DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
1. Each distinct part, including modified parts, should be labeled with a distinct reference
character to be in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4). Note at least the following informalities:
· The elements represented by reference characters 14 and 141-145 in the embodiment shown in Figs. 9-16 are distinct from the elements represented by these same reference characters shown in the embodiments of Fig. 5.
· The element represented by reference character 157 in the embodiment shown in Figs. 14, 15, and 16 is distinct from the element represented by the same reference character shown in the embodiment of Fig. 12.
· Note that Applicant is also required to revise the specification to reflect the corresponding changes made to the drawings in response to the above drawing objections.
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
· Reference character “143” has been used to designate both “inlet” and “obstruction section”. Refer to the reference character located at the bottom right of Fig. 2.
· Reference character “143” has been used to designate both “inlet” and “obstruction section” in Fig. 13.
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
· Fig. 6: “J”; “D”; “P”
4. The drawings are objected to because:
· The reference character “13” should be replaced with --11-- in Fig. 6. The reference character 13 does not correspond to the structure indicated in the figure.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
· “the flow of the air” should be replaced with --the flow of air-- for clarity and consistency in line 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
· Claim 9 is indefinite because it is unclear what is encompassed by the recitation “to cover a whole of a surface of the wheel”. Note that, as shown in Figs. 1 and 4, the wheel cover does not appear to cover the entire surface of the wheel, as at least the spoke portions of the wheel remain uncovered. Therefore, it is unclear whether “a whole of a surface of the wheel” is intended to include spoke portions or only the portions, i.e., air openings 117 of the wheel covered by the wheel cover as illustrated in Figs. 1 and 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1, 2, 5-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Noma (JP 6927079 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Noma discloses a vehicle wheel structure (Fig. 1) comprising: a wheel 1 (Fig. 1) configured to support a tire (Although the tire is not explicitly shown in the drawings, the tire is inherently supported by the wheel 1), the wheel 1 being assembled into a vehicle (The wheel is inherently being assembled in to a vehicle); and a wheel mounting member 2 (Fig. 1) mounted on the wheel 1, wherein the wheel mounting member 2 (Note that the Examiner also interprets the combination of all five body members as collectively forming the wheel mounting member) mounted on the wheel 1 (Figs. 1 and 2) assembled into the vehicle includes a diversion mechanism (Fig. 7), the diversion mechanism including a first member disposed on an inner side (Refer to the first member and inner side in the annotated Fig. 7 below) of the vehicle, a second member disposed on an outer side of the vehicle (Refer to the second member and outer side in the annotated Fig. 7 below) with an interval to the first member (Refer to the interval in the annotated Fig. 7 below), an inlet (Refer to the inlet in the annotated Fig. 7 below) provided to the first member to lead air to a space (Refer to the space in the annotated Fig. 7 below) between the first member and the second member in an air opening 16 (Fig. 3) provided to a disk (The claimed disk corresponds to the central portion of the wheel 1, including the spokes extending between the hub 14 and the rim 12 as shown in Fig. 3) having a plate shape (Fig. 3), the disk being provided to the wheel 1, the air being air moved by a flow of air directed from the inner side of the vehicle to the outer side of the vehicle (Para [0035]-[0036]; Fig. 7), an obstruction section (Refer to the obstruction section in the annotated Fig. 7 below) configured to obstruct the flow of the air led from the inlet, and an outlet provided to the second member to lead the air moved by the flow of air obstructed by the obstruction section to the outer side of the vehicle (Refer to the annotated Fig. 7 below).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 7 of Noma
Regarding claim 2, Noma discloses the inlet and the outlet (Refer to the inlet and outlet in the annotated Fig. 7 above) are provided not to overlap in an axial direction (Refer to the axial direction in the annotated Fig. 7 above) of the wheel 1.
