DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters, et al. (US 2019/0266584, herein Walters) in view of Joseph, et al. (US 10,810,473, herein Joseph).1 2 Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, Walters teaches a system, method, and non-transitory computer readable medium storing processor-executable instructions, comprising: one or more processors (paragraph 0020: processor 112) coupled with memory (paragraph 0020: memory 116) to: validate using a proxy card in communication with one or more devices (paragraph 0017: authorization serves as validation); determine, via a circuit of the proxy card, that the integrated circuit card is coupled with the one or more devices (paragraph 0027); execute, responsive to the determination and via the one or more devices a synthetic transaction using data of the integrated circuit card (paragraph 0030: test transaction serves as a synthetic transaction); and determine, responsive to the execution of the synthetic transaction, a validation status of the integrated circuit card (paragraph 0033). Walters does not explicitly teach identify, from one or more slots corresponding to one or more integrated circuit cards, a slot corresponding to an integrated circuit card of the one or more integrated circuit cards. Joseph teaches identify, from one or more slots corresponding to one or more integrated circuit cards, a slot corresponding to an integrated circuit card of the one or more integrated circuit cards (column 6, lines 31-46: card vent 202B serves as a slot). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Walters and Joseph, because such a combination does not require manual intervention (column 1, lines 39-43 of Joseph). Regarding claims 2 and 14, Walters further teaches the validation status is indicative that the integrated circuit card is valid and wherein the one or more devices include a terminal device in communication with the proxy card and a point of sale device to execute the synthetic transaction (paragraph 0036). Regarding claims 3 and 15, Walter further teaches receive, via a terminal device of the one or more devices, a signal of the circuit of the proxy card (paragraph 0032); and determine, in response to the signal, that the integrated circuit card is in communication with the terminal device via a communication that is within a signal communication range of the terminal device, while the integrated circuit card is located outside of the signal communication range of the terminal device (paragraph 0032). Regarding claims 4 and 16, Walters further teaches establish communication between a terminal device of the one or more devices and the proxy card (paragraph 0027); determine, responsive to the communication, that the integrated circuit card is coupled with the terminal device to execute a transaction at the terminal device (paragraph 0028); and execute, responsive to the determination that the integrated circuit card is coupled with the terminal device, the synthetic transaction instead of the transaction (paragraph 0036). Regarding claims 6 and 18, Joseph further teaches activate the slot to allow for a function of the integrated circuit card to communicate a stored file comprising the data for the synthetic transaction (column 9, lines 5-10); complete the execution of the synthetic transaction according to the data from the stored file (column 9, lines 10-20); and deactivate the slot upon completion of the synthetic transaction (column 10, lines 50-60). Regarding claim 8, Walters further teaches identify, responsive to the determination, from the data of the integrated circuit, information of an account to use for the execution of the synthetic transaction (paragraph 0031); and complete the execution of the synthetic transaction using the information of the account (paragraph 0055). Regarding claim 9, Walters further teaches the synthetic transaction comprises one of a purchase transaction (paragraph 0002), a return transaction, or a void transaction and the synthetic transaction is executed using at least one of a magnetic strip technology (paragraph 0002), chip technology (paragraph 0031), near-field communication technology or quick response (QR) technology. Regarding claim 10, Walters further teaches determine, responsive to the execution of the synthetic transaction, a performance of the synthetic transaction corresponding to at least one of a success (paragraph 0025), an error (paragraph 0025), or a partial success; and generate, for a display, an indication of the validation of the integrated circuit card (paragraph 0047: outcome report). Regarding claim 10, Walters further teaches determine, responsive to the validation of the integrated circuit card, via the circuit of the proxy card, that a second integrated circuit card of the one or more integrated circuit cards is coupled with a terminal device of the one or more devices (paragraph 0030); complete, responsive to the determination that the second integrate circuit card is coupled with the terminal device and via a point of sale device of the one or more devices, a second synthetic transaction using a second data of the second integrated circuit card (paragraph 0027); and validate, responsive to the completion of the second synthetic transaction, the second integrated circuit card (paragraph 0033). Regarding claim 11, Walter further teaches generate an indication for a display on a terminal device of the one or more devices, the indication indicating that the synthetic transaction is completed (paragraph 0047: outcome report).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The cited art does not teach or suggest use of QR codes or the automation script as recited in these claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 Cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 2/26/25.
2 In addition to the cited portions of each reference, please see also the associated figures.
3 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.