DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 17-20, and 22-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abma et al. (WO 2015112746 A1, “Abma”) in view of Etgen et al. (US 20250012942 A1, “Etgen”).
Regarding claim 1, Abma discloses a cyclic source group for marine seismic surveying, comprising:
a set of
and at least one controller configured to activate the sources in sequential activation cycles([0012], controller is operatively coupled to the seismic source array and is programmed to activate the plurality of sources according to one or more analytic firing patterns),
wherein the activation cycles are such that exactly one nominal shot point occurs for each of the sources in the set during each activation cycle and all nominal shot points within a given activation cycle are distinct(Implicit, [0046] firing patterns will be chosen so that the time intervals between successive subarray activations decreases or increases monotonically, such that the firing pattern can be thought of as generally speeding up or slowing down)(A firing pattern is equivalent to an activation cycle);
wherein pairs of sequential nominal shot points within each activation cycle and across sequential activation cycles define respective nominal shot point intervals(Implicit, [0046] firing patterns will be chosen so that the time intervals between successive subarray activations decreases or increases monotonically, such that the firing pattern can be thought of as generally speeding up or slowing down)(A firing pattern is equivalent to an activation cycle);
wherein at least two of the nominal shot point intervals are unequal(Implicit, [0046] firing patterns will be chosen so that the time intervals between successive subarray activations decreases or increases monotonically, such that the firing pattern can be thought of as generally speeding up or slowing down)(each source in a given firing pattern slowing down indicates that the source intervals get longer between each activation and are thus unequal. The same goes for source intervals decreasing in a firing pattern which the firing pattern is speeding up.);
Abma fails to teach
a set of three or more impulsive marine seismic sources
and wherein nominal shot points for each individual source in the set occur at regular intervals.
Etgen teaches
a set of three or more impulsive marine seismic sources (Fig. 5, source array (80) is comprised of seismic sources (S1-S8) disposed at distinct crossline positions spaced apart from one another equidistantly)
and wherein nominal shot points for each individual source in the set occur at regular intervals (Implicit, [0049], shooting technique involves a source array firing (in which one or more seismic sources are activated), followed by a period of time until a second source starts firing, and eventually the process repeats)(repeating the shooting process implicitly involves repeating the nominal shot points at regular intervals, such as the predetermined period of time).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cyclic group source of Abma, to include the teachings of Etgen, in order to yield a marine seismic survey source activation sequence that repeats an irregular shot point interval between each of a number of impulsive seismic sources in a way that the same blending/de-blending techniques may be utilized for the entirety of the survey which reduces the overall computational complexity of the post-survey signal processing. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR rationale (C).
Regarding claim 2, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 1. Etgen further teaches
wherein: the sources in the set are configured to be disposed at distinct crossline positions during a survey (Fig. 5, source array (80) is comprised of seismic sources (S1-S8) disposed at distinct cross-line positions spaced apart from one another equidistantly);
and a maximum one of the nominal shot point intervals corresponds to nominal shot points for sources in the set that are disposed at a minimum distance from one another in the crossline direction(Fig. 5 illustrates the shot interval between S2 and S1 being the maximum nominal shot point interval, and the two sources are the minimum distance from one another in a crossline direction as the sources are all equidistant)
Regarding claim 3, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 2. Etgen further teaches
wherein: a minimum one of the nominal shot point intervals corresponds to nominal shot points for sources in the set that are disposed at a maximum distance from one another in the crossline direction(Fig. 5 illustrates the shot interval between S3 and S1 being the minimum nominal shot point interval, and the two sources are the maximum distance from one another in a crossline direction)
Regarding claim 4, Abma, as modified in view Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 1. Etgen further teaches
wherein: the sources in the set are configured to be disposed at distinct crossline positions during a survey(Fig. 5, source array (80) is comprised of seismic sources (S1-S8) disposed at distinct crossline positions spaced apart from one another equidistantly);
and a minimum one of the nominal shot point intervals corresponds to nominal shot points for sources in the set that are disposed at a maximum distance from one another in the crossline direction(Fig. 5 illustrates the shot interval between S3 and S1 being the minimum nominal shot point interval, and the two sources are the maximum distance from one another in a crossline direction).
