DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
At present, the prior art to Muurinen (U.S. Patent 5,408,060), Oh (U.S. Publication 2014/0133128 A1), and Takii et al. (U.S. Patent 5,036,440) remains commensurate to the scope of the claims as stated by Applicant and as broadly interpreted by the Examiner [MPEP 2111], which is elucidated and expounded upon below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments concerning the limitation, “a transmission suppression layer containing a material having lower light transmittance than the periphery is formed on an inner surface of the exterior body, to suppress transmission of the light in the region corresponding to the display,” Muurinen remains commensurate in teaching a transmission suppression layer containing a material (13) having a lower light transmittance than a periphery [e.g., (5-6)] is formed on an inner surface of the exterior body [note Figure 5], to suppress transmission of the light in the region corresponding to the display [note Column 3, Lines 16-21 – “opaque” symbols are clearly seen in Figure 5]. It is clear that the opaque nature of the symbols provides the transmission suppression layer as seen in Figure 5 with the light rays being blocked/suppressed than the other regions. In addition, Figure 5 shows how the layer/material is formed on an inner surface of the exterior body.
All arguments hinge on the above and have been addressed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Muurinen (U.S. Patent 5,408,060).
With regards to Claim 1, Muurinen discloses an electronic apparatus [Figures 1-13] including:
An exterior body (5-6, 30) having, on a front side, a display [e.g., “A,” “1”] that shows at least one of a character, a symbol, or a figure [note Figures 1-13]; and
A light-emitting device (7, 20) that is provided inside the exterior body at a position facing the display and that is configured to emit light to an outside through the exterior body [note Figures 1-13],
Wherein a difference in transmittance of the light emitted from the light-emitting device is generated between a region corresponding to the display [e.g., (13)] and a region on a periphery in the exterior body [e.g., (5-6)], and
Wherein a transmission suppression layer containing a layer containing a material (13) having lower light transmittance than the periphery is formed on an inner surface of the exterior body [note Figure 5], to suppress transmission of the light in the region corresponding to the display [note Column 3, Lines 16-21 – “opaque” symbols are clearly seen in Figure 5].
With regards to Claim 3, Muurinen discloses the transmission suppression layer (13) being formed by printing.1
With regards to Claim 4, Muurinen discloses the transmission suppression layer (13) being formed by attaching an attachment member (13) [note Figure 5].1
With regards to Claim 5, Muurinen discloses the material having lower light transmittance being a coating material (13) that absorbs light having a wavelength in a visible light range [note Figure 5].
With regards to Claim 6, Muurinen discloses the display [e.g., “A,” “1”] shows at least one of the character, the symbol, or the figure by using a difference in a three-dimensional shape (13) from the periphery on the front surface [note Figure 5].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Muurinen (U.S. Patent 5,408,060).
With regards to Claim 11, Muurinen discloses a method of manufacturing an electronic apparatus [Figures 1-13] including:
Preparing an exterior body (5-6, 30) having, on a front surface, a display [e.g., “A,” “1”] that shows at least one of a character, a symbol, or a figure [note Figures 1-13]; the exterior body emitting light from a light-emitting device (7, 20) that is provided inside the exterior body at a position facing the display to an outside through the exterior body [note Figures 1-13],
Performing processing of generating a difference in transmittance of the light emitted from the light-emitting device is generated between a region corresponding to the display [e.g., (13)] and a region on a periphery in the exterior body [e.g., (5-6)], and
Suppressing transmission of the light in the region corresponding to the display with a transmission suppression layer containing a material (13) having lower light transmittance than the periphery and formed on an inner surface of the exterior body [note Figure 5 and Column 3, Lines 16-21 – “opaque” symbols are clearly seen in Figure 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muurinen (U.S. Patent 5,408,060) as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Oh (U.S. Publication 2014/0133128 A1).
With regards to Claim 7, Muurinen discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach the three-dimensional shape is a shape that protrudes to an outer side of the exterior body rather than the periphery.
Oh teaches a three-dimensional shape [e.g., Figures 4A, C: (630)] is a shape that protrudes to an outer side of an exterior body rather than a periphery. Oh specifically discloses, “The first pattern 630 may be at least one selected from among an embossed pattern, an engraved pattern, and a printed pattern” [Paragraph 94].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the three-dimensional shape of Muurinen to have a shape that protrudes to an outer side of the exterior body rather than the periphery, as taught in principle by Oh, since such a modification is considered functionally equivalent in producing the desired illumination/character/display effect, whether that is through an embossed, engraved, or printed pattern.
With regards to Claim 9, Muurinen discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach a stripe pattern consisting of periodic recessed and protruding portions being formed on the front surface of the exterior body, and the difference in the three-dimensional shape being a difference in height of the protruding portion of the stripe pattern.
Oh teaches a stripe pattern (620, 630, 640) consisting of periodic recessed and protruding portions being formed on a front surface of an exterior body, and the difference in the three-dimensional shape being a difference in a height of the protruding portion of the stripe pattern [note Figures 1-3].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic apparatus of Muurinen to have incorporated the stripe pattern consisting of periodic recessed and protruding portions being formed on the front surface of the exterior body, and the difference in the three-dimensional shape being a difference in height of the protruding portion of the stripe pattern, as taught in principle by Oh, since such a configuration is considered functionally equivalent in producing the desired illumination/character/display effect, and whereby the stripe pattern with difference in the three-dimensional shape being a difference in height of the protruding portion of the stripe pattern may provide a greater contrast as desired.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muurinen (U.S. Patent 5,408,060) as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Takii et al. (U.S. Patent 5,036,440).
With regards to Claim 8, Muurinen discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically teach a coating film being formed on an outer side of the exterior body, and a thickness of the coating film in a transmission portion through which the light from the light-emitting device is transmitted is set to be less than a thickness of the coating film in another region.
Takii discloses a coating film (15) formed on an outer side of an exterior body (11), and a thickness of the coating film in a transmission portion (16) through which the light from a light-emitting device (17) is transmitted is set to be less than a thickness of the coating film in another region [note Figure 1].
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic apparatus of Muurinen to have incorporated the coating film of Takii, such that a thickness of the coating film in a transmission portion through which the light from the light-emitting device is transmitted is set to be less than a thickness of the coating film in another region. Such an obvious modification would provide a low-cost and effective transmissivity as desired.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muurinen (U.S. Patent 5,408,060).
With regards to Claim 10, Muurinen discloses the claimed invention as cited above, but does not specifically the electronic apparatus having a printer function, and the light-emitting device is provided at a position facing the display formed on a surface of the exterior body opposite to a side on which a film containing a photosensitive material is accommodated.
However, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic apparatus of Muurinen to have incorporated a printer function, and the light-emitting device is provided at a position facing the display formed on a surface of the exterior body opposite to a side on which a film containing a photosensitive material is accommodated. Such an obvious modification of electronic devices, whether phone or printer, is an obvious matter of application. In this case, it is considered obvious that one could incorporate the display functionality within a printer such that the light-emitting device is provided at a position facing the display formed on a surface of the exterior body opposite to a side on which a film containing a photosensitive material is accommodated.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Wednesday, May 6, 2026
/Jason M Han/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875
1 “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). [see MPEP 2113]