Status of the Claims
The examiner acknowledges the amended claims filed on 09/15/2026.
Claims 2-3 and 5-10 are canceled.
Claims 11-14 are new.
Claims 1,4, and 11-14 are pending.
Claims 1,4, and 11-14 are examined herein.
Withdrawn Objection and Rejections
The examiner acknowledges the amendments to specification filed on 09/15/2026. Objections to the specification and drawings are withdrawn because of amendments to the specification and drawings.
Claim Objections as well as 35 USC § 112 (b), 112 (a), 101, 102 and 103 rejections on Claims 2-3 and 5-10 are moot due to cancelation of the claims.
The Claim Objections and 35 USC § 112 (a) (Written Description), 112 (b), 102, and 103 rejections on Claims 1 and 4 are withdrawn due to amendments to the claims.
Information Disclosure Statements
The IDS document filed on 09/15/2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Note: Lin et al 1995 “Comparative analysis of QTLs affecting Plant Height and Maturity…” appears to be split into two documents in the file wrapper.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase "flowering time" in Claims 1 and 13-14 is interpreted to be synonymous to heading date. See Li, Shengting, et al. "Improving yield-related traits by editing the promoter of the heading date gene Ehdl in rice." Theoretical and Applied Genetics 136.12 (2023): 239 (see 892 form mailed on 06/16/2026) page 2 paragraph 1 line 9 which recites "The expression level of Ehdl is negatively correlated with heading date (flowering time in grasses)".
The specification recites the TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) motif is present in SbFT10, SbEHD1, SbFKF1, and SbELF3 promoters (see paragraph 79 of the specification). Tadesse, Dimiru, et al. "Sorghum SbGhd7 is a major regulator of floral transition and directly represses genes crucial for flowering activation." New Phytologist 242.2 (2024): 786-796 appears to be the publication resulting from this work, and teaches approximate locations of the motif in the promoter. Thus, the examiner interprets the SbEhd1 promoters to
inherently contain this motif at the positions indicated below in Fig. 3a from Tadesse et al 2024.
Claim Objections
The following claim objections are necessitated due to amendments or the addition of new claims.
If the names in Claims 1, 11, and 13-14 (i.e. SbEhd1, OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFT10, ZmELF3.2, SbFKF1, and SbELF3) are directed to gene names, they should be in italics.
A comma should be added after the phrase “or combinations thereof” in line 8 of Claim 1.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (b) - Indefiniteness
The text of these sections of Title 35 U.S. Code, not included in this action, can be found in a prior Office action.
All dependent claims inherit the modified rejection unless they overcome the indefiniteness rejection.
Amended Claim 1 and New Claims 11, and 13-14 are still rejected for being indefinite because they recite the limitation of gene names only (i.e., abbreviations SbEhd1, OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFT10, ZmELF3.2, SbFKF1, and SbELF3; and the corresponding gene names, respectively). There is no definite way of identifying these genes from another besides references to a Phytozome accession numbers in paragraph 69. Referencing online sources is not a definite method for referencing regions on a chromosome, as applicant can’t guarantee it will always be available. The examiner was also unsure if specific reference genomes were required for identifying the maize or rice genes as was provided for the sorghum genes. Additionally, the reference for ZmELF3.2 has two different reference numbers meaning there is indefiniteness as to which Phytozome number references the gene. The names for OsFTL8 and OsFTL10 is understood to reference two genes as was recited in Applicants remarks on page 10 Third Ground paragraph. However, there is only one provided Phytozome accession number provided for OsFTL10/FT8 in paragraph 69 which is identical to FT8 in Figure 3C. Thus, the examiner cannot determine which gene the provided Phytozome accession number references. The specification also does not make any reference to a gene with the name “OsFTL8”.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the claim is directed to transgenic crop plants, which encompasses a vast number of species, but only recites genes from sorghum, maize, and rice. Thus, it is unclear if the claim is drawn to all crop plants or just sorghum, maize, and rice.
Claim 14 is indefinite because one with ordinary skill in the art would not know how big the deletion is. Is it just the TGAATG(A/T) (A/T/C) sequence or can it encompass the entire promoter sequence?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 (a)
The text of these sections of Title 35 U.S. Code, not included in this action, can be found in a prior Office action.
