DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is a non-final rejection
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 16-19 are rejected under 35 USC § 102
Claims 3-6, 8, 11-15, 20 are rejected under 35 USC § 103
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for a domestic priority date of 2-29-2024
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2-27-2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are not patent eligible because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis
First, claims are directed to one or more of the following statutory categories: a process, a machine, a manufacture, and a composition of matter. Regarding claims 1-20 the claims recite an abstract idea of “verifying primary source pet records”.
Independent Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 based on the following analysis.
-Step 1 (Does the claim fall within a statutory category? YES): claims 1, 9, and 17 recite a system, and process of animal record verification.
-Step 2A Prong One (Does the claim fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas?: YES): The claimed invention:
A system and server comprising:
obtain, bed-time information about an act of going to bed by a user and history information indicating a history of blood pressure measurement performed by the user;
determine whether the user has taken a blood pressure measurement in a period of a predetermined amount of time ending when the user goes to bed, based on the bed-time information and the history information; and
in response to determining that the user has not taken the blood pressure measurement in the period, (1) generate first timing information which causes to start the blood pressure measurement and (2) transmit the first timing information.
receive the timing information
inform the user of an optimal timing to measure blood pressure, based on the timing information
belonging to the grouping of mental processes under concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) as it recites “lifestyle improvement”. (refer to MPP 2106.04(a)(2)). Alternatively the claim belongs to certain methods of organizing human activity under managing personal relationships or interactions between people as it recites “lifestyle improvement”. (refer to MPP 2106.04(a)(2)). Accordingly this claim recites an abstract idea.
-Step 2A Prong Two (Are there additional elements in the claim that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea? NO).
Claim 9 recites:
one or more memories;
at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more memories;
a cuffless blood pressure measurement device.
Claim 14 recites:
A portable terminal connected to a server over a network;
one or more server memories;
at least one server processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more server memories;
sensing device;
a cuffless blood pressure measurement device;
one or more terminal memories;
at least one terminal processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more terminal memories.
Such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not integrate the judicial exception/abstract idea into a “practical application” of the judicial exception because they do not impose any meaningful limit on practicing the judicial exception.
-Step 2B (Does the additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept?: NO. As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two:
Claim 9 recites:
one or more memories;
at least one processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more memories;
a cuffless blood pressure measurement device.
Claim 14 recites:
A portable terminal connected to a server over a network;
one or more server memories;
at least one server processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more server memories;
sensing device;
a cuffless blood pressure measurement device;
one or more terminal memories;
at least one terminal processor each coupled to at least one of the one or more terminal memories.
Amounting to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)) Accordingly, even when viewed as a whole the claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea) and hence the claim is ineligible.
-Step 1 (Does the claim fall within a statutory category? YES): claim 17 recites a method of lifestyle improvement.
-Step 2A Prong One (Does the claim fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas?: YES): The claimed invention:
A control method comprising:
obtaining, bed-time information about an act of going to bed by a user and history information indicating a history of blood pressure measurement by the user; and
based on the bed-time information and the history information, in response to determining that the user has not taken a blood pressure measurement in a period of a predetermined amount of time ending when the user goes to bed, (1) generating timing information which causes to start the blood pressure measurement and (2) transmitting the timing information to the cuffless blood pressure measurement device.
belonging to the grouping of mental processes under concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) as it recites “lifestyle improvement”. (refer to MPP 2106.04(a)(2)). Alternatively the claim belongs to certain methods of organizing human activity under managing personal relationships or interactions between people as it recites “lifestyle improvement”. (refer to MPP 2106.04(a)(2)). Accordingly this claim recites an abstract idea.
-Step 2A Prong Two (Are there additional elements in the claim that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea? NO).
Claim 17 recites:
one or more processors;
a cuffless blood pressure measurement device;
Such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not integrate the judicial exception/abstract idea into a “practical application” of the judicial exception because they do not impose any meaningful limit on practicing the judicial exception.
-Step 2B (Does the additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept?: NO. As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two:
Claim 17 recites:
one or more processors;
a cuffless blood pressure measurement device.
