DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “orthogonal projection,” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-13 and 16 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abhyankar et al. (hereinafter Abhyankar) (US9298228).
Regarding claim 1, Abhyankar discloses a server (server, Col 2, Line 51), comprising:
a mainboard (motherboard 10, Col; Line 53) comprising memory expansion connectors (DIMM connectors 162, 163, 662 and 663, Col 3, Line 15);
a central processing unit (CPU) (CPU, Co; 2, line 53) on the mainboard (10) and coupled (Figure 1) to the memory expansion connectors (162, 163, 662 and 663); and
an expanded memory module group (riser cards 120 and 620, mezzanine cards 130 and 630 and several dual inline memory modules (DIMMa) 140, 142, 144, 640, 642, 644, Col2, Line 54) located on one side (Figure 1) of the mainboard (10) and spaced from the mainboard (10), wherein the expanded memory module group (riser cards 120 and 620, mezzanine cards 130 and 630 and several dual inline memory modules (DIMMa) 140, 142, 144, 640, 642, 644, Col2, Line 54) is coupled to the memory expansion connectors (162, 163, 662 and 663).
Regarding claim 2, Abhyankar discloses the server according to claim 1, wherein the expanded memory module group comprises a plurality of expanded memory units independently arranged, and each expanded memory unit is coupled to one or more of the memory expansion connectors. (Figure 1)
Regarding claim 3, Abhyankar discloses the server according to claim 2, wherein each expanded memory unit comprises a circuit board, and a plurality of circuit boards of different expanded memory units are spaced apart from each other. (aforementioned Figure 1)
Regarding claim 4, Abhyankar discloses the server according to claim 2, wherein each expanded memory unit comprises a circuit board, and a plurality of circuit boards of different expanded memory units are interconnected to form an integrated structure. (aforementioned Figure 1)
Regarding claim 7, Abhyankar discloses the server according to claim 1, further comprising: a housing enclosing an accommodation cavity, wherein the mainboard is in the accommodation cavity; and a bracket connected to the housing wherein the bracket is located on one side of the mainboard and spaced from the mainboard; and the expanded memory module group is arranged on the bracket. (Figure 9A)
Regarding claim 10, Abhyankar discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a power supply unit (PSU) (418); and
a server (Column 9, Lines 53-59) coupled to the PSU (418), wherein the server comprises (Column 9, Lines 53-59):
a mainboard (motherboard 10, Col; Line 53) comprising memory expansion connectors (DIMM connectors 162, 163, 662 and 663, Col 3, Line 15);
a central processing unit (CPU) (CPU, Co; 2, line 53) on the mainboard (10) and coupled (Figure 1) to the memory expansion connectors (162, 163, 662 and 663); and
an expanded memory module group (riser cards 120 and 620, mezzanine cards 130 and 630 and several dual inline memory modules (DIMMa) 140, 142, 144, 640, 642, 644, Col2, Line 54) located on one side (Figure 1) of the mainboard (10) and spaced from the mainboard (10), wherein the expanded memory module group (riser cards 120 and 620, mezzanine cards 130 and 630 and several dual inline memory modules (DIMMa) 140, 142, 144, 640, 642, 644, Col2, Line 54) is coupled to the memory expansion connectors (162, 163, 662 and 663).
Regarding claim 11, Abhyankar discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, wherein the expanded memory module group comprises a plurality of expanded memory units independently arranged, and each expanded memory unit is coupled to one or more of the memory expansion connectors. (aforementioned Figure 1)
Regarding claim 12, Abhyankar discloses the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein each expanded memory unit comprises a circuit board, and a plurality of circuit boards of different expanded memory units are spaced apart from each other. (aforementioned Figure 1)
Regarding claim 13, Abhyankar discloses the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein each expanded memory unit comprises a circuit board, and a plurality of circuit boards of different expanded memory units are interconnected to form an integrated structure. (aforementioned Figure 1)
Regarding claim 16, Abhyankar discloses the electronic device according to claim 10, further comprising: a housing enclosing an accommodation cavity, wherein the mainboard is in the accommodation cavity; and a bracket connected to the housing, wherein the bracket is located on one side of the mainboard and spaced from the mainboard, and the expanded memory module group is arranged on the bracket. (aforementioned figure 9A)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abhyankar et al. (hereinafter Abhyankar) (US9298228) in view of Norton et al. (hereinafter Norton) (US20210315124).
Regarding claim 5, Abhyankar discloses the server according to claim 1.
Abhyankar does not expressly disclose wherein the server comprises a first cable that supports a cache-coherent bus, and an expanded memory unit comprises: a first high-speed connector coupled to the memory expansion connectors via the first cable; and memory media coupled to the first high-speed connector.
Norton discloses a first cable that supports a cache-coherent bus, and an expanded memory unit comprises: a first high-speed connector coupled to the memory expansion connectors via the first cable; and memory media coupled to the first high-speed connector (Paragraph 0053 – in its entirety).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the cable supported cache-coherent bus of Norton into the server of Abhyankar.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to incorporate functionality, including, but not limited to, memory coherency, memory management, and/or memory allocation.
Regarding claim 6, Abhyankar in view of Norton, discloses the server according to claim 5, wherein the expanded memory unit further comprises: a memory expansion controller serially coupled between the first high-speed connector and the memory media; and a plurality of memory media coupled to the memory expansion controller comprising one or more types of memory media. (aforementioned Paragraph 0053 – Norton)
Regarding claim 12, Abhyankar discloses the electronic device according to claim 10
Abhyankar does not expressly disclose wherein the server comprises a first cable that supports a cache-coherent bus, and an expanded memory unit comprises: a first high-speed connector coupled to the memory expansion connectors via the first cable; and memory media coupled to the first high-speed connector.
Norton et al. (hereinafter Norton) (US20210315124) discloses a first cable that supports a cache-coherent bus, and an expanded memory unit comprises: a first high-speed connector coupled to the memory expansion connectors via the first cable; and memory media coupled to the first high-speed connector (Paragraph 0053 – in its entirety).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the cable supported cache-coherent bus of Norton into the server of Abhyankar.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to incorporate functionality, including, but not limited to, memory coherency, memory management, and/or memory allocation.
Regarding claim 15, Abhyankar, in view of Norton discloses the electronic device according to claim 14, wherein the expanded memory unit further comprises:
a memory expansion controller serially coupled between the first high-speed connector and the memory media; and a plurality of memory media coupled to the memory expansion controller comprising one or more types of memory media. (aforementioned Paragraph 0053 – Norton)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein the extended memory module group and the CPU are on a same side of the mainboard; and an orthogonal projection of the expanded memory module group on the mainboard at least partially overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the CPU on the mainboard, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship of a memory module group located on the mainboard and spaced from the CPU; and an orthogonal projection of the expanded memory module group on the mainboard at least partially overlapping with an orthogonal projection of the memory module group on the mainboard, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship wherein the extended memory module group and the CPU are on a same side of the mainboard; and an orthogonal projection of the expanded memory module group on the mainboard at least partially overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the CPU on the mainboard, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the interconnection and interrelationship of a memory module group located on the mainboard and spaced from the CPU; and an orthogonal projection of the expanded memory module group on the mainboard at least partially overlapping with an orthogonal projection of the memory module group on the mainboard, as claimed with the remaining limitations of independent claim 18.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US11419239, US10694635.
/XANTHIA C RELFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
7 October 2026