DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leimbach et al. (US 2018/0132850; hereinafter “Leimbach”).
Regarding claim 1, Leimbach discloses a control unit for a medical device having an articulating shaft, the control unit comprising an interface being engageable by a hand of a user and a housing being attachable to the medical device (e.g. ¶¶ 211-212, 555), the control unit including control circuits programed to calculate a spatial orientation of an end effector and an articulation angle of the articulating shaft at the point of activation of a hovering mode (e.g. ¶¶ 399) and to activate articulation in order to maintain said end effector at the same spatial orientation with respect to a tissue when the medical device is maneuvered with respect to said tissue (e.g. ¶¶ 400-417, etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Leimbach discloses said control circuits calculate said spatial orientation of said end effector from signals from an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (e.g. ¶¶ 549).
Regarding claim 3, Leimbach discloses said control circuits calculate said articulation angle of the articulating shaft from a length of pull cables (e.g. ¶¶ 368, 401, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, Leimbach discloses said control circuits operate at least one motor to rotate the articulation shaft (e.g. ¶¶ 423).
Regarding claim 5, Leimbach discloses said interface is immovably attached to said housing of the control unit (e.g. Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Leimbach discloses said interface includes a palm interface operable via a palm of said hand (e.g. ¶¶ 542, 555, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Leimbach discloses said interface includes a finger interface being pivotally attached to said housing and being engageable by one or more fingers of said hand (e.g. ¶¶ 206-212).
Regarding claim 8, Leimbach discloses a restraint being pivotally attached to said palm interface and having an element capable of elastically deforming to apply a restraining force to a back of a hand when said palm is engaged with said palm interface (e.g. ¶¶ 544).
Regarding claim 9, Leimbach discloses said finger interface is configured for operating articulation of the articulating shaft of the medical device and operating an effector end of the medical device (e.g. ¶¶ 555).
Regarding claim 10, Leimbach discloses the control unit of claim 1 attached to a minimally invasive medical device having an articulatable shaft (e.g. ¶¶ 565, 575, etc.).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796