DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3 “a cooling part configured to cool the electric motor and the inverter; and a flow channel configured to supply cooling water to the cooling part, wherein the cooling water connection structure is connected to the flow channel and configured to supply and receive the cooling water” is unclear.
The specification discloses two cooling parts 45a and 53 with cooling part 45a cooling the motor 4 and cooling part 53 cooling the inverter 5 (fig 1); flow channel 46c suppling water from cooling part 45a to cooling water connection structure 6; and flow channel 54a suppling water from cooling water connection structure 6 to cooling part 53 (fig 1).
It is unclear how there is one cooling part that cools both the motor and inverter and one flow channel connected to the cooling water structure. In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the limitations as a cooling part and flow channel for the motor and a cooling part and flow channel for the inverter. Claim 4 is rejected since it depends on claim 3.
In claim 9 “the inner wall surface includes a large-diameter portion that is located between a first portion of the inner wall surface and a second portion of the inner wall surface, the large-diameter portion having a greater diameter relative to both the first portion and the second portion… the motor connector sealing member is configured to seal a gap that is formed by the large-diameter portion of the hole, between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector” is unclear.
The specification does not disclose the large diameter portion and the first and second inner wall surfaces. From fig. 3 there may be one inner wall surface with a diameter smaller than another inner wall surface with the large diameter part 73b of the motor connector 73, but the specification does not disclose the indicated surface nor the two smaller diameter surfaces (see annotated fig 3 below). The limitations may be claiming a groove for sealing member 77, but the specification does not disclose any groove, only that the sealing member 77 is mounted on the large diameter part 73b of the motor connector 73 and is compressed against the inner wall surface 72Hb of the hole 72H formed in the intermediate part 72b (fig 3, [0038]). It is unclear what portion of the hole the first and second small diameter surfaces are indicating.
In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the above limitation as the hole in the motor side connector housing has a large diameter portion with the motor connector sealing member between the motor side connector housing and the motor connector. Claims 10 and 11 are rejected since they depend on claim 9.
In claim 11 “the motor connector sealing member is a loop-shaped packing material mounted on the motor connector and contacting the inner wall surface of the motor-side connector housing at the large-diameter portion between the first portion and the second portion of the inner wall surface, and wherein both the first portion and the second portion of the inner wall surface contact the motor connector” is unclear.
As discussed above for claim 9, it is unclear what portion of the hole the first and second surface are indicating. In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the claim as the motor connector sealing member is a loop-shaped packing material mounted on the motor connector and contacting the inner wall surface of the motor-side connector housing at the large-diameter portion.
In claim 19 “the inner wall surface includes a large-diameter portion that is located between a first portion of the inner wall surface and a second portion of the inner wall surface, the large-diameter portion having a greater diameter relative to both the first portion and the second portion… the motor connector sealing member is configured to seal a gap that is formed by the large-diameter portion of the hole, between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector” is unclear.
The specification does not disclose the large diameter portion and the first and second inner wall surfaces. From fig. 3 there may be one inner wall surface with a diameter smaller than another inner wall surface with the large diameter part 73b of the motor connector 73, but the specification does not disclose the indicated surface nor the two smaller diameter surfaces (see annotated fig 3 above for claim 9). The limitations may be claiming a groove for sealing member 77, but the specification does not disclose any groove, only that the sealing member 77 is mounted on the large diameter part 73b of the motor connector 73 and is compressed against the inner wall surface 72Hb of the hole 72H formed in the intermediate part 72b (fig 3, [0038]). It is unclear what portion of the hole the first and second small diameter surfaces are indicating.
In order to further prosecution examiner will interpret the above limitation as the hole in the motor side connector housing has a large diameter portion with the motor connector sealing member between the motor side connector housing and the motor connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fliege (GB2295730, “Fliege”) in view of Takehara (US20070218747, “Takehara”).
