DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 43-62 are pending
Claims 43-62 are under examination
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 16/510,646, filed on July 12, 2019, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No. 15/672, 106, filed August 8, 2017, now U.S. Patent No. 10,392,446, which is a continuation of U.S. Patent Application No.14/776,661, filed September 14, 2015, which is a U.S. National Phase Application based on International Patent Application No. PCT/US2014/029137, filed March 14, 2014, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 61/785,907, filed March 14, 2013.
.Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows: The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 61/785,907, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 for one or more claims of this application. Review of the application No. 61/785,907 did not reveal support for a single chain variable fragment (scFv) extending from the surface of the nanoparticle. Thus, instant claims are being given the filing date of 3/14/2014.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/06/2025, 4/06/2026, 7/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
However, Applicant is reminded that the listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 55 is objected to because of the following informalities: the abbreviation “NLS” should be introduced in Claim 53.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 43-44, 53, 55-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ashley et al., (US2015/0272885, filed 10/12/2012, published 10/01/2015).
With respect to claim 43, Ashley teaches a synthetic nanocarrier comprising
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image1.png])]A mesoporous silica nanoparticle (MSNP) core coated in a lipid bilayer;
A scFv extending from the surface of the nanoparticle;
A viral-specific siRNA within the pores of the nanoparticle ([0090, 0551, 0553], see Fig 1X6 adjacent).
In regard to claim 44, as state supra, teaches a “lipid bilayer” surrounds the MSNP core.
In regard to claim 53, Ashley teaches the nanocarrier further comprises an endosomal escape agent on the surface of the nanocarrier, and NLS attached to the cargo within the pores of the MSNP [0551].
In regard to claim 55, Ashley teaches the NLS is the SV40 peptide PKKKRKV, which is identical to SEQ ID NO:51 [0190].
In regard to claim 56, as shown supra, the nanocarrier is spherical.
In regard to claims 57-59, Ashley teaches the nanocarrier is with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier formulated as an aqueous solution for intravenous injection [0039, 0222-0226].
Accordingly, Ashley anticipates instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 47 and 60-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashley et al., (US2015/0272885, filed 10/12/2012, published 10/01/2015) in view of Chen et al. (Mol Therapy, 2010, 18(9):1650-1656)
As stated supra, Ashley teaches a nanocarrier comprising (i) a lipid coated MSNP; (ii) a ScFv targeting ligand, (iii) a polynucleotide within the pores of the MSNP.
In regard to claims 47 and 60, in an alternative embodiment, Ashley teaches polynucleotide is a plasmid DNA packaged with histones, and the resulting complex is modified with a NLS prior to being loaded into the silica core ([0185, 235])
Furthermore, in regard to claims 60-61, Ashley teaches that the plasmid can encode shRNA that encode anti-cancer genes that induced growth arrest and apoptosis [0185, 0235], and goes on to suggest targeting bcl-2 [0056, 0261], Note that instant claims do not require a full-length anti-cancer gene to be expressed. Furthermore, although Ashley does not reduce to practice a plasmid encoded anti-bcl-2 shRNA, she indicates that this was an obvious modification because siRNA-mediated RNAi is transient and only last for days, while plasmid encoded shRNA lasts for weeks [0470].
In regard to claim 62, Ashley teaches that nanocarrier composition further comprises an anti-cancer drug, such as taxol [0056, 0261]. MPEP 2144.06 states "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted).
However, although Ashley teaches treating cancers such as melanomas [0191], she is silent to an scFv that targets cancer cells for the expression of the plasmid encoded shRNA.
Nevertheless, Ashley cites the prior art of Chen (2000) [0352, 0450]
Chen teaches a lipid coated nanoparticle comprising an scFv on its surface that targets human melanoma (Abstract, Methods, p. 1655, 4th para.)
