DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Patent Application filed 2/26/2025 wherein claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III (Figure 6) in the reply filed on 10/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: PISTON RING ASSEMBLIES FOR COMBUSTOR OF A GAS TURBINE ENGINE
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“the inner liner first end, the inner liner” (Claim 1, line 10 and Claim 19, line 13) is believed to be in error for - - the inner liner first end, wherein the inner liner - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dery et al. (US 2013/0152591) in view of Hannwacker et al. (US 2017/0248315).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Dery teaches (Figures 1-8) a combustor (100) for a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1), the combustor (100) comprising:
a dome structure (210) having an outer dome portion (the upper portion of 210 in Figure 2) and an inner dome portion (the lower portion of 210 in Figure 2);
a cowl structure (230, 250) having an outer cowl portion (at 230) and an inner cowl portion (at 230), the cowl structure (230, 250) connected with the dome structure (210) via an inner connection (the connection at 820 and at the junction of 800, 250, 210; see Figures 2, 4, and 7-8);
an outer liner (300) having an outer liner first end (at 310) and an outer liner second end (at 330) arranged downstream of (with respect to flow 320; see Figures 2 and 5) the outer liner first end (at 310);
an inner liner (700) having an inner liner first end (at 710) and an inner liner second end (at 730) arranged downstream of (with respect to flow 720; see Figures 2 and 6) the inner liner first end (at 710), the inner liner (700), the outer liner (300), and the dome structure (210) defining a combustion chamber therebetween (see Figure 2), the combustion chamber (see Figure 2) operable to combust an air-fuel mixture to generate combustion products (see Paragraph 0010);
an outer piston ring assembly (500, 510, 502) including an outer piston ring housing (500) having an outer piston ring housing first end (at 510) connected with the outer connection (at 310, 510; see Figure 3), and an outer piston ring housing second end (at 502) arranged downstream of (see Figure 2) the outer piston ring housing first end (510), the outer piston ring housing second end (510) including an outer piston ring (600) that engages with an outer side (see Figures 2 and 5) of the outer liner second end (at 330); and
an inner piston ring assembly (800, 810, 802) including an inner piston ring housing (800) having an inner piston ring housing first end (at the upstream end of 800) connected with the inner connection (the connection at 820 and at the junction of 800, 250, 210; see Figures 2, 4, and 7-8), and an inner piston ring housing second end (802) arranged downstream of (see Figures 2 and 6) the inner piston ring housing first end (at the upstream end of 800), the inner piston ring housing second end (at 802) including an inner piston ring (900) that engages with an inner side (see Figures 2 and 6) of the inner liner second end (at 730).
Dery does not teach, as discussed so far, that the cowl structure is connected with the dome structure via an outer connection, an outer liner first end connected to the outer dome portion and the outer cowl portion at the outer connection, and an inner liner first end connected to the inner dome portion and the inner cowl portion at the inner connection.
Hannwacker teaches (Figures 1-5) a mounting assembly (136) wherein a cowl structure (168) is connected with a dome structure (112) via a connection (146) and a liner first end (122) is connected to a dome portion (at 138) and a cowl portion (at 142) at the connection (146). Hannwacker further teaches that the mounting assembly (136) may connect an inner liner at a radially inner location of the combustor assembly or an outer liner at a radially outer location of the combustor assembly (see Paragraph 0049).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery to have the cowl structure be connected with the dome structure via an outer connection, an outer liner first end be connected to the outer dome portion and the outer cowl portion at the outer connection, and an inner liner first end be connected to the inner dome portion and the inner cowl portion at the inner connection, as taught by Hannwacker, in order to support the combustor dome and the combustion chamber liner (Paragraph 0038 of Hannwacker).
Regarding Claim 2, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the outer piston ring housing first end (at 510) is connected to an outer side (see Figures 2-3 and 7-8) of the outer connection (at 310, 510), the outer piston ring housing second end (at 502) is arranged as a cantilever from (see Figures 2-3 and 5) the outer piston ring housing first end (at 510), the inner piston ring housing first end (at the upstream end of 800) is connected to an inner side (see Figures 2, 4, and 7-8) of the inner connection (the connection at 820 and at the junction of 800, 250, 210; see Figures 2, 4, and 7-8), and the inner piston ring housing second end (802) is arranged as a cantilever from (see Figures 2, 4, and 6) the inner piston ring housing first end (at the upstream end of 800).
