to said second plane (See image above for claim 29, the first action surface and the first support surface of the second segment are at least at an angle with respect to a second plane as previously mentioned above);
said second action surface and said second support surface of said first segment are oriented at a third orientation angle measured with respect to said second plane;
said second action surface and said second support surface of said second segment are oriented at a fourth orientation angle measured with respect to said second plane (See image above for claim 29, similar to the first action surfaces and first support surfaces, the second action surfaces and the second support surfaces are at least at angles relative to the second plane).
In regard to claim 41, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein said first lugs define a first opening surrounding a first axis oriented transversely to said longitudinal axis of said first fastener, wherein said first opening is positioned between said first action surfaces and said first support surfaces (Fig. 1A, gap shown between the first action surfaces and the first support surfaces define a first opening which surround a first axis transvers to the longitudinal axis of the first fastener).
In regard to claim 42, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 41, and John further discloses wherein said first opening extends through said first lugs (Fig. 1A shows the first opening extends through the first lugs).
In regard to claim 43, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 41, and John further discloses wherein said second lugs define a second opening surrounding a second axis oriented transversely to said longitudinal axis of said second fastener, wherein said second opening is positioned between said second action surfaces and said second support surfaces (Fig. 1A, a second opening, identical to the first opening, is between the second actions surfaces and second support surfaces).
In regard to claim 44, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 43, and John further discloses wherein said second opening extends through said second lugs (Fig. 1A, the second opening also extends through the second lugs).
In regard to claim 45, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein each one of said first and second adjustable fasteners comprises a nut and bolt (See image above for claim 29, each fastener comprises a nut and a bolt).
In regard to claim 46, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses wherein each of said segments comprises first and second arcuate projections positioned on opposite sides of said segment (See image below, each segment have first and second arcuate projections on opposite sides of the segments), each of said arcuate projections facing said central space (See image below, each projections are facing the central space), each of said arcuate projections being engageable within circumferential grooves in said pipe elements when said segments are drawn toward one another by said adjustable fasteners (See image below, each projections are capable of engaging with circumferential grooves in pipe elements when the segments are drawn toward one another by the fasteners similar to applicant’s invention).
In regard to claim 47, John and Bancroft disclose the coupling according to claim 29, and John further discloses further comprising a seal positioned within said central space (See image above for claim 46, a seal positioned within the central space between the arcuate projections), said seal supporting said segments in said factory assembled configuration (Fig. 1B shows at least the seal is positioned within the segments prior to the fully installed configuration, therefore, the seal can be reasonably interrupted as supporting the segments in the factoring assembled configuration. Additionally, Bancroft teaches using the seal for supporting the segments to allow for at least ease of assembly. See claim 29 above for the same reasons to combine John and Bancroft.).
Double Patenting
Claims 29-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 and U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 B2 in view of Bancroft (US 2013/0125373 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
In regard to claim 29, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses a coupling (Claim 1 requires a coupling) in a factory assembled configuration for joining pipe elements in end-to-end relation (Claim 1 requires the coupling is for joining pipe elements in end-to-end relation and has at least a factory assembled configuration prior to a fully installed configuration), said coupling comprising:
first and second segments, wherein in said factory assembled configuration, said first and second segments are attached to one another end to end surrounding a central space (Claim 1 requires “first and second segments…a central space”) and are supported in spaced apart relation at a distance permitting said pipe elements to be inserted into said central space (Claim 15 requires the segments to be supported in spaced apart relation sufficient to permit insertion of the pipe elements. Alternatively, the prior art Bancroft teaches this limitation as previously mentioned above in the rejection by John in view of Bancroft, therefore, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 in view of Bancroft disclose this limitation for similar reasons.), each segment of said first and second segments comprising a first lug extending from a first end thereof and a second lug extending from a second end thereof, said first and second lugs of said first segment aligning respectively with said first and second lugs of said second segment (Claim 1 requires “each segment…comprising a first lug…a second lug…second segment”);
a first adjustable fastener extending between said first lugs along a longitudinal axis and a second adjustable fastener extending between said second lugs along a longitudinal axis, wherein each fastener of said first adjustable fastener and said second adjustable fastener is tightenable to draw said first and second segments toward one another from said factory assembled configuration to a fully installed configuration (Claim 1 requires first and second adjustable fasteners which are tightenable to draw the segments together from at least a factory assembled configuration to a fully installed configuration);