Regarding claim 5, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 1. Etgen further teaches
wherein: the at least one controller is configured to impose a dither on all nominal shot points for all sources in the set ([0052] firing patterns are loaded onto one or more controllers that control firing of the seismic sources)([0060] firing patterns may be combined with any seismic sourcing techniques including firing shots on predefined shot points with random time dithering).
Regarding claim 6, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 5. Etgen further teaches
wherein: all of the imposed dithers are random dithers([0060] firing patterns may be combined with any seismic sourcing techniques including firing shots on predefined shot points with random time dithering).
Regarding claim 17, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 1. Etgen further teaches
wherein: all of the sources in the set are configured to be disposed at a same inline position (Fig. 5 illustrate sources (S1-S8) disposed all in the same inline position).
Regarding claim 18, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches he cyclic source group of claim 1, wherein: the set of sources consists of three sources, Si,S2, and S3, configured to be disposed equidistant from one another at distinct crossline positions during a survey such that S2 is between Si and S3 in the crossline direction(implicit, Fig. 5, [0051], Fig. 5 illustrates seismic source array (86) including 8 sources, however any number may be included in each source array)(the ability to select any number of sources in the source array includes an array in which only three sources is included. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select a source array of only three sources to reduce operation cost and complexity)(Fig. 5 illustrates sources (S1-S3) of array (86)disposed equidistantly from one another at distinct crossline positions such that S2 is between S1 and S3);
nominal shot points occur for the sources in a sequence S2, Si, S3 during each activation cycle (Fig. 5 (88) illustrates a firing pattern for the source array (86) in which a sequence of S2, S1, S3);
Abma further teaches
a nominal shot point interval between
and a nominal shot point interval between firing pattern can be thought of as generally speeding up or slowing down)(A firing pattern that decreases between each source activation implicitly means the nominal shot point interval between the second and third activated in a three source group is the minimum in the sequence).
Therefore the combination of Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches
a nominal shot point interval between S2 and S1 corresponds to a maximum nominal shot point interval
and a nominal shot point interval between S1 and S3 corresponds to a minimum nominal shot point interval
Regarding claim 19, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 18. Etgen further teaches
[three sources disposed at equidistant distinct crossline positions] (implicit, Fig. 5, [0051], Fig. 5 illustrates seismic source array (86) including 8 sources, however any number may be included in each source array)(the ability to select any number of sources in the source array includes an array in which only three sources is included. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select a source array of only three sources to reduce operation cost and complexity) (Fig. 5 illustrates sources (S1-S3) of array (86)disposed equidistantly from one another at distinct crossline positions such that S2 is between S1 and S3) (Fig. 5 (88) illustrates a firing pattern for the source array (86) in which a sequence of S2, S1, S3)
Abma further teaches
wherein: a nominal shot point interval between intervals includes the scenario in which the source interval between a third source in a three source group and a first source of the subsequent firing pattern sequence has a maximum interval).
