DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dickie et al. (US 20150048100 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dickie discloses a smart pill container (10) comprising: multiple pill compartments each defining an interior space in which one or more pills can be stored (para. [0060]; Fig. 1, pill box 10 with multiple pill compartments 14);
multiple pill compartment closures, one pill compartment closure being associated with each pill compartment and being configured to close its associated pill compartment, each pill compartment closure including indicia that at least identifies a day of the week on which the one or more pills contained within the associated pill compartment are to be ingested by a patient (para. [0064], [0070]; Fig. 7, multiple compartment closures 14g including indicia 41 for time of day or different types of indicia for each day of a month);
multiple pill compartment sensors, one pill compartment sensor being associated with each pill compartment and being configured to detect opening of its associated pill compartment (para. [0069]; Fig. 8, a switch for detecting a door opening event for each compartment);
a clock configured to track the current day and time (para. [0078]; an atomic clock); and
a microcontroller configured to log data when opening of a pill compartment is detected (para. [0085]; microprocessor 16a registers compliance data when door 14g is opened).
Regarding claim 2, Dickie further discloses wherein there is one pill compartment for each day of the week (para. [0059]; Fig. 3, pill box 10 preferably is designed for retaining pills for an entire week).
Regarding claim 3, Dickie further discloses wherein there are two pill compartments for each day of the week, including a first pill compartment for a first time of day and a second pill compartment for a second time of day (para. [0059]; Fig. 3, pill box 10 with multiple compartments for each day of the week).
Regarding claim 4, Dickie further discloses wherein the pill compartment closure for the first pill compartment includes indicia that identifies the morning and the pill compartment closure for the second pill compartment includes indicia that identifies the evening (para. [0070]; Fig. 3, closure with indicia identifying morning and another closure with indicia identifying evening).
Regarding claim 5, Dickie further discloses wherein each pill compartment closure comprises a lid that can be pivoted upward to open the associated pill compartment and provide access to any pills contained within the pill compartment (para. [0067]; Fig. 3, 8; a pivotable separate door 14g for each compartment).
Regarding claim 9, Dickie further discloses wherein the microcontroller is configured to store on the smart pill container open event data when opening of a pill compartment is detected, wherein the open event data identifies which pill compartment was opened and on what day and at what time (para. [0086]; Microprocessor 16a records compliance and non-compliance events and can generate a report showing the frequency of the reminders issued and the compliance of taking the various doses, or noncompliance).
Regarding claim 10, Dickie further discloses a wireless transceiver module configured to transmit and receive data using a short-range wireless communication standard (para. [0075]; Transmitter/receiver 16b enables communication of pill box 10 with electronic devices 56 that are remote from housing 12 using Wi-Fi or Bluetooth or any suitable other type of communication).
Regarding claim 11, Dickie further discloses wherein the microcontroller is configured to wirelessly transmit to a separate device the open event data when opening of the pill compartment is detected, wherein the open event data identifies which pill compartment was opened and on what day and at what time (para. [0016], [0120]; Fig 20; compliance event data includes when the patient takes a particular dose of medication from a particular chamber and is transmitted to one or both of electronic device 356 and server 358).
Regarding claim 12, Dickie further discloses multiple lights, one light being associated with each pill compartment (para. 0063]; Fig. 6; multiple LED lights 20 associated with each pill chamber).
Regarding claim 15, Dickie discloses a smart pill container comprising: multiple pill compartments each defining an interior space in which one or more pills can be stored (para. [0060]; Fig. 1, pill box 10 with multiple pill compartments 14);
multiple pill compartment lids, one pill compartment lid being associated with each pill compartment and being configured to close its associated pill compartment, each pill compartment lid including indicia that identifies a day of the week and a time of day at which the one or more pills contained within the associated pill compartment are to be ingested by a patient (para. [0064], [0070]; Fig. 7, multiple compartment closures 14g including indicia 41 for time of day or different types of indicia for each day of a month);
multiple pill compartment sensors, one pill compartment sensor being associated with each pill compartment and being configured to detect opening of its associated pill compartment (para. [0069]; Fig. 8, a switch for detecting a door opening event for each compartment);
a clock configured to track the current day and time (para. [0078]; an atomic clock);
a wireless transceiver module configured to transmit and receive data using a short-range wireless communication standard (para. [0075]; Transmitter/receiver 16b enables communication of pill box 10 with electronic devices 56 that are remote from housing 12 using Wi-Fi or Bluetooth); and
a microcontroller configured to log open event data when opening of a pill compartment is detected (para. [0085]; microprocessor 16a registers compliance data when door 14g is opened),
wherein the open event data identifies which pill compartment was opened and on what day and at what time, the microcontroller further being configured to both store the open event data on the smart pill container and wirelessly transmit the open event data to another device (para. [0016], [0120]; Fig 20; compliance event data includes when the patient takes a particular dose of medication from a particular chamber and is transmitted to one or both of electronic device 356 and server 358).
