DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Note that dependent claims will have the deficiencies of base and intervening claims.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 3 and claim 6 each requires “. . . ., wherein a graphene nanoribbon comprises said plurality of graphene sensors.” There is no need to go through the Wands undue experimentation factors (MPEP 216401(a)) as this claim is not enabled on its face. It is impossible for a graphene nanoribbon to comprise a single graphene sensor, let alone a plurality of graphene sensors. Consider Xiong et al. WO 2009/035647 A1 (hereafter “Xiong”) Figure 1, which shows a graphene sensor that comprises a graphene ribbon (18).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 and independent claim 4 each requires “. . . ., wherein said nanofluidic chip comprises a plurality of graphene sensors and a nanochannel extending across said plurality of graphene sensors, . . . . [italicizing by the Examiner]” Applicant’s graphene “sensor”, though, is simply a graphene nanoribbon. See Applicant’s Figures 1B, 2A, and 2C. and specification paragraph [0011], [0012], and [0026]. One of ordinary skill in the electrochemical sensor art would not consider a graphene nanoribbon by itself to be a sensor.1 See, for example, the title, paragraph [0015], and Figure 1 in Xiong. Applicant is requested to clarify the scope of the term “sensor”. If Applicant is being his own lexicographer, please heed MPEP 2173.05(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afzali-Ardakani et al. US 10267784 B2 (hereafter “Afzali-Ardakani”) in view of Golovchenko et al. US 20080171316 (hereafter “Golovchenko”), Heerema et al., “Graphene nanodevices for DNA sequencing,” NATURE NANOTECHNOLOGY | VOL 11 | FEBRUARY 2016 (hereafter “Heerema”), and Min et al., “Fast DNA sequencing with a graphene-based nanochannel device,” NATURE NANOTECHNOLOGY | VOL 6 | MARCH 2011 (hereafter “Min”).
Addressing claim 1, Afzali-Ardakani discloses a method of sequencing DNA (see the title and Figure 8), comprising the steps of:
providing single-stranded DNA (implied by step 815 in Figure 8, 310 on Figure 3, and by col.10:37-42);
moving said single-stranded DNA from an inlet end (302 in Figure 3) of a nanofluidic (300) to an outlet end (303) of said nanofluidic chip (Figure 3, col. 9:52 – col. 10:2, and col. 10:37-42) , wherein said nanofluidic chip comprises a plurality of sensors (305a together with 305b, 316, and 318 form one senor. 306a together with 306b, 317, and 319 form another senor. See col. 10:33-54. Note that many more sensors may be provided. See col. 10:6-10.) and a nanochannel (304) extending through said plurality of sensors (Figure 3 and col. 9:61 – col. 10:6);
measuring an electrical current through said plurality of sensors as said single-stranded DNA moves through said plurality of sensors (see the penultimate sentence of the Abstract, col. 1:63 – col. 2:1, and col. 2:39-45); and
determining a composition of said at least one base of said single-stranded DNA molecule based on the measured electrical current (see step 820 in Figure 8, col. 2:39-45; and col. 10:45-55).
Afzali-Ardakani, though, does not disclose “wrapping a single-stranded DNA molecule around a carbon nanotube to form a DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure, wherein said single-stranded DNA molecule comprises at least one base…”
Golovchenko discloses a method of sequencing single-stranded DNA that uses a nanopore device that measures electric current as the single-stranded DNA passes through the nanopore. See the Abstract and Figure 1A. In one embodiment a single-stranded DNA molecule is wrapped around a carbon nanotube to form a DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure, wherein said single-stranded DNA molecule comprises at least one base. See Figure 5A and paragraph [0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have the single-stranded DNA provided in the method of Afzali-Ardakani previously prepared by wrapping a single-stranded DNA molecule around a carbon nanotube to form a DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure, wherein said single-stranded DNA molecule comprises at least one base as taught by Golovchenko because Golovchenko discloses
See Golovchenko paragraph [0083].
Also,
See Golovchenko paragraph [0085].
Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko does not disclose having the plurality of sensors be a plurality of graphene sensors2, “wherein said plurality of graphene sensors are positioned between opposing electrodes, wherein a power source applies a constant voltage to said plurality of graphene sensors between said opposing electrodes,; . . . .” nor “measuring an electrical current through said plurality of graphene sensors as said DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure moves across said plurality of graphene sensors; . . . . [italicizing by the Examiner]” In the method of Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko the DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure move between opposing electrodes of the plurality of sensor. See Afzali-Ardakani Figure 3.
