DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 1 in the reply filed on 07/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (“Liu”, US 2024/0345383) in view of Yang (US 2022/0094824).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a camera module, comprising:
a movable substrate comprising a first main surface and a second main surface arranged opposite to the first main surface (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and par. [0057], wherein a movable substrate 256 comprising a first main surface and a second main surface arranged opposite to the first main surface);
an image sensor configured to capture image data, wherein the image sensor is mechanically coupled to the first main surface (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and par. [00575], in which an image sensor 26 configured to capture image data);
a piezoelectric-actuated micro-electrical-mechanical systems (MEMS) platform mechanically coupled to the second main surface of the movable substrate such that the movable substrate and the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform are configured to move in unison (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and par. [0060], note that a MEMS platform 262 mechanically coupled to the second main surface of the movable substrate 256 such that the movable substrate 256 and the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform 262 are configured to move in unison);
at least one piezoelectric actuator coupled to the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform, wherein the at least one piezoelectric actuator is configured to provide a counter mechanical response to the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and par. [0057], [0060], wherein at least one piezoelectric actuator 258 coupled to the MEMS platform 262, wherein the at least one piezoelectric actuator 258 is configured to provide a counter mechanical response to the MEMs platform 262); and
an actuation circuit configured to receive a motion sensor signal corresponding to a movement, generate at least one actuation signal based on the motion sensor signal, and provide the at least one actuation signal for optical image stabilization system, and the at least one piezoelectric actuator to produce the counter mechanical response at the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform in response to the movement indicated by the motion sensor signal (Liu: see fig. 1, 7A-7C and pars. [0109], [0057]-[0058], wherein a control system configured to receive a motion sensor signal corresponding to a movement, generate at least one actuation signal based on the motion sensor signal, and the at least one piezoelectric actuator 258 to produce the counter mechanical response at the MEMS platform 262 in response to the movement indicated by motion of the camera considering as indicated by the motion sensor signal).
Liu does not explicitly disclose stabilization by moving image sensor by z direction.
However, Yang teaches stabilization by moving image sensor by z direction (Yang: see par. [0054], wherein the camera module stabilize an optical image during image capture by moving the image sensor module 300 in the z-axis).
One would have been modified to include a teaching as taught by Yang in the apparatus of Liu to do stabilization in another direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the Liu’s system to include stabilization by moving image sensor by z direction.
Regarding claim 2, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the actuation circuit is configured to receive the motion sensor signal from a motion sensor (Liu: see par. [0109], wherein the control system is configured to receive the motion sensor signal from a motion sensor).
Regarding claim 3, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the counter mechanical response is directionally opposed to the movement indicated by the motion sensor signal (Liu: see pars. [0057]-[0058], [0109], wherein the counter mechanical response is directionally opposed to the movement indicated by the motion sensor signal as camera motion detected).
Regarding claim 4, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 3, wherein the counter mechanical response is equal in magnitude to the movement indicated by the motion sensor signal (Liu: see pars. [0057]-[0058], as doing stabilization for the camera, the counter mechanical response is equal in magnitude to the movement indicated by the motion sensor signal as camera movement).
Regarding claim 6, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the counter mechanical response includes a counter movement in a vertical plane that is perpendicular to the first main surface (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C).
Regarding claim 7, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the actuation circuit is configured to determine at least one of a magnitude, a direction, a speed, or an acceleration of the movement based on the motion sensor signal, and calculate the counter mechanical response based on the at least one of the magnitude, the direction, the speed, or the acceleration of the movement indicated by the motion sensor signal (Liu: see par. [0109]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform is coupled to a plurality of piezoelectric actuators, and wherein the actuation circuit is configured to selectively actuate one or more of the plurality of piezoelectric actuators to produce the counter mechanical response at the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and pars. [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the actuation circuit is configured to generate the at least one actuation signal to stabilize the movable substrate and the image sensor (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and pars. [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, wherein the actuation circuit is configured to generate at least one actuation signal to maintain the movable substrate at a target position (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and pars. [0057]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1.
Liu in the combination with Yang does not explicitly disclose comprising: one or more actuator springs, wherein each actuator spring is coupled to the piezoelectric- actuated MEMS platform and a respective piezoelectric actuator of the at least one piezoelectric actuator, wherein each piezoelectric actuator comprises a membrane coupled to a respective actuator spring, wherein a deflection of the membrane is configured to cause a position shift of the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform in a corresponding actuation direction, and wherein the actuator circuit is configured to apply an actuation signal to the membrane of a piezoelectric actuator to induce the deflection of the membrane.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that comprising: one or more actuator springs, wherein each actuator spring is coupled to the piezoelectric- actuated MEMS platform and a respective piezoelectric actuator of the at least one piezoelectric actuator, wherein each piezoelectric actuator comprises a membrane coupled to a respective actuator spring, wherein a deflection of the membrane is configured to cause a position shift of the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform in a corresponding actuation direction, and wherein the actuator circuit is configured to apply an actuation signal to the membrane of a piezoelectric actuator to induce the deflection of the membrane is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate that teaching into Liu and Yang’s system to shift the platform.
