DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/170284 A1 (“Yeh”) in view of US 2022/0413293 A1 (“Yeh2”). (Note: Yeh and Yeh2 were previously attached in the last office action).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh discloses a head wearable display system, comprising: a target object detection module for receiving a plurality of image pixels of a first portion and a second portion of a target object, and corresponding depths of the first portion and the second portion (e.g. see target object detection module, e.g. see 300 in Fig. 3, pg. 9, l. 7 – pg. 10, l. 4); a first light emitter for emitting a plurality of first-eye light signals to display a first-eye virtual image of the first portion and the second portion of the target object for a viewer (e.g. see first light emitter, e.g. 10 in Fig. 3, pg. 10, ll. 5-27); a first light direction modifier for respectively varying a light direction of each of the plurality of first-eye light signals emitted from the first light emitter (e.g. see first light direction modifier, e.g. 100 in Fig. 3, pg. 10, ll. 5-27); a first collimator, disposed between the first light emitter and the first light direction modifier, to adjust a beam waist location of each of the plurality of first-eye light signals so that the plurality of first-eye light signals being separable from each other (e.g. see first collimator, e.g. see 1000 in Fig. 3, pg. 10, ll. 5-27); and a first combiner for redirecting and converging the plurality of first-eye light signals towards the first eye of the viewer (e.g. see first combiner, e.g. see 20 in Fig. 3, pg. 10, l. 28 – pg. 11, l. 10).
Although Yeh discloses the first collimator and the first light direction modifier, it is noted Yeh differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose a first focusing element, disposed between the first collimator and the first light direction modifier, to adjust a beam waist size of each of the plurality of first-eye light signals, so as to adjust spot sizes of the plurality of first-eye light signals on a first eye of the viewer, wherein the first focusing element is configured to provide a variable distance between the first focusing element and the first light emitter to modulate an amount of distinguishable light signals per unit of field of view projected to a retina of the viewer. Yeh2 however, teaches a first focusing element, disposed between the first collimator and the first light direction modifier, to adjust a beam waist size of each of the plurality of first-eye light signals, so as to adjust spot sizes of the plurality of first-eye light signals on a first eye of the viewer (e.g. see focus adjustment, e.g. see 182 in Fig. 1B and Fig. 1C, paragraphs [0036], [0068]), wherein the first focusing element is configured to provide a variable distance between the first focusing element and the first light emitter to modulate an amount of distinguishable light signals per unit of field of view projected to a retina of the viewer (e.g. see adjusting the focus adjustment unit distance would change the focus location of the light beams as illustrated in Fig. 1C, paragraphs [0036], [00068]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Yeh and Yeh2 before him/her, to modify the System and method for enhancing visual acuity of Yeh with the teachings of Yeh2 in order to improve clarity of virtual image for the viewer.
Regarding claim 2, Yeh further discloses wherein the first-eye virtual image of the first portion of the target object in a first field of view comprises more amounts of the first-eye light signals per degree comparing to the first-eye virtual image of the second portion of the target object in a second field of view (e.g. see at least a central FOV (or first FOV) representing the first portion (which is the center portion) of a frame of the virtual image of the target object with a higher number of light signal per degree of FOV relative to the peripheral FOV (or second FOV) representing the second portion (which is the peripheral portion) of the frame of the virtual image of the target object, pg. 14, l. 30 – pg. 15, l. 26; also see, pg. 20, ll. 7-20).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh further discloses wherein the plurality of first-eye light signals emitted by the first light direction modifier emits to the first combiner with a first-eye light incident angle between 15 degrees and 75 degrees (e.g. see range of angles or certain range, pg. 3, ll. 10-24, pg. 10, l. 28 – pg. 11, l. 10, and see illustration in Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7, Yeh further discloses wherein an amount of distinguishable light signals per unit of field of view projected to a retina of the viewer is adjusted by varying a distance between the first light direction modifier and the first collimator (e.g. see changing the distance between the first light direction modifier 100 and the first collimator 1000 in Figs. 4A-4B, pg. 11, l. 18 – pg. 12, l. 27).