Therefore Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches
wherein: a nominal shot point interval between S3 and S2 across sequential activation cycles corresponds to the maximum nominal shot point interval
Regarding claim 20, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 18. Etgen further teaches
[three sources disposed at equidistant distinct crossline positions] (implicit, Fig. 5, [0051], Fig. 5 illustrates seismic source array (86) including 8 sources, however any number may be included in each source array)(the ability to select any number of sources in the source array includes an array in which only three sources is included. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select a source array of only three sources to reduce operation cost and complexity) (Fig. 5 illustrates sources (S1-S3) of array (86)disposed equidistantly from one another at distinct crossline positions such that S2 is between S1 and S3) (Fig. 5 (88) illustrates a firing pattern for the source array (86) in which a sequence of S2, S1, S3)
Abma further teaches
wherein: a nominal shot point interval between
Regarding claim 22, A method of manufacturing a geophysical data product, comprising:
towing, from a vessel, a set of
activating the sources in sequential activation cycles, wherein the activation cycles are such that exactly one nominal shot point occurs for each of the sources in the set during each activation cycle and all nominal shot points within a given activation cycle are distinct(Implicit, [0046] firing patterns will be chosen so that the time intervals between successive subarray activations decreases or increases monotonically, such that the firing pattern can be thought of as generally speeding up or slowing down)(A firing pattern is equivalent to an activation cycle);
wherein pairs of sequential nominal shot points within each activation cycle and across sequential activation cycles define respective nominal shot point intervals(Implicit, [0046] firing patterns will be chosen so that the time intervals between successive subarray activations decreases or increases monotonically, such that the firing pattern can be thought of as generally speeding up or slowing down);
wherein at least two of the nominal shot point intervals are unequal(Implicit, [0046] firing patterns will be chosen so that the time intervals between successive subarray activations decreases or increases monotonically, such that the firing pattern can be thought of as generally speeding up or slowing down)(time intervals speeding up or slowing down between activations implicitly means the intervals are unequal);
receiving, from geophysical sensors, signals responsive to activations of the sources (Fig. 3, [0042] vessel (310) will tow some number of receiver sensors (332) in a body of water (320). Additional ocean bottom receivers (335) will be situated on ocean floor);
and recording the signals or data derived therefrom in a first set of one or more non-transitory computer readable media, thereby completing the manufacture of a first geophysical data product([0037], initial processing will be performed to associate each seismic recording with a surface or other location. This might be done in the field or in another processing center. In either case, a computer system (150) which might be a workstation, a server, a main frame, a parallel computer, a networked collection of computers or workstations, etc.)(a computer would implicitly have one or more non-transitory computer readable media).
Abma fails to teach
and wherein nominal shot points for each individual source in the set occur at regular intervals(Implicit, [0049], shooting technique involves a source array firing (in which one or more seismic sources are activated), followed by a period of time until a second source starts firing, and eventually the process repeats)(repeating the shooting process implicitly involves repeating the nominal shot points at regular intervals, such as the predetermined period of time).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cyclic group source of Abma, to include the teachings of Etgen, in order to yield a marine seismic survey source activation sequence that repeats an irregular shot point interval between each of a number of impulsive seismic sources in a way that the same blending/de-blending techniques may be utilized for the entirety of the survey which reduces the overall computational complexity of the post-survey signal processing. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR rationale (C).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 3 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is a method claim corresponding to claim 4 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is a CRM claim corresponding to claim 1 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is a CRM claim corresponding to claim 2 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is a CRM claim corresponding to claim 3 and is therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 7-9 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abma in view of Etgen and Wangensteen et al. (US 20220091293 A1, “Wangensteen”).
Regarding claim 7, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 1. Abma, as modified in view of Etgen fails to teach
wherein the at least one controller is configured such that: at least a first one of the sources in the set repeats actual shot points from a previous marine seismic survey.
Wangensteen further teaches
wherein the at least one controller ([0038], source controller may be used in order to producer shot points) is configured such that: at least a first one of the sources in the set repeats actual shot points from a previous marine seismic survey (fig. 6, [0037], monitor survey repeats shot points that were produced during the baseline survey)(Fig. 6 (610) illustrates repeat shot points completed by sources (608)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention modify the cyclic source group of Abma, as modified in view of the teachings of Etgen, to further include the teachings of Wangensteen, in order to yield a marine seismic cyclic source group that can further perform monitor surveying in order to image subsurface formations over time to evaluate how the subsurface formation changed. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Regarding claim 8, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen and Wangensteen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 7. Wangensteen further teaches
wherein the at least one controller([0038], source controller may be used in order to producer shot points) is configured such that: a dither is applied to nominal shot points for at least a second one of the sources in the set(Fig. 15, [0060], in a dithered survey sources activated with varying positive or negative delays. Such variations may be systematic, random, or pseudo-random),
wherein the second source is distinct from the first source (Implicit, Fig. 15, [0059]-[0060], three-source baseline survey tows sources at different crossline positions…. in a dithered survey sources activated with varying positive or negative delays. Such variations may be systematic, random, or pseudo-random).
Regarding claim 9, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 1. Abma, as modified in view of Etgen, fails to teach
wherein the at least one controller is configured such that: at least two repeat sources in the set repeat respective shot lines from a previous marine seismic survey;
and a dither is applied to nominal shot points for at least a third source in the set, wherein the third source is distinct from the two repeat sources.
