DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 10 reads “the plurality of micro-pixel ICs” but it should read “the at least one micro-pixel IC” for consistency with line 7. This is the interpretation given for the purpose of examination and is consistent with the specification, where a plurality of micro-pixel ICs 130 are not disclosed with one package but instead one micro-pixel IC is disclosed with one relay substrate 110 and multiple LEDs 120 (Fig. 12), or multiple micro-pixel ICs are disclosed each with a respective relay substrate (Fig. 10).
Claim 12 depends on claim 1 but the “via hole” is introduced in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, claim 12 was interpreted to depend on claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,260,808 (hereinafter ‘808). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent ‘808 claims are more specific and therefore anticipate or make obvious the instant claims. The following table highlights the portions of the instant claims that are not described in the corresponding claim but that are inherent or made obvious by another patent ‘808 claim, as explained below.
Instant
Patent ‘808
1. A transparent display module, comprising: a transparent substrate; a line pattern provided on the transparent substrate in a form of a two-dimensional grid; and a plurality of micro-pixel packages provided on the line pattern, each micro-pixel package comprising a relay substrate, a plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on a first surface of the relay substrate and at least one micro-pixel integrated circuit (IC) provided on a second surface of the relay substrate that is opposite to the first surface of the relay substrate; wherein the plurality of micro-pixel ICs is configured to supply a driving current to the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements, wherein the each micro-pixel package further comprises: an upper wiring provided on the first surface of the relay substrate and extending from the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements, a lower wiring provided on the second surface of the relay substrate and extending from the at least one micro-pixel IC, an upper connection pad provided on an edge of the first surface of the relay substrate, a lower connection pad provided on an edge of the second surface of the relay substrate, and a side wiring formed on a side of the relay substrate to connect the upper connection pad and the lower connection pad, and wherein the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements are electrically connected to the at least one micro-pixel IC through the upper wiring, the upper connection pad, the side wiring, the lower connection pad, and the lower wiring.
1. A transparent display module, comprising: a transparent substrate; a line pattern provided on the transparent substrate in a form of a two-dimensional grid; a plurality of micro-pixel packages, each micro-pixel package comprising a relay substrate, at least one micro-pixel integrated circuit (IC) provided on the line pattern and a plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on the at least one micro-pixel IC in which: the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements are provided on a first surface of the relay substrate and the at least one micro-pixel IC is provided on a second surface of the relay substrate that is opposite to the first surface of the relay substrate, and a plurality of transparent areas formed in areas in which the line pattern is not provided, wherein the at least one micro-pixel IC includes at least one pixel circuit configured to supply a driving current to the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements, wherein the plurality of micro-pixel packages are electrically connected to the transparent substrate by solder balls, wherein a height of each of the solder balls is greater than a height of the at least one micro-pixel IC such that the at least one micro-pixel IC is not in contact with the transparent substrate wherein the each micro-pixel package comprises: an upper wiring provided on the first surface of the relay substrate and extending from the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements; a lower wiring provided on the second surface of the relay substrate and extending from the at least one macro-pixel IC: an upper connection pad provided on an edge of the first surface of the relay substrate, a lower connection pad provided on an edge of the second surface of the relay substrate; and wherein the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on the first surface of the relay substrate are electrically connected to the at least one micro-pixel IC provided on the surface of the relay substrate through the upper wiring, the upper connection pad, the side wiring, the lower connection pad, and the lower wiring.
14. A transparent display apparatus comprising: at least one display module; and a driver integrated circuit (IC) configured to generate a driving signal to be supplied to the at least one display module, wherein the at least one display module comprises: a transparent substrate, a line pattern provided on the transparent substrate in a form of a two-dimensional grid, and a plurality of micro-pixel packages provided on the line pattern, each micro-pixel package comprising a relay substrate, a plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on a first surface of the relay substrate and at least one micro-pixel integrated circuit (IC) provided on a second surface of the relay substrate that is opposite to the first surface of the relay substrate, wherein the plurality of micro-pixel ICs is configured to supply a driving current to the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements, wherein the each micro-pixel package further comprises: an upper wiring provided on the first surface of the relay substrate and extending from the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements, a lower wiring provided on the second surface of the relay substrate and extending from the at least one micro-pixel IC, an upper connection pad provided on an edge of the first surface of the relay substrate, a lower connection pad provided on an edge of the second surface of the relay substrate, and a side wiring formed on a side of the relay substrate to connect the upper connection pad and the lower connection pad, and wherein the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements are electrically connected to the at least one micro-pixel IC through the upper wiring, the upper connection pad, the side wiring, the lower connection pad, and the lower wiring.
