CTNF 19/065,030 CTNF 95844 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims The Office Action is in response to the application filed 02/27/2025. Claims 1-9 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20220155791 A1 (“Lee”) in combination with Foster et al. US 20200272221 A1 (“Foster”) . Regarding Claim 1. Lee teaches a work device (1) (A moving robot which may include a cleaning robot that carries out cleaning while traveling a region or a mower robot that mows lawns in the region [paragraph 4]) , comprising: a travel unit (11) configured to propel the work device (The moving robot has a plurality of wheels at 1092 of FIG. 1, which may be connected to a driving motor located in the inner body, and may be rotatably mounted on both sides in the width direction of the inner body at 160 [paragraph 48]) ; a first control unit configured to control the work unit and the travel unit (A control unit at 1800 may give control commands to a traveling unit at 1300, which can include at least one driving motor and may enable the moving robot to move [paragraph 100]. The weeding unit 1700 mows lawns while the moving robot travels. The weeding unit 1700 may be provided with a brush or a cutter blade to mow lawns through rotation of the brush or the cutter blade [paragraph 103], shown in FIG. 4A to also be connected to the control unit) ; a state detecting unit (21) configured to detect an operating state of the work unit and the travel unit (A sensing unit at 1400 may include various sensors such as a cliff detection sensor installed on the rear surface of the main body to detect a cliff, a rain sensor for detecting humidity or a rainy weather condition, a proximity sensor, a touch sensor, a red-green-blue (RGB) sensor, a battery gauge sensor, an acceleration sensor, a geomagnetic sensor, a gravity sensor, a gyroscope sensor, an illuminance sensor, an environmental sensor (a thermometer, a radiation detection sensor, a heat detection sensor, a gas detection sensor, etc.), a plurality of 360-degree sensors, and a bottom state detection sensor, and the like, in addition to the above-described obstacle detection unit 1402 and location detection unit 1401 [paragraph 116]) ; a communication unit (30) configured to transmit state information on the operating state of the work unit and the travel unit (The communication unit 1100 may transmit information related to a generated map to the terminal 300. The communication unit 1100 may receive a command from the terminal 300 and may transmit data related to an operational state of the moving robot 100 to the terminal 300 [paragraph 95]. Notably, the present invention can efficiently monitor theft of the moving robot by means of a charging station and notify a user when the theft occurs [paragraph 165]. According to the present invention, various errors may occur, so that the moving robot 100 can no more travel when the moving robot encounters an obstacle, the moving robot falls into a pit such as porthole, or foreign substances are caught in the driving unit [paragraph 262]. In this case, the moving robot 100 may transmit a signal indicating that an error occurs (or a signal indicating that an error has occurred) to the charging station 200 [paragraph 263]. When the signal indicating that the error occurs is received from the moving robot 100, the control unit 280 of the charging station 200 may transmit the preview image received through the camera 210 provided in the charging station 200 to a predetermined mobile terminal 300 in real time [paragraph 264]) . Lee does not teach: wherein the first control unit is configured to transmit state information regarding the operating state via the communication unit at a prescribed transmission time interval, the prescribed transmission time interval being varied between a first time interval, and a second time interval which is longer than the first time interval based on the operating state (Lee does teach that the operational state of the moving robot may be transmitted by the communication unit to the terminal at 300 [paragraph 95], but it does not teach that the operational state is transmitted periodically at prescribed transmission time interval) . However, Foster teaches: wherein the first control unit is configured to transmit state information regarding the operating state via the communication unit at a prescribed transmission time interval, the prescribed transmission time interval being varied between a first time interval, and a second time interval which is longer than the first time interval based on the operating state (FIG. 1 illustrates an example wireless communication system, according to some embodiments. Positional tag devices shown at 108 may communicate with one or more other components within the system. In some embodiments, the positional tag device may be associated with a companion device (e.g., a client station at 106) [paragraphs 59-60]. Wireless device 108 (work unit) may be any of a variety of types of wireless device, such as a portable computer, smart phone, wearable device, tablet, a motor vehicle, or virtually any type of wireless device [paragraph 64]. In some embodiments, an MIT device may be configured to determine, while operating in a first power state, to transition to a second power state based, at least in part, on detection of an event. In some embodiments, the event may be detectable via one of a first interface or motion sensing circuitry of the MIT device [paragraph 6]. At 702 of FIG. 7, the multi-interface transponder (MIT) device can transition to a second power state based on detection of an event [paragraph 109]. While in the second power state, transmissions to one