Regarding Claim 4, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the outer piston ring housing second end (at 502) includes an outer piston ring holder (annotated below), and the outer piston ring (600) is arranged within the outer piston ring holder (annotated below), and the inner piston ring housing second end (at 802) includes an inner piston ring holder (annotated below), and the inner piston ring (900) is arranged within the inner piston ring holder (annotated below).
Regarding Claim 5, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the outer piston ring holder (annotated above)) includes an outer piston ring pocket (annotated above), the outer piston ring (600) is arranged within the outer piston ring pocket (annotated above), and the inner piston ring holder (annotated above) includes an inner piston ring pocket (annotated above), the inner piston ring (900) being arranged within the inner piston ring pocket (annotated above).
Regarding Claim 6, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the dome structure comprises an outer dome connecting flange connected with the outer connection and an inner dome connecting flange connected with the inner connection, and the cowl structure comprises an outer cowl connecting flange connected with the outer connection and an inner cowl connecting flange connected with the inner connection.
Hannwacker teaches (Figures 1-5) a dome (at 112) comprising a dome connecting flange (138) connected with the connection (146) and the cowl structure (168) comprising a connecting flange (142) connected with the connection (146). As discussed above, Hannwacker teaches that the mounting assembly (136) may connect an inner liner at a radially inner location of the combustor assembly or an outer liner at a radially outer location of the combustor assembly (see Paragraph 0049).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker to have the dome structure comprise an outer dome connecting flange connected with the outer connection and an inner dome connecting flange connected with the inner connection, and the cowl structure comprise an outer cowl connecting flange connected with the outer connection and an inner cowl connecting flange connected with the inner connection, as taught by Hannwacker, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein at least one of the inner connection or the outer connection includes a fastener and a retention member connected to the fastener.
Hannwacker teaches (Figures 1-5) wherein the connection (146) includes a fastener (174) and a retention member (172) connected to (Paragraph 0045) the fastener (174).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker to have at least one of the inner connection or the outer connection includes a fastener and a retention member connected to the fastener, as taught by Hannwacker, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding Independent Claim 19, Dery teaches (Figures 1-8) a gas turbine engine (see Figure 1):
a compressor (upstream of 100; see Figure 1) for compressing air flowing therethrough to provide a compressed air flow (see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0010);
a combustor(100) including:
a dome structure (210) having an outer dome portion (the upper portion of 210 in Figure 2) and an inner dome portion (the lower portion of 210 in Figure 2);
a cowl structure (230, 250) having an outer cowl portion (at 230) and an inner cowl portion (at 230), the cowl structure (230, 250) connected with the dome structure (210) via an inner connection (the connection at 820 and at the junction of 800, 250, 210; see Figures 2, 4, and 7-8);
an outer liner (300) having an outer liner first end (at 310) and an outer liner second end (at 330) arranged downstream of (with respect to flow 320; see Figures 2 and 5) the outer liner first end (at 310);
an inner liner (700) having an inner liner first end (at 710) and an inner liner second end (at 730) arranged downstream of (with respect to flow 720; see Figures 2 and 6) the inner liner first end (at 710), the inner liner (700), the outer liner (300), and the dome structure (210) defining a combustion chamber therebetween (see Figure 2), the combustion chamber (see Figure 2) operable to combust an air-fuel mixture to generate combustion products (see Paragraph 0010);
an outer piston ring assembly (500, 510, 502) including an outer piston ring housing (500) having an outer piston ring housing first end (at 510) connected with the outer connection (at 310, 510; see Figure 3), and an outer piston ring housing second end (at 502) arranged downstream of (see Figure 2) the outer piston ring housing first end (510), the outer piston ring housing second end (510) including an outer piston ring (600) that engages with an outer side (see Figures 2 and 5) of the outer liner second end (at 330); and
an inner piston ring assembly (800, 810, 802) including an inner piston ring housing (800) having an inner piston ring housing first end (at the upstream end of 800) connected with the inner connection (the connection at 820 and at the junction of 800, 250, 210; see Figures 2, 4, and 7-8), and an inner piston ring housing second end (802) arranged downstream of (see Figures 2 and 6) the inner piston ring housing first end (at the upstream end of 800), the inner piston ring housing second end (at 802) including an inner piston ring (900) that engages with an inner side (see Figures 2 and 6) of the inner liner second end (at 730).
a turbine section (downstream of 100; see Figure 1) having at least one turbine (see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0010) driven by the combustion products from the combustor (100).