Regarding claim 9, Yeh further discloses further comprising: a second light emitter for emitting a plurality of second-eye light signals corresponding to the plurality of first-eye light signals to display a second-eye virtual image of the first portion and the second portion of the target object for the viewer (e.g. see 30 in Fig. 9, pg. 20, l. 31 – pg. 21, l. 26); a second light direction modifier for respectively varying a light direction of each of the plurality of second-eye light signals emitted from the second light emitter (e.g. see 300 in Fig. 9, pg. 20, l. 31 – pg. 21, l. 26); a second collimator, disposed between the second light emitter and the second light direction modifier, to adjust a beam waist location of each of the plurality of second-eye light signals so that the plurality of second-eye light signals being separable from each other (e.g. see 3000 in Fig. 9, pg. 20, l. 31 – pg. 21, l. 26); and a second combiner for redirecting and converging the plurality of second-eye light signals towards the second eye of the viewer (e.g. see 40 in Fig. 9, pg. 20, l. 31 – pg. 21, l. 26); wherein the first eye and the second eye perceive the plurality of first-eye light signals and the plurality of second-eye light signals to produce binocular vision (e.g. see binocular vision, pg. 20, l. 31 – pg. 21, l. 26), one of the plurality of first-eye light signals and corresponding one of the plurality of second-eye light signals form a binocular pixel having a first depth related to a converging angle between optical path extensions of one of the plurality of first-eye light signals and corresponding one of the plurality of second-eye light signals (e.g. see binocular pixel having a first depth, pg. 21, l. 26 – pg. 22, l. 32, as illustrated at least in Figs. 10-11).
Although Yeh discloses the second collimator and the second light direction modifier, it is noted Yeh differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose a second focusing element, disposed between the second collimator and the second light direction modifier, to adjust a beam waist size of each of the plurality of second-eye light signals, so as to adjust spot sizes of the plurality of second-eye light signals on a second eye of the viewer, wherein the second focusing element is configured to provide a variable distance between the second focusing element and the second light emitter to modulate an amount of distinguishable light signals per unit of field of view projected to a second retina of the viewer. Yeh2 however, teaches a second focusing element, disposed between the second collimator and the second light direction modifier, to adjust a beam waist size of each of the plurality of second-eye light signals, so as to adjust spot sizes of the plurality of second-eye light signals on a second eye of the viewer (e.g. see focus adjustment, e.g. see 187 in Fig. 1B, paragraphs [0036], [0068]), wherein the second focusing element is configured to provide a variable distance between the second focusing element and the second light emitter to modulate an amount of distinguishable light signals per unit of field of view projected to a second retina of the viewer (e.g. see adjusting the focus adjustment unit distance would change the focus location of the light beams as illustrated in Fig. 1C, paragraphs [0036], [00068]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites analogous limitations to the claim above and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/170284 A1 (“Yeh”) in view of US 2022/0413293 A1 (“Yeh2”) in further view of JP 2019-113839 A (“Hirano”). (Note: Hirano was previously attached in the last office action).
Regarding claim 3, although Yeh in view of Yeh2 teaches the first focusing element (e.g. see convex lens, paragraphs [0036], [00068]), it is noted Yeh differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose wherein the first focusing element comprises a radius of curvature between -5 mm and -50 mm. Hirano however, teaches wherein the first focusing element comprises a radius of curvature between -5 mm and -50 mm (e.g. see at least convex lens radius of curvature -5mm, -6mm).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Yeh, Yeh2 and Hirano before him/her, to incorporate the teachings of Hirano into the System and method for enhancing visual acuity of Yeh as modified by Yeh2 in order to improve the size of screen display in front of the eyes and ensure the right and left peripheral visual fields of the wearer.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites analogous limitations to the claim above and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 5-6, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/170284 A1 (“Yeh”) in view of US 2022/0413293 A1 (“Yeh2”) in further view of WO 2023/278465 A1 (“Cheng”). (Note: Cheng was previously attached in the last office action).
Regarding claim 5, although Yeh discloses the first light direction modifier, it is noted Yeh differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose further comprising: a first light redirector for receiving the plurality of first-eye light signals and varying a light direction of each of the plurality of first-eye light signals; and a second light redirector disposed adjacent to a first focus of the first light redirector and a first focus of the first combiner, the second light redirector being a reflector, wherein the first light redirector receives the plurality of first-eye light signals and directs the plurality of first-eye light signals to the first combiner, the first combiner directs the plurality of first-eye light signals received from the first light redirector to the first eye of the viewer, so that the viewer sees a first image frame composed by the plurality of first-eye light signals, wherein the first light direction modifier varies projecting directions of the plurality of first-eye light signals in a first dimension between a first spatial dimension limit and a second spatial dimension limit, wherein a geometric shape of the first light redirector is configured to make the total optical path length from the first light direction modifier to the first eye of the viewer of one of the plurality of first-eye light signals emitted by the first light direction modifier approximate to the first spatial dimension limit substantially equal to the total optical path length from the first light direction modifier to the first eye of the viewer of another one of the plurality of