DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365 is acknowledged. The prior-filed application (PRO 63/559637 filed on February 29, 2024) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 22 August 2025 (two submissions) and 18 September 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. A streamlined analysis of claim 1 follows.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a breath test method. Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
The claim is then analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exception. The following limitations set forth a judicial exception:
“…analyzing the breath samples.”
These limitations describe a mental process as the skilled artisan is capable of analyzing the breath samples and making a mental assessment thereafter. Examiner also notes that nothing from the claims suggest that the limitations cannot be practically performed by a human, or using simple pen/paper.
Next, the claim as a whole is analyzed to determine whether any element, or combination of elements, integrates the identified judicial exception into a practical application.
For this part of the 101 analysis, the following additional limitations are considered:
“A breath test method, comprising the steps of obtaining a pre-meal baseline breath sample from a test subject; providing a test meal comprising oatmeal and 13C-Spirulina, the 13C-Spirulina being bound to components of the oatmeal; allowing the test subject to consume the test meal; obtaining breath samples from the test subject at a series of time points after consumption of the test meal…”
These additional limitations do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Rather, the additional limitations are each recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity, e.g., mere data gathering steps necessary to perform the identified judicial exception fail to integrate the claimed invention into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional limitations also do not add significantly more to the identified judicial exception because it is widely-understood, routine, and conventional in the art of gastric emptying breath tests to provide a breath test and test meal in the manner recited. See prior art cited in the current office action for example teachings.
Dependent claims 2-18 also fail to add something more to the abstract independent claims as they further recite conventional methods for obtaining breath sample data. See prior art cited in the current office action for example teachings.
Therefore, claims 1-18 are not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bush et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2008/0281166 A1) (hereinafter “Bush”) in view of Kolbe et al. (Establishment of normal reference values for radiolabeled oatmeal gastric-emptying studies and comparison to an egg-based radiolabeled meal, Journal of Nuclear Medicine, Vol. 60, Issue supplement 1, May 2019) (hereinafter “Kolbe”).
With respect to claim 1, Bush teaches a breath test method, comprising the steps of obtaining a pre-meal baseline breath sample from a test subject (par.0043 “baseline breath sample is collected before the meal is administered… pre-meal”); providing a test meal comprising oatmeal and 13C-Spirulina (par.0040-43, 45, 47: “suppling the patient with a meal containing… spirulina… 13C-Spirulina”), the 13C-Spirulina being bound to components of the oatmeal (par.0042 “lyophilized powder containing both a pasteurized scrambled egg mix and approximately 10 mg of .sup.13C-Spirulina platensis is rehydrated with potable water”; see also par.0066); allowing the test subject to consume the test meal (par.0031 “the meal is consumed”; par.0042 “breath test meal… for human consumption… whole eggs and .sup.13C-Spirulina platensis that has been lyophilized together and then reconstituted”); obtaining breath samples from the test subject at a series of time points after consumption of the test meal (par.0041 “Breath samples, collected before and after the test meal at strategic time points”); and analyzing the breath samples (par.0041 “Breath samples… are analyzed to determine the ratio of .sup.13CO.sub.2/.sup.12CO.sub.2 in each breath sample”).
However, Bush does not teach a test meal comprising oatmeal.
Kolbe teaches utilizing oatmeal in a gastric-emptying study (title, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (“PHOSITA”) when the invention was filed to modify Bush such that the test meal comprises oatmeal (in place of another test meal such as eggs) as doing so would be a simple substitution. Moreover, Kolbe provides added motivation to utilize oatmeal as the test meal in a gastric-emptying study in order to determine if a patient’s GE results are within normal limits (see Kolbe, conclusions, last sentence). Lastly, PHOSITA would have had predictable success combining Bush and Kolbe since both teachings relate to the same narrow field of endeavor of gastric-emptying studies. See also prior art cited at the end of the current office action for additional example teachings of utilizing oatmeal as part of a gastric emptying measurement.
With respect to claim 2, Bush teaches wherein the series of time points includes 45, 90, 120, 150, 180 and 240 minute time points (par.0027).
With respect to claim 3, Bush teaches wherein the 13C-Spirulina is present in an amount of from 50 mg to 200 mg (par.0040, 45).