Amounting to mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)) Accordingly, even when viewed as a whole the claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea) and hence the claim is ineligible.
Dependent Claims:
Step 2A Prong One: The following dependent claims recites additional limitations that further define the abstract idea of “lifestyle improvement”. The claim limitations include:
Claim 12: store a measurement result in response to receiving the measurement result;
Claim 19 wherein:
obtain wake-up information about an act of waking up by the user and breakfast preparation information about an act of preparing breakfast by the user,
determine an optimal second timing for blood pressure measurement of the user based on the wake-up information and the breakfast preparation information, and
notify second timing information regarding the optimal second timing;
Claims 20: wherein the optimal second timing is included in a period from after the user wakes up to when the user starts the act of preparing breakfast;
Claim 21: obtain urination information about urination by the user, and determine the optimal second timing based on the urination information.
Claim 22: wherein the optimal second timing is included in a period from after the user urinates to when the user starts the act of preparing breakfast.
Claim 23: prompt the user to measure blood pressure, based on the second timing information.
Claim 24: measure a blood pressure of the user, based on the second timing information;
Claim 25:
store, each of one or more results of the blood pressure measurement of the user in association with a time of obtainment of the result; and
extract, from the one or more results, a result of a blood pressure measurement taken at the optimal second timing for blood pressure measurement of the user, based on the second timing information.
Claim 27, 29, 31: wherein the first timing information causes to output an alert.
Step 2A Prong Two (Are there additional elements in the claim that imposes a meaningful limit on the abstract idea? NO). The following dependent claims recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not integrate the judicial exception/abstract idea into a “practical application” of the judicial exception because they do not impose any meaningful limit on practicing the judicial exception. The claims include:
Claim 12:
at least one processor;
one or more memories;
cuffless blood pressure measurement device.
Claim 18: A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the control method.
Claim 19: at least one processor.
Claim 21: at least one processor.
Claim 23: at least one processor.
Claim 24: at least one processor.
Claim 25:
at least one processor;
one or more memories;
Claim 26, 28, 30: wherein the first timing information causes the cuffless blood pressure measurement device to turn on an LED provided thereon
Claim 27, 29, 31:
cuffless blood pressure measurement device;
a speaker.
Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not integrate the judicial exception/abstract idea into a “practical application” of the judicial exception because they do not impose any meaningful limit on practicing the judicial exception.
Step 2B (Does the additional elements of the claim provide an inventive concept?: NO). As discussed previously with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the following dependent claims recite mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea. (refer to MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, even when viewed as a whole the claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea) and hence the claim is ineligible. The claims include:
Claim 12:
at least one processor;
one or more memories;
cuffless blood pressure measurement device.
Claim 18: A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the control method.
Claim 19: at least one processor.
Claim 21: at least one processor.
Claim 23: at least one processor.
Claim 24: at least one processor.
Claim 25:
at least one processor;
one or more memories;
Claim 26, 28, 30: wherein the first timing information causes the cuffless blood pressure measurement device to turn on an LED provided thereon
Claim 27, 29, 31:
cuffless blood pressure measurement device;
a speaker.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, 16-19 are rejected by 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bishop et.al (US 20240090472 A1) hereinafter “Bishop”
Regarding claims 1, 9 & 17 Bishop teaches:
an animal record verification device comprising: (See at least [abstract] via: “...An animal information management system & method of use thereof which generally comprises a physical main tag body, and computer related software, software programming language and code, including computer based applications, internet web page based code, and methods of applications for providing the user with a method and process to facilitate and manage the various tasks associated with accumulating, correlating, organizing, saving, storing, retrieving, and disseminating or communicating digital information across dissimilar digital computing platforms, software applications, or communications devices, that will further provide a user with current, vital, and relevant information and data pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, diet, feeding schedule, care to be given, prescriptions, vaccines, emergency contacts, and other generally relevant information related to a pet or subject animal, by way of QR code scan, NFC tag sensing, image recognition scan, barcode scan, or snaptag image barcode scan from a mobile or handheld device...”)
