DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has NOT been filed in parent Application No. DE102024201774.4.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 02/26/2025 was considered.
Claims 1-15 are pending for examination.
Requirement for Information
Examiner requests under 37 CFR 1.105 the Applicant submit with the response to this Office Action (1) the legal status of any co-pending or related foreign patent application filed by the assignee or inventor(s) of this instant case and that is relevant to the prosecution of this case, and (2) the international search report, if any, of the copending or related foreign patent application. This request is necessary for the Examiner to consider possible foreign or non-patent literature that may be germane to patentability of the claimed invention.
Applicant is reminded replies to requirements for information must be complete and filed within the time period set including any extension. Failure to reply within the time period set will result in the abandonment of the application. MPEP § 704.12.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
Claim 1 recites “the basic voltage converter converts a direct current of the power storage unit and/or a direct current of a fuel cell and/or a current of a generator into an alternating current for supplying power to an electric drive motor”. However, Fig. 1 shows the basic voltage converter drives the “further electric drive 10b” not “electric drive 10a”;
a fuel cell; and
a generator from a combustion engine (not from regenerative braking because the vehicle cannot drive one motor while the other performing regenerative braking)
Claim 2 recites “a main voltage converter designed to convert, in an operating mode, a direct current of the power storage unit and/or a direct current of the fuel cell and/or a current of the generator into an alternating current for supplying power to the electric drive motor”. However, Fig. 1 shows the basic voltage converter and the main voltage converter drive electric drive motor and further electric drive respectively. The basic voltage converter and the main voltage converter do not drive the same electric drive motor;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the basic voltage converter converts a direct current of the power storage unit and/or a direct current of a fuel cell and/or a current of a generator into an alternating current for supplying power to an electric drive motor”. However, Fig. 1 shows the basic voltage converter drives the “further electric drive 10b” not “electric drive 10a”.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “a main voltage converter designed to convert, in an operating mode, a direct current of the power storage unit and/or a direct current of the fuel cell and/or a current of the generator into an alternating current for supplying power to the electric drive motor”. However, Fig. 1 shows the basic voltage converter and the main voltage converter drive electric drive motor and further electric drive respectively. The basic voltage converter and the main voltage converter do not drive the same electric drive motor.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “the drive motor is a main drive motor”. However, claim 1 recites “the basic voltage converter converts a direct current of the power storage unit and/or a direct current of a fuel cell and/or a current of a generator into an alternating current for supplying power to an electric drive motor”. The disclosure insufficiently disclosed this limitation.
Regarding claim 10, the claim has similar issue as in claim 9.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “wherein during a redundancy operating mode, the basic voltage converter converts a direct current of the power storage unit and/or a direct current of a fuel cell and/or a current of a generator into an alternating current for supplying power to an electric drive motor”. The current disclosure failed to disclose the basic converter drive the main electric motor.
Regarding claims 3-8, 11-12, and 14-15, the claims are rejected due to the rejection of claims 1 and 13 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “the redundancy operating mode is operated if the main voltage converter or the electric drive motor able to be supplied with alternating current by the main voltage converter has a fault”. The recitation is unclear because while able to be supplied with alternating current and still has a fault. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as “the redundancy operating mode is operated if the main voltage converter or the electric drive motor
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “a power grid”. Since claim 1 already recited this limitation, it is unclear whether the cited limitation in claim 7 is different than in claim 1. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as “the power grid”.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites “a power storage unit” and “an electric drive motor”. Since claim 1 already recited these limitations, it is unclear whether the cited limitation in claim 8 is different than in claim 1. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as “the power storage unit” and “the electric drive motor”.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “wherein the further drive motor is a redundant drive motor and/or in that the drive motor is a main drive motor and/or in that the further electric drive motor is an auxiliary-drive drive motor and/or in that the further electric drive motor is a redundancy drive motor for the main drive motor”. It is unclear how a drive motor can be a redundant drive motor, a main drive motor and an auxiliary-drive drive at the same time. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as “wherein the further drive motor is a redundant drive motor or in that the drive motor is a main drive motor or in that the further electric drive motor is an auxiliary-drive drive motor or in that the further electric drive motor is a redundancy drive motor for the main drive motor”. Applicant should use the term “and/or” appropriately.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “wherein the drive motor is supplied with alternating current by the main voltage converter and/or in that the further drive motor is supplied with alternating current by the basic voltage converter and/or in that the drive motor is supplied with alternating current both by the main voltage converter and by the basic voltage converter”. However, claim 1 already recites “, the basic voltage converter converts a direct current of the power storage unit and/or a direct current of a fuel cell and/or a current of a generator into an alternating current for supplying power to an electric drive motor”. Therefore, it is unclear which converter is really driving which motor. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as best understood. Furthermore, and/or seems to apply incorrectly as mentioned in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “An on-board power supply system comprising an electrical circuit of claim 1”. However, claim 1 already recite “an electrical circuit”. Therefore, it is unclear whether the limitation in claim 11 is different from the limitation in claim 1, or a different limitation. For examination purpose, the limitation in claim 11 will be construed as the same limitation in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “in parallel with the operating mode”. Since there are multiple “operating mode”, it is unclear what “the operating mode” is. For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as best understood.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “cause the latter to carry out”. The limitation is unclear what “the latter” is, the computer program, the commands, or the computer? For examination purpose, the limitation will be construed as best understood.