Dery does not teach, as discussed so far, that the cowl structure is connected with the dome structure via an outer connection, an outer liner first end connected to the outer dome portion and the outer cowl portion at the outer connection, and an inner liner first end connected to the inner dome portion and the inner cowl portion at the inner connection.
Hannwacker teaches (Figures 1-5) a mounting assembly (136) wherein a cowl structure (168) is connected with a dome structure (112) via a connection (146) and a liner first end (122) is connected to a dome portion (at 138) and a cowl portion (at 142) at the connection (146). Hannwacker further teaches that the mounting assembly (136) may connect an inner liner at a radially inner location of the combustor assembly or an outer liner at a radially outer location of the combustor assembly (see Paragraph 0049).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery to have the cowl structure be connected with the dome structure via an outer connection, an outer liner first end be connected to the outer dome portion and the outer cowl portion at the outer connection, and an inner liner first end be connected to the inner dome portion and the inner cowl portion at the inner connection, as taught by Hannwacker, in order to support the combustor dome and the combustion chamber liner (Paragraph 0038 of Hannwacker).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dery et al. (US 2013/0152591) in view of Hannwacker et al. (US 2017/0248315) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Davis et al. (US 2019/0293293).
Regarding Claim 3, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery further teaches (Figures 1-8) wherein the outer liner (300) is constructed of a ceramic matrix composite material (Paragraph 0021) and the outer piston ring housing (500) is constructed of a metallic material (Paragraph 0022), and the inner liner (700) is constructed of a CMC material (Paragraph 0021) and the inner piston ring housing (800) is constructed of a metallic material (Paragraph 0022). Although Dery teaches that the outer piston ring housing (500) is constructed of a metallic material (see Paragraph 0022), Dery does not teach that the outer piston ring is constructed of a metallic material.
Davis teaches (Figures 1-6) a piston ring (154) used in a gas turbine engine (20), where the piston ring (154) is constructed of a metallic material (Paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker to have the outer piston ring be constructed of a metallic material, as taught by Davis, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dery et al. (US 2013/0152591) in view of Hannwacker et al. (US 2017/0248315) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mitchell et al. (US 2004/0154303).
Regarding Claim 8, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the combustor is an annular combustor that defines a longitudinal centerline axis, the outer liner extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, the inner liner extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, the outer piston ring extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, and the inner piston ring extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis.
Mitchell teaches (Figures 1-10) the combustor (10) is an annular combustor (Paragraph 0025) that defines a longitudinal centerline axis (12), an outer liner (16) extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis (12), an inner liner (18) extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis (12), an outer piston ring (102) extends annularly (Paragraph 0037) about the longitudinal centerline axis (12), and an inner piston ring (43) extends annularly (Paragraph 0031) about the longitudinal centerline axis (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker to have the combustor be an annular combustor that defines a longitudinal centerline axis, the outer liner extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, the inner liner extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, the outer piston ring extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, and the inner piston ring extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, as taught by Mitchell, because a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the combustor and piston ring arrangement as taught by Dery) for another (in this case, the annular combustor and annular piston ring arrangement as taught by Mitchell) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to circumferentially seal the inner and outer piston ring assembly to the inner and outer liners) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Regarding Claim 9, Dery in view of Hannwacker and Mitchell teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker and Mitchell does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the outer piston ring housing extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, and the inner piston ring housing extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis.
Mitchell teaches (Figures 1-10) an outer piston ring housing (100) extends annularly (Paragraph 0037) about the longitudinal centerline axis (12), and an inner piston ring housing (42) extends annularly (Paragraph 0030) about the longitudinal centerline axis (12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker and Mitchell to have the outer piston ring housing extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, and the inner piston ring housing extends annularly about the longitudinal centerline axis, as taught by Mitchell, because a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the inner and outer piston ring housing arrangements as taught by Dery) for another (in this case, the inner and outer piston ring housing arrangements as taught by Mitchell) to obtain predictable results (in this case, to circumferentially seal the inner and outer piston ring assembly to the inner and outer liners) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Claims 10-12, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dery et al. (US 2013/0152591) in view of Hannwacker et al. (US 2017/0248315) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Chang (US 2016/0320060).
Regarding Claim 10, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the outer liner further includes at least one outer liner dilution opening therethrough, and the inner liner further includes at least one inner liner dilution opening therethrough.