Re claim 1, Fliege discloses an inverter integrated device comprising:
an electric motor 5 having a motor casing 27 (fig 1, pg 11, lns 9-19);
an inverter 11 having an inverter casing 91 (fig 1, pg 11, lns 9-11; pg 12, lns 1-7 & 14-22; & pg 15, lns 17-22, casing 91 for 7);
an inverter-side connection part 87 attached to the inverter casing 91 (fig 1, pg 14, lns 26-30 & pg 15, lns 1-9);
a motor-side connection part 89 attached to the motor casing 27 (fig 1), the motor-side connection part including:
a motor-side connector housing (fig 1, pg 14, lns 26-30 & pg 15, lns 1-11; housing of plug in order to electrically separate the conductors of plug);
a motor connector disposed inside the motor-side connector housing (fig 1, pg 14, lns 26-30 & pg 15, lns 1-11; conductors of plug); and
a cooling water connection structure including:
a first interface part formed on the motor casing 27 (fig 1, pg 13, lns 15-30, interface for 67);
a second interface part formed on the inverter casing 91 (fig 1, pg 13, lns 15-30, interface for 73); and
a flow channel sealing member 74 (fig 1, pg 13, lns 27-30).
Fliege discloses claim 1 except for:
the inverter integrated device is an inverter integrated gas supply device; and
a motor connector sealing member.
Takehara discloses the motor side connector housing (figs 6a & below) with the motor connector disposed inside the motor side connector housing (figs 6 & below, [0058], motor connector includes 32 & 34); and
a motor connector sealing member 35 (figs 6a & below, [0044], [0058] & [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor side connector housing and motor connector of Fliege to include a motor sealing structure, as disclosed by Takehara, in order to prevent water and oil from penetrating into the motor, as taught by Takehara ([0044]).
With respect to the inverter integrated gas supply device, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction (see MPEP 2111.02, II.). Additionally the inverter integrated device of Fliege in view of Takehara is capable of being employed with a gas supply device since it is motor and discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Re claim 2, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses the flow channel sealing member 74 is compressed and is located between the first interface part and the second interface part (fig 1, pg 13, lns 15-30).
Fliege is silent with respect to the flow channel sealing member is made of a compressible packing material.
Takehara discloses the motor connector sealing member 35 is made of a packing material (fig 6a, [0058]) and that packing material is compressible ([0045], discloses rubber used for packing material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the flow channel sealing member of Fliege in view of Takehara from a compressible packing material, as disclosed by Takehara, in order to make the flow channel sealing member waterproof, as taught by Takehara ([0044]).
Re claims 3 and 4, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses a cooling part configured to cool the electric motor 5 and the inverter 11 (as best understood by examiner a cooling part and flow channel for the motor and a cooling part and flow channel for the inverter; figs 1 & below, pg 15, lns 17-30 & pg 16, lns 1-6); and a flow channel 67, 73 configured to supply cooling water to the cooling part (figs 1 & below), wherein the cooling water connection structure is connected to the flow channel and configured to supply and receive the cooling water (figs 1 & below, pg 12, lns 27-30 & pg 13, lns 1-24); and
the flow channel sealing member 74 is mounted on the second interface part so as to surround the flow channel (figs 1 & below).
Re claim 5, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses the inverter casing 91 has a connection surface facing the motor casing 27 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4, pg 13, lns 15-24),
wherein the second interface part of the cooling water connection structure is formed substantially along the connection surface of the inverter casing 91 and faces the first interface part formed on the motor casing 27 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4, pg 13, lns 15-24),
wherein the flow channel sealing member 74 is interposed between the first interface part and the second interface part (fig 1, pg 13, lns 24-30), and
wherein the inverter-side connection part 87 is formed substantially along the connection surface of the inverter casing 91 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4, pg 15, 7-11) and is electrically connected with the motor connector of the motor-side connection part 89 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4,).
Re claim 6, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses the motor casing 27 accommodates a motor cooling part configured to cool the electric motor 5 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4), and a flow channel configured to convey cooling fluid between the motor cooling part and the first interface part (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4).
Re claim 7, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses the inverter casing 91 accommodates an inverter cooling part 101 configured to cool the inverter 11 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4), and a flow channel 73 configured to convey cooling fluid between the inverter cooling part 101 and the second interface part (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4).
Re claim 8, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses the cooling water connection structure is configured to fluidly connect the first interface part with the second interface part (fig 1), and
wherein the flow channel sealing member 74 is compressed between the first interface part and the second interface part when the first interface part is fluidly connected with the second interface part (fig 1, pg 13, lns 15-30).
