DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al [US 2020/0302775] in view of Truslow et al [BR 112014013614 B1].
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) A method for providing, by an electronic device, one or more suggestions for maintaining personal hygiene of a user (the stationary controller 152 and a patient or user hand hygiene "HH", see Figs. 1B, abstract), the method comprising:
receiving hygiene data associated with the user from at least one source in response to
detecting an activity (the stationary controller 152 receives hygiene sensor data from the
predetermined HH movements and/or PPE movements, see Fig. 1B, para [0120, 0143, 0168]);
determining a hygiene category of the activity among a plurality of predetermined hygiene categories based on the hygiene, data and preprocessed hygiene data associated with the user (the processor 1306 analyzes the received sensor data and to determine as to sufficient and/or insufficiency of hygiene and/or PPE movements according to the guidelines, predetermined hygiene such as the hand hygiene (HH) protocols and PPE protocols, soaps, and sanitizers or type of cleaning product. The processor 1306 is processing to access the hygiene opportunities compliance data associated with a patient category, see Figs. 1B, 10A, 13A, para [0035, 0168, 0170, 0222, 0257, 0264, 0265, 0361, 0362, 0364]);
determining a type of the activity among a plurality of types of activities based
on the hygiene data and the hygiene category (the controller 152 and/or processor 1306
determines type of HH and/or PPE protocols, activities/motions, fitness type motions
and/or specific category of infection based on the HH and/or PPE sensor data, see Figs.
1B, 12, 13A, para [0160, 0165, 0279, 0361, 0442]);
determining an impact level of the activity on the personal hygiene of the user
based on the hygiene category, and the type of the activity (at step 674, it is
determined, based on analysis of the sensor(s) data, whether the effective "impactive"
motion time for hand movement is greater than 20 seconds. This determination may be
performed either by the wristband or by the stationary controller 152. As discussed
above, the user may start/stop the hand rubbing motion. In that regard, the wristband
may use a counter in order to determine whether the effective total time of the hand
rubbing motion is at least 20 seconds. This determination may be performed either by
the wristband or by the stationary controller. As discussed above, the user may
start/stop the hand rubbing motion. In that regard, the wristband may use a counter in
order to determine whether the effective "impact" total time of the hand rubbing motion
is at least 20 seconds. If so, at 676, the stationary controller may determine that the
hand hygiene is compliant, see Fig. 6C, para [0325]). But
Liu et al fails to disclose providing one or more suggestions for maintaining the
personal hygiene to the user based on the impact level, the hygiene data, the hygiene
category, and the activity. However,
Liu et al teaches that more than one device may determine hand hygiene "HH"
and/or PPE compliance. The analytics may analyze the sensor data in one or more
respects to determine hand hygiene and/or PPE compliance. In one implementation, the
analytics may determine whether or not the person performed any act related to hand
washing (such as whether the hand cleaning agent was dispensed from the dispenser)
and/or any act related to PPE (such as whether the PPE garment was dispensed). In
another implementation, the analytics may determine a duration of the hand hygiene
motions and/or a duration of the PPE motions. In practice, the user may start and stop
the hand hygiene HH motion(s) and/or PPE motion(s), such as a starting time at time=1
second to time=10 seconds perform the hand hygiene HH motion(s), stop performing
the hand hygiene motion(s) from a stopping time of time=11 seconds to time=14
seconds, and resume the hand hygiene HH motion(s) from a restarting time of time=15
seconds to time=28 seconds. The wristband may track that from time=1-10 a total of 9
seconds of hand hygiene motion(s) were performed (with the wristband incrementing a
counter so that the value of the counter is indicative of 9 seconds of hand hygiene
motion(s)), from time=11-14, may track no hand hygiene motion(s) were performed (so
that the counter is not incremented such that the value of the counter remains indicative
of 9 seconds of hand hygiene motion(s)), and may track at least from time 15-26 seconds of hand hygiene motion(s) (for a total of 20 seconds of hand hygiene HH
motion(s)). In this way, the wristband may determine that the minimum amount of time
(e.g., 20 seconds) of hand hygiene HH motion(s) and/or PPE motion(s) was performed
within the predetermined time window, even though the user started and stopped the
hand hygiene motions and/or PPE motions (see Figs. 10A-10C, para [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art to recognize that the one or
more devices may determine hand hygiene HH and/or PPE compliance by resuming
and continuing to operate or perform the hygiene motions within a predetermined time
window based on the analytics data even though the user started and stopped the hand
hygiene motions or PPE motion of Liu et al, which is functionally equivalent to the claim
maintaining the personal hygiene to the user based on the impact level, the hygiene
data, the hygiene category, and the activity in order to provide compliance and
completion and success of hygiene or PPE for a user, patient or person health status.
