DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 12 recites “a computer-readable storage device on which a program that performs the method” drawn to the computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation "non-transitory" to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. US 20220207729 A1) in view of Abou Shousha et al. (US 20200035362 A1) hereinafter referred as Abou.
Regarding claim 1, Boyd teaches a system for analyzing a corneal lesion using an anterior segment image, the system comprising: an image acquisition unit ([Fig. 3 and Par. 164, 193), 197) configured to acquire “ocular image” ([Fig. 3 and Par. 164, 193), 197); a feature extractor configured to extract feature information on a position and a cause of a lesion in a cornea of the eyeball from the anterior segment image (Fig. 5 and Pars. 262-263, 323, 504, bright dot(s) (lesion) in region (position) of interest(s) ROI(s)) by applying a convolution layer to the anterior segment image through machine learning (Fig. 48, the feature extraction layers such as convolutional layers and Par. 461) on the basis of a database in which clinical information pre-acquired (Fig. 4 and Pars. 6, 8, a database configured to store plurality of ocular images corresponds to a plurality of different imaging modalities) by analyzing positions and causes of lesions in the corneas of subjects is stored (Par. 222, feature extraction specific disease-relevant observations (to be compared against other modalities); and a result determination unit configured to identify a position of the cornea from the anterior segment image using the feature information and to analyze and determine the position and the cause of the lesion in the cornea from the position of the cornea (Fig. 28 and Pars. 353-354, 661-662, detection of macrophages, e.g. tumor-associated macrophages).
Boyd does not explicitly teach the ocular image as taught above is an anterior segment image. However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Abou. Abou teaches input image data includes multiple images that capture a current state of a patient's cornea or anterior segment (Fig. 1B and Pars. 77, 95-96).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Abou into Boyd to improve accuracy of the prediction.
Regarding claim 7, method of claim 7 is performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, computer-readable storage device of claim 12 is performed by the apparatus of claim 1. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. US 20220207729 A1) in view of Abou Shousha et al. (US 20200035362 A1) hereinafter referred as Abou and in further view of Huynh et al. (US 20210158132 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Boyd does not specifically teach claim 2.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Huynh. Huynh teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the feature extractor comprises: a residual network (ResNet) obtained by stacking at least one network of a plurality of networks each including a convolution layer, a pooling layer, and an activation function or a rectified linear unit (ReLU) function and the ResNet extracts the feature information, including a multiple-channel feature map for extracting a suspicious region, from the anterior segment image (Fig. 2-3 and Pars. 39-44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Huynh into the modified Boyd to improve the utilization rate using a small number of input channels.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Boyd teach the system of claim 2, wherein the feature extractor comprises: a lesion guiding module configured to extract a lesion region more precise than the suspicious region through convolution of the feature information and positional data of a lesion in the clinical information, the positional data representing a position of the lesion (Pars. 262-263, selecting (extracting) ROIs in areas of disease activity & Note: the areas of interest give more weight (more precise)).
Regarding claim 8, method of claim 8 is performed by the apparatus of claim 2. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, method of claim 9 is performed by the apparatus of claim 3. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 3.
Claims 4-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. US 20220207729 A1) in view of Abou Shousha et al. (US 20200035362 A1) hereinafter referred as Abou and in further view of Razali et al. (US 20220257115 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Boyd does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the feature extractor comprises: a slit lamp mask adjustment module adjusting a slit beam image present in a region of the anterior segment image.
However, this feature cannot be considered new or novel in the presence of Razali. Razali teaches change light profile to a slit mask for a spot or a slit for profiling light for eye examination ensure no image of the light source appears (excludes a slit lamp portion) on the eye of the patient (Fig. 14, Par. 72, 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Razali into the modified Boyd prevent image distortions or reflection.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Boyd further teaches the system of claim 4, wherein the slit lamp mask adjustment module excludes a slit lamp portion from the anterior segment image and causes the position of the cornea or the position of the lesion in the cornea, which is included in the anterior segment image, to be learned (Pars. 472-475)
Regarding claim 10, method of claim 10 is performed by the apparatus of claim 4. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 4.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. US 20220207729 A1) in view of Abou Shousha et al. (US 20200035362 A1) hereinafter referred as Abou and in further view of Isgum et al. (US 20190318476 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Boyd teach system of claim 1, wherein the result determination unit re-inputs a 3rd label feature vector output from the feature extractor and a prediction vector corresponding to a 2.sup.nd label feature vector computed by applying a fully connected layer to the 3rd label feature vector, into the fully connected layer and thus identifies the cause of the lesion in the cornea (region of the eye classified as a phenotype of one of normal, drusen, retinal pigment epithelium detachment, geographic atrophy, macular atrophy or neovascularization, based at least in part on classification of the cross-section image corresponding to that segment using a convolutional neural network (Pars. 63, 347-348) for the detection of macrophages, e.g. tumor-associated macrophages (Pars. 353-354), wherein the feature extraction layers such as convolutional layers [Wingdings font/0xE8]fully connected layers [Wingdings font/0xE8] output layer such as prediction output (Fig. 48)).
The modified Boyd does not specifically express that the feature extracted from the convolution layers is known as “label feature vector” in the presence of Isgum (Par. 59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the above teaching as taught by Isgum into the modified Boyd for feature extraction.
Regarding claim 11, method of claim 11 is performed by the apparatus of claim 6. They recite similar limitations. Applicant is kindly advised to refer to rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hirokawa et al. US 12380557 B2
Miyamoto et al. US 9317918 B2
Yates et al. (US 20180055351 A1) (Pars. 61-64).
Leung et al. US 20240074657 A1 [0031] In some embodiments, the SS position can be detected manually by a human grader, or automatically using a deep neural network model trained with deep learning. As illustrated in FIG. 5…… An example model architecture that can be implemented is ResNet-50. [0085] classifying each respective angle-location as either normal or abnormal based on one respective ACA parameter of the plurality of measured ACA parameters; [0086] calculating an extent of abnormalities with reference to the total number of abnormal angle-locations; and [0087] determining a risk of disease development for the eye from a regression model based on the extent of abnormalities.
/Cindy Trandai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 10/28/2026