Fliege is silent with respect to the flow channel sealing member is made of a compressible packing material.
Takehara discloses the motor connector sealing member 33, 35 is made of a packing material (fig 6a, [0058]) and that packing material is compressible ([0045], discloses rubber used for packing material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the flow channel sealing member of Fliege in view of Takehara from a compressible packing material, as disclosed by Takehara, in order to make the flow channel sealing member waterproof, as taught by Takehara ([0044]).
Re claim 9, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 1 as discussed above. Fliege is silent with respect to the motor-side connector housing has a hole forming an inner wall surface,
wherein the inner wall surface includes a large-diameter portion that is located between a first portion of the inner wall surface and a second portion of the inner wall surface, the large-diameter portion having a greater diameter relative to both the first portion and the second portion,
wherein the motor connector is disposed in the hole of the motor- side connector housing and configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part, and
wherein the motor connector sealing member is configured to seal a gap that is formed by the large-diameter portion of the hole, between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector.
Takehara further discloses the motor-side connector housing has a hole forming an inner wall surface (figs 6a & below),
wherein the inner wall surface includes a large-diameter portion that is located between a first portion of the inner wall surface and a second portion of the inner wall surface, the large-diameter portion having a greater diameter relative to both the first portion and the second portion (as best understood by examiner the hole in the motor side connector housing has a large diameter portion with the motor connector sealing member between the motor side connector housing and the motor connector; figs 6a & below),
wherein the motor connector is disposed in the hole of the motor-side connector housing (figs 6a & below) and configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part 21(figs 6a-b, [0039] & [0057-0058]), and
wherein the motor connector sealing member 35 is configured to seal a gap that is formed by the large-diameter portion of the hole, between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector (figs 6a & below, gap formed by opening in 34 for 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor side connector housing and motor terminal of Fliege in view of Takehara so the motor-side connector housing has a hole forming an inner wall surface, wherein the inner wall surface includes a large-diameter portion that is located between a first portion of the inner wall surface and a second portion of the inner wall surface, the large-diameter portion having a greater diameter relative to both the first portion and the second portion, wherein the motor connector is disposed in the hole of the motor- side connector housing and configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part, and wherein the motor connector sealing member is configured to seal a gap that is formed by the large-diameter portion of the hole, between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector, as disclosed by Takehara, in order to insulate the motor conductor from the motor side connector housing, as taught by Takehara ([0058]) and prevent water and oil from penetrating into the motor, as taught by Takehara ([0044]).
Re claim 11, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 9 as discussed above and further discloses the motor connector sealing member 35 is a loop-shaped packing material mounted on the motor connector (figs 6a & above for claim 9, [0058]) and contacting the inner wall surface of the motor-side connector housing at the large-diameter portion (figs 6a & above for claim 9) between the first portion and the second portion of the inner wall surface, and wherein both the first portion and the second portion of the inner wall surface contact the motor connector (as best understood by examiner the motor connector sealing member is a loop-shaped packing material mounted on the motor connector and contacting the inner wall surface of the motor-side connector housing at the large-diameter portion).
Re claim 13, Fliege discloses an inverter integrated device comprising:
an electric motor 5 having a motor casing 27 (fig 1, pg 11, lns 9-19);
an inverter 11 having an inverter casing 91 (fig 1, pg 11, lns 9-11; pg 12, lns 1-7 & 14-22; & pg 15, lns 17-22, casing 91 for 7);
an electric connection structure including:
an inverter-side connection part 87 formed on the inverter casing 91 (fig 1, pg 14, lns 26-30 & pg 15, lns 1-9);
a motor-side connection part 89 formed on the motor casing 27 (fig 1); and
a cooling water connection structure including:
a first interface part formed on the motor casing 27 (fig 1, pg 13, lns 15-30, interface for 67);
a second interface part formed on the inverter casing 91 (fig 1, pg 13, lns 15-30, interface for 73); and
a flow channel sealing member 74 (fig 1, pg 13, lns 27-30).
Fliege discloses claim 1 except for:
the inverter integrated device is an inverter integrated gas supply device; and
a motor connector sealing member.