Heerema discloses graphene nanodevices for DNA sequencing. See the title. In particular, one type of graphene nanodevice Heerema discloses comprises a graphene sensor positioned between opposing electrodes, wherein a power source applies a constant voltage to said plurality of graphene sensors between said opposing electrodes, and an electrical current through the graphene sensor is measured as DNA moves across the graphene sensor. See Heerema Figure 1(d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to replace the plurality of sensors used in the method of Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko with the graphene sensor of Heerema Figure 1(d) because
(1) although Afzali-Ardakani does not mention having the sensor comprise graphene, Afzali-Ardakani does clearly allow for different conductive materials to be used. See Afzali-Ardakani col. 5:35-42;
(2) one of the types of graphene sensors disclosed by Heerema is of the same type used in Afzali-Ardakani Figure 3, but with the electrodes made of graphene. See Heerema Figure1(b); and
(3) to adopt the sensor configuration of Heerema Figure 1(d) into the Afzali-Ardakani Figure 3 embodiment would not require a significant modification to the nanodevice, largely only providing a graphene nanoribbon “bridge” to each opposing pair of electrodes.
So, to replace the plurality of sensors used in the method of Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko with the sensor of Heerema is prima facie obvious as simple substitution of one known element (nanochannel electrochemical sensor for DNA sequencing) for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Moreover, Heerema discloses
See the left column on page 133.
Also, regarding the Heerema Figure 1(d) graphene sensor type,
See the right column on page 133.
Additionally, Min performed stimulation studies on a graphene sensor of the Heerema Figure 1(d) type. Min states, "We show that as a DNA strand passes through the nanochannel14, the distinct conductance characteristics of the nanoribbon15–17 (calculated using a method based on density functional theory coupled to non-equilibrium Green function theory18–20) allow the different nucleobases to be distinguished using a data-mining technique and a two-dimensional transient autocorrelation analysis. This fast and reliable DNA sequencing device should be experimentally feasible in the near future. [italicizing by the Examiner].” See the title, abstract, Figure 1, and the paragraph in the right column on page 164 just before the Methods heading (“In summary, . . . .”).
Last, the Examiner notes that although the plurality of sensors used in the method of Afzali-Ardakani have an organic coating on them (307a, 307b, 308a, and 308b in Figure 3 and col. 10:11-32), such coatings are not precluded from being used on the graphene sensors of Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko and Heerema to enhance DNA sequencing.
Addressing claim 4, Afzali-Ardakani discloses a DNA sequencing system (see the title and Figure 3), comprising:
a single-stranded DNA molecule, wherein said single-stranded DNA molecule (310) comprises at least one base (311)(see Figure 3 and col. 10:16-23);
a nanofluidic chip (300) on which said DNA molecule is moveable from an inlet end (302 in Figure 3) to an outlet end (303) of said nanofluidic chip (Figure 3, col. 9:52 – col. 10:2, and col. 10:37-42), wherein said nanofluidic chip comprises a plurality of sensors and a nanochannel (304) extending between said plurality of sensors (305a together with 305b, 316, and 318 form one senor. 306a together with 306b, 317, and 319 form another senor. See col. 10:33-54. Note that many more sensors may be provided. See col. 10:6-10.);
a power source (316, 317) configured to apply a constant voltage to each pair of opposing electrodes (Figure 3 and col. 10:43-44); and
an ammeter (318, 319) configured to measure an electrical current through the opposing electrodes as said DNA moves between them (Figure 3 and col. 10:43-54) .
Afzali-Ardakani, though, does not disclose “a single-stranded DNA molecule wrapped around a carbon nanotube, thereby forming a DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure, wherein said single-stranded DNA molecule comprises at least one base; . . . .”
Golovchenko discloses a method of sequencing single-stranded DNA that uses a nanopore device that measures electric current as the single-stranded DNA passes through the nanopore. See the Abstract and Figure 1A. In one embodiment a single-stranded DNA molecule is wrapped around a carbon nanotube to form a DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure, wherein said single-stranded DNA molecule comprises at least one base. See Figure 5A and paragraph [0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have the single-stranded DNA provided in the method of Afzali-Ardakani previously prepared by wrapping a single-stranded DNA molecule around a carbon nanotube to form a DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure, wherein said single-stranded DNA molecule comprises at least one base as taught by Golovchenko because Golovchenko discloses
See Golovchenko paragraph [0083].
Also,
See Golovchenko paragraph [0085].
Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko does not disclose having the plurality of sensors be a plurality of graphene sensors3, “wherein said plurality of graphene sensors are positioned between opposing electrodes, wherein a power source applies a constant voltage to said plurality of graphene sensors between said opposing electrodes,; . . . .” nor “. . . ., . . . .an ammeter configured to measure an electrical current through the graphene sensors between said opposing electrodes as said DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure moves across said plurality of graphene sensors; . . . . [italicizing by the Examiner]” In the method of Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko the DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure move between opposing electrodes of the plurality of sensor. See Afzali-Ardakani Figure 3.
