DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I, claims 2-12 in the reply filed on 5/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/7/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2025 and 8/8/2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the visual indicator is “externally visible” from a right side view and left side view, and a plurality of valves, and or more control knobs (claim 1), and, the visual alert indicator is disposed on or in the at least one of the one or more control knobs (claim 4), the visual alert indicator is disposed on the handle (claim 5), reflective material (claim 7) , and the visual alert indicator is disposed on the protective collar (claim 10), and a first port configured to expose an angled, luminescent analog pressure gauge (claim 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the limitations in claim 4, “the visual alert indicator is disposed on or in the at least one of the one or more control knobs”, and, in claim 5, the visual alert indicator is disposed on the handle, and in claim 8, “the one or more control knobs are formed with translucent materials to disperse light”, and in claim 12, “a first port configured to expose an angled, luminescent analog pressure gauge” lack support in the originally filed specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 7 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitations,
in claim 1, “it” should be changed to - -indicator - -,
in claim 7, line 3, “surfaces the” should be changed to - -surfaces on the - -,
in claim 11, “receive expose” should be changed to - - expose - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " a visual alert indicator disposed in operative association with the valve integrated pressure regulator device and the protective shroud such that it is externally visible from a front view, a back view, a right-side view, a left-side view and a top of the valve integrated pressure regulator assembly", which is unclear as to how the indicator 80 is externally visible from a right-side view, and, a left-side view . As shown below in applicant’s figure 1, the indicator 80 is only visible from a right side or left side view, when this view also includes a top perspective viewpoint (indicated with the angled lines). The shroud 50 blocks the left and right viewpoint at walls 51.
Claim 10 recites, “the visual alert indicator is disposed on the protective collar”, which is unclear, since as shown above the indicator 80 is not on the collar 44.
Claim 12 recites, “a recessed portion” which is unclear if this is the same recessed portion in claim 9, or an additional recessed portion?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Jacobsen et al. (EP 4180708A1). The claims are being rejected as best understood based on the 112 rejections above.
Regarding claim 1, Jacobsen et al. disclose a valve integrated pressure regulator assembly 100 comprising: a valve integrated pressure regulator device comprising a body (the inherent body of the integrated valve, para.0009); a gas inlet (port 130); a gas outlet (inherently an outlet is included with the device to flow the gas to the end user); a plurality of valves ( para 0008 shutoff valve, para.0009 integrated valve): a pressure regulator (140, para.0009,0015); one or more control knobs (110); and a pressure gauge or an electronic display (the display of 120, para.0004);
a protective shroud (as shown in Fig. 1, the shroud including the handle, un-numbered and the cover 115, also having the ) configured for covering or enveloping the valve integrated pressure regulator device, the protective shroud further having a plurality of openings (the opening for 130 cover for the port and for the knob 140) and to expose the gas outlet; the one or more control knobs; and the pressure gauge or the electronic display; and a visual alert indicator (120, para.0015,0004) disposed in operative association with the valve integrated pressure regulator device and the protective shroud such that “it” is externally visible from a front view, a back view, a right-side view, a left-side view and a top of the valve integrated pressure regulator assembly (see Fig. 1 and para. 0021, “clearly indicating the valve opening status at a location easily visible for a user at all times”, in as much as applicant’s device is visible in all views).
Regarding claim 2, Jacobsen et al. disclose the protective shroud further comprises a top section defining a handle (un-numbered protruding u-shaped handle to left of 140 as shown in Fig. 1) and an exposed top surface (the surface of the shroud that the upper 120 is located on), the top section further having a central opening configured to expose at least one of the one (the opening of the shroud surrounding 140 knob of the regulator) or more control knobs.
Regarding claim 6, Jacobsen et al. disclose the visual alert indicator is disposed on the exposed top surface (as shown in Fig 1, the upper top indicator 120 is located as claimed).
Regarding claim 9, Jacobsen et al. disclose, as best understood, the protective shroud further comprises: a main body section having a front face with a recessed portion (the recessed portion is considered to be the section of the shroud that is opened once the cover at 130 is pivoted back to expose the connector port 130, see para.0015) and a curved back face; and a bottom section with a protective collar (as shown below in the amended figure).
Regarding claim 10, Jacobsen et al. disclose the visual alert indicator (120) is disposed on the protective collar (as best understood and shown above).
Regarding claim 11, Jacobsen et al. disclose the front face with a recessed portion further comprises a first port (the opening of the shroud once the cover at 130 is open is considered as the first port, para.0015 discloses there is a connector port at 130, as best understood by the drawing above a hinge appears to be at the bottom of the cover 130, this permits the cover to expose the connector port 130, the opening of the shroud once the cover is open is considered as the first port ) configured to receive expose an angled electronic display.
Regarding claim 12, Jacobsen et al. disclose the front face with a recessed portion (the opening within the shroud once the cover is opened to expose the port 130) further comprises a first port (port 130 para. 0015) configured to expose an angled, luminescent analog pressure gauge (there is an opening, therefore it is “configured” to expose an angled, luminescent analog pressure gauge).
When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP 2125.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. ‘708 in view of Brown et al. (US 9546742).
Regarding claim 3 Jacobsen et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that “the visual alert indicator is a collar disposed around the at least one of the one or more control knobs”.
Brown et al. teach the use of the visual alert indicator is a collar (600, col.6, lns. 10-50) disposed around the at least one of the one or more control knobs (210,216, see Fig. 2,7A,7B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a collar and knob as taught by Brown et al. for the knob of Jacobsen et al. to have the visual alert indicator is a collar disposed around the at least one of the one or more control knobs, in order to be able to have a valve indicator that better communicates the position of the valve through the display (Brown et al., col. 1, lns. 26-30).
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. ‘708.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Jacobsen et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that the visual alert indicator is disposed on or in the at least one of the one or more control knobs, and the visual alert indicator is disposed on the handle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Jacobsen et al. to having the visual alert indicator is disposed on or in the at least one of the one or more control knobs, or the visual alert indicator being disposed on the handle, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04 VI C).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. 708 in view of Kuwa et al. (US 10939705).
Regarding claim 7 Jacobsen et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that “one or more surfaces the top section of the protective shroud are formed or coated with reflective material”.
Kuwa et al. teach the use of a reflective material on a shell (col.12, lns. 35-58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a reflective material as taught by Kuwa et al. onto the device of Jacobsen et al. to have one or more surfaces the top section of the protective shroud are formed or coated with reflective material, in order to be able to protect the device or contents therein from UV radiation (Kuwa et al., col. 4, lns. 17-20).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobsen et al. 708 in view of Olthius (US 2737573).
Regarding claim 8 Jacobsen et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed invention, although is silent that the at least one of the one or more control knobs are formed with translucent materials to disperse light.
Olthius teaches the use of a knob having a translucent material (col.3, lns. 47-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a translucent material as taught by Olthius for the material in the knob of Jacobsen et al. to have at least one of the one or more control knobs are formed with translucent materials to disperse light, in order to be able to determine the angular position of the shaft at a glance (Olthius, col. 3, lns. 62-64), and, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one material for another) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753