Wangensteen teaches
wherein the at least one controller([0038], source controller may be used in order to produce shot points) is configured such that: at least two repeat sources in the set repeat respective shot lines from a previous marine seismic survey(fig. 16, [0059]-[0061] baseline survey is conducted with a three source array. Fig. 16 and Fig. 17 illustrate two different techniques in which previous dithered survey data is repeated. In monitor surveys (1600) and (1700) any of the previous source and streamer configurations may be employed as well as additional sources)(the monitor survey comprising three sources including additional sources means there are at least two repeat sources);
and a dither is applied to nominal shot points for at least a third source in the set, wherein the third source is distinct from the two repeat sources(fig. 16, [0059]-[0061] baseline survey is conducted with a three source array. Fig. 16 and Fig. 17 illustrate two different techniques in which previous dithered survey data is repeated. In monitor surveys (1600) and (1700) any of the previous source and streamer configurations may be employed as well as additional sources)(implicit, [0065] dithering pattern used in the monitor survey may enhance or complement the dithering pattern of the baseline survey)(the monitor survey following the baseline survey dithering pattern implicitly means additional shot points are also dithered)
Regarding claim 30, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the medium of claim 27. Abma, as modified in view of Etgen fails to teach
wherein: at least two repeat sources in the set repeat respective shot lines from a previous marine seismic survey; and at least a third source in the set, distinct from the at least two repeat sources, comprises an additional source relative to a number of sources used during the previous marine seismic survey.
Wangenstein teaches
wherein: at least two repeat sources in the set repeat respective shot lines from a previous marine seismic survey(Fig. 16, [0059]-[0061] baseline survey is conducted with a three source array. Fig. 16 and Fig. 17 illustrate two different techniques in which previous dithered survey data is repeated. In monitor surveys (1600) and (1700) any of the previous source and streamer configurations may be employed as well as additional sources)(a monitor survey comprising the same configuration as a three source array that repeats previous data implicitly means there are at least two repeat sources);
and at least a third source in the set, distinct from the at least two repeat sources, comprises an additional source relative to a number of sources used during the previous marine seismic survey. (Fig. 16, [0059]-[0061] baseline survey is conducted with a three source array. Fig. 16 and Fig. 17 illustrate two different techniques in which previous dithered survey data is repeated. In monitor surveys (1600) and (1700) any of the previous source and streamer configurations may be employed as well as additional sources)(the monitor survey including additional sources implicitly means there is a source that is different from the repeat sources that is equivalent to the “third source” and was not part of a previous survey)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention modify the CRM of Abma, as modified in view of the teachings of Etgen, to further include the teachings of Wangensteen, in order to yield a marine seismic cyclic source group that can further perform monitor surveying in order to image subsurface formations over time to evaluate how the subsurface formation changed while also increasing the crossline resolution. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar system in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abma in view of Etgen and van Groenestijn (US 20190094401 A1, “van Groenestijn”).
Regarding claim 26, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the method of claim 25. Abma, as modified in view of Etgen fails to teach
further comprising: determining differences in the signals attributable to crossline orthogonality caused by different crossline positions of the sources in the set;
generating a de-blended set of signals based on the differences;
and recording the de-blended set of signals or data derived therefrom in a second set of one or more non-transitory computer readable media, thereby completing the manufacture of a second geophysical data product.