1. A transparent display module, comprising: a transparent substrate; a line pattern provided on the transparent substrate in a form of a two-dimensional grid; a plurality of micro-pixel packages, each micro-pixel package comprising a relay substrate, at least one micro-pixel integrated circuit (IC) provided on the line pattern and a plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on the at least one micro-pixel IC in which: the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements are provided on a first surface of the relay substrate and the at least one micro-pixel IC is provided on a second surface of the relay substrate that is opposite to the first surface of the relay substrate, and a plurality of transparent areas formed in areas in which the line pattern is not provided, wherein the at least one micro-pixel IC includes at least one pixel circuit configured to supply a driving current to the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements, wherein the plurality of micro-pixel packages are electrically connected to the transparent substrate by solder balls, wherein a height of each of the solder balls is greater than a height of the at least one micro-pixel IC such that the at least one micro-pixel IC is not in contact with the transparent substrate wherein the each micro-pixel package comprises: an upper wiring provided on the first surface of the relay substrate and extending from the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements; a lower wiring provided on the second surface of the relay substrate and extending from the at least one macro-pixel IC: an upper connection pad provided on an edge of the first surface of the relay substrate, a lower connection pad provided on an edge of the second surface of the relay substrate; and wherein the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on the first surface of the relay substrate are electrically connected to the at least one micro-pixel IC provided on the surface of the relay substrate through the upper wiring, the upper connection pad, the side wiring, the lower connection pad, and the lower wiring.
Instant claim 1 is anticipated by patent ‘808 claim1 except for the limitation “a side wiring formed on a side of the relay substrate to connect the upper connection pad and the lower connection pad” which is described in patent ‘808 claim 12 (col. 22 line 23-25), therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date that the side wiring in patent ‘808 claim 1 is a side wiring as described in patent ‘808 claim 12, in order to obtain the predictable result of a side wiring connecting the upper and lower wirings.
Instant claim 14 is anticipated by patent ‘808 claim 1 except for the limitations “a driver integrated circuit (IC) configured to generate a driving signal to be supplied to the at least one display module” and “a side wiring formed on a side of the relay substrate to connect the upper connection pad and the lower connection pad”, these limitations are described in patent ‘808 claim 12 (col. 21 lines 47-50 and col. 22 lines 23-25), therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that patent ‘808 claim 1 would include the driver IC and the side wiring as described in patent ‘808 claim 12, in order to obtain the predictable result of a driver supplying the driving signal and a side wiring connecting the upper and lower wirings.
Instant claims 2 and 15 are anticipated by patent ‘808 claims 1+9 except for the limitation “the plurality of micro-pixel packages are not provided on the plurality of transparent areas” which is not explicitly disclosed in the patent ‘808 claims but it is implied by the patent ‘808 claim 1 (col. 20 lines 25-28, lines 36-37) where “each micro-pixel package comprising…at least one micro-pixel IC provided on the line pattern” and “a plurality of transparent areas formed in areas in which the line pattern is not provided”, thus implying that the micro-pixel IC formed on the line pattern is not provided on the transparent area.
The remaining claims map as follows:
Instant
3, 16
4, 17
5, 18
6, 19
7, 20
8
9
10
11
12
13
‘808
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
10
11
1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the at least one micro-pixel IC is electrically connected to each inorganic light emitting element through a respective via hole that spans from the second surface of the relay substrate to the first surface of the relay substrate”, but parent claim 1 recites “wherein the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements are electrically connected to the at least one micro-pixel IC through the upper wiring, the upper connection pad, the side wiring, the lower connection pad, and the lower wiring”; which results in a combination of via holes and side wiring connections between the LEDs and the pixel IC. This combination is not supported by the disclosure to which this application claims priority, and therefore claim 11 fails to comply with the written description requirement. In specific, the instant application is a continuation of 18/114,017 which discloses via holes in the embodiment of Fig. 11 and side wirings in the embodiment of Fig. 12, but 18/114,017 fails to disclose a combination of side wirings (as recited in instant claim 1) and via holes (as recited in instant claim 11).
