DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 27 February 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asada et al. (US Pat.Pub.2007/0092171) in view of Zhao et al. (US Pat.Pub.2014/0004384).
Regarding claim 1, Asada teaches a spindle motor provided in a hard disk drive device (¶[0002]; ¶[0006])
using a heat assisted magnetic recording method as a magnetic recording method,
the spindle motor comprising:
a plurality of components made of metal, wherein at least one of the components (sleeve) 3 comprises a main body member (sintered metal body) 3E and a coating film (plating/film) 3H covering a surface of the main body member, and
at least one of a first pore 3F exposed to the surface…is filled with a resin material (i.e., pores 3F remaining inside the sintered metal body 3E are previously impregnated with a resin, water glass, or the like; ¶[0099]; Fig.2).
Asada’s hard disk drive device does not use a heat assisted magnetic recording method as a magnetic recording method.
But, Zhao teaches a hard disk drive device 10 using heat assisted magnetic recording (HAMR) technology for increasing storage density beyond 1 Tbit/inch2 and facilitate recording (¶[0001]; ¶[0022]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to use a heat assisted magnetic recording method as a magnetic recording method in Asada’s hard disk drive device since Zhao teaches this technology would have been desirable for increasing storage density beyond 1 Tbit/inch2 and facilitating recording.
Regarding claim 2, Asada teaches the resin material is filled in the first pore 3F (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Asada teaches the resin material is an acrylic resin (¶[0114]).
Regarding claim 7, Asada teaches the main body member 3E is a sleeve.
Regarding claim 10, the combination comprises a hard disk drive device using a heat assisted magnetic recording method as a magnetic recording method, the hard disk drive device comprising: the spindle motor according to claim 1.
Claims 1, 3-4 & 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 8,953,422) in view of Hamada et al. (US 4,837,114).
Regarding claim 1, Cao teaches a spindle motor 116 provided in a hard disk drive device 111 using heat assisted magnetic recording (HAMR) method as a magnetic recording method (c.1:17-31; c.3:2-5), the spindle motor comprising:
a plurality of components made of metal (e.g., head gimbal, rotating hub, stator, etc.), wherein at least one of the components comprises a main body member (i.e., magnet attached to spindle motor hub, c.2:49-c.3:5; Fig.1).
Cao does not teach “a coating film covering a surface of the main body member [i.e., magnet], and at least one of a first pore exposed to the surface or a second pore exposed to a surface of the coating film is filled with a resin material.”
But, Hamada teaches a Fe-B-R type permanent magnet produced by forming an anticorrosive coating film layer on the base permanent magnet material body to improve the corrosion resistance thereof (abstract). Further, micropores present in the coating film are impregnated with a resin material to prevent peeling-off or cracking of the film layer (c.4:25-31; c.13:56-c.14:37).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to cover the surface of Cao’s main body member (magnet) with a coating film and fill a second pore exposed to a surface of the coating film with a resin material since Hamda teaches a coating film would have improved the corrosion resistance of the magnet and the resin material would have prevented peeling-off or cracking of the film layer.
Regarding claim 3, the combination in particular Hamada teaches the resin material is filled in the second pore (c.4:25-31; c.13:56-c.14:37).
Regarding claim 4, the combination in particular Hamada teaches the resin material is an acrylic resin (i.e., thermosetting resins, c.14:15, which include acrylic resins).
Regarding claim 6, Hamada further teaches coating the surface of magnet bodies by electroplating techniques for purposes of producing an anticorrosive resin layer are known (c.2:6-15).
Regarding claims 7-8, the main body member of the combination is a rotor magnet.
Regarding claim 9, the combination in particular Hamada teaches a “bond” magnet (i.e., compacted magnets, c.1:49, which includes resin-containing “bonded” magnets).
Regarding claim 10, the combination in particular Cao teaches a hard disk drive device using a heat assisted magnetic recording method as a magnetic recording method, the hard disk drive device comprising: the spindle motor according to claim 1 (c.1:17-31 & c.2:49-c.3:5; Fig.2).
Claims 1-2, 4 & 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Koike et al. (JP 11-224811).
As noted above, Cao teaches all the features of claim 1 except for “a coating film covering a surface of the main body member [i.e., magnet], and at least one of a first pore exposed to the surface or a second pore exposed to a surface of the coating film is filled with a resin material.”
But, Koike teaches a ring-shaped rare-earth bonded magnet 8 comprising a coating film (metal plating layer) 6 covering a surface of the main body member (i.e., magnetic powders) 2 and pores/holes 4, some of which communicate with the outside, filled with a resin material 5, to provide a rare-earth bonded magnet which hardly rusts and hardly cracks or chips due to thermal changes (abstract; ¶[0013]; Figs.3B&4B).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to cover the surface of Cao’s main body member (magnet) with a coating film and fill a first pore exposed to the surface with a resin material since Koike teaches this would have provided a magnet which hardly rusted and cracked or chipped due to thermal changes.
Regarding claim 2, Koike teaches the resin material 5 is filled in the first pore 4 (Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 4, Koike teaches the resin material 5 is an acrylic resin.
Regarding claim 6, Koike teaches the coating film 6 is an overbaked electrodeposition coating film (e.g., Ni- or Cu-electrolytic plating).
Regarding claims 7-8, the main body member of the combination is a rotor magnet.
Regarding claim 9, the combination in particular Koike teaches a “bond” (bonded) magnet.
Regarding claim 10, the combination in particular Cao teaches a hard disk drive device using a heat assisted magnetic recording method as a magnetic recording method, the hard disk drive device comprising: the spindle motor according to claim 1 (c.1:17-31 & c.2:49-c.3:5; Fig.2).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Cao & Hamada or Cao & Koike as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hiruma et al. (JP 4-273413).
None of the combinations further teach a viscosity of the resin material before being cured is equal to or greater than 2 mPa·s and equal to or less than 50 mPa·s.
But, Hiruma teaches a method for producing a rare earth bonded magnet that is impregnated with a thermoset or thermoplastic resin to enhance weather-proofness and corrosion resistance (abstract). Hiruma teaches the viscosity of the resin solution is desirably 0.1-10 cP (or 0.1-10 mPa·s) at normal temperature (¶[0015]), e.g., in one example, a viscosity of 0.35 cP (or 35 mPa·s) is used (¶[0016]). If viscosity is higher than 10cP, the impregnation will take longer and worsen manufacturing efficiency (¶[0015]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide the coating material of Cao & Hamada or Cao & Koike with a viscosity equal to or greater than 2 mPa·s and equal to or less than 50 mPa·s since Hiruma teaches a specific example in the claimed range as well as an overlapping range 1 in order to prevent increased manufacturing time and worsened manufacturing efficiency. MPEP 2131.03.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834
1 Per MPEP 2131.03(I), a specific example in the prior art which is within the claimed range anticipates the range.