wherein each said segment further comprises:
a first action surface positioned between said central space and said first lug of said segment, and a first support surface positioned on said first lug of said segment, said first fastener being positioned between said first action surface and said first support surface, said first support surface being oriented transversely to a first plane, said first plane containing said longitudinal axis of said first fastener and said longitudinal axis of said second fastener (Claim 1 requires “a first action surface…second fastener”);
a second action surface positioned between said central space and said second lug of said segment, and a second support surface positioned on said second lug of said segment, said second fastener being positioned between said second action surface and said second support surface, said second support surface being oriented transversely to said first plane (Claim 1 requires “a second action surface…first plane”),
wherein in the fully installed configuration, respective first support surfaces of said first and second segments are in contact and respective second support surfaces of said first and second segments are in contact (Claim 1 requires the support surfaces to be at least in contact), and
wherein in the factory assembled configuration, said first support surface of at least one of said segments is offset from said first action surface of said at least one segment, said offset being measured from said first action surface in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said first adjustable fastener (Claim 1 requires the first support surface to be offset from the first action surface).
In regard to claim 30, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein when said segments are in a configuration between said factory assembled configuration and said fully installed configuration, said respective first action surfaces of said first and second segments are in contact (Claim 7 discloses a configuration in which the first action surfaces are in contact) and said respective first support surfaces of said first and second segments are spaced from one another in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said first adjustable fastener (Claim 7 discloses upon tightening, therefore, the first support surfaces are at least spaced apart prior to a fully tightened and installed configuration).
In regard to claim 31, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein when said segments are in a configuration between said factory assembled configuration and said fully installed configuration, said respective second action surfaces of said first and second segments are in engagement (Claim 8 discloses engagement by contact of the second action surfaces) and said respective second support surfaces of said first and second segments are spaced from one another in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said second adjustable fastener (Claim 8 discloses upon tightening, therefore, the second support surfaces are at least spaced apart prior to a fully tightened and installed configuration).
In regard to claim 32, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein in said fully installed configuration, said respective first action surfaces of said first and second segments are spaced from one another in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said first adjustable fastener (Claim 1 requires the first support surfaces to be in contact with each other and offset from the first action surfaces, therefore, when in contact, the first action surfaces must be spaced from one another).
In regard to claim 33, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein in said fully installed configuration, said respective second action surfaces of said first and second segments are spaced from one another in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said second adjustable fastener (Claim 2 discloses the features of claim 33. See claim 32 above for the similar reasons.).
In regard to claim 34, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein in said factory assembled configuration, said second support surface of at least one of said segments is offset from said second action surface of said at least one segment, said offset being measured from said second action surface in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said second adjustable fastener (Claim 2 requires the second support surface to be offset from the second action surface).
In regard to claim 35, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein in said factory assembled configuration, said first support surface is oriented perpendicularly to said first plane, and said second support surface is oriented perpendicularly to said first plane (Claim 1 requires the transverse relative orientation between the support surfaces to the fasteners, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the support surfaces to be oriented perpendicular to the first plane.).
In regard to claim 36, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein in said factory assembled configuration, said first action surface is oriented perpendicularly to said first plane and said second action surface is oriented perpendicularly to said first plane (Claim 1 requires the transverse relative orientation between the action surfaces to the fasteners, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the action surfaces to be oriented perpendicular to the first plane.).
In regard to claim 37, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein said first support surface of at least one of said segments is oriented at a first orientation angle measured with respect to a second plane extending between said first and second segments (Claims 3-4 or 6 requires the first support surface to be oriented at a first angle with respect to a plane extending between the first and second segments), wherein said second plane is perpendicular to said longitudinal axes of said first adjustable fastener and said second adjustable fastener (Claims 3-4 or 6, a second plane can be defined as perpendicular to the longitudinal axes of the first and second fasteners such that the first support surface would at an angle relative to the second plane).
