DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 48-63 and 66-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (WO 2015/089105, disclosed by applicant).
Xu et al. disclose dry powder compositions comprising vardenafil, or pharmaceutically acceptable salts or esters there. The dry powder composition may include a carrier/excipient. The concentration of the active agent may be at lease about 2% by weight. Methods of aerosolizing the dry powder compositions and using them to treat various diseases (Abstract). Xu et al. disclose the dose of micronized vardenafil has a nominal dose of at least about 0.25 mg ([0095]). Xu et al. disclose the lactose may be a suitable powder base with a fine lactose of less than 7 micron at a concentration of 2 to 50% by weight of the total lactose composition; wherein lactose of different size fractions may be combined in a dry powder composition. Xu et al. disclose particles of lactose of about 60 to about 90 micron. Xu et al. disclose treating pulmonary hypertension (([0099]). Xu et al. disclose the average particle size ranges about 1-3 microns to be effective delivery to the area of the lungs needed ([0106]). Xu et al. disclose pulmonary delivery with higher aerosolization efficiencies about 70% FPF may allow less mouth and throat deposition upon aerosolization and inhalation by a subject ([0107]). Xu et al. disclose the inhaled dose required to attain efficacy in a human subject with pulmonary hypertension delivered via a high efficiency in haler device may be about 1/10th to 1/20th the oral dose ([0108]). Xu et al. disclose the composition is administered by air flow induced through the outlet channel to cause air and powder pharmaceutical composition to enter into the dispersion chamber from the inlet, and to cause the actuator to oscillate within the dispersion chamber to assist in dispersing the powder pharmaceutical composition from the outlet for delivery to a subject through the outlet ([0080]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-77 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17, 19-24 and 28 of U.S. Patent No. 11, 491,161. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in each case the claims read on a method of treating pulmonary arterial hypertension, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an affective amount of a vasodilator, wherein the vasodilator is administered to the subject via inhalation pro re nata using a portable inhaler.
Claims 1-77 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,491,160. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in each case the claims read on a method of treating pulmonary arterial hypertension, comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an affective amount of a vasodilator, wherein the vasodilator is administered to the subject via inhalation pro re nata using a portable inhaler.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612