Chang teaches (Figures 1-8) an outer liner (72) including at least one outer dilution opening therethrough (110), and the inner liner (74) further includes at least one inner liner dilution opening therethrough (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker to have the outer liner further includes at least one outer liner dilution opening therethrough, and the inner liner further includes at least one inner liner dilution opening therethrough, as taught by Chang, in order to supply dilution air directly into the combustion chamber to dilute or quench the hot combustion gases within the combustion chamber (Paragraph 0052 of Chang).
Regarding Claim 11, Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein, in operation of the combustor, an outer dilution airflow flows through the at least one outer liner dilution opening into the combustion chamber, and an inner dilution airflow flows through the at least one inner liner dilution opening into the combustion chamber.
Chang teaches (Figures 1-8) in operation of the combustor (56), an outer dilution airflow (flow from 76 through 110) flows through the at least one outer dilution opening (passage 110 through liner 72) into the combustion chamber (66), and an inner dilution airflow (flow from 78 through 110) flows through the at least one inner dilution opening (passage 110 through liner 74 into the combustion chamber (66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang to have, in operation of the combustor, an outer dilution airflow flows through the at least one outer liner dilution opening into the combustion chamber, and an inner dilution airflow flows through the at least one inner liner dilution opening into the combustion chamber, as taught by Chang, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 10.
Regarding Claim 12, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery teaches an outer piston ring housing (500) and an inner piston ring housing (800). Dery in view of Hannwacker does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the outer piston ring housing includes a plurality of outer housing airflow orifices therethrough, the outer liner includes a plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough, and an outer airflow baffle passage is defined between the outer piston ring housing and the outer liner, and the inner piston ring housing includes a plurality of inner housing airflow orifices therethrough, the inner liner includes a plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough, and an inner airflow baffle passage is defined between the inner piston ring housing and the inner liner.
Chang teaches (Figures 1-8) an outer housing (68) including a plurality of outer housing airflow orifices therethrough (orifices 106 in housing 68; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051), the outer liner (72) includes a plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough (orifices 108 in liner 72; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051), and an outer airflow baffle passage (104; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051) is defined between the outer housing (68) and the outer liner (72), and the inner housing (70) including a plurality of inner housing airflow orifices (orifices 106 in housing 70), the inner liner (74) includes a plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough (orifices 108 in liner 74), and an inner airflow baffle passage (104) is defined between the inner housing (70) and the inner liner (74).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker to have the outer housing includes a plurality of outer housing airflow orifices therethrough, the outer liner includes a plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough, and an outer airflow baffle passage is defined between the outer housing and the outer liner, and the inner housing includes a plurality of inner housing airflow orifices therethrough, the inner liner includes a plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough, and an inner airflow baffle passage is defined between the inner housing and the inner liner, as taught by Chang, in order to have cooling air impinge on the cold side of the liner and form a thin, cool, blanket of film orf air over the hot side of the liner thereby in-part protecting the liner from the hot combustion gases (Paragraphs 0051-052 of Chang).
Regarding Claim 15, Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery teaches an outer piston ring housing (500) and an inner piston ring housing (800). Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang does not teach, as discussed so far, further comprising an outer casing and an inner casing, an outer flow passage being defined between the outer casing and the outer piston ring housing, and an inner flow passage being defined between the inner casing and the inner piston ring housing.
Chang teaches (Figures 1-8) an outer casing (64A) and an inner casing (64B), an outer flow passage (76) defined between the outer casing (64A) and the outer housing (68), and an inner flow passage (78) being defined between the inner casing (64B) and the inner housing (70).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang to have an outer casing and an inner casing, an outer flow passage being defined between the outer casing and the outer housing, and an inner flow passage being defined between the inner casing and the inner housing, as taught by Chang, in order to provide a supply of air through the shells and liners to dilute or quench the hot combustion gases within the chamber and to protect the liner from the hot combustion gases (see Paragraph 0052 of Chang).
Regarding Claim 16, Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery teaches an outer piston ring housing (500) and an inner piston ring housing (800). Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein, in operation of the combustor, an outer cooling airflow flows through (a) the outer flow passage, (b) the plurality of outer housing airflow orifices, (c) the outer airflow baffle passage, and (d) the plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices into the combustion chamber, and an inner cooling airflow flows through, (e) the inner flow passage, (f) the plurality of inner housing airflow orifices, (g) the inner airflow baffle passage, and (h) the plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices into the combustion chamber.