Regarding claim 16, Dickie discloses medication-adherence monitoring, the system comprising: a smart pill container including multiple pill compartments each defining an interior space in which one or more pills can be stored (para. [0060]; Fig. 1, pill box 10 with multiple pill compartments 14),
multiple pill compartment lids, one pill compartment lid being associated with each pill compartment and being configured to close its associated pill compartment, each pill compartment lid including indicia that at least identifies a day of the week on which the one or more pills contained within the associated pill compartment are to be ingested by a patient (para. [0064], [0070]; Fig. 7, multiple compartment closures 14g including indicia 41 for time of day or different types of indicia for each day of a month),
multiple pill compartment sensors, one pill compartment sensor being associated with each pill compartment and being configured to detect opening of the pill compartment, a clock configured to track the current day and time (para. [0069]; Fig. 8, a switch for detecting a door opening event for each compartment),
a wireless transceiver module configured to transmit and receive data using a short-range wireless communication standard (para. [0075]; Transmitter/receiver 16b enables communication of pill box 10 with electronic devices 56 that are remote from housing 12 using Wi-Fi or Bluetooth), and
a microcontroller configured to log open event data when opening of a pill compartment is detected (para. [0085]; microprocessor 16a registers compliance data when door 14g is opened); and
a gateway device configured to transmit and receive data using a short-range wireless communication standard and further configured to transmit and receive data via a cellular communication standard (para. [0075],[0110]-[0111]; Fig. 18, cellphone 256 functions as a gateway that can communicate with pillbox short-range wireless communication WiFi or Bluetooth (line F1 and H) as well as standard cell phone type communication with server 258 (lines F and H1)).
wherein the microcontroller is configured to wirelessly transmit logged open event data to the gateway device using the short-range wireless communication standard and wherein the gateway device is configured to wirelessly transmit the received open event data to another device using the cellular communication standard (para. [0075],[0110]-[0111]; Fig. 18, cellphone 256 functions as a gateway that can communicate with pillbox short-range wireless communication WiFi or Bluetooth (line F1 and H) as well as standard cell phone type communication with server 258 (lines F and H1)).
Regarding claim 17, Dickie discloses wherein the smart pill container comprises two pill compartments for each day of the week, including a first pill compartment for the morning and a second pill compartment for the evening (para. [0059]; Fig. 3, pill box 10 with multiple compartments for each day of the week).
Regarding claim 18, Dickie discloses wherein the smart pill container further comprises a pill compartment sensor associated with each pill compartment lid, each pill compartment sensor being configured to detect opening of its associated lid (para. [0069]; Fig. 8, a switch for detecting a door opening event for each compartment) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickie et al. (US 20150048100) in view of Brue (US 20060139150 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Dickie does not disclose multiple release buttons, one release button associated with each lid, wherein each lid pivots open when its associated release button is pressed by a user.
Brue discloses a medication dispenser with plurality of medication compartments (Fig. 1, compartments 22) with multiple release buttons (24), one release button associated with each lid, wherein each lid pivots open when its associated release button is pressed by a user (para. [0037], [0053]; plurality of release buttons 24 associated with each lid, pressing the release buttons opens the compartments).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify door latching mechanism of Dickie incorporate the teachings in Brue of a release button associated with each door to make it easier to be operated by sick or elderly patients (Dickie: para. [0067]).
Regarding claim 7, Brue further discloses Dickie lacks, specifically, wherein pressing of a release button also trips the pill compartment sensor of the associated pill compartment (para. [0053], [0080]; pressing the release button opens the compartment door that triggers compartment sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supplement or modify the compartment sensor of Dickie incorporate the teachings in Brue of a release button that can also trigger a compartment sensor associated with each door to provide an easier to open door release solution that can also be used to trigger a door opening event.
Regarding claim 8, Brue further discloses Dickie lacks, specifically, wherein the pill compartment sensors each comprise an electrical switch and wherein the release button trips the pill compartment sensor by pressing a trigger of the switch (para. [0052]; release button 24 multiple times triggers pill compartment sensor 25) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supplement or modify the compartment sensor of Dickie to incorporate the teachings in Brue of a release button that can also trigger a compartment sensor associated with each door to provide an easier to open door release solution that can also be used to trigger a door opening event.
Regarding claim 19, Dickie does not disclose a release button associated with each pill compartment lid, each release button being configured to open its associated lid and trip the pill compartment sensor associated with that lid when the release button is pressed by a user.