In regard to claim 38, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 37, wherein said first action surface of said at least one segment is oriented at a second orientation angle measured with respect to said second plane (Claim 4 requires the first action surface to be oriented at an angle relative to a plane).
In regard to claim 39, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 38, wherein said first orientation angle is equal to said second orientation angle (Claim 5 requires the first orientation angle to be equal to the second orientation angle).
In regard to claim 40, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein:
said first action surface and said first support surface of said first segment are oriented at a first orientation angle measured with respect to a second plane extending between said first and second segments, wherein
said second plane is perpendicular to said longitudinal axes of said first adjustable fastener and said second adjustable fastener (See claim 37 for the same reasons with regard to the recitation “said first action surface…second adjustable fastener”);
said first action surface and said first support surface of said second segment are oriented at a second orientation angle measured with respect to said second plane;
said second action surface and said second support surface of said first segment are oriented at a third orientation angle measured with respect to said second plane;
said second action surface and said second support surface of said second segment are oriented at a fourth orientation angle measured with respect to said second plane (Claim 6 also requires the features of “said first action surface…said second action surface…said second plane”).
In regard to claim 41, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein said first lugs define a first opening surrounding a first axis oriented transversely to said longitudinal axis of said first fastener, wherein said first opening is positioned between said first action surfaces and said first support surfaces (Claim 9 recites “first lugs define a first opening…support surfaces”).
In regard to claim 42, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 41, wherein said first opening extends through said first lugs (Claim 10 recites “first opening extends through said first lugs”).
In regard to claim 43, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 41, wherein said second lugs define a second opening surrounding a second axis oriented transversely to said longitudinal axis of said second fastener, wherein said second opening is positioned between said second action surfaces and said second support surfaces (Claim 11 recites “said second lugs define a second opening…second support surfaces”).
In regard to claim 44, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 43, wherein said second opening extends through said second lugs (Claim 12 recites “second opening extends through said second lugs”).
In regard to claim 45, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein each one of said first and second adjustable fasteners comprises a nut and bolt (Claim 13 recites “each one…and bolt”).
In regard to claim 46, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, wherein each of said segments comprises first and second arcuate projections positioned on opposite sides of said segment, each of said arcuate projections facing said central space, each of said arcuate projections being engageable within circumferential grooves in said pipe elements when said segments are drawn toward one another by said adjustable fasteners (Claim 14 recites “each of said segments…fasteners”).
In regard to claim 47, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses the coupling according to claim 29, further comprising a seal positioned within said central space, said seal supporting said segments in said factory assembled configuration (Claim 15 requires a seal positioned within the central space and allows a spaced apart relation that can be reasonably interpreted as a factory assembled configuration).
In regard to claim 48, U.S. Patent No. 12,253,195 discloses a coupling for joining pipe elements in end-to-end relation, said coupling comprising:
first and second segments configured to attach to one another end to end surrounding a central space for receiving said pipe elements, each segment of said first and second segments comprising a first lug extending from a first end thereof, said first lug of said first segment aligning with said first lug of said second segment;
a first adjustable fastener extending between said first lugs along a longitudinal axis,
wherein each said segment further comprises a first action surface positioned between said central space and said first lug of said segment, and a first support surface positioned on said first lug of said segment, said first fastener being positioned between said first action surface and said first support surface,
wherein said first support surface of at least one of said segments is offset from said first action surface of said at least one segment, said offset being measured from said first action surface in a direction parallel to said longitudinal axis of said first adjustable fastener, and
wherein, upon adjusting said first adjustable fastener to draw said first and second segments toward one another, said first support surface of said first segment contacts said first support surface of said second segment (Claim 16 require all the features of claim 48).
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gibb et al. (US 2008/0007061 A1) and Dole (US 2005/0212296 A1) discloses a split clamp having support surfaces in contact in a fully installed configuration similar to applicant’s invention.
/WILLIAM S. CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679