Heerema discloses graphene nanodevices for DNA sequencing. See the title. In particular, one type of graphene nanodevice Heerema discloses comprises a graphene sensor positioned between opposing electrodes, wherein a power source applies a constant voltage to said plurality of graphene sensors between said opposing electrodes, and an electrical current through the graphene sensor is measured as DNA moves across the graphene sensor. See Heerema Figure 1(d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to replace the plurality of sensors used in the method of Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko with the graphene sensor of Heerema Figure 1(d) because
(1) although Afzali-Ardakani does not mention having the sensor comprise graphene, Afzali-Ardakani does clearly allow for different conductive materials to be used. See Afzali-Ardakani col. 5:35-42;
(2) one of the types of graphene sensors disclosed by Heerema is of the same type used in Afzali-Ardakani Figure 3, but with the electrodes made of graphene. See Heerema Figure1(b); and
(3) to adopt the sensor configuration of Heerema Figure 1(d) into the Afzali-Ardakani Figure 3 embodiment would not require a significant modification to the nanodevice, largely only providing a graphene nanoribbon “bridge” to each opposing pair of electrodes.
So, to replace the plurality of sensors used in the method of Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko with the sensor of Heerema is prima facie obvious as simple substitution of one known element (nanochannel electrochemical sensor for DNA sequencing) for another to obtain predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Moreover, Heerema discloses
See the left column on page 133.
Also, regarding the Heerema Figure 1(d) graphene sensor type,
See the right column on page 133.
Additionally, Min performed stimulation studies on a graphene sensor of the Heerema Figure 1(d) type. Min states, "We show that as a DNA strand passes through the nanochannel14, the distinct conductance characteristics of the nanoribbon15–17 (calculated using a method based on density functional theory coupled to non-equilibrium Green function theory18–20) allow the different nucleobases to be distinguished using a data-mining technique and a two-dimensional transient autocorrelation analysis. This fast and reliable DNA sequencing device should be experimentally feasible in the near future. [italicizing by the Examiner].” See the title, abstract, Figure 1, and the paragraph in the right column on page 164 just before the Methods heading (“In summary, . . . .”).
Last, the Examiner notes that although the plurality of sensors used in the method of Afzali-Ardakani have an organic coating on them (307a, 307b, 308a, and 308b in Figure 3 and col. 10:11-32), such coatings are not precluded from being used on the graphene sensors of Afzali-Ardakani as modified by Golovchenko and Heerema to enhance DNA sequencing.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afzali-Ardakani in view of Golovchenko, Heerema, and Min as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jagota et al. US 2005/0009039 A1 (hereafter “Jagata”).
Addressing claim 2, Afzali-Ardakani in view of Golovchenko, Heerema, and Min is silent as to whether the carbon nanotube is single-walled or multiwalled. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have the carbon nanotube be single-walled because Jagota, which Golovchenko incorporates by reference for details on how to prepare a DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure as claimed (paragraph [0081]), states, “The carbon-based nanotubes of the invention can be either multi-walled nanotubes (MWNTs) or single-walled nanotubes (SWNTs). A MWNT, for example, includes several concentric nanotubes each having a different diameter. Thus, the smallest diameter tube is encapsulated by a larger diameter tube, which in turn, is encapsulated by another larger diameter nanotube. A SWNT, on the other hand, includes only one nanotube.[italicizing by the Examiner]” See Jagota paragraph [0062].
Addressing claim 5, Afzali-Ardakani in view of Golovchenko, Heerema, and Min is silent as to whether the carbon nanotube is single-walled or multiwalled. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the application to have the carbon nanotube be single-walled because Jagota, which Golovchenko incorporates by reference for details on how to prepare a DNA/carbon nanotube hybrid structure as claimed (paragraph [0081]), states, “The carbon-based nanotubes of the invention can be either multi-walled nanotubes (MWNTs) or single-walled nanotubes (SWNTs). A MWNT, for example, includes several concentric nanotubes each having a different diameter. Thus, the smallest diameter tube is encapsulated by a larger diameter tube, which in turn, is encapsulated by another larger diameter nanotube. A SWNT, on the other hand, includes only one nanotube.[italicizing by the Examiner]” See Jagota paragraph [0062].
/ALEXANDER S NOGUEROLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
1 Claim 1, it should be noted, implicitly excludes the opposing electrodes from the graphene sensors.
2 Note that Applicant’s graphene “sensor” may just be a graphene nanoribbon. See Applicant’s Figure 1B and specification paragraph [0030].
3 Note that Applicant’s graphene “sensor” may just be a graphene nanoribbon. See Applicant’s Figure 1B and specification paragraph [0030].