Chang teaches (Figures 1-8), in operation of the combustor (56), an outer cooling airflow (from 24 to 76) flow through the outer flow passage (76), the plurality of outer housing airflow orifices (orifices 106 in housing 68; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051), the outer airflow baffle passage (104; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051), and the plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices (orifices 108 in liner 72; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051) into the combustion chamber (66), and an inner cooling airflow (from 24 to 78) flow through the inner flow passage (78), the plurality of inner housing airflow orifices (orifices 106 in housing 70), the inner airflow baffle passage (104), and the plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices (orifices 108 in liner 74) into the combustion chamber (66).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang to have, in operation of the combustor, an outer cooling airflow flows through (a) the outer flow passage, (b) the plurality of outer housing airflow orifices, (c) the outer airflow baffle passage, and (d) the plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices into the combustion chamber, and an inner cooling airflow flows through, (e) the inner flow passage, (f) the plurality of inner housing airflow orifices, (g) the inner airflow baffle passage, and (h) the plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices into the combustion chamber, as taught by Chang, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 12.
Regarding Claim 17, Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the outer liner further includes at least one outer liner dilution opening therethrough, and the inner liner further includes at least one inner liner dilution opening therethrough.
Chang teaches (Figures 1-8) an outer liner (72) including at least one outer dilution opening therethrough (110), and the inner liner (74) further includes at least one inner liner dilution opening therethrough (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang to have the outer liner further includes at least one outer liner dilution opening therethrough, and the inner liner further includes at least one inner liner dilution opening therethrough, as taught by Chang, in order to supply dilution air directly into the combustion chamber to dilute or quench the hot combustion gases within the combustion chamber (Paragraph 0052 of Chang).
Regarding Claim 20, Dery in view of Hannwacker teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery teaches an outer piston ring housing (500) and an inner piston ring housing (800). Dery in view of Hannwacker does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the outer piston ring housing includes a plurality of outer housing airflow orifices therethrough, the outer liner includes a plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough, and an outer airflow baffle passage is defined between the outer piston ring housing and the outer liner, and the inner piston ring housing includes a plurality of inner housing airflow orifices therethrough, the inner liner includes a plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough, and an inner airflow baffle passage is defined between the inner piston ring housing and the inner liner.
Chang teaches (Figures 1-8) an outer housing (68) including a plurality of outer housing airflow orifices therethrough (orifices 106 in housing 68; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051), the outer liner (72) includes a plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough (orifices 108 in liner 72; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051), and an outer airflow baffle passage (104; see Figures 2-3 and Paragraph 0051) is defined between the outer housing (68) and the outer liner (72), and the inner housing (70) including a plurality of inner housing airflow orifices (orifices 106 in housing 70), the inner liner (74) includes a plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough (orifices 108 in liner 74), and an inner airflow baffle passage (104) is defined between the inner housing (70) and the inner liner (74).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker to have the outer housing includes a plurality of outer housing airflow orifices therethrough, the outer liner includes a plurality of outer liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough, and an outer airflow baffle passage is defined between the outer housing and the outer liner, and the inner housing includes a plurality of inner housing airflow orifices therethrough, the inner liner includes a plurality of inner liner airflow cooling orifices therethrough, and an inner airflow baffle passage is defined between the inner housing and the inner liner, as taught by Chang, in order to have cooling air impinge on the cold side of the liner and form a thin, cool, blanket of film orf air over the hot side of the liner thereby in-part protecting the liner from the hot combustion gases (Paragraphs 0051-052 of Chang).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dery et al. (US 2013/0152591) in view of Hannwacker et al. (US 2017/0248315) and Chang (US 2016/0320060) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Howell et al. (US 2005/0081526).
Regarding Claim 13, Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the plurality of outer housing airflow orifices are arranged in a plurality of rows of the outer housing airflow orifices, the plurality of rows of the outer housing airflow orifices are arranged such that a first row of the outer housing airflow orifices is offset circumferentially with respect to a longitudinal centerline axis of the combustor relative to a second row of the outer housing airflow orifices adjacent to the first row of the outer housing airflow orifices.