Takehara discloses the motor side connector housing (figs 6a & below) with the motor connector 32 disposed inside the motor side connector housing (figs 6 & below, [0058]); and
a motor connector sealing member 33, 35 (figs 6a & above for claim 1, [0044], [0058] & [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor side connector housing and motor connector of Fliege to include a motor sealing structure, as disclosed by Takehara, in order to prevent water and oil from penetrating into the motor, as taught by Takehara ([0044]).
With respect to the inverter integrated gas supply device, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction (see MPEP 2111.02, II.). Additionally the inverter integrated device of Fliege in view of Takehara is capable of being employed with a gas supply device since it is motor and discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Re claim 14, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 13 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses the flow channel sealing member 74 is compressed between the first interface part and the second interface part, when the motor casing 27 is attached to the inverter casing 91 via the electric connection structure and the cooling water connection structure (fig 1, pg 13, lns 15-30; pg 14, lns 28-30; & pg 15, lns 1-11).
Fliege is silent with respect to the flow channel sealing member is a compressible packing material.
Takehara discloses the motor connector sealing member 33, 35 is made of a packing material (fig 6a, [0058]) and that packing material is compressible ([0045], discloses rubber used for packing material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the flow channel sealing member of Fliege in view of Takehara from a compressible packing material, as disclosed by Takehara, in order to make the flow channel sealing member waterproof, as taught by Takehara ([0044]).
Re claim 15, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 13 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses the cooling water connection structure is configured to fluidly couple the first interface part with the second interface part (fig 1, pg 13, lns 15-30), and
wherein the flow channel sealing member 74 is interposed between the first interface part and the second interface part to seal a fluid connection between the first interface part and the second interface part (fig 1, pg 13, lns 24-30).
Re claim 16, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 15 as discussed above. Fliege further discloses the motor casing 27 accommodates a motor cooling part configured to convey a cooling fluid to cool the electric motor 5 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4), the motor cooling part being fluidly coupled with the first interface part (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4), and
wherein the inverter casing 91 accommodates an inverter cooling part 101 configured to convey the cooling fluid to cool the inverter 11 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4), the inverter cooling part being fluidly coupled with the second interface part (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4).
Re claim 17, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 15 as discussed above.
Fliege further discloses the inverter casing 91 has a connection surface facing the motor casing 27 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4, pg 13, lns 15-24),
wherein the second interface part of the cooling water connection structure, is formed on the connection surface of the inverter casing 91 and faces the first interface part formed on the motor casing 27 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4, pg 13, lns 15-24), and
wherein the inverter-side connection part 87 of the electric connection structure is formed substantially along the connection surface of the inverter casing 91 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4, pg 15, 7-11) and is electrically connected with the motor connector of the motor-side connection part 89 (figs 1 & above for claims 3-4,).
Re claim 18, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 13 as discussed above and further discloses the electric connection structure is configured to electrically couple the inverter-side connection part 87 with the motor-side connection part 89 (Fliege, fig 1),
wherein the motor-side connection part 89 further includes:
a motor-side connector housing fixed to the motor casing 27 (Fliege, fig 1, pg 14, lns 26-30 & pg 15, lns 1-11; housing of plug in order to electrically separate the conductors of plug); and
a motor connector disposed inside the motor-side connector housing (Fliege, fig 1, pg 14, lns 26-30 & pg 15, lns 1-11; conductors of plug) and connected to the inverter-side connection part 87 (fig 7), and
wherein the motor connector sealing member 35 is configured to seal a gap between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector (Takehara, fig 6a & above for claim 1, motor connector includes 32 & 34; gap opening in 34 for 35).
Re claim 19, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 18 as discussed above.
Fliege is silent with respect to the motor-side connector housing has a hole forming an inner wall surface, wherein the inner wall surface includes a large-diameter portion that is located between a first portion of the inner wall surface and a second portion of the inner wall surface, the large-diameter portion having a greater diameter relative to both the first portion and the second portion, and
wherein the motor connector is disposed in the hole of the motor- side connector housing and configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part, and
wherein the motor connector sealing member is configured to seal a gap that is formed by the large-diameter portion of the hole, between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector.