The above are but a few specific examples of written description rejections, indefinite and functional or operational language used throughout the claims, and are only intended to illustrate the extensive revision required to overcome the rejections under 35 USC 112, first and second paragraph. The above-mentioned corrections therefore, are in no way a complete and thorough listing of every indefinite and functional or operational language used throughout the claims. Applicant is required to revise all of the claims completely, and not just correct the indefinite and functional or operational language mentioned. The following art rejections are given in view of the above rejections of claims under 35 USC 112, second paragraph. Therefore, the following art rejections are applied only as far as the claims are understood in view of rejections made under the second paragraph of 35 USC 112. The Applicant should use terms in claims that match the disclosure to avoid ambiguously or confusion; and drawings must reflect the claimed invention including all different configurations or embodiments that required by the MPEP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rozman et al., US Patent Publication 20190047433; hereinafter Rozman in view of LEHN et al., US Patent Publication 20210316623; hereinafter LEHN.
Regarding claim 1, Rozman discloses an electrical circuit for a vehicle (Figs. 1-6), the electric circuit comprising:
a basic voltage converter (110) converting, in a charging mode ([0013] “the vehicles 2 are electric” which normally require external charging), an alternating current from a power grid (18) [0023] into a direct current for a power storage unit (22),
wherein during a redundancy operating mode, the basic voltage converter converts a direct current of the power storage unit (22) and/or a direct current of a fuel cell and/or a current of a generator into an alternating current for supplying power to an electric drive motor (112) [0056].
Rozman discloses the vehicles can be electric or hybrid vehicles [0013] and using the basic converter to convert a direct current (DC) from the battery to an alternating current (AC) for delivering power to the power grid (18) [0013]. Rozman does not explicitly disclose the basic voltage converter converting, in a charging mode, the alternating current from the power grid into a direct current for the power storage unit. LEHN discloses a powertrain for electric and plug-in hybrid vehicle having a voltage converter converting, in a charging mode, an alternating current from a power grid into a direct current for the power storage unit [0012] [0027] ([0095] charge mode and V2G mode) ([0108] V2G mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Rozman to incorporate the teachings of LEHN and have the basic voltage converter converting, in a charging mode, the alternating current from the power grid into a direct current for the power storage unit. Doing so would allow charging the electric or hybrid vehicles since it is well known in the art that the electric vehicle requires charging from external power and plug-in hybrid can also be charged from external power grid.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 1 above, Rozman also discloses the electrical circuit further comprising:
a main voltage converter ([0065] second traction drive 14B) designed to convert, in an operating mode [0065], a direct current of the power storage unit (22) and/or a direct current of the fuel cell and/or a current of the generator into an alternating current for supplying power to the electric drive motor [0071].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 1 above, Rozman also discloses the basic voltage converter converts, in a feed-in mode, a direct current of the power storage unit and/or a direct current of the fuel cell and/or a current of the generator into an alternating current for feeding current into a power grid (18) [0023] [0065].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 1 above, Rozman also discloses the electrical circuit further comprising electrical switches (Fig. 2, SW1, SW2, and two other sets of contactors as shown in Fig. 4) used to switch current flows through the electrical circuit in accordance with various modes [0066].