Scope of Enablement
Amended Claims 1 and 4 maintain the original 112 (a) scope of enablement rejection and New Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 USC § U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph because the specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
While the specification provides crRNA sequences to target SbEhd1, OsFTL10/FT8 (now OsFTL10 or OsFTL8), SbFT10, and ZmELF3.2 genes in sorghum, rice, and maize, it does not provide any examples of a plant with altered flowering time comprising a cis-regulatory element mutated from TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) to TGAGGG(A/T)(A/T/C) or deleting it (as recited in Claim 14) or crRNAs for editing promoters in genes SbFKF1, SbELF3, and OsFTL10 or OsFTL8.
In re Wands lists a number of factors for determining whether or not undue experimentation would be required by one skilled in the art to make and/or use the invention. These factors are: (1) the quantity of experimentation necessary; (2) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (3) the presence or absence of working examples of the invention; (4) the nature of the invention; (5) the state of the prior art; (6) the relative skill of those in the art; (7) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (8) the breadth of the claim. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Amended Claims 1 and 4 and New Claims 12-14 are broadly directed to transgenic crop plants with modified cis-regulatory element (i.e. TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) to TGAGGG(A/T)(A/T/C) (or deleted as recited in Claim 14) in the promoter of genes SbEhd1, OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFT10, ZmELF3.2, SbFKF1 or SbELF3. Dependent claims recite the crop can be a sorghum, maize and rice plant.
Applicant Teaches:
Genes named SbFT1, SbFT8 SbFT10 and SbEhd1 are significantly downregulated in Sorghum lines overexpressing a gene named SbGhd7 with an amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:46.
Transient transactivation assays in protoplasts confirmed that SbGhd7 directly represses the activity of genes named SbFT1, SbFT8, SbFT10, SbELF3, and SbFKF1 by binding to their promoters with SEQ ID NOs: 18-22.
DNA motif TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) is in the promoter of many floral transition genes and is the target for SbGhd7.
Genes named SbFT1, SbFT8, SbFT10 are activated by overexpression of SbEhd1 as demonstrated by RT-PCR and transactivation assays in protoplasts.
Applicant Does Not Teach:
A transgenic crop plant that has a genomically changed promoter with altered flowering time comprising the modification from TGAATG(A/T) (A/T/C) to TGAGGG(A/T) (A/T/C) or was deleted.
The instant disclosure and the instant claims do not set forth structural characteristics essential to genomically changing the TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) sequence in the promoter of SbEhd1, OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFT10, ZmELF3.2 genes in all crop species (i.e. Claims 1 and 12). It also does not provide crRNAs for editing promoters in genes OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFKF1 or SbELF3 (i.e. Claims 1, 4, 12-14)
As was recited in the office action mailed on 06/16/2026, Claim 1 (and now Claim 12) encompasses all crop plants while the applicant has not demonstrated any plant with the specifically claimed modification (i.e. TGAATG(A/T) (A/T/C) to TGAGGG(A/T) (A/T/C)). The Applicant only provides evidence for this motif in sorghum, maize, and rice (i.e. Figure 3A-C). Other crop species (i.e. wheat), may or may not contain the described motif in the recited maize, sorghum, or rice gene promoters, and can be recalcitrant to transformation as was outlined in the previous rejection. Guo, Guanghui, et al. "An elegant co‐transformation strategy for recalcitrant wheat using morphogenic regulators." The Plant Journal 124.2 (2025): e70541 (see 892 form mailed on 06/16/2026) teaches wheat transformation efficiency largely depends on the recipient genotype and overcoming low regeneration efficiency is a barrier to successfully transforming wheat. Morphogenic regulators are shown to improve wheat transformation and regeneration, however, there are still issues regarding how to specifically utilize them in recalcitrant wheat. These challenges are described on page 2 in paragraphs 1-2 and solutions for overcoming these barriers were not provided in the disclosure. Further support for why the invention would not work in all crop species is provided by Sadravi, Shekoofeh, June Lee, and Jianfeng Xu. "Advances in promoter engineering strategies for enhanced recombinant protein expression in plants." Frontiers in Plant Science 16 (2025): 1747353 (see 892 form mailed on 06/16/2026) which teaches “native promoters often contain cis-regulatory elements whose functions are not fully understood. This complexity can complicate efforts to fine-tune expression levels or engineer predictable promoter performance across different systems [i.e. species]”. Additionally, Shi, Lu, et al. "Promoter editing for the genetic improvement of crops." Journal of Experimental Botany 74.15 (2023): 4349-4366 (see 892 form mailed on 06/16/2026) teaches “Promoter editing enables the fine-tuning of the expression of agronomically important genes to advance crop improvement. However, its broad application is restricted by our limited knowledge of the genetic basis of key agronomic traits and the challenge of generating diverse forms of precise edits at high efficiencies.” Because native cis-regulatory elements are not well understood, have complex roles in regulating gene’s expression, and the limited knowledge of genetic basis of key agronomic traits (i.e. flowering), it would require trial and error for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine if the modification (i.e. TGAATG(A/T) (A/T/C) to TGAGGG(A/T) (A/T/C)) in the promoter of a SbEhd1, OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFT10, ZmELF3.2 genes would alter flowering time in any or all crop species.