first-eye light signals emitted by the first light direction modifier approximate to the second spatial dimension limit, wherein the first light redirector comprises two focuses located in space between the first light redirector and the first eye of the viewer, the first focus of the first light redirector and the first focus of the first combiner are at a same spatial location, wherein the first light direction modifier is adjacent to a second focus of the first light redirector, and wherein a closest distance from the first combiner to the first eye of the viewer is 15 mm to 30 mm. Cheng however, teaches further comprising: a first light redirector for receiving the plurality of first-eye light signals and varying a light direction of each of the plurality of first-eye light signals (e.g. see 210 in Fig. 12, paragraph [0056]); and a second light redirector disposed adjacent to a first focus of the first light redirector and a first focus of the first combiner, the second light redirector being a reflector (e.g. see 230 in Fig. 12, paragraph [0056]), wherein the first light redirector receives the plurality of first-eye light signals and directs the plurality of first-eye light signals to the first combiner, the first combiner directs the plurality of first-eye light signals received from the first light redirector to the first eye of the viewer, so that the viewer sees a first image frame composed by the plurality of first-eye light signals (e.g. see 210 receiving and directing first-eye light signals to 220 that directs the first-eye light signals to the first eye of the viewer as shown in Fig. 12, paragraph [0056]), wherein the first light direction modifier varies projecting directions of the plurality of first-eye light signals in a first dimension between a first spatial dimension limit and a second spatial dimension limit (e.g. see first spatial dimension limit and a second spatial dimension limit, paragraph [0037]), wherein a geometric shape of the first light redirector is configured to make the total optical path length from the first light direction modifier to the first eye of the viewer of one of the plurality of first-eye light signals emitted by the first light direction modifier approximate to the first spatial dimension limit substantially equal to the total optical path length from the first light direction modifier to the first eye of the viewer of another one of the plurality of first-eye light signals emitted by the first light direction modifier approximate to the second spatial dimension limit (e.g. see geometry of the first light redirector is configured such that a light signal emitted by the first light emitter in proximity to the first spatial dimension limit has a total optical path length from the first light emitter to the eye of the viewer substantially equal to a total optical path length of another light signal emitted by the first light emitter in proximity to the second spatial dimension limit from the first light emitter to the eye of the viewer, Abstract; also see paragraphs [0044]-[0045] and [0048]), wherein the first light redirector comprises two focuses located in space between the first light redirector and the first eye of the viewer, the first focus of the first light redirector and the first focus of the first combiner are at a same spatial location (e.g. see two foci, paragraphs [0008], [0046]), wherein the first light direction modifier is adjacent to a second focus of the first light redirector (e.g. see 200 and 210 in Fig. 12), and wherein a closest distance from the first combiner to the first eye of the viewer is 15 mm to 30 mm (e.g. see 15mm-30mm, paragraph [0047], claim 24).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Yeh, Yeh2 and Cheng before him/her, to incorporate the teachings of Cheng into the System and method for enhancing visual acuity of Yeh as modified by Yeh2 in order to improve eye-relief, field of view and form factor for head wearable display devices.
Regarding claim 12, although Ye discloses the second light direction modifier, it is noted Yeh differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose further comprising: a third light redirector for receiving the plurality of second-eye light signals and varying a light direction of each of the plurality of second-eye light signals; and a fourth light redirector disposed adjacent to a first focus of the third light redirector and a first focus of the second combiner, the fourth light redirector being a reflector, wherein the third light redirector receives the plurality of second-eye light signals and directs the plurality of second-eye light signals to the second combiner, the second combiner directs the plurality of second-eye light signals received from the third light redirector to the second eye of the viewer, so that the viewer sees a second image frame composed by the plurality of second-eye light signals, wherein the second light direction modifier varies projecting directions of the plurality of second-eye light signals in a second dimension between a third spatial dimension limit and a fourth spatial dimension limit, wherein a geometric shape of the third light redirector is configured to make the total optical path length from the second light direction modifier to the second eye of the viewer of one of the plurality of second-eye light signals emitted by the second light direction modifier approximate to the third spatial dimension limit substantially equal to the total optical path length from the second light direction modifier to the second eye of the viewer of another one of the plurality of second-eye light signals emitted by the second light direction modifier approximate to the fourth spatial dimension limit, wherein the third light redirector comprises two focuses located in space between the third light redirector and the second eye of the viewer, the first focus of the third light redirector and the first focus of the second combiner are at a same spatial location, wherein the second light direction modifier is adjacent to a second focus of the third light redirector, and wherein a closest distance from the second combiner to the second eye of the viewer is 15 mm to 30 mm. Cheng however, teaches a third light redirector for receiving the plurality of second-eye light signals and varying a light direction of each of the plurality of second-eye light signals (e.g. see 110 in Fig. 4 and/or Fig. 12, paragraphs [0037], [0056]); and a fourth light