Dependent claim 12 inherits the issues of parent claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bower et al. in US 2020/0295120 (hereinafter Bower) in view of Ootorii in US 2012/0256814 (hereinafter Ootorii).
Regarding claim 1, Bower disclose a transparent display module (Bower’s Fig. 1 and par. 53-54: display structure 99 comprising transparent screen support 10), comprising:
a transparent substrate (Bower’s Fig. 1 and par. 54: screen support 10 substantially transparent);
a line pattern provided on the transparent substrate (Bower’s Figs. 13, 15: see pattern of 60 and 80) in a form of a two-dimensional grid (Bower’s Figs. 13, 15); and
a plurality of micro-pixel packages (Tao’s Fig. 2 and par. 63: see LEDs 20 which are packaged per par. 47 and thus equivalent to tile 40 in Bower’s Fig. 1 per par. 53) provided on the line pattern (Tao’s Fig. 2 and par. 87, 123), each micro-pixel package (Bower’s Fig. 1: tile 40) comprising a relay substrate (Bower’s Figs. 1, 10 and par. 53: substrate 42), a plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on a first surface of the relay substrate (Bower’s Fig. 1 and par. 53: see light emitters 52 shown on top surface of 42 in Fig. 10) and at least one micro-pixel integrated circuit (IC) provided on a second surface of the relay substrate that is opposite to the first surface of the relay substrate (Bower’s Figs. 1, 10 and par. 53: see controller 56 shown on bottom surface of 42);
wherein the at least one of micro-pixel ICs (Bower’s Fig. 10: see 56) is configured to supply a controlling signal (Bower’s par. 53: controller 56 controls pixels) to the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 53: LEDs 52),
wherein the each micro-pixel package (Bower’s Figs. 1, 10: see 40) further comprises:
an upper wiring provided on the first surface of the relay substrate and extending from the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 53: see 60 to LED 52),
a lower wiring provided on the second surface of the relay substrate and extending from the at least one micro-pixel IC (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 53: see 62 to controller 56),
an upper connection pad provided on an edge of the first surface of the relay substrate (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 63-64: see top portion of 66 on left top edge of 42 overlapping 60),
a lower connection pad provided on an edge of the second surface of the relay substrate (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 63-64: see bottom portion of 66 on bottom edge of 42 overlapping 62), and
a side wiring formed on a side of the relay substrate to connect the upper connection pad and the lower connection pad (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 63-64: see side portion of 66), and
wherein the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements are electrically connected to the at least one micro-pixel IC through the upper wiring, the upper connection pad, the side wiring, the lower connection pad, and the lower wiring (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 63-64).
Bower fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one of micro-pixel ICs is configured to supply a driving current to the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements.
However, in the same field of endeavor of displays formed by pixel chips, Ootorii disclose the chip supplying a driving current to the LED (Ootorii’s par. 3-4: current flowing to LED controlled by TFT, and TFT built in a driver IC for each pixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Bowen’s controlling signal (Bower’s par. 53: controller 56 controls pixels) is a driving current (Ootorii’s par. 3), in order to obtain the predictable result of a known method of driving LEDs (Ootorii’s par. 3). By doing such combination, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose:
wherein the at least one of micro-pixel ICs (Bower’s Fig. 10: see 56 equivalent to driver IC of Ootorii’s par. 4) is configured to supply a driving current (Bower’s par. 53: controls pixel which upon combination is by current per Ootorii’s par. 3) to the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements (Ootorii’s par. 3-4).
Regarding claim 14, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose a transparent display apparatus (Bower’s Fig. 1 and par. 53-54: display structure 99 comprising transparent screen support 10) comprising: at least one display module (Bower’s Fig. 1: display structure 99 equivalent to 210 in Ootorii’s Fig. 27); and a driver integrated circuit (IC) (Ootorii’s Figs. 24, 27 and par. 96: see 220) configured to generate a driving signal to be supplied to the at least one display module (Ootorii’s Fig. 27 and par. 96, 100), wherein the at least one display module comprises:
all limitations as explained for claim 1.