van Groenestijn teaches
further comprising: determining differences in the signals attributable to crossline orthogonality caused by different crossline positions of the sources in the set ([0094], multiple source array may be activated to create blended data. Multiple source array may be a cross-line source array where each source of the multiple source array is activated in each time interval)(the interval in which a source of a multiple cross-line source array is activated is a difference in the signal attributable to its cross-line position in the sequence);
generating a de-blended set of signals based on the differences([0113]-[0114] pseudo-deblended seismic data matrix is used to estimate deblended seismic data based on activation times of the sources activated in the source-array activation time-interval);
and recording the de-blended set of signals or data derived therefrom in a second set of one or more non-transitory computer readable media, thereby completing the manufacture of a second geophysical data product ([0125], geophysical data product indicative of certain properties of a subterranean formation is formed from results from using the methods and systems described above. The geophysical data product may be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium as described above. The geophysical data product may be produced offshore (i.e., by equipment on the survey vessel) or onshore (i.e., at a computing facility on land))(producing and storing a geophysical data product at an onshore computing facility implicitly includes storing the data on a second set of one or more non-transitory computer readable media).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Abma, as modified in view of the teachings of Etgen, in order to yield a marine seismic cyclic source group activation method that is capable of deblending seismic data resulting from overlaps in reflected energy produced during the cyclic source activation which would allow for more accurate seismic data analysis regarding subsurface structures to be performed. Making such a modification amounts to using a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way. See MPEP 2141.III KSR Rationale (C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-16 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 9. Etgen further teaches
wherein the at least one controller is configured such that: nominal shot points for corresponding source in the However Etgen, the closest prior art, adjusting the spatial positioning of shot points as a firing pattern for the survey, rather than translating a repeat source in an inline direction corresponding to a previous marine seismic survey)
Wangensteen teaches [repeating shot points from a previous seismic survey] (fig. 6, [0037], monitor survey repeats shot points that were produced during the baseline survey)(Fig. 6 (610) illustrates repeat shot points completed by sources (608) while (612) and (614) illustrate additional shot points)(the repeat shot points (Fig. 6 (610)) of Wangensteen are repeated exactly the same in the monitor survey as they are in the baseline survey, whether the baseline survey is dithered or not. Wangesteen fails to teach an inline translation of the repeated shot points in the monitor survey as compared to the baseline survey).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to its respective dependence upon a claim indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to its respective dependence upon a claim indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 13, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 1. Abma, as modified in view of Etgen fails to teach
wherein the at least one controller is configured such that: at least two crossline adjacent repeat sources in the set repeat shot lines form a previous marine seismic survey;
and at least one crossline outermost source in the set comprises an additional source relative to a number of sources that were used in the previous marine seismic survey.
Wangensteen teaches
wherein the at least one controller([0038], source controller may be used in order to produce shot points) is configured such that: at least two Wangensteen fails to teach that the repeat sources in the set (sources (608) comprising shot points (610)) are crossline adjacent to one another, and instead teaches that the repeat sources are separated by an additional source (608) with corresponding shot points (614) located between the two repeat sources. No other identified prior art teaches the limitation, either wholly or in part with sufficient motivation to combine);
and at least one crossline outermost source in the set comprises an additional source relative to a number of sources that were used in the previous marine seismic survey(Fig. 6 illustrates right most source (608) with corresponding additional shot points (612) being located at an outermost crossline distance).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to its respective dependence upon a claim indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to its respective dependence upon a claim indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to its respective dependence upon a claim indicated as containing allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 21, Abma, as modified in view of Etgen teaches the cyclic source group of claim 1, Etgen further teaches
wherein: the set of sources consists of four sources, S1, S2, S3, and S4, configured to be disposed equidistant from one another at distinct crossline positions during a survey such that Si and S4 are outermost in the crossline direction, S2 is adjacent to Si in the crossline direction, and S3 is adjacent to S4 in the crossline direction(implicit, Fig. 5, [0051], Fig. 5 illustrates seismic source array (86) including 8 sources, however any number may be included in each source array)(the ability to select any number of sources in the source array includes an array in which only four sources is included. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to select a source array of only four sources to reduce operation cost and complexity compared to the full eight source array);
Abma further teaches
However Abma fails to teach the limitation that the nominal shot point interval between S3 and S2 corresponds to a maximum shot point interval as part of a four source activation cycle. No other identified prior art teaches this limitation, either wholly or in part with sufficient motivation to combine);
However Abma fails to teach the limitation that the nominal shot point interval between S4 and S1 corresponds to a minimum shot point interval as part of a four source activation cycle. No other identified prior art teaches this limitation, either wholly or in part with sufficient motivation to combine).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Van Boreselen et al. (US 20140269169 A1) which discloses a system and method for randomizing firing times or marine seismic sources
Abma ("Shot coding design for popcorn shooting." SEG International Exposition and Annual Meeting. SEG, 2018.) which discloses method for marine seismic source activation coding design
/CHRISTOPHER RICHARD WALKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645