a dynamic QR code associated with an animal; (See at least [0057] via: “...Dynamic Tag..”; in addition see at least [0093] via: “...FIG. 23. Shows a listing of data and information inputs for an animal and user profile for one embodiment of the present invention illustrating the information to be entered by a user...”) .
and a plurality of records associated with the animal, wherein the plurality of records is assigned to the dynamic QR code; (See at least [0056] via: “...an Animal Information ID option is the “Dynamic Tag” option of the preferred embodiment, which allows a user to selectively accumulate, enter, store, filter, access, edit and otherwise manage the Name” of the pet or subject animal, the “Contact” information pertaining to the owner of the pet or subject animal, the “Photograph” or likeness image of the pet or subject animal, the Veterinarian or “Vet Contact” information, the “Chip” information pertaining to the pet or subject animal, the “Vaccine” or shot information pertaining to the pet or subject animal, and the generated QR scan code...” in addition see at least [0057] via: “...Dynamic Tag... TABLE-US-00002 QR Type: Dynamic (Text only: editable) Cost: Basic Tag Information Pet's name Photo: Pet Mama Name: Phone # Pet Papa Name: Phone # QR CODE: Date Created: Address: City, State: Veterinarian Name: Phone # Rabbies Tag # Date: Chip #: Vaccinations: Fees to update: Additional updates $10.00 per update $0.00 within first three months..”)
wherein, when the dynamic QR code is scanned by the animal record verification system, based on a scanner's permissions, the animal record verification system completes at least one of: (See at least [0019] via: “...embodies a quick response “QR” code 20, in, and visible on, the main tag body 10. The main tag body is to be worn or removably attached to the collar 11 of a pet, or subject animal be inserting a ring 16 or similar fastener through the main tag body attachment hole 15. The QR code 20 embodied in the main tag body 10 is read, scanned, or otherwise interacted with, thereby providing the person who is performing the QR code read, or scan, herein referred to as the “access person”, with current, vital, and relevant information and data 30 pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, care to be given, and or emergency contacts, as well as other information of the pet or subject animal...”)
transmitting the plurality of records to a veterinary clinic;
verifying whether the plurality of records complies with a plurality of facility requirements; and
upon a user's selection that the animal has been lost, transmitting information regarding the lost animal to contact information associated with the animal. (See at least [0067] via: “...a Global Positioning System (GPS) tracker embedded within, or removably attached to, the main tag body of the invention. GPS tracking capabilities allow the real time location of a pet or subject animal to be accessed and monitored through the main service website disclosed in the preferred embodiment of the invention. This embodiment of the invention combines the ability to deliver data and information relevant to the pet or subject animal to a user who scans the tag, with the ability for the pet owner or other relevant party to remotely locate the pet or animal using the geolocation capabilities of the GPS tracking system...”)
Regarding claims 2, 10 Bishop teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 9 respectively. Bishop also teaches:
The animal record verification system of claim 1, wherein the dynamic QR code is customizable. (See at least [0056] via: “...an Animal Information ID option is the “Dynamic Tag” option of the preferred embodiment, which allows a user to selectively accumulate, enter, store, filter, access, edit and otherwise manage the Name” of the pet or subject animal, the “Contact” information pertaining to the owner of the pet or subject animal, the “Photograph” or likeness image of the pet or subject animal, the Veterinarian or “Vet Contact” information, the “Chip” information pertaining to the pet or subject animal, the “Vaccine” or shot information pertaining to the pet or subject animal, and the generated QR scan code...” in addition see at least [0057] via: “...Dynamic Tag... TABLE-US-00002 QR Type: Dynamic (Text only: editable) Cost: Basic Tag Information Pet's name Photo: Pet Mama Name: Phone # Pet Papa Name: Phone # QR CODE: Date Created: Address: City, State: Veterinarian Name: Phone # Rabbies Tag # Date: Chip #: Vaccinations: Fees to update: Additional updates $10.00 per update $0.00 within first three months..”)