Takehara further discloses the motor-side connector housing has a hole forming an inner wall surface (figs 6a & above for claim 9), wherein the inner wall surface includes a large-diameter portion that is located between a first portion of the inner wall surface and a second portion of the inner wall surface, the large-diameter portion having a greater diameter relative to both the first portion and the second portion (as best understood by examiner the hole in the motor side connector housing has a large diameter portion with the motor connector sealing member between the motor side connector housing and the motor connector; figs 6a & above for claim 9), and
wherein the motor connector is disposed in the hole of the motor-side connector housing (figs 6a & above for claim 9) and configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part 21(figs 6a-b, [0039] & [0057-0058]), and
wherein the motor connector sealing member 35 is configured to seal a gap that is formed by the large-diameter portion of the hole, between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector (figs 6a & above for claim 9, gap formed by opening in 34 for 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the motor side connector housing and motor terminal of Fliege in view of Takehara so the motor-side connector housing has a hole forming an inner wall surface, wherein the inner wall surface includes a large-diameter portion that is located between a first portion of the inner wall surface and a second portion of the inner wall surface, the large-diameter portion having a greater diameter relative to both the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the motor connector is disposed in the hole of the motor- side connector housing and configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part, and wherein the motor connector sealing member is configured to seal a gap that is formed by the large-diameter portion of the hole, between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector, as disclosed by Takehara, in order to insulate the motor conductor from the motor side connector housing, as taught by Takehara ([0058]) and prevent water and oil from penetrating into the motor, as taught by Takehara ([0044]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fliege in view of Takehara and in further view of Yamaguchi et al. (US20120015546, “Yamaguchi”).
Re claim 10, Fliege in view of Takehara discloses claim 9 as discussed above and further discloses the motor connector is locked into position relative to the motor-side connector housing via the motor connector sealing member 35 placed within the large-diameter portion of the hole of the motor-side connector housing (Takehara, figs 6a & above for claim 9, motor connector locked into hole by 35, along w/ 34).
Fliege in view of Takehara disclose claim 10 except for the motor connector sealing member is formed of an elastic resin material
Yamaguchi discloses an elastic resin material is capable of sealing against water penetration (fig 5, [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute one known element (packing disclosed by Takehara) for another known equivalent element (elastic resin material, disclosed by Yamaguchi) resulting in the predictable result of forming the motor connector sealing member from a material that prevents water penetration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12-13 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim16/15/1 of U.S. Patent No. 12308724. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 16/15/1 of US12308724
An inverter integrated gas supply device comprising: an electric motor having a motor casing;
an inverter having an inverter casing;
an inverter-side connection part attached to the inverter casing; a motor-side connection part attached to the motor casing,
the motor-side connection part including: a motor-side connector housing;
a motor connector disposed inside the motor-side connector housing; and
a motor connector sealing member;
and a cooling water connection structure including: a first interface part formed on the motor casing; a second interface part formed on the inverter casing; and a flow channel sealing member.
Claim 1
An inverter integrated gas supply device comprising: an electric motor having a motor casing and configured to drive a fluid machine that discharges air;
an inverter having an inverter casing and configured to supply a drive current for controlling the number of rotations of the electric motor to the electric motor;
a motor-side connection part attached to the motor casing and configured to receive the drive current; and an inverter-side connection part attached to the inverter casing, connected to the motor-side connection part, and configured to supply the drive current to the motor-side connection part, wherein
the motor-side connection part includes: a motor-side connector housing fixed to the motor casing;
a motor connector forming a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing and configured to receive the drive current from the inverter-side connection part, wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter, and a large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end, the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin; and
a sealing member mounted on the large diameter part of the pin of the motor connector.
Claim 15
The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 1, further comprising: a cooling part configured to cool the electric motor and the inverter; a flow channel configured to supply cooling water to the cooling part; and a cooling water connection structure connected to the flow channel and configured to supply and receive the cooling water.
Claim 16
The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 15, wherein the cooling water connection structure includes a first interface part formed on the motor casing, a second interface part formed on the inverter casing, and a packing material located between the first interface part and the second interface part.