Howell teaches (Figures 1-4) a plurality of outer housing airflow orifices (holes 140 in outer housing 42) that are arranged in a plurality of rows (rows of holes 140 along axes 76; see Figures 3-4) of the outer housing airflow orifices (holes 140 in outer housing 42), the plurality of rows (rows of holes 140 along axes 76; see Figures 3-4) of the outer housing airflow orifices (holes 140 in outer housing 42) are arranged such that a first row (a row of holes 140 along an axis 76; see Figures 3-4) is offset circumferentially (see Figures 2-4) with respect to a longitudinal centerline axis of the combustor (along axis 26, the combustor 16 being annular; see Figures 1-2) relative to a second row of outer housing airflow orifices (a row of holes 140 along an adjacent axis 76; see Figures 3-4) adjacent to the first row of the outer housing airflow orifices (a row of holes 140 along an axis 76; see Figures 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang to have the plurality of outer housing airflow orifices arranged in a plurality of rows of the outer housing airflow orifices, the plurality of rows of the outer housing airflow orifices arranged such that a first row of the outer housing airflow orifices are offset circumferentially with respect to a longitudinal centerline axis of the combustor relative to a second row of the outer housing airflow orifices adjacent to the first row of the outer housing airflow orifices, as taught by Howell, in order to facilitate maximizing the cooling airflow available for impingement cooling (Paragraph 0028 of Howell).
It is noted that the term “adjacent” is interpreted as “not distant: nearby” as provided by Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary.
Regarding Claim 14, Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the plurality of inner housing airflow orifices are arranged in a plurality of rows of the inner housing airflow orifices, the plurality of rows of the inner housing airflow orifices are arranged such that a first row of the inner housing airflow orifices is offset circumferentially with respect to a longitudinal centerline axis of the combustor relative to a second row of the inner housing airflow orifices adjacent to the first row of the inner housing airflow orifices.
Howell teaches (Figures 1-4) a plurality of inner housing airflow orifices (holes 140 in inner housing 46) that are arranged in a plurality of rows (rows of holes 140 along axes 76; see Figures 3-4) of the inner housing airflow orifices (holes 140 in inner housing 46), the plurality of rows (rows of holes 140 along axes 76; see Figures 3-4) of the inner housing airflow orifices (holes 140 in inner housing 46) are arranged such that a first row (a row of holes 140 along an axis 76; see Figures 3-4) is offset circumferentially (see Figures 2-4) with respect to a longitudinal centerline axis of the combustor (along axis 26, the combustor 16 being annular; see Figures 1-2) relative to a second row of inner housing airflow orifices (a row of holes 140 along an adjacent axis 76; see Figures 3-4) adjacent to the first row of the inner housing airflow orifices (a row of holes 140 along an axis 76; see Figures 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang to have the plurality of inner housing airflow orifices arranged in a plurality of rows of the inner housing airflow orifices, the plurality of rows of the inner housing airflow orifices arranged such that a first row of the inner housing airflow orifices are offset circumferentially with respect to a longitudinal centerline axis of the combustor relative to a second row of the inner housing airflow orifices adjacent to the first row of the inner housing airflow orifices, as taught by Howell, in order to facilitate maximizing the cooling airflow available for impingement cooling (Paragraph 0029 of Howell).
It is noted that the term “adjacent” is interpreted as “not distant: nearby” as provided by Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dery et al. (US 2013/0152591) in view of Hannwacker et al. (US 2017/0248315) and Chang (US 2016/0320060) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Snyder et al. (US 2015/0354819).
Regarding Claim 18, Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein, in operation of the combustor, an outer dilution airflow further (i) flows from the outer airflow baffle passage through the at least one outer liner dilution opening into the combustion chamber, and an inner dilution airflow further (j) flows from the inner airflow baffle passage through the at least one inner liner dilution opening into the combustion chamber.
Snyder teaches (Figures 1-9) in operation of a combustor (118), an outer dilution airflow (the airflow 176 to 150; see Figures 7-8) further flow from the outer airflow baffle passage (170) through the at least one outer liner dilution opening (150) into the combustion chamber (135), and an inner dilution airflow (the airflow 176 to 150; see Figures 7-8) further flows from the inner airflow baffle passage (170) through the at least one inner liner dilution opening (150) into the combustion chamber (135).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dery in view of Hannwacker and Chang to have, in operation of the combustor, an outer dilution airflow further (i) flows from the outer airflow baffle passage through the at least one outer liner dilution opening into the combustion chamber, and an inner dilution airflow further (j) flows from the inner airflow baffle passage through the at least one inner liner dilution opening into the combustion chamber, as taught by Snyder, in order to provide cooling air to the radially inward surface and hot surface of the grommet (Paragraphs 0044-0045 of Snyder). It is further noted that a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the dilution arrangement as taught by Chang) for another (in this case, the dilution arrangement as taught by Snyder) to obtain predictable results (in this case, provide dilution air to the combustion chamber) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741