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Bower includes a driver integrated circuit (as disclosed by Ootorii) in order to obtain the benefit of controlling the display based on a video signal input from the outside (Ootorii’s par. 100).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose wherein the at least one micro-pixel IC (Bower’s Fig. 10: see 56) includes at least one pixel circuit configured to supply the driving current (Bower’s par. 53: controller 56 controls pixels which upon combination includes a TFT [pixel circuit] supplying current per Ootorii’s par. 3-4) to the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements (Bower’s Figs. 1 and 10: LEDs 52).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose wherein the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements (Bower’s Fig. 1: see LEDs 52) constitute a plurality of pixels that are two-dimensionally arranged (Figs. 16-17 and par. 53: see pixels 50),
wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises two or more inorganic light emitting elements among the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements (Bower’s Figs. 2-3 and par. 59: each pixels comprises three light emitters 52).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose wherein the plurality of micro-pixel ICs (Bower’s Fig. 10: see 56) correspond to the plurality of pixels (Bower’s par. 53: controller 56 control all pixels in a tile or multiple controllers 56 can be provided), respectively, and the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements are supplied with the driving current from a corresponding micro-pixel IC (Bower’s par. 53: controller 56 control all pixels in a tile or multiple controllers 56 can be provided, which upon combination includes supplying current per Ootorii’s par. 3-4).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose wherein at least one micro-pixel IC of the plurality of micro-pixel ICs (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 53: see 56) supplies the driving current to two or more pixels from the plurality of pixels (Bower’s and par. 53: controller 56 control all pixels in a tile such as one with multiple pixels of Figs. 16-17, which upon combination includes supplying current per Ootorii’s par. 3-4).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose wherein a number of micro-pixel ICs in the plurality of micro-pixel ICs (Bower’s par. 53: pixel controller 56 [one]) is smaller than a number of pixels in the plurality of pixels (Bower’s par. 53: all pixels in a tile, which are multiple as shown in Figs. 16-17).
Regarding claim 8, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose wherein the at least one micro-pixel IC of the plurality of micro-pixel ICs (Bower’s par. 53: pixel controller 56) supplies the driving current to at least one pixel adjacent thereto from the plurality of pixels (Bower’s and par. 53: controller 56 control all pixels in a tile such as one with adjacent pixels of Figs. 16-17) through the line pattern (Bower’s Figs 10-13: see line pattern 66 which connects 60 and 62 and transfer control signals from 56 to 50 per par. 53).
Regarding claim 9, Bower in view of Ootorii further disclose wherein the line pattern (Bower’s Figs. 13, 15: see pattern of 60 and 80, which upon combination includes 211 and 212 of Ootorii’s Fig. 27) transfers a gate signal (Ootorii’s Fig. 27 and par. 100: signal for selection of light emitting devices through gate lines 211) and a data signal (Ootorii’s Fig. 27 and par. 100: signal voltage through data lines 212) for image display (Ootorii’s par. 100: video) to the plurality of micro-pixel ICs (Ootorii’s Fig. 27 and par. 100: pixel chips 1 equivalent to 50 in Bower’s Fig. 1 which are driven through controller 56 per par. 53).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Bower’s line patterns include the gate lines and data lines of Ootorii’s Fig. 27, in order to obtain the predictable result of controlling display of video (Ootorii’s par. 100).
Regarding claim 10, Bower in view of Ootorii disclose wherein the at least one micro-pixel IC of the plurality of micro-pixel ICs (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 53: see 56) further comprises an IC control circuit (Bower’s Fig. 10 and par. 53: a controller 56) configured to distribute the transferred gate signal and the data signal (Ootorii’s Fig. 27 and par. 100) to two or more pixel circuits (Bower’s par. 53: controller 56 controls pixels 50 and each pixel 50 includes a TFT that supply driving current to the LED per Ootorii’s par. 3-4) that supply driving currents to the two or more pixels, respectively (Bower’s Figs. 2-3: see pixels 50 where each includes at least three pixels supplied with a current through their respective TFT per Ootorii’s par. 3-4).
