DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossack (US 6014473, of record) in view of Sowards (US 2023/0132148).
Regarding claim 1, Hossack discloses an ultrasound device, comprising: a first ultrasound array that transmits a first ultrasound transmission signal and receives a first ultrasound reception signal reflected from a target object; a second ultrasound array that is arranged in a first direction based on the first ultrasound array to transmit a second ultrasound transmission signal and receive a second ultrasound reception signal reflected from the target object; a third ultrasound array that is arranged in a second direction opposite to the first direction based on the first ultrasound array to transmit a third ultrasound transmission signal and receive a third ultrasound reception signal reflected from the target object (Figs. 2-4, 6, 12 – three ultrasound arrays, the first array would be the image data array “18”, the second and third would be the tracking arrays “20” and “22”); and a processor that provides alignment information for aligning the target object and the ultrasound probe based on the first ultrasound reception signal, the second ultrasound reception signal, and the third ultrasound reception signal (4:66-67…5:1-11: motion estimator uses data acquired from all three ultrasound arrays “18”, “20”, and “22”). Hossack does not explicitly disclose that the processor provides a first comparison result according to a shape of a blood vessel included in an ultrasound image generated based on the first ultrasound reception signal. However, Sowards teaches using the shape of a blood vessel to detect an alignment ([0099]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the shape detection of Sowards to the ultrasound system of Hossack, as to provide robust alignment means.
Regarding claim 2, Hossack discloses that a control unit included in the ultrasound device transmits the second ultrasound transmission signal so as to be focused in a direction perpendicular or in a predetermined angle direction with respect to a center of the second ultrasound array, and transmits the third ultrasound transmission signal so as to be focused in a direction perpendicular or in a predetermined angle direction with respect to a center of the third ultrasound array (Figs. 2 and 3 show that the angle is, at least, in a predetermined direction with respect to a center).
Regarding claim 3, Hossack discloses that the processor compares a first amplitude signal corresponding to a magnitude of the second ultrasound reception signal and a second amplitude signal corresponding to a magnitude of the third ultrasound reception signal and provides a second comparison result; and provides an alignment position and direction of the ultrasound probe included in the alignment information according to the second comparison result (4:66-67…5:1-11: motion estimator performs a comparison of second and third reception signals which are used to perform an alignment).
Regarding claims 4-7, Hossack does not explicitly disclose that there is a comparison of similarity/difference values and boundary/interval values for the second and third received signals. However, Hossack teaches performing, at least, a cross correlation of data acquired from the two opposite-sided tracking arrays to track motion of the probe (9:13-54). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the recited steps which are conventionally-known quantitative analyses, as to provide conventional and robust analysis of the tracking array data. An artisan would have understood that the nature and consistency of the values acquired from these two tracking arrays of Hossack would contribute to the claimed alignment data.
Regarding claim 8, while Hossack does not explicitly disclose multiplying first and second amplitude signals to obtain a multiplication signal, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to multiply the signals from the multiple sensors of a detection system, so as to attain robust sensor fusion.
Regarding claim 10, Hossack does not explicitly disclose that the processor provides a second comparison result according to a difference length corresponding to a difference value between a length of a major axis and a length of a minor axis passing through a center of the blood vessel included in the ultrasound image. However, Sowards teaches detecting an ellipse that is defined by a major and minor axes and their lengths ([0104]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the elliptical detection of Sowards to the ultrasound imaging of Hossack, as to provide robust detection of a vessel’s shape.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, while Hossack does not explicitly disclose conveying the alignment information as visual, audio, or tactile information, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to adopt these means of communication as they are conventional, routine, and well-known ways to communicate with a user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M IP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3793