DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is unclear in the way they are written whether they are independent claims or dependent claims. If they are intended to be independent claims, they should include all the limitations of the claims they are referring to, without reference of another claim. If they are dependent, they should include the same preamble as the independent claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mulet (International Patent Application WO 2020030836A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mulet teaches A transportation unit for a conveyor , comprising: a first shuttle and a second shuttle arranged to move along a planar conveying track independently of each other; (Figure 5: First transfer carriage 2 and second transfer carriage 3)and a gripping device comprising a first jaw mounted so that it can rotate on the first shuttle about a first rotational axis (Page 6, lines 334-336: "The first transfer carriage (2) is attached to the first clamping element (5) by means of a first joint (7) configured to allow a first relative rotational movement (002-5) between the first transfer carriage (2) and the first clamping element (5).")and a second jaw mounted so that it can rotate on the second shuttle about a second rotational axis parallel to the first rotational axis,(Page 6, lines 338-340: "In turn, the second transfer carriage (3) is attached to the second clamping element (6) by means of a second joint (8) configured to allow a second relative rotational movement (003-6) between the second transfer carriage (3) and the second clamping element (6).") the first jaw and the second jaw being interconnected by a sliding connection along a translation axis orthogonal to the first and second rotational axes to form the clamping jaws of a clamp having a clamping axis parallel to the translation axis, (Figure 5: Sliding bar 21)the clamping axis being perpendicular to the first rotational axis and the second rotational axis of the gripping device.(Figure 6: Rotational axis around joints 7, 8 perpendicular to axis around clamping of object O).
Regarding Claim 2, Mulet teaches the transportation unit according to claim 1, as seen above. Mulet further discloses wherein the sliding connection comprises a first arm rigidly connected to the first jaw, a second arm rigidly connected to the second jaw, (Figure 6: Clamping elements 5 and 6 with adapters 51, 52)and a rod having a first end rigidly attached to either the first or the second arm and a second end mounted so that it can move in translation in a hole formed in the other of the first and the second arm.(Figure 6: Slide bar 21 mounted to clamping element 5, wherein clamping element 6 slides through guide element 22)
Regarding Claim 3, Mulet teaches the transportation unit according to claim 2, as seen above. Mulet further discloses wherein the first arm and the second arm are identical.(Figure 6: Clamping elements 5 and 6 are the same)
Regarding Claim 4, Mulet teaches the transportation unit according to claim 1, as seen above. Mulet further discloses wherein at least one out of the first jaw and the second jaw comprises a centring V.(Figure 6: Reception profiles 52, 62)
Regarding Claim 5, Mulet teaches the transportation unit according to claim 1, as seen above. Mulet further discloses wherein at least one out of the first jaw and the second jaw is flexible.(Page 2, lines 79-84: "- a first transfer carriage attached to the first clamping element by means of a first link configured to allow a first relative rotational movement between the first transfer carriage and the first clamping element; - a second transfer carriage connected to the second clamping element by means of a second joint configured to allow a second relative rotational movement between the second transfer carriage and the second clamping element.", wherein adapters are flexible in their angled position by rotation about joints)
Regarding Claim 6, Mulet teaches the transportation unit according to claim 1, as seen above. Mulet further discloses wherein the first shuttle and the second shuttle are identical.(Figure 5: First transfer carriage 2 and second transfer carriage 3 are the same)
Regarding Claim 7, Mulet teaches A conveyor comprising at least one of the transportation unit according to claim 1, as seen above.(Figure 6: Transfer track (T)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application (Neubauer, Michael): Neubauer teaches a similar transport of objects comprising a guide track, movement devices and support portions as seen in Figure 1.
International Patent Application WO 2013/087151 A1 (Sammons, Michael): Sammons teaches a similar conveying device comprising a rail, working section, return section, carriages and clamps as seen in Figure 6.
/ABBY A JORGENSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3651