Regarding claims 7, 16, 19 Bishop teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1, 9 and 17 respectively. Bishop also teaches:
wherein the plurality of records includes at least one of contact information for an owner of the animal, contact information for the veterinary clinic associated with the animal, contact information for an emergency contact for the animal, a description of the animal, a signalment of the animal, and vaccination information associated with the animal. (See at least [0056] via: “...an Animal Information ID option is the “Dynamic Tag” option of the preferred embodiment, which allows a user to selectively accumulate, enter, store, filter, access, edit and otherwise manage the Name” of the pet or subject animal, the “Contact” information pertaining to the owner of the pet or subject animal, the “Photograph” or likeness image of the pet or subject animal, the Veterinarian or “Vet Contact” information, the “Chip” information pertaining to the pet or subject animal, the “Vaccine” or shot information pertaining to the pet or subject animal, and the generated QR scan code...” in addition see at least [0057] via: “...Dynamic Tag... TABLE-US-00002 QR Type: Dynamic (Text only: editable) Cost: Basic Tag Information Pet's name Photo: Pet Mama Name: Phone # Pet Papa Name: Phone # QR CODE: Date Created: Address: City, State: Veterinarian Name: Phone # Rabbies Tag # Date: Chip #: Vaccinations: Fees to update: Additional updates $10.00 per update $0.00 within first three months..”; in addition see at least [0019] via: “...embodies a quick response “QR” code 20, in, and visible on, the main tag body 10. The main tag body is to be worn or removably attached to the collar 11 of a pet, or subject animal be inserting a ring 16 or similar fastener through the main tag body attachment hole 15. The QR code 20 embodied in the main tag body 10 is read, scanned, or otherwise interacted with, thereby providing the person who is performing the QR code read, or scan, herein referred to as the “access person”, with current, vital, and relevant information and data 30 pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, care to be given, and or emergency contacts, as well as other information of the pet or subject animal...”)
Regarding claim 18 Bishop teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claim 17. Bishop also teaches:
The animal record verification system, wherein the action is at least one of:
transmitting the plurality of records to a veterinary clinic;
verifying whether the plurality of records complies with a plurality of facility requirements; and
upon a user's selection that the animal has been lost, transmitting information regarding the lost animal to contact information associated with the animal (See at least [0067] via: “...a Global Positioning System (GPS) tracker embedded within, or removably attached to, the main tag body of the invention. GPS tracking capabilities allow the real time location of a pet or subject animal to be accessed and monitored through the main service website disclosed in the preferred embodiment of the invention. This embodiment of the invention combines the ability to deliver data and information relevant to the pet or subject animal to a user who scans the tag, with the ability for the pet owner or other relevant party to remotely locate the pet or animal using the geolocation capabilities of the GPS tracking system...”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
non-obviousness.
Claims 3-6, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Bishop, in view of Samad et.al (WO 2016207844 A1) hereinafter “Samad”.
Regarding claims 3, 11, 12 Bishop teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 9 respectively. Bishop also teaches:
wherein the plurality of records is provided via one of a direct primary source integration or a manual integration process from the veterinary clinic. (See at least [0056] via: “... allow a primary user, or primary user representative, to upload or enter pet related data and information, into a main services webpage, website, application (APP) page, database, data form or server, with the use of virtually any software application interface, including but not limited in use to, internet application or APP based text entry fields, internet based webforms, Microsoft Word, Pages, Notepad, WordPad, Notes, Google DOCS, Adobe, PDF Reader, and other similar software applications that accomplish the same purpose and function, in a manner that will allow a primary user to selectively accumulate, enter, store, filter, access, edit and otherwise manage information related to a pet or animal for the purpose of generating a pet identification tag to be worn or otherwise affixed to a pet or animal, thereby allowing the primary user, or an undetermined secondary user to quickly access pet related data and information from a remote location removed from the actual main services website, data server, database, or other digital file, data or information repository not referred to herein that performs the same purpose and function and is to be considered apparent and obvious to the disclosure contained herein, whereby the pet related data and information will provide said users with relevant, vital, actionable information pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, care to be given, and emergency contacts of the pet...”)
