DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-7 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority application No. JP2024-028962 filed on 02/28/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “inclination” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “orientation about a vertical axis,” while the accepted meaning is “a deviation from the true vertical or horizontal.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner. Any claim not explicitly rejected under this heading is rejected as being dependent on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ghanem (US 2019/0317486).
Regarding claim 1:
Ghanem teaches A robot system comprising:
a robot that is configured to perform work on a workpiece transported to a work area (one or more robots perform manufacturing operation in a workstation, see at least ¶0035, ¶0039);
a sensor that is configured to output a signal related to inclination of the workpiece with respect to a reference orientation when the robot performs work on the workpiece, the signal being related to the inclination of the workpiece that arrived at the work area (spatial position is measured using measurement device 22, compared to nominal position, ¶0029, ¶0032-0033); and
a transport vehicle (AGV) that is configured to transport the workpiece to the work area (see at least ¶0028) and configured to correct the inclination of the workpiece based on the signal from the sensor so that the workpiece is aligned with the reference orientation in the work area (locators 29 adjust workpiece to correct orientation to nominal position, at least embodiment as in Fig. 5a-b and ¶0036-0039 has locators as part of the AGV).
Regarding claim 5:
Ghanem further teaches wherein the transport vehicle is an autonomous mobile robot (automatic guided vehicle, see at least abstract, ¶0002).
Regarding claim 6:
Ghanem further teaches a locator that is located in the work area and that is configured to support the workpiece delivered from the transport vehicle while the robot is working (plurality of locators 29, broadly interpreted, the locators are located in the work area when the AGV is in the work area, see at least Fig. 5a-b).
Regarding claim 7:
Ghanem further teaches wherein the sensor is a camera that is configured to photograph the workpiece located in the work area (see at least ¶0029).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghanem (US 2019/0317486) in view of Burkhart et al (US 2021/0080968).
Regarding claim 2:
Ghanem teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Ghanem is silent as to a rotary table configured to rotate a workpiece about a vertical axis.
Burkhart teaches an autonomous guided vehicle for transporting a workpiece, wherein the vehicle comprises a rotary table that is configured to rotate the workpiece about a vertical axis (see at least Fig. 1, table 112, ¶0016-0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the autonomous guided vehicle as taught by Ghanem with the rotary table as taught by Burkhart, since the rotary table is a known, functionally equivalent meant of adjusting an orientation of a workpiece in the x-y plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghanem (US 2019/0317486) in view of Wamsser et al. (US 2025/0326453).
Regarding claim 3:
Ghanem teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Ghanem is silent as to turning about a vertical axis to correct the inclination.
Wamsser teaches a system and method transferring workpieces between workstations of a work area using autonomous transport vehicles wherein
the transport vehicle is configured to turn about a vertical axis, and
the transport vehicle is configured to correct the inclination of the workpiece by turning after stopping in the work area (see at least ¶0012-0017, ¶0024, ¶00150-0159).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the autonomous guided vehicle as taught by Ghanem with the omnidirectional wheels as taught by Wamsser, since such turning is a known, functionally equivalent meant of adjusting an orientation of a workpiece in the x-y plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghanem as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dohi (US 2006/0219525).
Regarding claim 4:
Ghanem teaches the limitations as in claim 1 above.
Ghanem is silent as to a stopper.
Dohi teaches a system of transporting a workpiece using a transport vehicle, including a stopper that is configured to interfere with a front portion of a moving body including the workpiece and the transport vehicle in a traveling direction in the work area, wherein
the transport vehicle is configured to stop while the moving body is bumped against the stopper (see at least Fig. 1, 6, ¶0105)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the robotic workpiece transfer system and method as taught by Ghanem with the well-known technique of providing a stopper to position a workpiece at a desired location as taught by Dohi in order to provide for an accurate, repeatable position for a workpiece.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Ryan Rink/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619