With respect to claim 4, Kolbe teaches wherein the oatmeal is present in an amount of from 20 grams to 60 grams (abstract “0.98oz of instant oatmeal” equates to ~27.78 grams). As set forth above, PHOSITA would have had predictable success when the invention was filed incorporating oatmeal (in place of eggs) as doing so would be a simple substitution. Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that the oatmeal is present in an amount of from 20 grams to 60 grams as this is a result-effective variable.
With respect to claim 5, Bush teaches further comprising whole milk (par.0029). See also prior art cited at the end of the current office action for additional example teachings of utilizing whole milk as part of a gastric emptying measurement.
With respect to claim 6, Bush does not expressly teach wherein the whole milk is present in an amount of from 90 mL to 270 mL. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that the whole milk is present in in an amount of from 90 mL to 270 mL as this is a result-effective variable.
With respect to claim 7, Kolbe teaches further comprising cane sugar (Methods “sugar packet”). As set forth above, PHOSITA would have had predictable success when the invention was filed incorporating oatmeal (in place of eggs) as doing so would be a simple substitution. Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that cane sugar (sugar packet) is also present in order to further establish if a patient’s GE results are within normal limits, as suggested by Kolbe (Methods, Conclusions). See also prior art cited at the end of the current office action for additional example teachings of utilizing cane sugar as part of a gastric emptying measurement.
With respect to claim 8, Kolbe does not expressly teach wherein the cane sugar is present in an amount of from 8 grams to 20 grams. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that the cane sugar is present in an amount of from 8 grams to 20 grams as this is a result-effective variable.
With respect to claim 9, Bush teaches further comprising water (par.0029).
With respect to claim 10, Bush does not expressly teach wherein the water is present in an amount of from 120 mL to 240 mL. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that the water is present in in an amount of from 120 mL to 240 mL as this is a result-effective variable.
With respect to claim 11, the combination of Bush and Kolbe suggest comprising oatmeal, whole milk, cane sugar and 13C- Spirulina (Bush teaches milk and 13C-Spirulina, while Kolbe suggests oatmeal and sugar, of which combining all these components in a single meal would only involve routine skill in the art).
With respect to claim 12, Bush teaches wherein the 13C-Spirulina is present in an amount of from 50 mg to 200 mg (par.0040, 45).
With respect to claim 13, Kolbe does not expressly teach wherein the oatmeal is present in an amount of from 20 grams to 60 grams. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that the oatmeal is present in an amount of from 20 grams to 60 grams as this is a result-effective variable.
With respect to claim 14, Bush does not expressly teach wherein the whole milk is present in an amount of from 90 mL to 270 mL. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that the whole milk is present in an amount of from 90 mL to 270 mL as this is a result-effective variable.
With respect to claim 15, Kolbe teaches utilizing cane sugar as part of the meal (see methods). However, Kolbe does not expressly teach wherein the cane sugar is present in an amount of from 8 grams to 20 grams. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that the cane sugar is present in an amount of from 8 grams to 20 grams as this is a result-effective variable.
With respect to claim 16, Bush and Kolbe suggest a test meal comprising oatmeal, whole milk, cane sugar, and 13C-Spirulina, as established above (see rejection of claim 11). Bush also teaches utilizing whole milk (par.0029); and 13C-Spirulina in an amount of from 50 mg to 200 mg (par.0040, 45), while Kolbe also teaches utilizing cane sugar and oatmeal in an amount of from 20 grams to 60 grams (methods “0.98oz of instant oatmeal). Moreover, PHOSITA would have had predictable success utilizing the exact amounts of the test meal components as this is a result-effective variable.
With respect to claim 17, Bush teaches further comprising water (par.0029).
With respect to claim 18, Bush does not expressly teach wherein the water is present in an amount of from 120 mL to 240 mL. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed such that the water is present in an amount of from 120 mL to 240 mL as this is a result-effective variable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/065424 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they ae obvious variants of one another.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PG Pub. No. 2007/0014718 A1, see par.0023
US PG Pub. No. 2004/0062711 A1, see par.0023, 27; claim 1
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791