Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 1 and 12 submitted on 07/02/2026 are acknowledged and considered. Amendment of “cause the work vehicle to execute the end-of-row path autonomously” is not a mental process, hence the claims are statutory. Therefore, rejection presented to claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-13 and 15-22 under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant stated: Madsen does not teach or suggest a control system to determine a difference between an expected field condition of a pre-determined field path and an actual condition, and when the difference is determined, modulate an end-of-row turn path based on vision data and non-vision data, as set forth in claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Madsen teaches determine a difference between an expected field condition of the pre- determined field path and an actual field condition: when the difference is determined, modulate the end-of-row turn path based on the vision data and the non-vision data; and cause the work vehicle to execute the end-of-row turn path autonomously ([0029], disclosing storing electronic map of field. [0038], disclosing processor uses image maps from camera to generate to determine path for steering vehicle. [0052], disclosing Control system 108 may detect the end of rows 154A and 154B based on the image data in FIG. 5. For example, the location of vehicle 100 associated with position line 148 in VO data 136 may correspond with an end of row location in stored electronic map. [0057], disclosing control system updates SLAM map 180 each subsequent run through field 164 to reflect changes in the environment. Control system 108 may continuously update and optimize SLAM map 166 based any new image data received. [0098], disclosing, path generator 548 may use map 553 to generate desired path 554 that steers vehicle 100 to the beginning of a row. And map 553 may include any combination of GPS lat/long data, VO/SLAM data, and/or GIS data)
To summarize, Madsen teaches of using a stored map to determine field path. And the map is updated to reflect new changes i.e., difference between expected field condition (current map) and actual field condition (observed changes). Therefore, Madsen teaches limitations argued by applicant.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claim 12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant stated:
Independent claim 12 sets forth a method comprising determining an end-of-row path for a work vehicle from a first turn profile and a second turn profile, wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile are multi-point turn profiles including at least a first turn path and a second turn path, wherein the first turn path extends in a first direction and includes a raised implement position and the second turn path extends in a second direction and includes a lowered implement position. The alleged combination of Madsen and Suzuki fails to teach such a method.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In light of examiner’s interpretation and 112(b) rejection, Madsen teaches determining an end-of-row turn path for the work vehicle from a first turn profile and a second turn profile.
Therefore, the first turn profile and second turn profile are same. And modification through Suzuki teaches of using different turn profiles for different scenarios. Furthermore, Madsen does not disclose “wherein the first turn path extends in a first direction and includes a raised implement position and the second turn path extends in a second direction and includes a lowered implement position”.
However, as implement can only be at raised or lowered position i.e., Madsen’s invention has limited number of combinations for implement position. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Madsen to wherein the first turn path extends in a first direction and includes a raised implement position and the second turn path extends in a second direction and includes a lowered implement position to avoid obstacles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 13 and 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because:
Claim 12 recites “wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile are multi-point turn profiles including at least a first turn path and a second turn path”
It is unclear if each of first turn profile and second turn profile include first turn path as well as a second turn path, or first turn profile and second turn profile include first turn path and second turn path respectively, or another combination
Examiner interprets the limitation as, first turn profile and second turn profile are same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 16, 17, 20 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen (US 20240241518, disclosed in IDS submitted on 02/26/2025) in view of Suzuki (US 20240184294).
