DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on August 27, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 2-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 27, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1),(a)(2) as being anticipated by Linden (US 2021/0208062 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Linden discloses a detection apparatus (abstract, Figs. 5, 11) comprising: a detector (ref 1116, paragraph [0079]) configured to detect a virus (paragraph [0078]) in a specimen containing an exhaled breath of a user (paragraph [0078]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linden as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoh et al. (US 2022/0136975 A1), hereinafter “Yoh”, and Yang, Jun-Ho, et al. "Onsite real-time detection of covid-like-virus transmission through air using spark-induced plasma spectroscopy." Science of the Total Environment 770 (2021): 144725, hereinafter “Yang”.
Regarding claim 11, Linden is silent regarding wherein an inspection box is provided with a receiving space for accommodating the specimen, a sensor is provided to detect relaxation energy in the receiving space by wavelength, and the detector detects the virus by using a wavelength and an intensity value at which the relaxation energy is detected, or detects the virus by using a ratio between intensity values by wavelength of the detected relaxation energy of multiple wavelengths.
However, teaches Yoh teaches an optical sample measurement device (abstract, Fig. 2) including wherein an inspection box is provided with a receiving space for accommodating the specimen (paragraph [0046]),
a sensor is provided to detect relaxation energy in the receiving space by wavelength (paragraphs [0047]-[0049], [0056], [0063]-[0064]), and
the detector detects the sample by using a wavelength and an intensity value at which the relaxation energy is detected (paragraphs [0051]-[0055], [0083]-[0085]).
Furthermore, teaches Yang teaches an optical sample measurement device (abstract, Fig. 1) including wherein an inspection box is provided with a receiving space for accommodating the specimen (page 3, Sec. 2.2, Chamber configuration; Sec. 2.3 Spark-induced plasma (SIP) device),
the detector detects the virus by using a wavelength and an intensity value at which the relaxation energy is detected (Fig. 5, pages 3-5. Sec 3.1 and Sec. 3.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Linden with the teaching of Yoh and Yang by including wherein an inspection box is provided with a receiving space for accommodating the specimen, a sensor is provided to detect relaxation energy in the receiving space by wavelength, and the detector detects the virus by using a wavelength and an intensity value at which the relaxation energy is detected, or detects the virus by using a ratio between intensity values by wavelength of the detected relaxation energy of multiple wavelengths in order to provide real-time detection of a virus, using a sample that is ionized between electrodes by plasma.
Regarding claim 13, Linden is silent regarding wherein an inspection box is provided with a receiving space for accommodating the specimen, a detection electrode is provided in the receiving space, the detection electrode creates a spark that produces plasma targeting the specimen, the detector detects relaxation energy of the specimen decomposed by the spark, and the detector detects the virus using a wavelength or an intensity value of the detected relaxation energy, or detects the virus using a ratio between intensity values by wavelength of the detected relaxation energy of multiple wavelengths.
However, teaches Yoh teaches an optical sample measurement device (abstract, Fig. 1) including wherein an inspection box is provided with a receiving space for accommodating the specimen (paragraph [0046]),
the detector detects relaxation energy of the specimen decomposed by the spark (paragraphs [0051]-[0055], [0083]-[0085]); and
the detector detects the sample using a wavelength or an intensity value of the detected relaxation energy (paragraphs [0051]-[0055], [0083]-[0085]).
Furthermore, Yang teaches an optical sample measurement device (abstract, Fig. 1) including wherein an inspection box is provided with a receiving space for accommodating the specimen (page 3, Sec. 2.2, Chamber configuration; Sec. 2.3 Spark-induced plasma (SIP) device),
a detection electrode is provided in the receiving space (page 3, Sec. 2.2, Chamber configuration; Sec. 2.3 Spark-induced plasma (SIP) device),
the detection electrode creates a spark that produces plasma targeting the specimen (page 3, Sec. 2.3 Spark-induced plasma (SIP) device),
the detector detects the virus using a wavelength or an intensity value of the detected relaxation energy (Fig. 5, pages 3-5. Sec 3.1 and Sec. 3.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Linden with the teaching of Yoh and Yang by including wherein an inspection box is provided with a receiving space for accommodating the specimen, a detection electrode is provided in the receiving space, the detection electrode creates a spark that produces plasma targeting the specimen, the detector detects relaxation energy of the specimen decomposed by the spark, and the detector detects the virus using a wavelength or an intensity value of the detected relaxation energy, or detects the virus using a ratio between intensity values by wavelength of the detected relaxation energy of multiple wavelengths in order to provide real-time detection of a virus, using a sample that is ionized between electrodes by plasma.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 12, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a detection apparatus, the apparatus comprising, among other essential elements, a discharge electrode is provided at a first position in the receiving space, a ground electrode is provided at a second position in the receiving space, and an optical device is provided that focuses on a set position closer to the second position than the first position on a virtual straight line connecting the first position and the second position, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 1 and the above claim. Claim 10 is dependent from claim 9 and therefore are also included in the allowed subject matter.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a detection apparatus, the apparatus comprising, among other essential elements, a first optical device installed on a first surface of a plurality of surfaces constituting the inspection box is provided, a second optical device installed on a second surface that is distinct from the first surface among the plurality of surfaces constituting the inspection box is provided, when a normal line of the first surface is defined as a first normal line and a normal line of the second surface is defined as a second normal line, the first surface and the second surface are formed so that the first normal line and the second normal line intersect at a set position, the first surface and the second surface have a same distance to the set position, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 1 and the above claim.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a detection apparatus, the apparatus comprising, among other essential elements, wherein a sterilizer is provided to disinfect the receiving space when a virus detection process of the detector targeting a specific user is completed, the sterilizer outputs disinfected water containing an oxygen compound toward the detection electrode, the detection electrode electrolyzes the disinfected water to generate oxygen, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 and the above claim.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record, taken either alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a detection apparatus, the apparatus comprising, among other essential elements, an optical tube connected to the inspection box is provided, the optical tube is equipped with a lens, a multi-filter, and a multi-sensor, the lens creates an optical path through which inspection light corresponding to relaxation energy formed by the plasma propagates, the multi-filter divides the inspection light by wavelength so that when the inspection light is input, the inspection light is output toward different locations for each wavelength, the multi-sensor receives the inspection light output from the multi-filter at different locations, the multi-sensor outputs information about a location where the inspection light is received, the detector extracts a combination of information about a location where the inspection light is received from a lookup table obtained through experiment, and the detector outputs information on a virus matching the extracted combination, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 1 and the above claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thagard (US 20150110932) teaches an electrode to sterilize liquids, but does not use the same electrode as the plasma, as claimed. No motivation exists to modify Thagard to render the claims obvious.
Cole (US20220317012A1) teaches an optical virus detection method, including using lookup tables.
Cho (WO2022260271A1) teaches an optical device including a multi-filter, detector, spatial mapping, but no reason exists, other than impermissible hindsight, to combine with prior art of record to render the claims obvious.
/DOMINIC J BOLOGNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877