or more beacons may involve a transmission rate that is either higher or lower, depending on the embodiment. In one embodiment, the transmissions made in this second power state may be made at a higher rate than the first power state [paragraph 111]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with wherein the first control unit is configured to transmit state information regarding the operating state via the communication unit at a prescribed transmission time interval, the prescribed transmission time interval being varied between a first time interval, and a second time interval which is longer than the first time interval based on the operating state as taught by Foster so that an error or abnormal state (such as the robot being stolen or falling into a pit, as in Lee) can be communicated faster to a user. Regarding Claim 2. Lee in combination with Foster teaches the work device according to claim 1. Lee does not teach: wherein the first control unit is configured to set the transmission time interval to the second time interval when the operating state is normal, and set the transmission time interval to the first time interval when the operating state is not normal (In some embodiments, the MIT device may determine it is lost, based on a duration of time since a last communication with a companion device. the determination may be further based, at least in part, on a duration of time since a location update and/or receipt of a signal from a device associated with a location server. In such instances, the MIT device may transition to a power state (or power mode) associated with a lost mode of operation. In some embodiments, operating in the lost mode may include the MIT device altering and/or adjusting transmission power and/or transmission rates to further conserve battery power and increase the probability of discovery. This means that transmissions will be made in two states, a normal mode, and a “lost mode” [paragraph 115]. The second power state can be based on a “normal operating state” while the first time interval is “not normal”, because there is no real specificity in either the present application or in Foster as to the order of the first and second operating state) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with wherein the first control unit is configured to set the transmission time interval to the second time interval when the operating state is normal, and set the transmission time interval to the first time interval when the operating state is not normal as taught by Foster so as to allow the system to communicate when the operating state is normal or abnormal and quickly send the message when the operating state is not normal. Regarding Claim 3. Lee in combination with Foster teaches the work device according to claim 2. Lee does not teach: wherein the first control unit is configured to set the transmission time interval to a third time interval which is longer than the second time interval when the work unit and the travel unit are not operating. However, Foster teaches: wherein the first control unit is configured to set the transmission time interval to a third time interval which is longer than the second time interval when the work unit and the travel unit are not operating (In some embodiments, an MIT device may be configured to operate in a low power mode in which an ultra-wide band (UWB) radio of the MIT device may be disabled. The MIT device may be configured to receive, while operating in the low power mode, a wake-up signal from a neighboring wireless device and transition out of the low power mode and enable the UWB radio in response to receipt of the wake-up signal [paragraph 8]. When the device transitions into low power mode, it may begin to transmit beacons at a rate of more than 5 seconds, in some embodiments. For example, in a safe zone mode, the MIT device may transmit beacons less frequently upon wake-up and at a lower power level as compared to a danger zone mode, in which the MIT device may transmit beacons more frequently upon wake-up and/or at a higher power level. In some embodiments, the MIT device may transition back to the ultra-low power mode upon an acknowledgment of an updated location. In some embodiments, the MIT device may transition to one of high power mode and/or ultra-high power mode depending on various criteria (e.g., detection of entrance into a danger zone, instruction received from companion device, movement detection, increasing separation from a companion device, and so forth), prior to transitioning to ultra-low power mode [paragraph 101]. In sum, the MIT may transition to up to four different power modes, wherein each mode of higher power can have a transmission time interval that is faster than the lower power modes, although this is not the only embodiment of Foster) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with wherein the first control unit is configured to set the transmission time interval to a third time interval which is longer than the second time interval when the work unit and the travel unit are not operating as taught by Foster so as to alert a user when the travel unit and work unit are not operating at all, as a different signal that the work unit is being stolen, such as when the robotic mower falls into a pit. Regarding Claim 4. Lee in combination with Foster teaches the work device according to claim 2. Lee also teaches: further comprising an own position information acquisition unit (22) for acquiring own position information (The location detection unit at 1401 includes a plurality of sensor modules for transmitting and receiving location information. The location detection unit 1401 includes