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare as taught by prepare the scFv targeted nanocarrier for the treatments of cancers such as melanoma as taught by Ashley and choose an scFv that target melanoma as taught by Chen with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so not only because Ashley explicitly cites the prior art of Chen for targeted delivery, but also because Chen teaches the scFv targeted the nanoparticles to tumor metastasis in vivo (Introduction, last para., see Figs. 4 & 6).
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 43-46, and 56-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan & Irvine (Nano Today, 2011, 6:309-325, published 06/01/2011, see IDS filed 5/06/2025), in view of Orcutt et al., (Nucl Med Biol, 2011, 38:223-233, see IDS filed 5/06/2025), and Irvine et al., (US 2011/0229556, filed 3/21/2011, published 9/22/2011, see IDS filed 5/06/2025)
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image2.png])]Stephan and Irvine review synthetic nanocarrier to enhance the function of therapeutic cells. Specifically in regard to claims 43(i)/(ii), as well as claims 44-46, Stephan et al. teach a lipid-based nanocarrier with a CD8 antibody extending from its surface (see Fig. 2f, adjacent). Stephan explains that this modification allows specific uptake of the nanoparticle in CD8 expressing T cells as a result of receptor-induced endocytosis (p. 10, 1st para, and see figure supra).
In regard to the scFv domain of the CD8 antibody as per claim 43(ii), Stephan teaches high-affinity antibody fragments can also be used and specifically cites the work of Orcutt et al., 2011 (p. 14, last para.)
Orcutt et al., teaches an immunotherapy antibody reduced to a single chain variable fragment (scFv) and then further optimized by affinity maturation (Abstract, Materials & Methods, pgs. 6-7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to prepare the antibody-target nanoparticle as taught by Stephan, and to substitute the full CD8 antibody for the scFV as taught by Orcutt with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Orcutt because the scFv is the minimum portion of the antibody necessary for antigen recognition and can be easily optimized and produced recombinantly unlike full length antibodies (p. 3, 1st para. p. 8, last para.).
However, although Stephan and Irvine teach the use of lipid-based nanoparticles for the delivery of cargo to the human T cells (see Fig. 2f from Stephan), they are silent with respect to a (iii) a lipid-based nanoparticle with a porous core comprising a nucleic acid.
Nevertheless, Irvine goes on to patent in Irvine et al. (2011) lipid-coated nanoparticles with a porous core for the delivery of agents such as a nucleic acid to immune cells ([0107, 0111], Fig. 1). Specifically, Irvine teaches a lipid coated nanoparticle comprising a PLGA core ([0013-0116, 0060-0064]), wherein the active agent is encapsulated within the core ([0060-0064, 0106-0107], Fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to prepare the lipid-based nanoparticle as taught by Stephan and Irivine, and combine a PLGA core with encapsulated nucleic acids as taught by Irvine with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Irvine (2011) because PLGA core both protects the encapsulated agents from degradation and is biodegradable [0014, 0056, 0080]. In regard to choosing to encapsulate a nucleic acid as the active agent, Stephan teaches that the genetic engineering of cells is well established as a robust and highly versatile methodology for introducing specific surface proteins to modulate cell function (p. 3, 2nd para.).
In regard to claim 56, as shown supra, the nanocarrier is spherical.
In regard to claims 57-59, as stated supra, Stephan teaches the internalization of nanoparticles coated with anti-CD8 by primary T cells, which would have been obvious to perform in a sterile pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. Irvine goes on to explain that the after synthesizing the porous nanocarriers they are stored in an aqueous buffer [0106], which is encompasses Applicant’s broad definition of pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see [0140] of Applicant’s disclosure). Note that in regard to claim 58, intravenous delivery is the intended use of the claimed composition and formulation in a sterile buffer would be meet the structural requirements for intravenous delivery.
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan & Irvine (Nano Today, 2011, 6:309-325), in view of Orcutt et al., (Nucl Med Biol, 2011, 38:223-233), and Irvine et al., (US 2011/0229556, filed 3/21/2011, published 9/22/2011), as applied to claim 43, in further view of Sharma et al. (Mol Ther NA, 2013,(2)e74)
As discussed previously, Stephan et al. suggest a synthetic carrier for transfecting T cells comprising (i) a lipid coated porous nanoparticle, (ii) a CD8 ScFv extending from the surface of the nanocarrier, (iii) a polynucleotide encapsulated in the core of the nanocarrier.