Liu et al fails to disclose wherein the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories comprises a combination of at least two of an oral hygiene category, a skin hygiene category, a hair hygiene category, and a sanitization hygiene category.
Liu et al fails to disclose the hand hygiene HH cleaning agent such as soap and other type of cleaning product, sanitizer and water (see Fig. 10A, para [0035, 0195]).
The analytics may illustrate the correlation between any one, any combination, or all of: hand hygiene compliance rate; PPE compliance rate; and infection rate. With infection data input from hospitals, the analytics may generate detailed analysis and generate visualized reports. For instance, hospital users or researchers from relevant fields may use the software to analyze the correlation between a specific category of infection (e.g., Central Line Infection) and hand hygiene compliance and/or PPE compliance of all providers associated with these patients in that category.
Various types of users may be instructed, including healthcare providers, children, and the elderly. With regard to healthcare providers, the system may train for different hygiene protocols, such as hand hygiene protocols (e.g., WHO hand hygiene guidelines), PPE protocols, infectious hygiene protocols (e.g., for treatment of patients with infectious diseases or immuno-compromised diseases), etc. In this regard, the training may learn general hygiene protocols or specific hygiene protocols. Further, the system disclosed herein may be integrated with a virtual reality or augmented reality system in which the trainee healthcare provider enters different “rooms” and practices different hygiene protocols, such as hand hygiene protocols, infectious hygiene protocols, etc. (See abstract, Figs. 1B-C, 12H-I, para [0361]).
Truslow et al suggests that the In particular, an objective of the invention is to provide the antimicrobial compositions that provides an improved disinfection during the hygiene of surfaces of the human body, such as the skin, the hands and the oral cavity. (See para [020, 0035]).
The microbicidal compositions of the present invention can be used to inhibit the growth of microorganisms by introducing a microbicidally effective amount of the compositions on, in or in a location subject to attack. For example, in the field of institutional and industrial applications, suitable locations include, for example: industrial process water including electro-coating deposition systems, cooling towers and air washers; gas purifiers; sewage treatment; ornamental fountains; reverse osmosis filtration; ultrafiltration; ballast water; evaporative condensers and heat exchangers; pulp and paper processing fluids and additives; mineral sludge; starch; plastics; emulsions; dispersions; paints; latex; coatings, such as varnishes; construction products, such as almécega, caulete and sealants; construction adhesives, such as ceramic adhesives, carpet support adhesives and laminating adhesives; industrial or consumer adhesives; photographic chemicals; printing fluids; household and institutional products used in restaurants, healthcare facilities, schools, food processing facilities and farms including, cleaners, sanitizers and disinfectants, tissues, soaps, detergents, floor polishers and laundry rinse water; cosmetics; toilet articles; shampoo; metal working fluids. (See para [0134, 0139]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add or modify the hygiene microbicidal compositions uses to the human body hygiene categories such as the skin, the hand and the oral cavity of Truslow et al to the hand hygiene HH agent or hygiene protocols of Liu et al for providing convenience and extending of hygiene applications and uses of the hygiene agent, compositions or protocols based on different users and/or a particular infection or category of that patient, doctor, nurse or user, to provide the best results. It is also well known of hygiene soap available in the store can be used on the human skin, hand, body, face and hair for cleaning.
Claim 2. (Original) The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether the one or more suggestions is performed by the user (the recommended or suggestion, see Figs. 10A-10C, para [0035, 0109-0112, 0339, 0369]); and generating a feedback based on the determination (the feedback, see Figs. 4, 12A, para [0103, 0143, 0346]).
Claim 3. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one source comprises at least one of at least one sensor and memory of the electronic device (the mobile wristband device, see Figs. 3A, 3B).