Claim 12 of instant application
Claim 16/15/1 of US12308724
The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 1, wherein
the motor connector forms a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing and is configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part, wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter casing, and a large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end, the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin, and wherein the motor connector sealing member is mounted at the large diameter part of the pin of the motor connector.
Claim 1
An inverter integrated gas supply device comprising: an electric motor having a motor casing and configured to drive a fluid machine that discharges air;
an inverter having an inverter casing and configured to supply a drive current for controlling the number of rotations of the electric motor to the electric motor;
a motor-side connection part attached to the motor casing and configured to receive the drive current; and an inverter-side connection part attached to the inverter casing, connected to the motor-side connection part, and configured to supply the drive current to the motor-side connection part, wherein
the motor-side connection part includes: a motor-side connector housing fixed to the motor casing;
a motor connector forming a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing and configured to receive the drive current from the inverter-side connection part, wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter, and a large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end, the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin; and
a sealing member mounted on the large diameter part of the pin of the motor connector.
Claim 13 of the instant application
Claim 16/15/1 of US12308724
An inverter integrated gas supply device comprising: an electric motor having a motor casing;
an inverter having an inverter casing;
an electric connection structure including: an inverter-side connection part formed on the inverter casing; and a motor-side connection part formed on the motor casing,
and including a motor connector sealing member; and
a cooling water connection structure including: a first interface part formed on the motor casing; a second interface part formed on the inverter casing; and a flow channel sealing member.
Claim 1
An inverter integrated gas supply device comprising: an electric motor having a motor casing and configured to drive a fluid machine that discharges air;
an inverter having an inverter casing and configured to supply a drive current for controlling the number of rotations of the electric motor to the electric motor;
a motor-side connection part attached to the motor casing and configured to receive the drive current; and an inverter-side connection part attached to the inverter casing, connected to the motor-side connection part, and configured to supply the drive current to the motor-side connection part, wherein
the motor-side connection part includes: a motor-side connector housing fixed to the motor casing;
a motor connector forming a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing and configured to receive the drive current from the inverter-side connection part, wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter, and a large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end, the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin; and
a sealing member mounted on the large diameter part of the pin of the motor connector.
Claim 15
The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 1, further comprising: a cooling part configured to cool the electric motor and the inverter; a flow channel configured to supply cooling water to the cooling part; and a cooling water connection structure connected to the flow channel and configured to supply and receive the cooling water.
Claim 16
The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 15, wherein the cooling water connection structure includes a first interface part formed on the motor casing, a second interface part formed on the inverter casing, and a packing material located between the first interface part and the second interface part.
Claim 18 of instant application
Claim 16/15/1 of US12308724
The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 13, wherein
the electric connection structure is configured to electrically couple the inverter-side connection part with the motor-side connection part,
wherein the motor-side connection part further includes: a motor-side connector housing fixed to the motor casing; and a motor connector disposed inside the motor-side connector housing and connected to the inverter-side connection part, and
wherein the motor connector sealing member is configured to seal a gap between the motor-side connector housing and the motor connector.
Claim 1
An inverter integrated gas supply device comprising: an electric motor having a motor casing and configured to drive a fluid machine that discharges air;
an inverter having an inverter casing and configured to supply a drive current for controlling the number of rotations of the electric motor to the electric motor;
a motor-side connection part attached to the motor casing and configured to receive the drive current; and an inverter-side connection part attached to the inverter casing, connected to the motor-side connection part, and configured to supply the drive current to the motor-side connection part, wherein
the motor-side connection part includes: a motor-side connector housing fixed to the motor casing;
a motor connector forming a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing and configured to receive the drive current from the inverter-side connection part, wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter, and a large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end, the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin; and
a sealing member mounted on the large diameter part of the pin of the motor connector.
(sealing member seals gap between motor-side connector housing and motor connector since sealing member mounted on motor connector and motor connector is inside motor side connector housing.)
Claim 20 of instant application
Claim 16/15/1 of US12308724
The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 18, wherein
the motor connector forms a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing and is configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part, wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter casing, and a large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end, the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin, and wherein
the motor connector sealing member is mounted at the large diameter part of the pin of the motor connector.
