Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvam (US 11,584,456) in view of Leake (aka Gosnell) (Us 3,058,600).
Selvam discloses-
a first and a second tracked undercarriage, parallel to each other, each one comprising a relative first and second track 116a, 116b, mounted on a first and a second roller track frame 202, 204 which are fixed laterally to a central body,
a central body configured to support a frame 112 on which there are installed lifting means 128 for movement of an arm 124 configured to move/lift/lay a load, and
wherein a frame 112 is rotatably connected to a central body by means of an adjustment mechanism 260 adapted to tilt a frame with respect to tracked undercarriages, according to a transverse axis X orthogonal to a direction of advancement of tracked undercarriages, characterized in that an adjustment mechanism comprises a pin 260 rotatable integrally to a frame with respect to a central body,
wherein a pin 260 extends according to a transverse axis X and comprises at a first and second end portions that respectively extend through first and second roller track frames 202, 204 towards an outside of a machine and wherein first and second end portions are mechanically connected to an arm arranged laterally to a machine,
wherein pin 260 is placed at an intermediate height between a lower ground support surface of the first and second track and an opposed upper return surface.
Selvam does not disclose first or a second end portion are mechanically connected to an arm arranged laterally to a machine.
Leake discloses-
a first and a second tracked undercarriage (shown but unlabeled in FIGS. 1-3), parallel to each other, each one comprising a relative first and second track (shown but unlabeled in FIGS. 1-3), mounted on a first and a second roller track frames 12, 12,
a central body 10 configured to support a frame on which there are installed lifting means 36 for movement of an arm 18 configured to move/lift/lay pipe 32, and
wherein a frame is rotatably connected to a central body by means of an adjustment mechanism 70 adapted to tilt a frame with respect to tracked undercarriages, according to a transverse axis X orthogonal to a direction of advancement of tracked undercarriages, characterized in that an adjustment mechanism comprises a pin 72 rotatable integrally to a frame with respect to a central body,
wherein a first end portion of a pin is mechanically connected to an arm 14, 16 arranged laterally to a machine,
wherein arm 14, 16, 18 is connected to a first end portion of a pin in a position external to a first roller track frame and at a lower end of an arm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Selvam to include an adjustment pin having a first end portion that extends toward an outside of a roller track frame and is mechanically connected to an arm arranged laterally to a machine, as taught by Leake, such that when a tractor-type vehicle can operate in an inclined position, e.g. sloping terrain, without reducing lifting height.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvam in view of Leake and further in view of Pletz (US 10,850,952).
Selvam does not disclose a counterweight group. Pletz discloses a frame 20 wherein there is installed a counterweight group 150 opposed to arm 40, preferably comprising an articulated mechanism which is movable with respect to a frame via actuator 145 so as to adjust to a position of an arm and/or of the lifted load. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Selvan to include a counterweight group opposed to an arm, as taught by Pletz, where it is known in the art of pipe laying tractors that a "counterweight assembly is typically provided on an opposite side of the pipelayer machine from the side that the boom is attached to in order to counterbalance the pipelayer machine against the weight of the pipe section and prevent the pipelayer machine from tipping over when the boom is used to raise and lower a pipe section into a trench" Pletz address the problem of delays due to installing or removing counterweights with an articulated counterweight group.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15 & 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652