Regarding claim 11, Bower in view of Ootorii further disclose wherein the at least one micro-pixel IC is electrically connected to each inorganic light emitting element (Bower’s Figs. 7-8, 10: see connection from 56 [at bottom of 42] to LED 52 [at top of 42]) through a respective via hole that spans from the second surface of the relay substrate to the first surface of the relay substrate (Bower’s Fig. 7 and par. 18, 63: electrical connection can be made with through-via).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Bower uses via holes through the substrate to connect the micro-pixel IC (controller) to the light emitting element (as disclosed in Bower’s Fig. 7), in order to obtain the predictable result of using known technologies for connecting elements on two sides of a substrate (Bower’s Fig. 7 and par. 63).
Regarding claim 12, Bower in view of Ootorii further disclose wherein inners walls of the respective via hole are plated with a conductive material (upon combination, Bower’s par. 63 vias are plated per Ootorii’s par. 74) and remaining portions of the respective via hole are filled with a filling material (Bower’s par. 5: metal-filled vias).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that Bower’s vias (Bower’s Fig. 7) walls are plated (Ootorii’s par. 74), in order to obtain the predictable result of known manufacturing of vias conductors (Ootorii’s par. 74).
Regarding claim 13, Bower in view of Ootorii further disclose wherein the plurality of micro-pixel packages (Bower’s Figs. 1, 10: see 40) are electrically connected to the transparent substrate (Bower’s Fig. 1: screen support 10) by solder balls (Ootorii’s Fig. 35 and par. 111: see chip 1, 4 attached to substrate 313 by solder balls 55, this is equivalent to connecting tiles 40 to support 10 in Bower’s Fig. 1), wherein a height of each of the solder balls is greater than a height of the at least one micro-pixel IC (Ootorii’s par. 116) such that the at least one micro-pixel IC is not in contact with the transparent substrate (Ootorii’s Figs. 35-37: because the solder balls 55 have a height higher than IC 20).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Bower’s pixels packages are connected to the host screen by solder balls as described by Ootorii, in order to obtain the predictable result of using solder joints to mount the packages on the display (Bower’s par. 68: solder joint for tile 40 to bus 80).
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bower in view of Ootorii as applied above, in further view of Tao et al. in US 2020/0350361 (hereinafter Tao).
Bowers in view of Ootorii fail to disclose a plurality of transparent areas are formed in areas in which the line pattern is not provided, and the plurality of micro-pixel packages are not provided on the plurality of transparent areas, wherein the plurality of transparent areas are arranged in a two-dimensional grid such that each transparent area is surrounded by the line pattern, and wherein each row of inorganic light emitting elements from the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on the line pattern alternates with each row of transparent areas from the plurality of transparent areas.
However, in the same field of endeavor of mounting pixel packages on display panels, Tao discloses:
wherein a plurality of transparent areas (Tao’s Fig. 2 and par. 38: areas of pixel P on transparent display 1A where line pattern 30A, LED 20 and chip 50 are not provided. 1A, 30A and 20/50 are equivalent to substrate 10, pattern of lines 20 and tiles 40 in Bower’s Figs. 1, 13) are formed in areas in which the line pattern is not provided (Tao’s Fig. 2: see 30A equivalent to 60 of Bower’s Fig. 13), and the plurality of micro-pixel packages are not provided on the plurality of transparent areas (Tao’s Fig. 2: see areas of pixel P where LED 20 and chip 50 are not provided),
wherein the plurality of transparent areas are arranged in a two-dimensional grid such that each transparent area is surrounded by the line pattern (Tao’s Fig. 2 and par. 38: areas of pixel P where 30A/20/50 are not provided, which are surrounded by line pattern 30A and arranged in a 2D grid as shown), and
wherein each row of inorganic light emitting elements from the plurality of inorganic light emitting elements provided on the line pattern alternates with each row of transparent areas from the plurality of transparent areas (Tao’s Fig. 2: row of LEDs 20 on line pattern 30A alternates with areas where 30A/20/50 are not provided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, that Bower’s transparent substrate, line pattern and pixel packages are arranged in the manner disclosed by Tao’s Fig. 2, in order to obtain the benefit of a transparent display apparatus where a background located on the backside surface side of the display apparatus is visually recognizable (Tao’s Fig. 13 and par. 34).
Conclusion
/LILIANA CERULLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621