Regarding claim 5, Noma discloses the inlets and the outlets are each provided along a circumferential direction of the wheel 1 (Figs. 1-3 and 7; Each fan-shaped wall portion 22 comprises the inlets and outlets as shown in Fig. 7 and each wall portion 22 is arranged in a circumferential direction of the wheel 1 as shown in Figs. 1-3. Accordingly, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 6, Noma discloses the outlet 24 is provided to be spaced apart from a rim (Refer to the rim and outlet in the annotated Fig. 1 below; The outlet is radially spaced apart from the rim) provided to the wheel 1 and configured to support the tire on an outer circumferential surface (Although the tire is not explicitly shown in the drawings, the tire is inherently supported by the outer circumferential surface of the rim) toward a center of the wheel 1 (Refer to the center of the wheel 1 in the annotated Fig. 1 below) in a radial direction (in a direction extending toward or away from the center of the wheel 1) of the wheel 1 by a predetermined distance (The Examiner interprets the claimed “predetermined distance” as being measured between the rim portion on which the tire would be mounted, as indicated by the arrow in annotated Fig. 1 below, and the bottom portion of the outlet. Because the outlet has a radial extent, the Examiner reads the bottom portion of the outlet, which is closer to opening 16, as satisfying the claimed spacing. The claim does not further limit or specify the particular locations from which the predetermined distance must be measured), the rim having an annular shape (Figs. 1 and 3).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 of Noma
Regarding claim 7, Noma discloses the predetermined distance is a distance determined such that, when the air is led to the outer side of the vehicle from the outlet, the led air flows apart from a sidewall of the tire (Although the tire sidewall is not shown, Noma discloses the wheel structure on which the tire would be mounted. Thus, by virtue of the position and spacing of the outlet relative to the rim, the disclosed arrangement is capable of directing air toward the outer side of the vehicle such that the discharged air flows apart from the sidewall of the tire, thereby satisfying the claimed predetermined distance).
Regarding claim 8, Noma discloses the obstruction section is provided to be located between the inlet and the outlet in an axial direction of the wheel 1 (Refer to the obstruction, inlet, outlet, and axial direction in the annotated Fig. 7 below).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 7 of Noma
Regarding claim 9, Noma discloses the second member (Refer to the second member in the annotated Fig. 7 above) is provided to serve as a body section (Refer to the body section in the annotated Fig 3 below) of the wheel mounting member (The combination of all five body members as collectively forming the claimed wheel mounting member) provided to cover a whole of a surface of the wheel 1 (As best understood, Noma meets this limitation in view of Fig. 1) corresponding to the outer side of the vehicle when mounted on the wheel (It is inherent that the wheel cover is mounted on the side of the wheel facing the outside of the vehicle).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 3 of Noma
Regarding claim 10, Noma discloses the body section includes a plurality of body formation members (Refer to the body formation member in the annotated Fig. 3 above) and a coupling section (Refer to the coupling section in the annotated Fig. 4 below; Para [0033]) configured to couple the body formation members along a circumferential direction of the wheel 1 when mounted on the wheel 1 (Figs. 1 and 3).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 4 of Noma
Regarding claim 12, Noma discloses the wheel mounting member 2 is formed by using a resin material (Para [0032]).
11. Claims 1-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shankar et al (US 2025/0214548 A1; hereinafter “Shankar”).
Regarding claim 1, Shankar discloses a vehicle wheel structure (Fig. 1) comprising: a wheel 1 (Figs. 2 and 4) configured to support a tire 63 (Fig. 4), the wheel 1 being assembled into a vehicle 9 (Fig. 4); and a wheel mounting member 3 (Figs. 1-3) mounted on the wheel 1 (Fig. 4), wherein the wheel mounting member 3 mounted on the wheel 1 assembled into the vehicle 9 (Fig. 4) includes a diversion mechanism (Fig. 2), the diversion mechanism including a first member (Refer to the first member in the annotated Fig. 2 below) disposed on an inner side (Refer to the inner side in the annotated Fig. 2 below) of the vehicle 9, a second member (Refer to the second member in the annotated Fig. 2 below) disposed on an outer side (Refer to the outer side in the annotated Fig. 2 below) of the vehicle 9 with an interval (Refer to the interval in the annotated Fig. 2 below) to the first member, an inlet (Refer to the inlet in the annotated Fig. 2 below) provided to the first member to lead air to a space (Refer to the space in the annotated Fig. 2 below) between the first member and the second member in an air opening 24 provided to a disk having a plate shape (Shankar discloses the plate-shaped disk portion extending between the central outer boss 21 and the outer peripheral rim 22 and having a plurality of air openings 24 formed therein; Fig. 2; Para [0055]-[0056]), the disk being provided to the wheel 1, the air being air moved by a flow of air directed from the inner side of the vehicle to the outer side of the vehicle (Para [0060]), an obstruction section (Refer to the obstruction section in the annotated Fig. 2 below) configured to obstruct the flow of the air led from the inlet, and an outlet provided to the second member to lead the air moved by the flow of air obstructed by the obstruction section to the outer side of the vehicle (Para [0060]; The Examiner interprets the protruding ridge 43 as the claimed obstruction section because the ridge 43 protrudes into the airflow path at the opening, thereby obstructing and altering the flow of air passing through the opening).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Shankar
Regarding claim 2, Shankar discloses the inlet and the outlet are provided not to overlap in an axial direction of the wheel 1 (Refer to the inlet, outlet, and axial direction in the annotated Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 3, Shankar discloses the inlet and the outlet are provided to have different distances from a center of the wheel in a radial direction of the wheel (Refer to the inlet, outlet, center of the wheel, and radial direction in the annotated Fig. 2 below).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Shankar
Regarding claim 4, Shankar discloses the distances are set such that the distance to the inlet is greater than the distance to the outlet (Refer to the distances of the inlet and outlet in the annotated Fig. 2 below).