Nevertheless Bishop is silent the following limitation taught by Samad:
wherein the plurality of records is provided... from the veterinary clinic (See at least [00060] via: “...wherein a farmer/veterinary/para-veterinary/manager/service provider/among other stakeholder is located at livestock location premises such as at a farmhouse/ranch/dairy/etc, and can be operatively coupled through QR coded ear tags or premises card which in turn can be coupled with any peripheral devices such as mobile phones, smart phones, tablet PCs, Laptops, Computers, among others, with and without Internet connectivity, and with a remotely located livestock herd management server/(s) for storing/updating/management of livestock data through cloud based application...”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Bishop to incorporate the teachings of Samad. Those in the art would have recognized that Bishop’s teaching regarding an animal information management system for facilitating accumulating, correlating, organizing, saving, storing, retrieving, and disseminating or communicating digital information that provide a user with current, vital, and relevant information and data pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, diet, feeding schedule, care to be given, prescriptions, vaccines, emergency contacts, and other information related to a pet or subject animal, by way of QR code and scan from a mobile or handheld device, could be modified to include Samad’s teaching regarding updating of livestock data by a veterinary service provider through cloud based applications . The combination of Bishop and Samad enables obtaining current and updated records of an animal from a veterinarian.
Regarding claims 4, 13 Bishop teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 9 respectively and Bishop and Samad teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 3 and 12 respectively. Bishop also teaches:
wherein when the plurality of records is provided via the direct primary source integration, the plurality of records is tethered to the animal. (See at least [0056] via: “... allow a primary user, or primary user representative, to upload or enter pet related data and information, into a main services webpage, website, application (APP) page, database, data form or server, with the use of virtually any software application interface, including but not limited in use to, internet application or APP based text entry fields, internet based webforms, Microsoft Word, Pages, Notepad, WordPad, Notes, Google DOCS, Adobe, PDF Reader, and other similar software applications that accomplish the same purpose and function, in a manner that will allow a primary user to selectively accumulate, enter, store, filter, access, edit and otherwise manage information related to a pet or animal for the purpose of generating a pet identification tag to be worn or otherwise affixed to a pet or animal, thereby allowing the primary user, or an undetermined secondary user to quickly access pet related data and information from a remote location removed from the actual main services website, data server, database, or other digital file, data or information repository not referred to herein that performs the same purpose and function and is to be considered apparent and obvious to the disclosure contained herein, whereby the pet related data and information will provide said users with relevant, vital, actionable information pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, care to be given, and emergency contacts of the pet...”)
Regarding claims 5, 14 Bishop teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 9 respectively and Bishop and Samad teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 3 and 12 respectively. Bishop also teaches:
wherein when the plurality of records is provided via the direct primary source integration, the plurality of records is dynamically refreshed on a daily basis. (See at least [0056] via: “... allow a primary user, or primary user representative, to upload or enter pet related data and information, into a main services webpage, website, application (APP) page, database, data form or server, with the use of virtually any software application interface, including but not limited in use to, internet application or APP based text entry fields, internet based webforms, Microsoft Word, Pages, Notepad, WordPad, Notes, Google DOCS, Adobe, PDF Reader, and other similar software applications that accomplish the same purpose and function, in a manner that will allow a primary user to selectively accumulate, enter, store, filter, access, edit and otherwise manage information related to a pet or animal for the purpose of generating a pet identification tag to be worn or otherwise affixed to a pet or animal, thereby allowing the primary user, or an undetermined secondary user to quickly access pet related data and information from a remote location removed from the actual main services website, data server, database, or other digital file, data or information repository not referred to herein that performs the same purpose and function and is to be considered apparent and obvious to the disclosure contained herein, whereby the pet related data and information will provide said users with relevant, vital, actionable information pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, care to be given, and emergency contacts of the pet...”; in addition see at least [0007] via: “...the present invention, that allows a pet owner to upload, or otherwise enter, and continually update pet specific data and information,..”)
