DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shreepathi Bhat et al. (US 2025/0211107).
In reference to claim 1 Shreepathi Bhat discloses in Figures 1, 6 and 7, a circuit comprising:
a transistor (PS1) having a first terminal (150) , a second terminal (163), and a control terminal (171);
driver circuitry (170, 180) having a set of first terminals (input terminals to drivers 170 and 180) and a second terminal (output terminal of driver 170); and
control circuitry (120) having a first terminal (input terminal receiving Vx) and a set of second terminals (output terminals of control circuit 120), the first terminal of the control circuitry (120) coupled to the first terminal (150) of the transistor (PS1), each terminal of the set of second terminals of the control circuitry (150) coupled to a respective terminal of the set of first terminals of the driver circuitry (170, 180), wherein the control circuitry (150) is configurable to:
monitor a voltage (Vx) at the first terminal of the control circuitry (150);
monitor a state of a first control signal (comp_window, which indicates that it is okay to make a comparison using voltage Vx; see Figure 7 and [0044]);
identify a switching event for the transistor as a soft-switching event responsive to the voltage and the first control signal (this is indicated by the output of the soft switching enable signal (SS_EN)); and
in response to identifying the switching event for the transistor as a soft-switching event, adjust second control signals at the set of second terminals of the control circuitry (see also Figure 4, wherein when the conditions for soft-switching are met transistor PS1 is controlled to be transitioned to soft switching).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreepathi Bhat et al. (US 2025/0211107).
In reference to claim 6, Shreepathi Bhat discloses all the limitations of the claim as noted above with respect to claim 1. Shreepathi Bhat also discloses in [0105] that the circuit (voltage regulator which includes the circuit in Figure 1) is part of an integrated circuit. Shreepathi Bhat does not disclose that the integrated circuit includes a die with the transistor and the driver circuitry. Integrated circuits having one or more dies with the circuitry placed on the dies are well known to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Shreepathi Bhat further discloses the use of die packages (see [0086]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the methods known at the time to design the circuitry for a desired outcome. Furthermore, it would not have required any undue experimentation to design a circuit in which the transistor and driver are placed on a single or separate dies. The same applies to claim 7.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shreepathi Bhat et al. (US 2025/0211107) in view of Kaufmann et al. (US 12,635,221).
In reference to claim 8, Shreepathi Bhat discloses all the limitations of the claim as noted above with respect to claim 1. Shreepathi Bhat does not disclose wherein the transistor (PS1) is a gallium nitride (GaN) transistor. Kaufmann discloses in column 1, lines 31-36 several advantages of using GaN transistors in power converters, such as cost savings, switching-speed and reduced size. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the transistor (PS1) of Shreepathi Bhat using GaN transistors for any of the advantages disclosed by Kaufmann.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA F COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836