Claim 4. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the hygiene data comprises at least one of: sensor data received from at least one sensor; user data associated with one or
more of a reminder and an alarm associated with performing one or more of the plurality
of types of activities set up by the user in the electronic device (as cited in respect to
claim 1 above and including the reminder, see abstract, Figs. 22E-22G, para [0072-
0074, 0104]);
environmental data including at least of a temperature, a humidity, and precipitation,
associated with a vicinity of the user (read upon the environmental spread (e.g.,
healthcare providers pick up pathogens from the environment (air, water, fomites) and,
with poor hygiene, may carry these pathogens into a patient room, see Figs. 26B-26D,
para [0535-0538]);
pre-stored personal hygiene data associated with the user (the previous hygiene HH
and/or PPE, see Fig. 22C, para [0138, 0491]);
routine data generated by analyzing a daily routine of the user (the recommended for
routine hygiene and schedule at which the hygiene opportunity are determined, see
para [0109, 0257, 0279]);
location associated with the user at a time of occurrence of the activity (see Figs. 12A-
D, para [0354, 0355]); and
contextual data generated from a combination of at least two of the sensor data,
the user data, the environmental data, the pre-stored personal hygiene data, and the
routine data (as cited above, and including texting data information, see Figs 3A-C, 12I,
para [0486]).
Claim 5. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories comprises at least one of the oral hygiene category, the skin hygiene category, the hair hygiene category, the sanitization hygiene category, and (as discussed between Liu et al and Truslow et al in respect to claim 1 above, wherein the single hygiene agent such as the hand sanitizer and soaps, see Fig. 10C, para [0101-0105, 0112, 0113, 0140]).
Claim 6. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of types of activities comprises at least one of brushing teeth, smoking, flossing, sanitizing, washing hands, drinking, eating, rinsing mouth, bathing, receiving sun exposure, sweating, going out in a plurality of weather conditions, wearing a headgear, removing a headgear, sneezing, coughing, performing a plurality of hand activities, and washing hair (as cited in respect to claims 1 and 5 above, and including wearing protection equipment/gears PPE such as masks gloves, goggle, gowns, respirator, etc., and cough, see Fig. 10C, 20B, para [0037, 0101, 0111-0113]).
Claim 7. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein determining the hygiene category comprises:
determining a similarity score between the hygiene data and the preprocessed hygiene
data (as cited in respect to claim 1 above);
generating a plurality of weight-hygiene pairs by pairing the similarity score with a
weight associated with a respective hygiene category amongst the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories (the wristband may include multiple monitoring functionalities, such as hand hygiene and/or PPE monitoring functionality and non-hand hygiene or non-PPE monitoring (e.g., fitness monitoring). As discussed above, the wristband may monitor one or more activities, which may relate to any one, any combination, or all of: hand hygiene; PPE; or fitness monitoring. The wristband may include algorithms that distinguish between the hand hygiene and/or PPE motions and other fitness type motions, such as walking. For example, the wristband may include separate algorithms that analyze the hand hygiene and/or PPE motions and other fitness type motions, such as walking. As another example, the wristband may include a single algorithm that analyzes both the hand hygiene and/or PPE motions and other fitness type motions in combination. In this regard, the wristband, which includes multiple functionalities including two functionalities, such as hand hygiene protocols and PPE protocols, see para [0160, 0168]). This score represents a weighted score based on any one, any combination, or all of: visit duration (e.g., total visit duration of a respective healthcare provider in the patient room); hand hygiene compliance (e.g., better hand hygiene compliance translates into a lower (e.g., better) score); PPE compliance (e.g., better PPE compliance translates into a lower (e.g., better) score (see Fig. 26A, para [0531]);
calculating a confidence score associated with a corresponding hygiene category
based on the plurality of weight-hygiene pairs (the analyzing algorithm and calculated
score, see Figs. 13B, 26A, para [0160, 0246, 0279, 0373, 0531]); and
selecting the hygiene category from the plurality of hygiene categories with a highest
confidence score (the selection of hygiene protocols, see Figs. 12A-D, para [0039-0042,
0275, 0347-0349]).
Claim 8. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein determining the type of the activity comprises: correlating the hygiene data, the hygiene category, the preprocessed hygiene data with one another by applying a Machine Learning (ML) technique (the machine learning, see para [0182]).