However, Stephan et al. are silent with respect to the nucleic acid agent being a minicircle encoding a hyperactive transposase.
Sharma teaches a DNA minicircles comprising the hyperactive transposase SB100X (Abstract, Results, p.2-3, see Fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the nanocarrier comprising a nucleic acid for genetically modifying T cells as suggested by Stephan et al., and choose a minicircle plasmid encoding a hyperactive transposase as taught by Sharma with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Sharma because DNA transposition from DNA minicircles show great promise in therapeutic gene transfer in primary human T cells (Abstract).
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 49-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan & Irvine (Nano Today, 2011, 6:309-325), in view of Orcutt et al., (Nucl Med Biol, 2011, 38:223-233), and Irvine et al., (US 2011/0229556, filed 3/21/2011, published 9/22/2011), as applied to claim 43, in further view of June et al., (WO2012/079000, see IDS filed 5/06/2025)
As discussed previously, Stephan et al. suggest a synthetic carrier for transfecting T cells comprising (i) a lipid coated porous nanoparticle, (ii) a CD8 ScFv extending from the surface of the nanocarrier, (iii) a polynucleotide encapsulated in the core of the nanocarrier.
However, although Stephan et al. teaches that tumor-specific effector T cells show tremendous therapeutic potential (p. 2, 1st para.), they are silent with respect to the nucleic acid agent encoding a CAR.
June teaches of transfecting T cells to overexpress a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) in order to treat cancer (see Abstract). Specifically, June et al., teaches a liposome-based nanocarrier in order to transfect said T cells comprising (iii) a polynucleotide encoding CAR that is encapsulated by the nanocarrier (p. 2, Summary of Invention; p. 37, last para, p. 38, 1st para). Furthermore, June et al., teach that the T cells of interest to be transfected are CD8+ (p. 40, line 13, p. 41, line 13). In regard to claims 50 and 51, June teaches the CAR targets a tumor antigen such as CD19 (p. 56, Example 1).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the nanocarrier comprising a nucleic acid for genetically modifying T cells as suggested by Stephan et al., and choose a nucleic acid encoding an anti-CD19 CAR as taught by June with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by June because CAR T cells can be engineered to target any tumor or interest. 28, 2nd para.), and were shown to have a potent non-cross resistant clinical activity (p. 56, Example 1). Furthermore, in regard to choosing CD19 as the tumor antigen, June teaches that CD19 is restricted in expression on the surface of malignant cells and is widely accepted target to safely test CARs (p. 1, 3rd para., p. 82, lines 7-8).
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim 52 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan & Irvine (Nano Today, 2011, 6:309-325), in view of Orcutt et al., (Nucl Med Biol, 2011, 38:223-233), and Irvine et al., (US 2011/0229556, filed 3/21/2011, published 9/22/2011), as applied to claim 43, in further view of Voss et al., (US2006/0166314, filed 9/24/2003, published 7/27/2006)
As discussed previously, Stephan et al. suggest a synthetic carrier for transfecting T cells comprising (i) a lipid coated porous nanoparticle, (ii) a CD8 ScFv extending from the surface of the nanocarrier, (iii) a polynucleotide encapsulated in the core of the nanocarrier.
However, although Stephan et al. teaches that tumor-specific effector T cells show tremendous therapeutic potential (p. 2, 1st para.), they are silent with respect to the nucleic acid agent encoding a TCR.
Voss teaches of transfecting T cells to overexpress a TCR in order to treat cancer (see Abstract). Specifically, Voss et al., teaches a liposome-based nanocarrier in order to transfect said T cells comprising (iii) a polynucleotide encoding TCR ([0021, 0065-0066], see Claim 5 of Voss). Furthermore, Voss et al., teach that the T cells of interest to be transfected are CD8+ ([0069, 0071]).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the nanocarrier comprising a nucleic acid for genetically modifying T cells as suggested by Stephan et al., and choose a nucleic acid encoding a TCR as taught by Voss with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Voss because tumor antigen-specific TCRs can be used to make highly effective T cells that are able to specifically recognized and lyse human tumor cells [0006-0007].