a Global Positioning System (GPS) module for transmitting and receiving GPS signals or a location sensor module for transmitting and receiving location information from a location information transmitter. For example, when the location information transmitter transmits signals in the form of any one of an ultrasonic signal, a UWB signal, and an infrared signal, a sensor module for transmitting and receiving the ultrasonic signal, UWB signal, or infrared signal in response to the transmission is provided [paragraph 106]) , and the first control unit is configured to transmit the own position information together with the state information via the communication device (paragraphs 95 and 106) . Regarding Claim 9. Lee in combination with Foster teaches the work device according to claim 1. Lee does not teach: wherein the first control unit is configured to determine if the work device is located within a control area (29) designated by a user based on the own position information, and upon detecting that the work device is not located within the control area, the prescribed transmission time interval is set to a fourth time interval which is longer than the second time interval. However, Foster teaches: wherein the first control unit is configured to determine if the work device is located within a control area (29) designated by a user based on the own position information, and upon detecting that the work device is not located within the control area, the prescribed transmission time interval is set to a fourth time interval which is longer than the second time interval (The MIT device can determine that its current location is within a safe zone (e.g., such as user's home, a user's work, a user's car, and/or a frequent location, such as a friend's or relative's home) [paragraph 98], and may also determine when the MIT device is lost for more than a specified period of time before selecting a power mode [paragraph 114], which can involve lowering transmission rates to conserve power [paragraph 115] These rates can be incrementally decreased as a duration of time, increase in power at the offset of a decrease in transmission periodicity, or some other arrangement. The fact that a lowered transmission periodicity is one embodiment, and the second time interval is the normal (safe zone) mode, the device’s lost mode can have a transmission time interval which is longer than the second time interval) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with wherein the first control unit is configured to determine if the work device is located within a control area (29) designated by a user based on the own position information, and upon detecting that the work device is not located within the control area, the prescribed transmission time interval is set to a fourth time interval which is longer than the second time interval as taught by Foster so as to allow the work unit to alert a user when it has left the control area, in particular to prevent theft . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US 20220155791 A1 (“Lee”) in combination with Foster et al. US 20200272221 A1 (“Foster”) as applied to claim s 1-4 above, and further in view of Komatsu et al. US 20060109090 A1 (“Komatsu”) . Regarding Claim 5. Lee in combination with Foster teaches the work device according to claim 4. Lee also teaches: further comprising a first battery (19) for supplying electric power to the work unit and the travel unit (The moving robot may have a battery to supply it with power [paragraph 126]) . Lee does not teach: a second battery (38) for supplying electric power to the communication device (Lee does not teach a separate battery for supplying power to the different components) . However, Komatsu teaches: a second battery (38) for supplying electric power to the communication device (A battery can be mounted on the hydraulic excavator [paragraph 5 of the PGPUB]. Additionally, a second, different battery at 6 of FIG. 1 can be used to power the main controller, clocking means, and communication means [paragraph 66 of the PGPUB]) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with a second battery (38) for supplying electric power to the communication device as taught by Komatsu so as to allow power saving and conservation to be applied to be applied to the battery for the communication device independently of the power supply to the work unit and travel unit. Regarding Claim 6. Lee in combination with Foster and Komatsu teaches the work device according to claim 5. Lee does not teach: further comprising a second control unit, when the power is turned on, and the first battery has a charge greater than a prescribed threshold, the first battery supplies electric power to the first control unit and the communication device, and when the charge of the first battery has fallen below the threshold, electric power is supplied from the second battery to the second control unit so that the second control unit continues to transmit the own position information and the state information via the communication unit at a prescribed time interval. However, Komatsu teaches: further comprising a second control unit, when the power is turned on, and the first battery has a charge greater than a prescribed threshold, the first battery supplies electric power to the first control unit and the communication device, and when the charge of the first battery has fallen below the threshold, electric power is supplied from the second battery to the second control unit so that the second control unit continues to transmit the own position information and the state information via the communication unit at a prescribed time interval (It