For claim 1, Madsen teaches: A work vehicle guidance system (abstract, disclosing a control system for a vehicle), comprising:
a visual sensor ([0026], disclosing Vehicle 100 includes one or more three-dimensional (3-D) sensors 102, such as a stereo camera. Other 3-D sensor 102 can be used in combination with, or instead of, stereo camera 102.);
a non-visual sensor ([0027], disclosing global navigation satellite system (GNSS) antenna 104 is typically located on top of the cabin of vehicle); and
a control system including a controller having a processor and a memory including a pre-determined field path ([0036], disclosing Control system 108 may include a guidance processor 6 that generally determines the desired path vehicle. [0095-0098], disclosing memory of control system. And path generator 548 may use map 553 to generate desired path 554 that steers vehicle 100 to the beginning of a row), wherein the control system is configured to:
determine a location of a work vehicle in a work area based on non-vision data from the non-visual sensor ([0003], disclosing a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) to determine the location and heading of the vehicle. See also [0027-0029]);
determine an end-of-row turn path for the work vehicle from a first turn profile
determine a difference between an expected field condition of the pre- determined field path and an actual field condition:when the difference is determined, modulate the end-of-row turn path based on the vision data and the non-vision data; andcause the work vehicle to execute the end-of-row turn path autonomously ([0029], disclosing soring electronic map of field. [0035], disclosing routes are planned by using obstacle maps. [0038], disclosing processor uses image maps from camera to generate to determine path for steering vehicle. [0057], disclosing control system 108 may steer vehicle 100 around field 164 a first time to create SLAM map 166. Control system 108 then updates SLAM map 180 each subsequent run through field 164 to reflect changes in the environment. Control system 108 may continuously update and optimize SLAM map 166 based any new image data received from 3-D sensor 102 and GNSS data received from GNSS sensor 104. [0098], disclosing memory device 550 may store a map 553 that path generator 548 uses to direct vehicle through the rows of a field as described above. For example, path generator 548 may use map 553 to generate desired path 554 that steers vehicle 100 to the beginning of a row. And map 553 may include any combination of GPS lat/long data, VO/SLAM data, and/or GIS data)
Madsen teaches of determining turn path, however does not disclose it to be determined from a first turn profile and a second turn profile.
Suzuki teaches determine an end-of-row turn path for the work vehicle from a first turn profile and a second turn profile ([0067], disclosing a combine harvester i.e., a work vehicle. And creating plurality of work routes and turning routes. [0045], disclosing turning route 55 for reciprocating reaping is set so as to turn by any turning method such as U-shaped turn, fishtail turn, or hook turn. Figures 3-7 and [0045-0055], disclosing a plurality of turn profiles that are utilized in different scenarios)
Suzuki and Madsen are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., determining turning path of a work vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to modify art of Madsen to determine an end-of-row turn path for the work vehicle from a first turn profile and a second turn profile as taught by Suzuki to adapt a turning profile that is best compatible with work requirement and vehicle.
Additionally, in case applicant deems multi point turn to be not implicitly disclosed by Madsen. Turn profiles disclosed by Suzuki in figures 3-7 an [0045-0055] are multi point turn profiles. Therefore, modification through Suzuki would also lead to turn profiles being multipoint.
Method of claim 12 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 1, hence is similarly rejected. Madsen further teaches: wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile are multi-point turn profiles including at least a first turn path and a second turn path, wherein the first turn path extends in a first direction
Madsen does not explicitly teach wherein the first turn path extends in a first direction and includes a raised implement position and the second turn path extends in a second direction and includes a lowered implement position.
However, the implement can only be raised or lowered. As there are limited number of combinations for implement position. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein the first turn path extends in a first direction and includes a raised implement position and the second turn path extends in a second direction and includes a lowered implement position to safely navigate and prevent damage to implement. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007).
For claim 5, modified Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 1, wherein the control system is further configured to identify an obstacle based on the vision data ([0077], disclosing control system 108 detects obstacles in different areas of a field. For example, 3-D camera 102 captures images 130 from the headland area at the end of a row).
Claim 16 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 5, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 6, modified Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 5, wherein the control system is further configured to determine an obstacle avoidance path from the first turn profile and the second turn profile based on the obstacle, the location, and the vision data to avoid the obstacle and output the obstacle avoidance path to a display of the work vehicle ([0035], disclosing detecting and planning routes that avoid hitting obstacles. [0081], disclosing Control system 108 may fuse map distance information with measured distance information while also taking into account VO drift and also consider GNSS position and GNSS signal quality. Control system 108 also may take into account position data identified in a SLAM map if available and 3-D image data. [0100], disclosing Path generator 548 uses the identified turn path as desired path 554. As also explained above, path generator 548 may identify obstructions identified in occupancy grid map 527 to derive or select a desired path 554 that avoids the obstructions. [0048], disclosing control system displays position line of vehicle. Position line is path of vehicle).