Finally, one with ordinary skill in the art would not be enabled by the disclosure to edit OsFTL10 or OsFTL8 (as the specification is directed to OsFTL10/FT8) for Claims 1, 4, and 12 or for SbFKF1 or SbELF3 genes for Claims 13 and 14 as crRNA for listed genes is not provided. It would take undue trial and error testing to identify these cis-regulatory elements in listed genes, generating crRNAs and testing the plants for altered flowering time.
The Applicant has not provided any example of a crop plant with the modification from TGAATG(A/T) (A/T/C) to TGAGGG(A/T) (A/T/C) (or deleted as recited in Claim 14) in a cis-regulatory element of a promoter of SbEhd1, OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFT10, ZmELF3.2, SbFKF1 or SbELF3 in any crop species or provided crRNA for OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFKF1 or SbELF3 genes. Thus, the examples provided by the Applicant do not provide adequate working examples to enable the scope of the invention. Given the breadth of the claims, the lack of guidance and working examples, the unpredictability in the art, and the state of the art, undue experimentation would be required to make and use the claimed invention, and therefore, the invention is not enabled throughout the broad scope of the claims.
Written Description
Amended Claim 1 is rejected for incorporating new matter. The claim now recites genes identified as OsFTL10 and OsFTL8 which seemed to replace OsFTL10/FT8. While the disclosure previously disclosed a “OsFTL10/FT8” which is presumably the same gene as OsFTL10. Only one Phytozome gene ID was provided for OsFTL10/FT8 which matched FT8 from Fig. 3C. Thus, one of either OsFTL10 or OsFTL8 is new matter. Dependent Claims 4 and 11-12 inherit this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The text of these sections of Title 35 U.S. Code, not included in this action, can be found in a prior Office action.
New Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of Li, Shengting, et al. "Improving yield-related traits by editing the promoter of the heading date gene Ehd1 in rice." Theoretical and Applied Genetics 136.12 (2023): 239 (see PTO-892 form mailed on 06/16/2026) in view of Nuñez, Fiorella DB, and Toshihiko Yamada. "Molecular regulation of flowering time in grasses." Agronomy 7.1 (2017): 17.
Claim 14 is drawn to a transgenic sorghum plant, wherein a cis-regulatory element comprising the nucleotide sequence TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) in the promoter of a gene selected from the group consisting of FLOWERING LOCUS T 10 (SbFT10) and floral activators Early Heading Date (SbEhd1), Flavin-Binding, Kelch Repeat, F- Box1 (SbFKF1) and Early Flowering 3 (SbELF3), and combinations thereof, is deleted, thereby altering the flowering time of the transgenic sorghum plant.
Li et al 2023 is directed to editing the promoter region and elucidating the roles of cis-regulatory elements of the rice Ehd1 gene. One rice line, identified as T1-48 in Figure 4, has virtually all the promoter deleted (i.e. -143 to at least -3012) and is also described as having altered flowering time in Figure 3b. It also teaches the Ehd1 gene is negatively correlated with heading date (flowering time in grasses).
Even though Li et al 2023 teaches Ehd1 regulates flowering time in grasses (i.e. sorghum). Li et al 2023 does not teach a transgenic sorghum plant with a deletion of nucleotide sequence TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) in the promoter of the SbEhd1 gene.