Brue discloses a medication dispenser with plurality of medication compartments (Fig. 1, compartments 22) , a release button associated with each pill compartment lid, each release button being configured to open its associated lid user (para. [0037], [0053]; plurality of release buttons 24 associated with each lid, pressing the release buttons opens the compartments) and trip the pill compartment sensor associated with that lid when the release button is pressed by a user (para. [0053], [0080]; pressing the release button opens the compartment door that triggers compartment sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compartment sensor and door latch arrangement of Dickie incorporate the teachings in Brue of a release button that can also trigger a compartment sensor associated with each door to provide a door that can be easily operated by sick or elderly patients and that can also be used to trigger a door opening event.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickie et al. (US 20150048100), in view of Despa et al. (US 20160074284 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Dickie discloses the microcontroller configured to illuminate the light associated with the intended pill compartment (para. [0091]). However, Dickie does not disclose the microcontroller is configured to illuminate the light associated with the pill compartment corresponding to the current day and time when opening of any of the pill compartments is detected.
Despa discloses medication storage device for assisting patients where microcontroller is configured to illuminate the light associated with the pill compartment corresponding to the current day and time when opening of any of the pill compartments is detected (para. [0061]; when the wrong compartment is opened the processor guides and alerts the patient to the correct compartment by flashing a light of the correct compartment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Dickie and incorporate the teaching of Despa of configuring a microcontroller is configured to illuminate the light associated with the pill compartment corresponding to the current day and time when opening of any of the pill compartments is detected to reduce the risk of incorrect medication selection and improve accurate and timely dispensation for users and caregivers (Despa: para. [0061]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickie et al. (US 20150048100), in view of Kehr et al. (US 20130218588 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Dickie does not disclose a refill button, wherein the microcontroller is configured to pause logging of data pertaining to detection of opening of pill compartments in a refill mode that is initiated when the refill button has been pressed by a user.
Kehr discloses a medication monitoring device with a refill button (27), wherein the microcontroller (10) is configured to pause logging of data pertaining to detection of opening of pill compartments in a refill mode that is initiated when the refill button has been pressed by a user (para. [0057], [0095]; the "Refill" mode can be selected by actuating the "Refill" mode soft function key 27; If the user verifies the supply load by indicating "Yes", then the device will continue tracking the inventory of the associated medication compartment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the microprocessor of Dickie and incorporate the teaching of Kehr of a microcontroller configured to pause logging of data pertaining to detection of opening of pill compartments in a refill mode that is initiated when the refill button has been pressed by a user to reduce the chance of recording events that are unrelated to medication consumption.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickie et al. (US 20150048100), in view of Brue (US 20060139150 A1), and in further view of Despa et al. (US 20160074284 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Dickie discloses the microcontroller configured to illuminate the light associated with the intended pill compartment (para. [0091]). However, the combination of Dickie and Brue does not disclose wherein the microcontroller is configured to illuminate the light associated with the pill compartment corresponding to the current day and time when opening of any of the pill compartments is detected.
Despa discloses medication storage device for assisting patients where microcontroller is configured to illuminate the light associated with the pill compartment corresponding to the current day and time when opening of any of the pill compartments is detected (para. [0061]; when the wrong compartment is opened the processor guides and alerts the patient to the correct compartment by flashing a light of the correct compartment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Dickie in view of Brue and incorporate the teaching of Despa of configuring a microcontroller is configured to illuminate the light associated with the pill compartment corresponding to the current day and time when opening of any of the pill compartments is detected to reduce the risk of incorrect medication selection and improve accurate and timely dispensation for users and caregivers (Despa: para. [0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tardif et al. (US 20260157935 A1) discloses a medication container for medication compliance comprises a housing having a plurality of compartments, wherein each compartment has an indicator and a lid with a button or switch to open the corresponding compartment. It also discloses triggering a refill mode and stopping medication monitoring when all compartments are simultaneously opened (para. [0111], [0144]).
De Oliveira et al. (US 20110201421 A1) discloses a system for medication compliance monitoring with a pillbox that wirelessly transmits data to a nearby computing device which in turn transmits the data to a remote server over GSM cellular network (para. [0039], [0042]; Fig. 1).
Bonilla (US 20230372205 A1) discloses a device for medication compliance with a pillbox having multiple compartments with a lid and a release button that flips the lid open when the user presses the button (para. [0037]; Fig. 5).
Ho et al. (WO 2018149391 A1) discloses a pill dispenser that detects a wrong compartment being opened and indicates incorrect compartment opening to the user by with a continuous red light (para. [0053]).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655