is possible to connect the battery 6 (second battery) to the main controller 2, position detecting controller unit 3, transmission/reception control unit 4 and body information control unit 5 via the switch 8 alone and to intermittently feed power to the main controller 2 and the respective controller units 3, 4, 5 in accordance with timer signals from the clocking means. In this case, the lithium battery serves as a second power feeding means [paragraph 66 of the PGPUB]. The battery supplying power to the work unit (first battery) will lose power in a short time when turned on [paragraph 5 of the PGPUB], and when the battery mounted on the hydraulic excavator is drained, can switch to the secondary power supply that powers the communication device [paragraph 66 of the PGPUB]. Since a charge of 0 is a threshold that can read on the present application, any embodiment wherein the second power supply activates to at least supply power to the clocking and communication system as described in Komatsu) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with further comprising a second control unit, when the power is turned on, and the first battery has a charge greater than a prescribed threshold, the first battery supplies electric power to the first control unit and the communication device, and when the charge of the first battery has fallen below the threshold, electric power is supplied from the second battery to the second control unit so that the second control unit continues to transmit the own position information and the state information via the communication unit at a prescribed time interval as taught by Komatsu so as to allow the system to run on its main power while able to perform work and switch to the backup power purely to run the communication so as to allow the transmitter to communicate the problem, especially if the problem is one that would prevent the work unit from continuing to work. Regarding Claim 7. Lee in combination with Foster and Komatsu teaches the work device according to claim 6. Lee does not teach: wherein the prescribed transmission time interval for transmitting the state information via the communication device is longer when the communication device is in low power mode than when the communication device is in a high power mode. However, Foster teaches: wherein the prescribed transmission time interval for transmitting the state information via the communication device is longer when the communication device is in low power mode than when the communication device is in a high power mode (In some embodiments, an MIT device may be configured to operate in a low power mode in which an ultra-wide band (UWB) radio of the MIT device may be disabled. The MIT device may be configured to receive, while operating in the low power mode, a wake-up signal from a neighboring wireless device and transition out of the low power mode and enable the UWB radio in response to receipt of the wake-up signal [paragraph 8]. When the device transitions into low power mode, it may begin to transmit beacons at a rate of more than 5 seconds, in some embodiments. For example, in a safe zone mode, the MIT device may transmit beacons less frequently upon wake-up and at a lower power level as compared to a danger zone mode, in which the MIT device may transmit beacons more frequently upon wake-up and/or at a higher power level. In some embodiments, the MIT device may transition back to the ultra-low power mode upon an acknowledgment of an updated location. In some embodiments, the MIT device may transition to one of high power mode and/or ultra-high power mode depending on various criteria (e.g., detection of entrance into a danger zone, instruction received from companion device, movement detection, increasing separation from a companion device, and so forth), prior to transitioning to ultra-low power mode [paragraph 101]. In sum, the MIT may transition to up to four different power modes, wherein each mode of higher power can have a transmission time interval that is faster than the lower power modes, although this is not the only embodiment of Foster) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with wherein the prescribed transmission time interval for transmitting the state information via the communication device is longer when the communication device is in low power mode than when the communication device is in a high power mode as taught by Foster so as to alert a user that the robot is in low power mode. Lee does not teach: the communication device receives electric power from the second battery when in low power mode and the communication device receives electric power from the first battery when in high power mode. However, Komatsu teaches: the communication device receives electric power from the second battery when in low power mode and the communication device receives electric power from the first battery when in high power mode (It is possible to connect the battery 6 (second battery) to the main controller 2, position detecting controller unit 3, transmission/reception control unit 4 and body information control unit 5 via the switch 8 alone and to intermittently feed power to the main controller 2 and the respective controller units 3, 4, 5 in accordance with timer signals from the clocking means. In this case, the lithium battery serves as a second power feeding means [paragraph 66 of the PGPUB]. The battery supplying power to the work unit (first battery) will lose power in a short time when turned on [paragraph 5 of the PGPUB], and when the battery mounted on the hydraulic excavator is drained, can switch to the secondary power supply that powers the communication device [paragraph 66 of the PGPUB]. Since a charge of 0 is a threshold that can read on the present application, any embodiment wherein the second power supply activates to at least supply power to the clocking and communication system as described in Komatsu) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with the communication device receives electric power from the second battery when in low power mode and the communication device receives electric power from the first battery when in high power mode as taught by Komatsu so as to allow the system to conserve power when charge is low enough that the system needs to switch to the secondary power source. Regarding Claim 8. Lee in combination with Foster and Komatsu teaches the work device according to claim 1. Lee does not teach: wherein when the first control unit has detected the operating state to be not normal, the first control unit switches to a lower power mode upon elapsing of a prescribed time period from a time point of detecting the operating state to be not normal. However, Foster teaches: wherein when the first control unit has detected the operating state to be not normal, the first control unit switches to a lower power mode upon elapsing of a prescribed time period from a time point of detecting the operating state to be not normal (In some embodiments, the MIT device may determine it is lost, based on a duration of time since a last communication with a companion device. the determination may be further based, at least in part, on a duration of time since a location update and/or receipt of a signal from a device associated with a location server. In such instances, the MIT device may transition to a power state (or power mode) associated with a lost mode of operation. In some embodiments, operating in the lost mode may include the MIT device altering and/or adjusting transmission power and/or transmission rates to further conserve battery power and increase the probability of discovery [paragraph 115]. The second power state can be based on a “normal operating state” while the first time interval is “not normal”, because there is no real specificity in either the present application or in Foster as to the order of the first and second operating state) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with wherein when the first control unit has detected the operating state to be not normal, the first control unit switches to a lower power mode upon elapsing of a prescribed time period from a time point of detecting the operating state to be not normal as taught by Foster so as to reduce power usage when the robot is stuck in a pit and unable to move. Lee also does not teach: the lower power mode involves the first control unit ceasing supply of electric power from a battery to the first control unit. However, Komatsu teaches: the lower power mode involves the first control unit ceasing supply of electric power from the first battery to the first control unit (It is possible to connect the battery 6 (second battery) to the main controller 2, position detecting controller unit 3, transmission/reception control unit 4 and body information control unit 5 via the switch 8 alone and to intermittently feed power to the main controller 2 and the respective controller units 3, 4, 5 in accordance with timer signals from the clocking means. In this case, the lithium battery serves as a second power feeding means [paragraph 66 of the PGPUB]. The battery supplying power to the work unit (first battery) will lose power in a short time when turned on [paragraph 5 of the PGPUB], and when the battery mounted on the hydraulic excavator is drained, can switch to the secondary power supply that powers the communication device [paragraph 66 of the PGPUB]. Since a charge of 0 is a threshold that can read on the present application, any embodiment wherein the second power supply activates to at least supply power to the clocking and communication system as described in Komatsu) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Lee with the lower power mode involves the first control unit ceasing supply of electric power from the first battery to the first control unit as taught by Komatsu so as to allow the system to conserve power when charge is low enough that the system needs to switch to the secondary power source . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Letsky US 20160057925 A1 (“Letsky”), which teaches a working robot that can communicate a state of health of the robot to an information server, or to a personal device such as a smart phone [paragraph 111] . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AARON G CAIN whose telephone number is (571)272-7009. The examiner can normally be reached Monday: 7:30am - 4:30pm EST to Friday 7:30pm - 4:30am. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Wade Miles can be reached at (571) 270-7777. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 2 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 3 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 4 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 5 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 6 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 7 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 8 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 9 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 10 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 11 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 12 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 13 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 14 Art Unit: 3656 Application/Control Number: 19/065,030 Page 15 Art Unit: 3656