DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 3-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthews (U.S. Patent 4,272,901 A).
With regards to Claim 1, Matthews discloses an electronic apparatus [Figures 1-3] including:
An exterior body (18) having, on a front side, a display [e.g., area of (30, 32, 34, 36)] that shows at least one of a character, a symbol, or a figure [note Figures 1-3]; and
A light-emitting device (40, 42, 44, 46) that is provided inside the exterior body at a position facing the display and that is configured to emit light to an outside through the exterior body [note Figures 1-3],
Wherein a difference in transmittance of the light emitted from the light-emitting device is generated between a region corresponding to the display and a region on a periphery in the exterior body [note Figures 1-3], and
Wherein transmission of the light in the region corresponding to the display is suppressed by a transmission suppression layer (30-36) formed on a surface of the exterior body [note Figures 1-3], and
Wherein the transmission suppression layer has a shape in which at least one of the character, the symbol, or the figure shown by the display is inverted [note Figures 1-3].
Matthews does not specifically teach the transmission suppression layer being formed on an inner surface of the exterior body.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the transmission suppression layer of Matthews to be formed on an inner surface of the exterior body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70 [MPEP 2114.04]. In this case, the transmission suppression layer on the inner surface would facilitate cleaning and improve durability from wear-and-tear due to environmental factors if on an outer/outside surface.
With regards to Claim 3, Matthews discloses the transmission suppression layer (30-36) being formed by printing.1
With regards to Claim 4, Matthews discloses the transmission suppression layer (30-36) being formed by attaching an attachment member [note Column 2, Lines 43-46].1
With regards to Claim 5, Matthews discloses the transmission suppression layer (30-36) contains a material having a lower light transmittance than the periphery, wherein the material being a coating material that absorbs light having a wavelength in a visible light range [note Column 2, Lines 43-49].
With regards to Claim 6, Matthews discloses the display [e.g., area of (30, 32, 34, 36)] shows at least one of the character, the symbol, or the figure by using a difference in a three-dimensional shape (30-36) from the periphery on the front surface [note Figures 1-3].
With regards to Claim 7, Matthews discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above. In addition, Matthews teaches the three-dimensional shape (30-36) being a shape that protrudes to an outer side of the exterior body rather than the periphery [note Figures 1-3].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthews (U.S. Patent 4,272,901 A) as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Takii et al. (U.S. Patent 5,036,440).
With regards to Claim 8, Matthews discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above, but does not specifically teach a coating film being formed on an outer side of the exterior body, and a thickness of the coating film in a transmission portion through which the light from the light-emitting device is transmitted is set to be less than a thickness of the coating film in another region.
Takii discloses a coating film (15) formed on an outer side of an exterior body (11), and a thickness of the coating film in a transmission portion (16) through which the light from a light-emitting device (17) is transmitted is set to be less than a thickness of the coating film in another region [note Figure 1].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic apparatus of Matthews to have incorporated the coating film of Takii, such that a thickness of the coating film in a transmission portion through which the light from the light-emitting device is transmitted is set to be less than a thickness of the coating film in another region. Such an obvious modification would provide a low-cost and effective transmissivity as desired.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthews (U.S. Patent 4,272,901 A) as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Oh (U.S. Publication 2014/0133128 A1).
With regards to Claim 9, Matthews discloses the claimed invention as modified and cited above, but does not specifically teach a stripe pattern consisting of periodic recessed and protruding portions being formed on the front surface of the exterior body, and the difference in the three-dimensional shape being a difference in height of the protruding portion of the stripe pattern.
Oh teaches a stripe pattern (620, 630, 640) consisting of periodic recessed and protruding portions being formed on a front surface of an exterior body, and the difference in the three-dimensional shape being a difference in a height of the protruding portion of the stripe pattern [note Figures 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic apparatus of Matthews to have incorporated the stripe pattern consisting of periodic recessed and protruding portions being formed on the front surface of the exterior body, and the difference in the three-dimensional shape being a difference in height of the protruding portion of the stripe pattern, as taught in principle by Oh, since such a configuration is considered functionally equivalent in producing the desired illumination/character/display effect, and whereby the stripe pattern with difference in the three-dimensional shape being a difference in height of the protruding portion of the stripe pattern may provide a greater contrast as desired.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthews (U.S. Patent 4,272,901 A).
With regards to Claim 10, Matthews discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically the electronic apparatus having a printer function, and the light-emitting device is provided at a position facing the display formed on a surface of the exterior body opposite to a side on which a film containing a photosensitive material is accommodated.
However, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic apparatus of Matthews to have incorporated into a printer with a printer function, and the light-emitting device is provided at a position facing the display formed on a surface of the exterior body opposite to a side on which a film containing a photosensitive material is accommodated. Such an obvious modification of electronic devices, whether sign or phone or printer, is an obvious matter of application. In this case, it is considered obvious that one could incorporate the display functionality within a printer such that the light-emitting device is provided at a position facing the display formed on a surface of the exterior body opposite to a side on which a film containing a photosensitive material is accommodated. It has also been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthews (U.S. Patent 4,272,901 A).
With regards to Claim 11, Matthews discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic apparatus [Figures 1-3] including:
Preparing an exterior body (18) having, on a front surface, a display [e.g., area of (30, 32, 34, 36)] that shows at least one of a character, a symbol, or a figure [note Figures 1-3]; the exterior body emitting light from a light-emitting device (40, 42, 44, 46) that is provided inside the exterior body at a position facing the display to an outside through the exterior body [note Figures 1-3],
Performing processing of generating a difference in transmittance of the light emitted from the light-emitting device is generated between a region corresponding to the display and a region on a periphery in the exterior body [notes Figures 1-3], and
Suppressing transmission of the light in the region corresponding to the display by a transmission suppression layer (30-36) formed on a surface of the exterior body [note Figures 1-3], and
Wherein the transmission suppression layer has a shape in which at least one of the character, the symbol, or the figure shown by the display is inverted [note Figures 1-3].
Matthews does not specifically teach the transmission suppression layer being formed on an inner surface of the exterior body.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the transmission suppression layer of Matthews to be formed on an inner surface of the exterior body, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70 [MPEP 2114.04]. In this case, the transmission suppression layer on the inner surface would facilitate cleaning and improve durability from wear-and-tear due to environmental factors if on an outer/outside surface.
Conclusion
Thursday, August 27, 2026
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875
1 “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). [see MPEP 2113]