DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a DIV of 17/272,205 filed 02/26/2021 ABN.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, this IDS has/have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “≥2.5” in line 5 of the claim without a unit of measurement. Applicants may consider amending (e.g., % m/v, grams per mL) to provide clarity. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 8 and dependent claims thereof are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the amino based nutrient in the pharmaceutical composition is ≥2.5.” While concentration (w/v) is recited in line 4, the 2.5 remains indefinite because there are no units shown for 2.5 number. For example weight (or mass) over volume could be expressed as (kg/m3), (g/L), or (% m/v) calculated as grams of solute per 100 mL of solution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Berkson (WO 2006/055726 A2, published 05/26/2006) evidenced by Skin Safe (PCCA emollient cream base, last updated 10/20/2017).
Berkson discloses a topical medicinal composition comprising nitroglycerin, arginine and curcumin suspended in an emollient cream and zinc containing ingredient wherein there are 10 parts of nitroglycerin and approximately 10 parts arginine and approximately 1 part curcumin (claims 1-4). Berkson teaches that improved composition for treatment for non-healing and slow-healing wounds and ulcerations that effects and utilizes synergistic action of arginine, nitroglycerin and curcumin (page 10, line 18). Berkson discovered that the nitroglycerin, arginine, and curcumin work synergistically to increase the absorption and distribution of each other, as well as to effect an unprecedented therapeutic result (page 11, line 10). Examples demonstrate lesions that underwent either 2, 3 or 4 days of treatment went from open and infected to being completely closed or improved by 50 percent (page 13, line 3 to page 14 line 4). Berkson teaches PCCA emollient cream as a carrier (page line ). As evidenced by Skin Safe, PCCA emollient cream comprises water (see ingredients list on the document provided).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Himi et al. (US 2015/0359864 A1) evidenced by Kawai et al. (US 2007/0110753 A1) and further in view of Kulcsar (WO 1995/013061).
Himi discloses a method for preparing a formulation comprising one or more types of peptides with the use of the same solvent in a simple manner without the need for selecting an adequate solvent for each peptide in accordance with its solubility (abstract). Himi teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising one or more types of peptides as active ingredients and a basic amino acid and/or a base (claim 1), wherein the basic amino acid is one basic amino acid or a combination of two or more basic amino acids selected from the group consisting of arginine, lysine, ornithine, histidine, hydroxylysine, and a salt of any thereof (claim 2); wherein the base are one base or a combination of two or more bases selected from the group consisting of sodium carbonate, potassium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate, potassium bicarbonate, sodium hydroxide, potassium hydroxide, triethanolamine, trometamol, and meglumine (claim 3).
Himi teaches that a “basic amino acid” is an amino acid having basic properties and specific examples thereof include lysine, arginine, ornithine, and histidine and may be an L-, D-, or racemic amino acid (paragraph [0060]). The preferred basic amino acid is arginine and further L-arginine (paragraph [0060]). Basic amino acid content in the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention is not particularly limited (paragraph [0060]). In the case of injection preparations, Himi discloses that it is 15 mg/mL or more (paragraph [0060]). In the case of a hypodermic injection preparation, for example, the L-arginine concentration in the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention can be up to 20 mg/mL (when 1 mL of the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention is to be administered) (paragraph [0060]). The Examiner notes that one skilled in the art would know that a hypodermic injection can be used for local administration. Here Himi reads on the concentration of arginine in instant claims 4-6 with the disclosure of 15 mg/mL to meet the claim limitations.
Himi also teaches that when a basic amino acid is L-arginine, accordingly, the L-arginine concentration in the aqueous solution can be 40 mg/mL or less (paragraph [0077]).
Himi teaches that the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention can comprise a base instead of or in combination with a basic amino acid (paragraph [0061]). Specific examples include sodium hydroxide, sodium carbonate, sodium bicarbonate, triethanolamine, trometamol, and meglumine (paragraph [0061]). Examples of bases that can be preferably used for the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention include sodium carbonate and sodium bicarbonate (paragraph [0061]). Sodium carbonate and sodium bicarbonate may be in the form of hydrates (paragraph [0061]). According to a preferable embodiment, a base is sodium carbonate or a hydrate thereof (e.g., Na2CO3 · 10H2O) (paragraph [0061]). Base content in the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention is not particularly limited. In the case of an injection preparation, it is 0.5 mg/ml or more, 1 mg/ml or more, 2 mg/ml or more, further preferably 3 mg/ml or more, and most preferably 5 mg/ml or more (paragraph [0061]). In the case of a hypodermic injection preparation, for example, the maximal amount of sodium carbonate decahydrate (i.e., Na2CO3 · 10H2O) used per day is 20.8 mg (i.e., 7.7 mg of sodium carbonate (Na2CO3)) (paragraph [0061]). When the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention is a hypodermic injection preparation comprising sodium carbonate as a base, accordingly, the sodium carbonate decahydrate concentration can be 20.8 mg in the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention; that is, the sodium carbonate concentration can be up to 7.7 mg/mL (when 1 mL of the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention is to be administered) (paragraph [0061]). Here Himi reads on the concentration of sodium carbonate in instant claims 4-6.