Claim 1
An inverter integrated gas supply device comprising: an electric motor having a motor casing and configured to drive a fluid machine that discharges air;
an inverter having an inverter casing and configured to supply a drive current for controlling the number of rotations of the electric motor to the electric motor;
a motor-side connection part attached to the motor casing and configured to receive the drive current; and an inverter-side connection part attached to the inverter casing, connected to the motor-side connection part, and configured to supply the drive current to the motor-side connection part, wherein
the motor-side connection part includes: a motor-side connector housing fixed to the motor casing;
a motor connector forming a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing and configured to receive the drive current from the inverter-side connection part, wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter, and a large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end, the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin; and
a sealing member mounted on the large diameter part of the pin of the motor connector.
Allowable Subject Matter
There is no prior art rejection for claims 12 and 20 and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as overcoming the double patenting rejection above.
The main reason for indicating claim 12 as allowable is the inclusion of the limitations, inter alia, or:
“The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 1,
wherein the motor connector 73 forms a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing 72 and is configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part,
wherein the pin has a distal end 73a extending toward the inverter casing 51, and a large diameter part 73b having a greater diameter than the distal end 73a, the large diameter part 73b forming a largest diameter of the pin, and
wherein the motor connector sealing member 77 is mounted at the large diameter part 73b of the pin of the motor connector 73.”
The closest prior art Fliege (GB2295730), Yamaguchi et al. (US20120015546), Takehara (US20070218747) and Miura et al. (US20090256437), either alone or in combination, do not disclose the above limitations.
Fliege discloses the motor-side housing and motor connector (fig 1), but does not disclose details about either structure.
Yamaguchi discloses the pin 102 having a large diameter part 122 with a sealing member 105 mounted on the pin (fig 6), but does not disclose the large diameter part is the largest diameter of the pin.
Takehara discloses a motor-side connector housing 34 fixed to the motor casing 36; a motor connector 32 forming a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing 34 and configured to receive the drive current from the inverter-side connection part, wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter 21 (figs 6a & below), and a large diameter part (figs 6a & below), the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin (figs 5a-6a, note that motor side end indicated below appears to be flat from figs 5a-b & doesn’t have a diameter); and a sealing member 36 mounted on the pin at the large diameter part 73b of the pin of the motor connector (figs 6a-b). Takehara does not disclose the large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end, since they have the same diameter.
Miura discloses a motor-side connector housing 650 fixed to the motor casing 600; a motor connector 662 forming a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing 650 and configured to receive the drive current from the inverter-side connection part 560a (figs 1 & 11, note inverter 516a-b in fig 1 inherently has a housing & cable 550a & inverter-side connection part 560a are attached to the inverter housing), wherein the pin has a distal end extending toward the inverter (figs 11 & below), and a large diameter part having a greater diameter than the distal end (figs 11 & below), the large diameter part forming a largest diameter of the pin (figs 11 & below); and a sealing part mounted at the large diameter part (figs 11 & below). Miura does not disclose the sealing member mounted on the pin at the large diameter part of the pin of the motor connector.
The main reason for indicating claim 20 as allowable is the inclusion of the limitations, inter alia, or:
“The inverter integrated gas supply device according to claim 18,
wherein the motor connector 73 forms a pin disposed inside the motor-side connector housing 72 and is configured to receive a drive current from the inverter-side connection part,
wherein the pin has a distal end 73a extending toward the inverter casing 51, and a large diameter part 73b having a greater diameter than the distal end 73a, the large diameter part 73b forming a largest diameter of the pin, and
wherein the motor connector sealing member 77 is mounted at the large diameter part 73b of the pin of the motor connector 73.”
The closest prior art Fliege (GB2295730), Yamaguchi et al. (US20120015546), Takehara (US20070218747) and Miura et al. (US20090256437), either alone or in combination, do not disclose the above limitations (for the same reasons as discussed above for claim 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mohr (US20150333602) discloses motor housing 23, inverter housing 3, a motor side connector, inverter side connector 51, cooling water connection structure 7 with first interface 32 and second interface 231 (figs 4-7 & 9-11).
Sohnle (US20200169147, figs 1-5) discloses motor housing 2,4, inverter housing 12-14, motor side connector 7, inverter side connector 19, first interface 6 and second interface 11.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834