Claim 17 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 6, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 8. Modified Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 1, wherein the control system determines a turn area from the work area ([0029], disclosing control system 108 may include memory for storing an electronic map 109 of a field) and modulates the end-of-row turn path based on
Madsen does not teach modulates the end-of-row turn path futher based on a user preference
Suzuki teaches modulates the end-of-row turn path based on a user preference ([0119], disclosing combine harvester 1 may display the turning radius setting screen 60 to prompt the operator to select whether to adjust the turning radius. [0125], disclosing prompt the operator to select whether to set the headland width that allows safe turn with the turning radius of the recommendation value or to narrow the headland width by adjusting the turning radius in order to shift to the autonomous reaping travel more quickly).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to modulates the end-of-row turn path based on a user preference as taught by Suzuki to enable vehicle to execute safe turns.
Claim 20 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 8, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 11, modified Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 1, wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile include a condensed U-turn (figure 4, disclosing a condensed u turn).
Claim 22 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 11, hence is similarly rejected.
For claim 23, modified Madsen teaches: The method of claim 12, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (figure 4 and [0048], disclosing path 148. The U turn has path in one direction and also in opposite direction).
For claim 24, modified Madsen teaches: The method of claim 12,
Madsen does not explicitly teach: wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile further include a third path, wherein the third path extends in a third direction and includes the raised implement position.
Suzuki teaches: wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile further include a third path, wherein the third path extends in a third direction (figure 4, disclosing a multi point turn profile having a third path)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile further include a third path, wherein the third path extends in a third direction as taught by Suzuki to efficiently turn the vehicle.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify of Madsen to have third path with raised implement position.
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen in view of Suzuki and Anderson (US 20230046844).
For claim 2, modified Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 1,
Madsen does not teach: wherein the control system determines a difference between an expected field condition and an actual field condition based on the vision data.
Anderson teaches: control system determines a difference between an expected field condition and an actual field condition based on the vision data ([0058], disclosing agricultural system of has comparison system that is configured to generate an anomaly metric value indicative of a measure of difference between the expected visualization and the actual visual representation of the geographic location and to compare the anomaly metric value to a metric threshold value. [0114], disclosing identifying and diagnosing problems based on anomalies and take the form of automated corrective action control signals to automatically control agricultural machine 103 or other items based on the diagnosis and/or prognosis. See [0195-0202] disclosing different types of anomalies)
Madsen and Anderson are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., agriculture work vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein the control system determines a difference between an expected field condition and an actual field condition based on the vision data as taught by Anderson to identify anomaly in field to take corrective action control signals to automatically control agricultural machine.
Claim 15 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 2, hence is similarly rejected.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen in view of Suzuki, Upasani (US 20230180649) and Smith (US 20130041621) .
For claim 4, modified Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 1,
Madsen does not teach: wherein determining the end-of-row turn path for the work vehicle is further based on elevation data, and wherein a speed of the work vehicle is adjusted based on elevation data.
Upasani teaches determining path for the work vehicle is further based on elevation data (abstract, disclosing path planning system includes a path planning algorithm operable to receive a desired harvest width for each pass of a harvester implement, and a boundary of a harvest area to be harvested. The path planning algorithm determine a surface elevation of the harvest area within the boundary. The path planning algorithm then defines a harvest path for the harvester implement to follow while harvesting the crop material. [0004], disclosing planning a path that does not violate maximum allowable slope).
Madsen and Upasani are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., path planning for work vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein determining the end-of-row turn path for the work vehicle is further based on elevation data as taught by Upasani to keep the work vehicle in safe operating range. See Upasani [0004].
Smith teaches wherein a speed of the work vehicle is adjusted based on elevation data (abstract, disclosing computing optimum speed based on operating conditions of a vehicle. [0071], disclosing optimum speed reflects elevation of roadway i.e., work surface)
Smith and Madsen are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., vehicle control. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein a speed of the work vehicle is adjusted based on elevation data as taught by Smith to operate the vehicle at most advantageous speed.
Claims 7, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen in view of Suzuki and Vlugt (US 20240381804).
For 7, modified Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 1,
Madsen teaches: wherein the control system outputs a second guidance signal to the display and accepts a user input to select a preferred end-of-row turn path.