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 53-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephan & Irvine (Nano Today, 2011, 6:309-325), in view of Orcutt et al., (Nucl Med Biol, 2011, 38:223-233), and Irvine et al., (US 2011/0229556, filed 3/21/2011, published 9/22/2011), as applied to claim 43, in further view of Woodle et al., (US2003/0166601, see IDS filed 5/06/2025)
As discussed previously, Stephan et al. suggest a synthetic carrier for transfecting T cells comprising (i) a lipid coated porous nanoparticle, (ii) a CD8 ScFv extending from the surface of the nanocarrier, (iii) a polynucleotide encapsulated in the core of the nanocarrier.
However, Stephan et al. are silent with respect to the nanocarrier further comprising (i) an endosomal releasing agent on the surface of the nanoparticle, and (ii) a NLS within the nanoparticle.
Woodle teaches of nanocarrier compositions for gene therapy purposes (see Abstract). Specifically in regard to claim 47, Woodle teaches that the nanoparticle comprise (i) an endosomal releasing agent on the surface of the nanoparticle ([0029], [0169], [0182], see claim 19), and (ii) a NLS conjugated to the nucleic acid within the nanoparticle ([0085], Figs. 1 & 10A, see claim 19).
In regard to claim 48, Woodle teaches the endosomal releasing agent is an HIV tat peptide [0169], which corresponds to instant claim’s SEQ ID NO:32 (see SCORE report 8/6/2018, rag file, results 1-5).
In regard to claim 49, Woodle teaches the NLS comprising the amino acid sequence of PKKKRKV (see Example 49, [0479]), which corresponds to instant claim’s SEQ ID NO: 51.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to prepare the DNA encapsulated nanoparticle as taught by Stephan et al. and further combine (i) an endosomal releasing agent on the surface of the nanoparticle, and (ii) a NLS conjugated to the nucleic acid within the nanoparticle as taught by Woodle with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Woodle because (i) an endosomal releasing agent on the surface of the nanoparticle allows escape of the particle into the target cell's cytoplasm [0169], and (ii) a NLS conjugated to the DNA allows transport of the DNA to the nucleus for improved transcription [0085, 0164].
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 43-47, 49-51, 53-60 are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,392,446 (Stephan, Patented 8/27/2019).
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the referenced patent as follows: the method for treating cancer comprising infusing a synthetic nanocarrier of cited patent makes obvious the nanocarrier of instant application. It is clear that all the elements of the cited patent claims are to be found in instant claims. The difference between the cited patent claims and the cited patent claims are the intended use of instant claims lies, and there is no unobvious step in the process (i.e., infusion).
Since the instant application claims are obvious over cited patent claims, said claims are not patentably distinct.
Claim 48 is rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,392,446 (Stephan, Patented 8/27/2019), in view of Sharma et al. (Mol Ther NA, 2013,(2)e74).
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the referenced patent as follows: the method for treating cancer comprising infusing a synthetic nanocarrier of cited patent makes obvious the nanocarrier of instant application.
However, cited patent claims are are silent with respect to the nucleic acid agent being a minicircle encoding a hyperactive transposase.
Sharma teaches a DNA minicircles comprising the hyperactive transposase SB100X (Abstract, Results, p.2-3, see Fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the nanocarrier comprising a nucleic acid for genetically modifying T cells as a claimed by cited patent and choose a minicircle plasmid encoding a hyperactive transposase as taught by Sharma with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Sharma because DNA transposition from DNA minicircles show great promise in therapeutic gene transfer in primary human T cells (Abstract).
Since the instant application claims are obvious over cited patent claims in view of Sharma, said claims are not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/ARTHUR S LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1631