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 2 of Shankar
Regarding claim 5, Shankar discloses the inlets and the outlets (Refer to the inlet and outlet in the annotated Fig. 2 above) are each provided along a circumferential direction of the wheel 1 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Shankar discloses the outlet (Refer to the outlet as discussed above with respect to claim 1 and annotated Fig. 2 above) is provided to be spaced apart from a rim 2 (Fig. 2) provided to the wheel 1 and configured to support the tire 63 on an outer circumferential surface (Fig. 4) toward a center of the wheel 1 in a radial direction of the wheel 1 by a predetermined distance (The claimed predetermined distance corresponds to the radial distance between the outlet and outer peripheral rim 22), the rim 2 having an annular shape (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Shankar discloses the predetermined distance is a distance determined such that, when the air is led to the outer side of the vehicle from the outlet, the led air flows apart from a sidewall of the tire (By virtue of the position and spacing of the outlet relative to the rim, the disclosed arrangement is capable of directing air toward the outer side of the vehicle such that the discharged air flows apart from the sidewall of the tire, thereby satisfying the claimed predetermined distance).
Regarding claim 9, Shankar discloses the second member (Refer to the second member in the annotated Fig. 1 below) is provided to serve as a body section (Refer to the body section in the annotated Fig. 1 below) of the wheel mounting member 3 provided to cover a whole of a surface of the wheel 1 (Fig. 1) corresponding to the outer side of the vehicle 9 when mounted on the wheel 1 (Fig. 1).
Examiner’s annotated Fig.1 of Shankar
Regarding claim 10, Shankar discloses the body section includes a plurality of body formation members (Refer to the body formation member in the annotated Fig. 1 below) and a coupling section (Refer to the coupling section in the annotated Fig. 1 below; Or 36 “attaching means”; Fig. 2; Para [0044] and [0055]) configured to couple the body formation members along a circumferential direction of the wheel 1 when mounted on the wheel 1.
Examiner’s annotated Fig. 1 of Shankar
Regarding claim 11, Shankar discloses the coupling section couples the body formation members in a middle section (Refer to the coupling section in the annotated Fig. 1 below; Or 36 “attaching means”; Fig. 2; Para [0044] and [0055]) of the wheel 1 when mounted on the wheel 1 (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noma in view of Huguet et al (FR3065397A1; hereinafter “Huguet”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5-10, and 12 above.
Regarding claim 11, Noma fails to disclose the coupling section couples the body formation members in a middle section of the wheel when mounted on the wheel.
Huguet, however, teaches a wheel cover (Fig. 1) including a coupling section 30 (Figs. 9 and 12) that couples body formation members (20 “secondary insert”; Figs. 9, 12, and 13) at a middle section 103 (Figs. 9, 14, and 16) of a wheel 100 (Fig. 9) when mounted on the wheel 100 (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel cover of Noma by including a center locking portion configured to connect the body formation members of the wheel cover to one another and to connect the wheel cover to the center of the wheel, as taught by Huguet, since such center-mounted connections for wheel covers are well known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success in providing a more secure and stable connection between the wheel cover and the wheel during rotation.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references disclose a wheel cover including air-through holes.
/TAEKWON CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615