Claim 9. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein determining the impact level comprises: assigning an activity weight to the activity and a duration weight to a time
duration of the activity; calculating an activity score based on the activity weight, the
duration weight, a previous activity score associated with a previous activity, and a
weight associated with the previous activity score, wherein the weight associated with
the previous activity score is based on a time duration between occurrence of the
previous activity and the activity (as cited in respect to claims 4 and 8 above, and
including the duration and period time such 3, 5, 20 and 60 seconds, see Figs. 6C, 6D,
7, 21A, 21B; and
determining the impact level by comparing the activity score with the previous
activity score, wherein the impact level is one of a low impact level, a medium impact
level, and a high impact level (it is inherently that the feedback may compare the
difference between the plurality of hand motions and the user hand motions with results
from a previous training session, such as a previous difference between previous
plurality of hand motions and previous user hand motions in a previous training session,
and output the comparison via the display. The comparison analysis feedback scores
with a higher score and lower score for determining whether hygiene movements
performed proper sequence or deficiencies in the amount of time of hand hygiene is
representing the affective and impacting of the hand hygiene performances to be
improved or worsening based on a previous training session, see Figs. 26A, 26B, para
[0143, 0193, 0362, 0369, 0531-0533, 0538-0540]).
Claim 10. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 1, wherein the providing of the one or more suggestions comprises: identifying one or more possible suggestions among a plurality of pre-stored possible suggestions in a database based on the hygiene data, the hygiene category, the type of activity, and the impact level, wherein the plurality of pre-stored possible suggestions is mapped with the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories and the plurality of types of activities (as cited in respect to claims 1, 4 and 9 above, and including the following guidelines, reminded or recommended for routine hygiene hand antisepsis and identifying the patient area hygiene opportunity and patient hygiene movement events, see Figs. 22D-G, para [0102, 0105, 0110-0112]); and
identifying the one or more suggestions from the one or more possible suggestions
based on the hygiene data, the impact level, one or more previous suggestions
suggested to the user, and feedback associated with usage of one or more previous
suggestions suggested to the user (as cited respect to claims 4 and 9 above, and
including the feedback, see Figs. 4, 12A, para [0103, 0143, 0346]).
Claim 11. (Original) The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more suggestions comprises at least one of brushing teeth, using a mouthwash, using a mouth freshener, rinsing mouth with water, drinking water, washing hands, taking a bath, washing hair, applying hair products to hair, combing hair, changing clothes, using a towel to dry one or more body parts, applying skincare products, using an umbrella, sanitizing hands, wearing a face mask, and wearing gloves (as cited in respect to claims 1, 5 and 6 above).
Claim 12. (Currently Amended) An electronic device for providing one or more suggestions for maintaining personal hygiene of a user, the electronic device comprising: memory storing one or more computer programs (the mobile wristband device and local stationary controller 400 include programmed controller 302, 402, see Figs. 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 32, para [0099, 0248, 0249, 0564, 0565]); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: receive hygiene data associated with the user from at least one source in response to detecting an activity,
determine a hygiene category of the activity among a plurality of predetermined hygiene categories based on the hygiene, data and preprocessed hygiene data associated with the user, disclose wherein the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories comprises a combination of at least two of an oral hygiene category, a skin hygiene category, a hair hygiene category, and a sanitization hygiene category,
determine a type of the activity among a plurality of types of activities based on the hygiene data and the hygiene category,
determine an impact level of the activity on the personal hygiene of the user based on the hygiene category, and the type of the activity, and
provide the one or more suggestions for maintaining the personal hygiene to the user based on the impact level, the hygiene data, the hygiene category, and the activity (as the discussed and combination between Liu et al and Truslow et al in respect to the method claim 1 above).
Claim 13. (Original) The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: determine whether the one or more suggestions is performed by the user, and generate a feedback based on the determination (as cited in respect to claim 2 above).
Claim 14. (Original)The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the at least one source comprises at least one of at least one sensor and the memory of the electronic device (as cited in respect to claim 3 above).