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 4 above, Rozman also discloses the electrical circuit is designed to operate simultaneously in the operating mode ([0065] when both motors are driven) and in the redundancy operating mode ([0065] when only one of the motors are driven), and/or the redundancy operating mode is operated if the main voltage converter or the electric drive motor able to be supplied with alternating current by the main voltage converter has a fault.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 1 above, Rozman also discloses the electrical circuit further comprising a DC-DC voltage converter (30) connected between the basic voltage converter (110) and the power storage unit (22) to convert the current converted by the basic voltage converter in the charging mode to a DC voltage level for charging the power storage unit [0045],
wherein the DC-DC voltage converter is bypassed in the redundancy operating mode ([0072] [00735] in reduced mobility traction mode, only one motor is driven thus redundancy) and/or in the feed-in mode.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 1 above, Rozman also discloses the electrical circuit is electrically coupled to a power grid (18) [0023].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 1 above, Rozman also discloses the electrical circuit (10) is electrically coupled to a power storage unit (22) and/or an electric drive motor and/or a further electric drive motor.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 8 above, Rozman also discloses the further drive motor is a redundant drive motor ([0072] [00735] in reduced mobility traction mode, only one motor is driven thus redundancy) and/or in that the drive motor is a main drive motor and/or in that the further electric drive motor is an auxiliary-drive drive motor and/or in that the further electric drive motor is a redundancy drive motor for the main drive motor.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 8 above, Rozman also discloses the drive motor is supplied with alternating current by the main voltage converter (each motor is driven by a respective converter) and/or in that the further drive motor is supplied with alternating current by the basic voltage converter and/or in that the drive motor is supplied with alternating current both by the main voltage converter and by the basic voltage converter.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 1 above, Rozman also discloses the electrical circuit is an on-board power supply system (10 is the electrical circuitry of a vehicle).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Rozman and LEHN discloses the electrical circuit of claim 11 above, Rozman also discloses the on-board power supply system is in a vehicle (10 is the electrical circuitry of a vehicle).
Regarding claim 13, Rozman discloses a method for operating an electrical circuit (Figs. 1-6), the method comprising:
providing a basic voltage converter (110), wherein the basic voltage converter converts in a charging mode ([0013] “the vehicles 2 are electric” which normally require external charging), an alternating current from a power grid (18) [0023] into a direct current for a power storage unit (22), wherein during a redundancy operating mode ([0072] [0073] in reduced mobility traction mode, only one motor is driven thus redundancy), the basic voltage converter converts a direct current of the power storage unit (22) and/or a direct current of a fuel cell and/or a current of a generator into an alternating current for supplying power to an electric drive motor (112) [0056]; and
generating data which are characteristic of operating the redundancy operating mode in parallel with the operating mode ([0065] when both motors are driven and data must be generate to both inverters), or of data which are characteristic of operation in the redundancy operating mode if data which are characteristic of a fault in the main voltage converter or in the drive motor able to be supplied with alternating current by the main voltage converter are received.
Rozman discloses the vehicles can be electric or hybrid vehicles [0013] and using the basic converter to convert a direct current (DC) from the battery to an alternating current (AC) for delivering power to the power grid (18) [0013]. Rozman does not explicitly disclose the basic voltage converter converting, in a charging mode, the alternating current from the power grid into a direct current for the power storage unit. LEHN discloses a powertrain for electric and plug-in hybrid vehicle having a voltage converter converting, in a charging mode, an alternating current from a power grid into a direct current for the power storage unit [0012] [0027] ([0095] charge mode and V2G mode) ([0108] V2G mode). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Rozman to incorporate the teachings of LEHN and have the basic voltage converter converting, in a charging mode, the alternating current from the power grid into a direct current for the power storage unit. Doing so would allow charging the electric or hybrid vehicles since it is well known in the art that the electric vehicle requires charging from external power and plug-in hybrid can also be charged from external power grid.
Regarding claim 14, Rozman discloses a computer program comprising commands which, when executed by a computer, cause the latter to carry out the steps of the method of claim 13 [0041].
Regarding claim 15, Rozman discloses a computer-readable medium comprising the computer program of claim 14 [0041].
Conclusion
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836