The rational to do so is to have another structure to move the platform.
Regarding claim 12, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, further comprising:
a lens arranged over the image sensor (Liu: see fig. 1 and par. [0029], wherein a lens arranged over the image sensor 26),
wherein the movable substrate is configured to move in an out-of-plane direction to change a distance between the lens and the image sensor for focusing light from the lens onto the image sensor (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and pars. [0059]-[0060], wherein the movable substrate 256 is configured to in in an out-of-plane direction to change a distance between the lens and the image sensor for focusing light from the lens onto the image sensor),
wherein the actuator circuit is configured to actuate one or more of the at least one piezoelectric actuator to shift a position of the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform in the out- of-plane direction based on a focus control parameter (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C and par. [0062], in which the control system is configured to actuate one piezoelectric actuator 258 to shift a position of the MEMS platform 256 in the out-of-plane direction based on a focus control parameter).
Regarding claim 13, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one piezoelectric sensor configured to sense a counter movement of the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform corresponding to the counter mechanical response, and generate at least one sensor feedback signal based on a piezoelectric effect corresponding to the counter movement of the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform (Liu: see par. [0108], wherein feedback loop 450 configured to sense a counter movement of the MEMS platform 256 corresponding to the counter mechanical response, and generate at least one sensor feedback signal based on a piezoelectric effect corresponding to the counter movement of the MEMS platform),
wherein the actuator circuit is configured to monitor the counter mechanical response based on the at least one sensor feedback signal (Liu: see par. [0108], in which the control system is configured to monitor the counter mechanical response based on the feedback loop 450).
Regarding claim 14, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 13, wherein the actuation circuit is configured to determine a displacement corresponding to the counter movement based on the at least one sensor feedback signal, compare the displacement to a target displacement to generate a comparison result, and regulate the at least one actuation signal based on the comparison result such that the displacement is equal to a target displacement (Liu: see par. [0108], the motion sensors generate feedback signals) based on the detected motion, and this information is then fed into a control system. In a negative feedback loop, the control system processes the input signals (e.g., control signals 454) and calculates the necessary adjustments to the optical elements optical device. These adjustments are aimed at compensating for the detected motion, effectively stabilizing the image. As the stabilized image is captured, the system continues to monitor for any residual motion, creating a continuous loop of detection and correction).
Regarding claim 15, Liu in the combination with Yang discloses the camera module of claim 13, wherein the actuation circuit is configured to generate the at least one actuation signal to move the piezoelectric-actuated MEMS platform toward a target position based on the at least one sensor feedback signal (Liu: see par. [0108]).
Regarding claim 24, Liu discloses a method of stabilizing a position of an image sensor, comprising:
determining, by an actuation circuit, a counter mechanical response based on a motion sensor signal corresponding to a movement sensed by a motion sensor, wherein the counter mechanical response is directionally opposed to the movement indicated by the motion sensor signal (Liu: see par. [0109], determining, by a control system, a counter mechanical response based on a camera motion corresponding to a movement sensed by a motion sensor, wherein the counter mechanical response is directionally opposed to the movement indicated by the motion sensor signal);
generating, by the actuation circuit, an actuation signal based on the counter mechanical response (Liu: see par. [0109], generating, by the control system, an actuation signal based on the counter mechanical response); and
providing, by the actuation circuit, the actuation signal to a piezoelectric actuator coupled to a piezoelectric-actuated micro-electrical-mechanical systems (MEMS) platform (Liu: see pars. [0060], [0109], providing, by the control system, the actuation signal to a piezoelectric actuator 258 coupled to a MEMS platform 262),
wherein actuation of the piezoelectric actuator causes a position shift of the piezoelectric- actuated MEMS platform to produce the counter mechanical response (Liu: see figs. 7A-7C, and par. [0060], note that actuation of the piezoelectric actuator 258 causes a position shift of the MEMS platform 262 to produce the counter mechanical response).
Liu does not explicitly disclose stabilization by moving image sensor by z direction.
However, Yang teaches stabilization by moving image sensor by z direction (Yang: see par. [0054], wherein the camera module stabilize an optical image during image capture by moving the image sensor module 300 in the z-axis).
One would have been modified to include a teaching as taught by Yang in the apparatus of Liu to do stabilization in another direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yang with the Liu’s system to include stabilization by moving image sensor by z direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHAN T NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638