Regarding claims 6, 15 Bishop teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 9 respectively and Bishop and Samad teach the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 3 and 12 respectively. Bishop also teaches:
wherein when the plurality of records is provided via the manual integration process, the system manually fetches the plurality of records, inputs the plurality of records from an applicable database, and tethers the plurality of records to the animal. (See at least [0056] via: “... allow a primary user, or primary user representative, to upload or enter pet related data and information, into a main services webpage, website, application (APP) page, database, data form or server, with the use of virtually any software application interface, including but not limited in use to, internet application or APP based text entry fields, internet based webforms, Microsoft Word, Pages, Notepad, WordPad, Notes, Google DOCS, Adobe, PDF Reader, and other similar software applications that accomplish the same purpose and function, in a manner that will allow a primary user to selectively accumulate, enter, store, filter, access, edit and otherwise manage information related to a pet or animal for the purpose of generating a pet identification tag to be worn or otherwise affixed to a pet or animal, thereby allowing the primary user, or an undetermined secondary user to quickly access pet related data and information from a remote location removed from the actual main services website, data server, database, or other digital file, data or information repository not referred to herein that performs the same purpose and function and is to be considered apparent and obvious to the disclosure contained herein, whereby the pet related data and information will provide said users with relevant, vital, actionable information pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, care to be given, and emergency contacts of the pet...”)
Claims 8, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable by Bishop, in view of Filipowicz et.al (US 20250212844 A1) hereinafter “Filipowicz”
Regarding claims 8, 20 Bishop teaches the invention as claimed and detailed above with respect to claims 1 and 9 respectively. Bishop is silent the following claim sthat is taught by Filipowicz:
further comprising an artificial intelligence model configured to evaluate a risk profile associated with the animal based on the plurality of records. (See at least [0020] via: “... the system includes a server device that implements one or more machine learning models programmed to detect acute lameness and/or lameness over time in a quadruped animal and generate treatment recommendations for the detected lameness. In an implementation, the machine learning models are trained using a corpus of observed data associated with gait of various animals covering multiple observations over various periods of time. The corpus of observed data also includes physical characteristics and medical history associated with the various animals. In some implementations, the one or more machine learning models of the system are programmed to detect lameness in previously quadruped animals. For example, the system may be trained to detect lameness in an amputee animal, where the system determines whether there is a change in gait in the remaining limbs of the amputee animal over a period of time...”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Bishop to incorporate the teachings of Filipowicz. Those in the art would have recognized that Bishop’s teaching regarding an animal information management system for facilitating accumulating, correlating, organizing, saving, storing, retrieving, and disseminating or communicating digital information that provide a user with current, vital, and relevant information and data pertaining to the identity, health, location, owner, diet, feeding schedule, care to be given, prescriptions, vaccines, emergency contacts, and other information related to a pet or subject animal, by way of QR code and scan from a mobile or handheld device, could be modified to include Filipowicz’s teaching regarding implementing machine learning models to detect acute lameness and/or lameness over time in a quadruped animal. The combination of Bishop and Filipowicz enables “detecting acute lameness and/or lameness over time in a quadruped animal and generating treatment recommendations for the detected lameness [Filipowicz 0020].
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure, and is listed in the attached form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited). Unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiner, all documents listed on form PTO-892 are cited in their entirety.
Jennings (US 20230058598 A1) - SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR A DISTRIBUTED LEDGER TRACKING ANIMALS-teaches: creating a record of an animal on a distributed ledger such as a blockchain. The animals have tags which, when read using a livestock tag reader, allow the owners of the animals to update the animal records with information about the animal, such as health and/or location data. The updated record can then be cryptographically signed and transmitted to a network server which verifies that the cryptographic signature corresponds to an owner's cryptographic signature for the animal.
Ickovic (US 20240015480 A1) - SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND PROGRAM PRODUCTS FOR DIGITAL PET IDENTIFICATION-teaches: identifying and tracking pets by use of a pet identification tag or image recognition techniques are disclosed. In exemplary embodiments, a mobile computing device communicates with a pet identification tag over a near-field communication link and a remote server over a wireless communication link. The mobile computing device is configured to identify a pet based on a unique identifier for the tag and/or to provide an image of a pet to the remote server, and to download information about the pet from the remote server using the unique identifier or pet image.
Conclusion
/PIERRE L MACCAGNO/Examiner, Art Unit 3687
/MAMON OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3687