Claim 15. (Original) The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the hygiene data comprises at least one of: sensor data received from at least one sensor; user data associated with one or more of a reminder and an alarm associated with performing one or more of the plurality of types of activities set up by the user in the electronic device; environmental data including at least of a temperature, a humidity, and precipitation, associated with a vicinity of the user; pre-stored personal hygiene data associated with the user; routine data generated by analyzing a daily routine of the user; location associated with the user at a time of occurrence of the activity; and contextual data generated from a combination of at least two of the sensor data, the user data, the environmental data, the pre-stored personal hygiene data, and the routine data (as cited in respect to claim 4 above).
Claim 16. (Currently Amended) The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories comprises at least one of the oral hygiene category, the skin hygiene category, the hair hygiene category, the sanitization hygiene category (as cited in respect to claim 5 above).
Claim 17. (Original) The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the plurality of types of activities comprises at least one of brushing teeth, smoking, flossing, sanitizing, washing hands, drinking, eating, rinsing mouth, bathing, receiving sun exposure, sweating, going out in a plurality of weather conditions, wearing a headgear, removing a headgear, sneezing, coughing, performing a plurality of hand activities, and washing hair (as cited in respect to claim 6 above).
Claim 18. (Original) The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the one or more suggestions comprises at least one of brushing teeth, using a mouthwash, using a mouth freshener, rinsing mouth with water, drinking water, washing hands, taking a bath, washing hair, applying hair products to hair, combing hair, changing clothes, using a towel to dry one or more body parts, applying skincare products, using an umbrella, sanitizing hands, wearing a face mask, and wearing gloves (as cited in respect to claim 11 above).
Claim 19. (Currently Amended) One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing one or more computer programs including computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to perform operations (the programmable computer system, see Figs. 3, 4, 32, para [0099, 0248, 0249, 0564-0565]), the operations comprising:
receiving hygiene data associated with a user of the electronic device from at least one source in response to detecting an activity;
determining a hygiene category of the activity among a plurality of predetermined hygiene categories based on the hygiene, data and preprocessed hygiene data associated with the user, wherein the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories comprises a combination of at least two of an oral hygiene category, a skin hygiene category, a hair hygiene category, and
a sanitization hygiene category, determining a type of the activity among a plurality of types of activities based on the hygiene data and the hygiene category;
determining an impact level of the activity on personal hygiene of the user based on the hygiene category, and
the type of the activity; and providing one or more suggestions for maintaining the personal hygiene to the user based on the impact level, the hygiene data, the hygiene category, and the activity (as discussed and combination between Liu et al and Truslow et al in respect to the method claim 1 above).
Claim 20. (Original) The one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 19, the operations further comprising: determining whether the one or more suggestions is performed by the user; and generating a feedback based on the determination (as cited in respect to claim 2 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment, filed 08/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 under Liu et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Truslow et al [BR 112014013614 B1] to make the rejection smoother.
Applicant’s arguments:
(A) Liu does not disclose that the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories comprise a combination of at least two categories. Accordingly, Applicant submits that Liu does not disclose or render obvious determining a hygiene category of the activity among a plurality of predetermined hygiene categories based on the hygiene data and preprocessed hygiene data associated with the user, wherein the plurality of predetermined hygiene categories comprise a combination of at least two of an oral hygiene category, a skin hygiene category, a hair hygiene category, and a sanitization hygiene category.
(B) Dependent claims 2-11, 13-18, and 20 variously depend from independent claims 1, 12, and 19. Because Liu fails to disclose or render obvious the features presently recited in independent claims 1,12, and 19.
Response to the arguments:
(A) It is obvious to add or modify the hygiene agents or hygiene protocols of Liu et al with the hygiene microbicidal compositions uses to the human body hygiene categories such as the skin, the hand and the oral cavity of Truslow et al for providing convenience and extending hygiene applications and uses of the hygiene agent, compositions or protocols based on different users and/or a particular infection or category of that patient, doctor, nurse or user, to provide the best results. It is also well known of hygiene soap available in the store can be used on the human skin, hand, body, face and hair for cleaning.
(B) The dependent claims 2-11, 13-18 and 20 are obvious rejected based on the combination of the at least two hygiene categories between Liu et al and Truslow et al based on their independent claim, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786- 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/VAN T TRIEU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685
09/01/2026