redirector disposed adjacent to a first focus of the third light redirector and a first focus of the second combiner, the fourth light redirector being a reflector (e.g. see 130 in Fig. 4 and/or Fig. 12, paragraphs [0037], [0056]), wherein the third light redirector receives the plurality of second-eye light signals and directs the plurality of second-eye light signals to the second combiner, the second combiner directs the plurality of second-eye light signals received from the third light redirector to the second eye of the viewer, so that the viewer sees a second image frame composed by the plurality of second-eye light signals (e.g. see 110 receiving and directing second-eye light signals to 120 that directs the second-eye light signals to the second eye of the viewer as shown in Fig. 4 and/or Fig. 12, paragraphs [0037], [0056]), wherein the second light direction modifier varies projecting directions of the plurality of second-eye light signals in a second dimension between a third spatial dimension limit and a fourth spatial dimension limit (e.g. see first spatial dimension limit and a second spatial dimension limit, paragraph [0037]), wherein a geometric shape of the third light redirector is configured to make the total optical path length from the second light direction modifier to the second eye of the viewer of one of the plurality of second-eye light signals emitted by the second light direction modifier approximate to the third spatial dimension limit substantially equal to the total optical path length from the second light direction modifier to the second eye of the viewer of another one of the plurality of second-eye light signals emitted by the second light direction modifier approximate to the fourth spatial dimension limit (e.g. see geometry of the first light redirector is configured such that a light signal emitted by the first light emitter in proximity to the first spatial dimension limit has a total optical path length from the first light emitter to the eye of the viewer substantially equal to a total optical path length of another light signal emitted by the first light emitter in proximity to the second spatial dimension limit from the first light emitter to the eye of the viewer, Abstract; also see paragraphs [0044]-[0045] and [0048]), wherein the third light redirector comprises two focuses located in space between the third light redirector and the second eye of the viewer, the first focus of the third light redirector and the first focus of the second combiner are at a same spatial location (e.g. see two foci, paragraphs [0008], [0046]), wherein the second light direction modifier is adjacent to a second focus of the third light redirector (e.g. see 100 and 110 in Fig. 4 and/or Fig. 12), and wherein a closest distance from the second combiner to the second eye of the viewer is 15 mm to 30 mm (e.g. see 15mm-30mm, paragraph [0047], claim 24). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 5 applies here.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on pages 8-10 of the Remarks that Yeh2 does not teach "to adjust a beam waist size of each of the plurality of first-eye light signals, so as to adjust spot sizes of the plurality of first-eye light signals on a first eye of the viewer, wherein the first focusing element is configured to provide a variable distance between the first focusing element and the first light emitter to modulate an amount of distinguishable light signals per unit of field of view projected to a retina of the viewer" because "the function of the first focusing element of instant claim 1 is different from that of the focus adjustment unit 182, 187 in Yeh2." Applicant also asserts on page 10 that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to add the focus adjustment unit 182 of Yeh2 into the system of Yeh because Yeh "is not a system that includes a real image module to provide a magnified real image of the real object".
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Yeh2, in at least paragraph [0036], teaches to further include right focus adjustment unit 182 (and left focus adjustment unit 187) in between collimator 180 and beam splitter 140 as shown in Fig. 1C to improve clarity of the virtual image for the viewer. The paragraph discloses that this is because the closer the focus location of the light beams is to the retina, the clear the virtual image is for the viewer. Since the axial length of viewers' eyes may vary, the preferred focus location of light beams and, thus, the distance between the light signal generator and the focus adjustment unit vary accordingly. In other words, for the viewer with longer axial length, the focus adjustment unit needs to be more far away from the light signal generator so that the focus location of the light beams is closer to the viewer's retina. Yeh, in at least Fig. 3, discloses a head wearable display system to enhance visual acuity using virtual image. Thus, as noted, in the office action, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further include the focus adjustment units 182 and 187 of Yeh2 into the head wearable display system of Yeh in order to improve clarity of virtual image for the viewer, especially since the axial length of viewers' eyes vary.
Also, Page 3, ll. 21-24, of Yeh discloses that the spot size of the first-eye light signal projected can be manipulated via changing the distance between the light direction modifier and the first collimator,
and further, Page 7, l. 23 - page 8, l. 26, of Yeh discloses that in order to enhance visual acuity, a pixel density needs to be increased and any two adjacent light signals need to be resolved (distinguishable/separable), where pixel density is the number of light signals (e.g., pixels) projected on a unit area, proportional to a unit angle of the FOV (e.g. per degree). It follows that incorporating 182, 187 of Yeh2 into Yeh in between collimator 1000 and light direction modifier 100 (e.g. see Fig. 3 of Ye) and varying their distance as taught by Yeh2 (see Fig. 1C) would result in adjusting the beam waist size of each of the plurality of first-eye light signals, so as to adjust spot sizes of the plurality of first-eye light signals on a first eye of the viewer and modulate the amount of distinguishable light signals per unit of field of view projected to a retina of the viewer.
Thus, the teaching as a whole meet the limitations in the broadest reasonable sense.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619