DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4506271 A Gonzalez; Brian L.
Regarding claim 1, Gonzalez teaches, a deployable structure, comprising: a plurality of modular deployable structures (elements 17-24), wherein each of the plurality of modular deployable structures are separate structures from each of another of the plurality of modular deployable structures (elements 17-24), and each of the plurality of modular deployable structures are separately deployable from a collapsed configuration to an expanded configuration when separated (cols. 3-4, lines 61-12).
Regarding claim 2, Gonzalez teaches, the deployable structure of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of modular deployable structures comprises an attachment feature configured to attach with the attachment feature of another of the plurality of modular deployable structures (fig. 5).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190144141 A1 Barnes; Nathaniel C. et al.
Regarding claim 13, Barns teaches, a method of deploying a deployable structure, comprising: launching (para 0034) a plurality of modular deployable structures (fig. 2, elements 212, 214, 216, 218) to a deployment location (para 0034), wherein each of the plurality of modular deployable structures are separate structures from each of another of the plurality of modular deployable structures (fig. 2, elements 212, 214, 216, 218), and each of the plurality of modular deployable structures are separately deployable from a collapsed configuration to an expanded configuration when separated (fig. 3A-3C); coupling the plurality of modular deployable structures together to form the deployable structure (para 0015); and deploying the deployable structure from a collapsed configuration to a deployed configuration (figs. 4A-4C para 0030).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 and 14-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art Gonzalez teaches separately deployable structures from a collapsed position with attachment features, but fails to teach, “wherein the attachment feature comprises a mated surface configured to correspond to another mated surface of another attachment feature… are configured for ultrasonic welding” or “a perimeter frame, wherein the perimeter frame is collapsible and expandable between a stowed configuration having a reduced volume and a deployed configuration having an expanded volume relative to the reduced volume”.
Prior art Barns teaches, method of deploying, comprising launching a plurality of modular structures, but fails to teach, “wherein the launch of the plurality of modular deployable structures includes storing each of the plurality of modular deployable structures in separate payloads”. Alone or in combination with the prior art of record, it would not have been obvious to meet the overall claim without impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642