Himi provides a teaching of a composition of 40 mg/ml of arginine (paragraph [0077]), sodium carbonate (paragraph [0061]), and saline (e.g., paragraph [0067]) for administration to treat gastric cancer ([0033]). Himi teaches gastric cancer (paragraph [0072]). As evidenced by Kawai et al., gastric cancer is a solid (tumor) cancer (paragraph [0013], claim 21).
Himi differs from the claimed invention only in that there is no teaching of synergy.
However, Kulcsar discloses a pharmaceutical compositions for prevention and treatment of cancerous diseases and a process for their preparation (abstract). The compositions comprise at least three compounds occurring in the circulatory system; at least one amino acid, at least one vitamin and at least one member selected from the group consisting of adenine, 2-deoxy-l)-ribose, D-mannose, D-glucosamine, malic acid, oxalacetic acid and adenosine triphosphate (abstract, claim 1). Kulcsar discloses that using together at least three from the following endogenous and exogenous natural substances occurring in the circulatory system, namely amino acids, vitamins, nucleic bases, carbohydrates and cell-metabolic products synergistically increase the effect of each other and thus are able to destroy tumor cells (page 2, lines 32-37). The qualitative and quantitative composition of the most effective mixture can be determined using the synergism as a criteria (page 3, line 12). Figure 1 shows the effects and synergistic co-operation of components of compositions comprising four and five active components (page 6, lines 24-25).
Kulcsar teaches that the amino acid may be L-arginine (claim 3) and is present from 1.1-48% by mass of the composition (claim 7). Example 23 has 33% by mass sodium hydrogen carbonate (i.e., sodium bicarbonate) and 44% by mass L-arginine with an increased effect compared with L-arginine alone (page 14, lines 13-15; page 16, see Table 2). While
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Himi and Kulcsar and reasonably expect success. One skilled in the art would be motivated to do so because Kulcsar provides and shows results from experiments that teach and suggest arginine with a synergist (e.g., cell-metabolic products, sodium hydrogen carbonate) provide a synergistic effect in treating cancer cells and tumors. Kulcsar discloses compositions that show an enhancement of selectivity and are soluble in water and thus are easy to dose (page 22, lines 20 and 35). This complements the compositions of Himi where it was discovered that an aqueous solution containing sodium carbonate and/or arginine can dissolve various types of peptides and has a pH level within an adequate range for an injection formulation (paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 7, Himi teaches that the pharmaceutical composition is used for inducing an immune response to a tumor (claim 8).
Regarding claim 8, “results in inhibition of the tumor growth” is a reciting of intended use and must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from what is in the prior art. If the structure described in the prior art is capable of performing such an intended use as claimed, then it meets the requirements of the instant claim. Further, where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103.
Regarding claim 9, Himi teaches sterilization for injection formulations (paragraph [0002]) and that the pharmaceutical composition of the present invention can be in the form of powders (paragraph [0064]). Here Himi’s teachings render the sterile dry powder limitation obvious.
Regarding claims 10-12, as mentioned above Himi teaches saline solution.
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above, Himi with evidence from Kawai, gastric cancer taught is a solid cancer.
Regarding claim 14, Himi teaches the Himi teaches that examples of tumors or cancers to which the pharmaceutical composition of the invention is applicable include, but are not limited to, bladder cancer, breast cancer, uterine cervical cancer, uterine body cancer, bile duct cancer, colon cancer, esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, hepatic cancer, lung cancer, osteosarcoma, synovial sarcoma, ovarian cancer, pancreatic cancer, prostate cancer, renal cancer, soft tissue tumor, testicular tumor, mesothelial tumor, head and neck cancer, skin cancer, lymphoma, chronic myelocytic leukemia, and acute myelocytic leukemia (paragraph [0072]).
For the foregoing reasons the instant claims are rendered obvious by the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/Karen A Ketcham/Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/ALI SOROUSH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1614