Vlugt teaches control system outputs a second guidance signal to the display and accepting a user input to select a preferred path (abstract, disclosing a work vehicle ([0011], disclosing A plurality of alternative paths may be outputted to the user which may select one from the proposed paths or tracks by user input. In an embodiment, by the user input the user may amend or change the proposed track for moving the tractor. In response, the operation control and management system will provide amended tractor control data, and the operation mode of the tractor will be controlled according to the amended control data).
Madsen and Vlugt are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., work vehicle control. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein the control system outputs a second guidance signal to the display and accepts a user input to select a preferred end-of-row turn path as taught by Vlugt to allow user to define and modify work path.
Claims 18 and 19 recite limitations similar in scope to claim 7, hence are similarly rejected.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen in view of Suzuki and Liu (US 20230065712).
For claim 9, modified Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 1,
Madsen does not teach: wherein the control system is further configured to automatically raise and lower an implement of the work vehicle based on the end-of-row turn path.
Liu teaches: automatically raise and lower an implement of the work vehicle based on the end-of-row turn path (abstract, disclosing Methods, apparatus, and articles of manufacture to generate a turn path for a vehicle. [0058], disclosing guidance control circuitry 210 generates the navigation instructions 218 based on the turn pattern. The navigation instructions 218 include one or more path paths generated by the turn path generation circuitry 211 for the turn pattern. [0073], disclosing turn pattern selection circuitry 206 selects locations at which to raise and/or lower the implement 902 to reduce and/or prevent operation of the implement 902 on the headland region 406. In some such examples, the turn pattern selection circuitry 206 selects the locations to reduce and/or prevent repeat operations of the implement 902 on the work area. abstract, disclosing control system can also use the VO image to turn the vehicle around from a first position at the end of the row to a second position at a start of another row. The control system may detect an end of row based on 3-D image data, VO data, and GNSS data)
Madsen and Liu are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., work vehicle control. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein the control system is further configured to automatically raise and lower an implement of the work vehicle based on the end-of-row turn path as taught by Liu to reduce and/or prevent repeat operations of the implement 902 on the work area.
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen in view of Suzuki and Scottied67 (Youtube Instruction Video, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csopfnllffk).
For claim 10, Madsen teaches: The work vehicle guidance system of claim 1, wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile include a reverse U-turn.
Madsen does not teach wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile include a reverse U-turn
Scottied67 teaches of a reverse U turn for a trailer (video description stating You've seen 45 degree backing, 90 degree backing, hold on to your hats, here comes 180 degree backing in a big truck. At time 0:19, indicating that trailer will back up 180 degrees. At time 2:13, the trailer completes 180 degree back turn i.e., reverse U turn).
Scottie67 and Madsen are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., trailer vehicle (Madsen discloses a trailer in [0035]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein the first turn profile and the second turn profile include a reverse U-turn as taught by Scottie67 as efficient maneuver to turn the vehicle by 180 degrees.
Claim 21 recites limitations similar in scope to claim 10, hence is similarly rejected.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madsen (US 20240241518, disclosed in IDS submitted on 02/26/2025) in view of Upasani (US 20230180649).
For claim 13, modified Madsen teaches: The method of claim 12,
Madsen does not teach: wherein determining the end-of-row turn path for the work vehicle is further based on elevation data.
Upasani teaches determining path for the work vehicle is further based on elevation data (abstract, disclosing path planning system includes a path planning algorithm operable to receive a desired harvest width for each pass of a harvester implement, and a boundary of a harvest area to be harvested. The path planning algorithm determine a surface elevation of the harvest area within the boundary. The path planning algorithm then defines a harvest path for the harvester implement to follow while harvesting the crop material. [0004], disclosing planning a path that does not violate maximum allowable slope).
Madsen and Upasani are analogous arts as they are in same field of endeavor i.e., path planning for work vehicle. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of claimed invention to further modify art of Madsen to wherein determining the end-of-row turn path for the work vehicle is further based on elevation data as taught by Upasani to keep the work vehicle in safe operating range. See Upasani [0004].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARSLAN AZHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3656