Nuñez et al 2017 is a review article on what is known of flowering time and its regulation in grasses. It teaches that the SbEhd1 gene is also responsible for regulating flowering time in sorghum and draws similarities between the signaling pathway between rice (species used by Li et al 2023) and sorghum in Figure 1 and paragraph 2 on page 3.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Li et al 2023 and Nuñez et al 2017 to create a transgenic sorghum plant which deletes nearly the entire SbEhd1 gene promoter (or at least generate random mutations in the promoter) which alters the flowering time. Li et al 2023 teaches the deletion of the promoter region of the Ehd1 gene in rice leads to altered flowering time while Nuñez et al 2017 teaches clear parallels between rice and sorghum and recites both species use this gene to regulate flowering. This provides one with ordinary skill in the art a high expectancy of success that deleting the promoter region of SbEhd1 in sorghum would also alter flowering time. The examiner acknowledges that Li et al 2023 and Nuñez et al 2017 do not teach the deletion of a TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) sequence. However, because the claim does not limit the deletion to just the specific TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) motif sequence, the examiner is not able to exclude deletion of the entire promoter from their interpretation of the claim. Deletion of the promoter region (i.e. ~143 to at least ~3012) of the SbEhd1 gene in sorghum would inherently delete the claimed motifs at positions ~503 to ~496 and ~413 to ~406 as recited in the claim interpretation. More motivation for combining these references to generate a transgenic sorghum plant with the SbEhd1 promoter deleted for altered flowering time is recited in Murphy et al 20141. The first paragraph recites “Optimal flowering time is of central importance to a plant’s reproductive success” and “Late-flowering, high-biomass energy sorghum and other C4 energy grasses with long vegetative growth duration could help meet the U.S. Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 mandate to produce 21B gals of cellulosic biofuels per year (U.S. House, 2007).”
Subject Matter Free of Art
Claims 1, 4 and 11-13 appear to recite subject matter free of art.
Claims 1, 4 and 11-13 are directed to a transgenic crop plants wherein the cis-regulatory element in the promoter of genes which alters the flowering time of the plant (i.e. SbEhd1, OsFTL10, OsFTL8, SbFT10, ZmELF3.2, SbFKF1 or SbELF3) is modified from TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) to TGAGGG(A/T)(A/T/C). The closest prior art appear to be Li et al 2023 which teaches generating transgenic crops (i.e. rice) with mutations in the cis-regulatory element of a promoter in the rice Ehd1 gene which alters flowering time. While it does discuss cis-regulatory elements, it does not discuss a modification in a cis-regulatory element where the sequence TGAATG(A/T)(A/T/C) to TGAGGG(A/T)(A/T/C).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to the disclosure and claims address many of the former objections and rejections as recited in the Applicants Arguments/Remarks Made in Amendment filed on 09/15/2026. The unaddressed arguments have been considered and are addressed below.
Regarding the indefiniteness 35 USC § 112 (b) rejection regarding gene names and identification (formerly Claim 3 and now Amended Claim 1). The examiner appreciates the clarification regarding SEQ ID NOs: in paragraph 69 and table 2 and how “OsFTL10/FT8” is two genes. This does not clear up how Phytozome accession numbers can indefinitely identify genes or if the Phytozome accession number LOC Os05g44180 identifies OsFTL10 or OsFTL8 and what the Phytozome accession number is for the other rice gene.
Regarding the 35 USC § 112 (a) enablement rejection, the examiner acknowledges that Claim 1 has been amended to recite the structural features of both the mutation in the promoter and the specific genes that are promoted, and dependent Claim 4 recites the crop species. It did not completely address the rejection from 06/16/2026. The disclosure has not addressed how to make all transgenic crop plants (i.e. wheat) comprising the modified cis-regulatory element as encompassed by Claims 1 and 12. Some crop species are recalcitrant to transformation and overcoming such obstacles was not addressed by the disclosure or arguments. Furthermore, while paragraph 65 of the specification teaches how CRISPR-Cas12a can be used to engineer monocot plants and how to engineer a T-DNA vector, it does not provide the crRNAs that the applicant envisions should be used to edit the promoters of SbFKF1, SbELF3, and OsFTL10 or OsFTL8.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded
of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR § 1.136(a).
the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing
date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH
shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action
is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for
reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/GEORGE W MEYER/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/BRATISLAV STANKOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Units 1661 & 1662
1 Murphy, Rebecca L., et al. "Ghd7 (Ma6) represses sorghum flowering in long days: Ghd7 alleles enhance biomass accumulation and grain production." The Plant Genome 7.2 (2014): plantgenome2013-11. (see 892 form mailed on 06/16/2026)