/26/25Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
2. This Office Action is an answer to a communication on 2/26/2025 (an IDS).
3. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
4. Applicant filed an IDS on 2/26/2025; it is considered.
Claimed Interpretations
5. Examiner notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections 35 USC § 112
(b) The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and
distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the
invention.
6. Per claims 18-20: Applicant claims a limitation of: determining whether the vehicle speed is greater than a predetermined value The examiner is unclear for this indefinite “a predetermined value” here can be 10 miles/hr or 70 miles/hr);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 112
(B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “...configured to...” or “using a different feature of the vehicle than the at least one non-driving feature”, (see pending claim 15).
12. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “...are configured to cause the system to...” (see pending claim 1 line 7); or “......a first lip configured to attach the first seal to the vehicle body..”, (see pending claim 2 lines 1-2), or “......are configured to cause the system to..”, (see pending claim 11 line 7).
14. If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 1, 5, 11, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syvret (US Pub.20120234621 A1 hereafter Syvret’621) in view of Syvret et al (EP 2470389 B1 hereafter Syvret’389) and in view of Yang (US Pat 11933096 B2).
A. Per claims 1, 11, 16-18, and 20: Syvret’621 teaches a system, and a method comprising:
a vehicle door comprising a window (see Syvret’621 FIG. 1, para. [0001]) ;
a vehicle body comprising a recess for moving up/down a window’s glass 28, the recess
comprising a first seal and a second seal (see Syvret’621 FIG. 1, para.[0059]-[0060], [0075]);
one or more processors; and a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions
that, when executed by the one or more processors (see Syvret’621 FIG. 11, para. [0064]), are configured to cause the system to:
in response to determining that the vehicle body has exceeded a predetermined speed threshold (then automatically activating a vehicle’s part, (see Syvret’621 para. [0011]), and see Yang’096 col. 9 line 59 to col. 10 line 5); automatically cause the window to move from a first closed position in which the first seal engages with an internal surface of the window and the second seal is
positioned above a top edge of the window to a second closed position (see Syvret’621 para. [0014]) ;
Syvret’389 also suggest a window seal engages with the internal surface of the window and the second seal compresses around the top edge of the window (see Syvret’389 “DE102007031409 which represents the closest prior art, describes a method and device for controlling a motor vehicle window. DE3512117 describes a motor vehicle the interior of which can be closed to the outside by a door, window pane, and possibly also a sliding plate on the roof, which can be opened. To improve driving safety at high speeds, the door, the window pane and/or the sliding plate are controlled according to speed, automatically lockable against opening above a predetermined driving speed and releasable below the predetermined driving speed. The various control logic methods described above may be overridden manually by the use of the window switches 34, 54 and, in particular, the computer controller 38 may not run the method of Figure 15 or any other method which automatically results in a closing movement of any window if that window has been user operably lowered using one of the switches 34, 54.”
“According to this embodiment, the automatic window closing operation selected by the selection switch 20 is disabled automatically by the OR gate 16, the AND gate 15 and the reversing control circuit 17 any time when either or both of the speed change rate detection circuit 11 or the sensor 7 detects the pinching of foreign object 1a. The manual window closing operation selected by the selection switch 20 is disabled automatically by the AND gate 24 and the reversing control circuit 17 only when the speed change rate detection circuit 11 detects the pinching of foreign object 1a. Thus, even when a foreign object, such as a passenger or a burglar, touches the sensor 7 on the window frame 2 inadvertently during the manual window closing operation, the window closing operation can be continued unless the motor speed change rate increases excessively.”.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement Syvret’621 and Syvret’389 with Yang’096 to automatically raising a window glass if a vehicle speed exceed a certain threshold for a vehicle’s occupant safety while traveling.
B. Per claims 16-17: Since dependent claims 16-17 are directed to a structure, their limitations comprise physical components that making up that claimed structure; therefore, a window’s glass function of moving up/down a window’s automatically based on a vehicle’s speed are suggested by Syvret’621 and Yang’096 , (see Syvret’621 para. [0011]), and see Yang’096 col. 9 line 59 to col. 10 line 5).
C. Per dependent claim 5: Syvret’621 also suggests a seal comprises one or more internal compartments (e.g., an air gap 172 or a cavity, Syvret’621 para. [0060]).
16. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syvret’621 in view of Syvret’389 in view of Yang’096, further in view of Larsen (US Pat. 10661644 B1).
The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 1 are incorporated.
Syvret’621 does not disclose that a vehicle’s window seal comprises a pillow and a second lip, wherein the pillow comprises an internal indentation on a wall of the pillow that is proximate the second lip; and in response to the window being placed in the second closed position, the pillow is configured to compress around a top portion of the window and the second lip is configured to bend towards the window at least in part at the internal indentation of the pillow and press against an outer portion of the window to secure the window in place; however, Larsen suggests these claimed functions of a vehicle’s window (see Larsen col. 4 line 57 to col. 5 line 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement Syvret’621 with Larsen’644 to expressly disclose fundamental functions of lips and pillows of a car window.
17. Claims 2-5, 7, 12, 14-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syvret’621 in view of Syvret’389 in view of Yang’096, further in view of Blottiau (US 20180141421 A1).
A. Per dependent claims 2, 12, and 19:
The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 1 are incorporated.
In the same field of endeavor, Blottiau teaches a vehicle body further comprises a first lip (see Blottiau, claim 9) to attach the first seal to the vehicle body along a portion of the vehicle body that is proximate to a frameless portion of the window when the vehicle door is closed.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement Syvret’621 and Syvret’389 , and Yang’096 with Blottiau to expressly disclose applicant’s window glass’s fundamental functioning.
B. Per dependent claims 3- 4, 7, and 14- 15: Since these claimed limitations are fundamental functions of a vehicle’s window glass, The above rationales and references for a rejection of claim 1 are also applied for obvious rejections.
C. Per dependent claim 5: Syvret’621 also suggests a car window seal comprises an internal compartment (e.g., an air gap 172, see Syvret’621 para. [0060]).
18 . Claims 6, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syvret’621 in view of Syvret’389 in view of Yang’096, in view of Blottiau, further in view of Scott-Collins (US 20220305993 A1).
The rationales and references for a rejection of claim 12 are incorporated.
compartments comprise one or
Syvret’621 does not teach a compartment having an S-shape; however, Scott-Collins suggest that feature (see Scott-Collins para. [0078]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement Syvret’621 and Syvret’389 , Yang’096 and Blottiau with Scott-Collins to use available real-estate inside a car widow for a certain function.
Conclusion
19. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
20. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Cuong H Nguyen whose telephone number is (571) 272-6759 (email address is cuong.nguyen@uspto.gov). The examiner can normally be reached on M - F: 9:30AM- 5:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bendidi Rachid can be reached on (571) 272-4896. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PATER. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only, For more information about the PAIR system, see https//ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll- free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or S71-272- 1000.
/CUONG H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664