Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 6/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 13-18 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments and arguments have overcome the previous §112(b), 101 and 102 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1 and 13: “analyzer” (program stored on ROM executed by CPU)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 13, 14, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20180364700A1 (“Liu”) in view of US20200117188A1 (“Yun”).
As per claims 1 and 13, Liu teaches:
A vehicle including an autonomous driving function comprising: at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: control an autonomous driving of the vehicle based on information about the vehicle detected at a first time; analyze, based on the information detected at the first time, a first state of the vehicle by an analyzer relating to the autonomous driving of the vehicle; transmit the information detected at the first time and the first state of the vehicle to a control apparatus located outside of the vehicle via a network. (Liu at least the abstract, [0028], [0066-0067], [0027], [0006])
Liu does not teach, which Yun teaches:
receive, via the network, a second state of the vehicle determined by the control apparatus located outside of the vehicle, the second state being determined based on the information detected at the first time; and control the autonomous driving of the vehicle based on the first state and the second state. (Yun at least the abstract, FIG. 5, FIG. 8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu with the aforementioned limitations taught by Yun with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to provide a vehicle capable of safely controlling autonomous driving without driver intervention (Yun [0010]).
As per claims 2 and 14, Liu additionally teaches:
wherein the analyzer analyzes the first state by an autonomous driving rule relating to the autonomous driving of the vehicle, the autonomous driving rule being generated by learning the information. (Liu at least [0026])
As per claims 4 and 16, Liu additionally teaches:
the information detected by the vehicle is about an area in front of the vehicle, and a state of a peripheral vehicle or a state of a peripheral person in the area including a road is determined as the second state of the vehicle. (Liu at least [0006], FIG. 8)
As per claims 5 and 17, Liu additionally teaches:
wherein a potential to collide with the peripheral vehicle or the peripheral person is determined as the second state of the vehicle. (Liu at least [0121])
Claim(s) 3, 6, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Yun in view of US20200168094A1 (“Shimodaira”).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Liu in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Liu does not disclose:
the second state is determined based on an analysis rule different from the autonomous driving rule.
Shimodaira teaches the aforementioned limitation (Shimodaira at least the abstract, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu with the aforementioned limitations taught by Shimodaira with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to avoid obstacles and congestion (Shimodaira [0025]). The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 3.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Liu in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Liu does not disclose:
the analyzer analyzes the state of the peripheral vehicle or the state of the peripheral person as the first state by an autonomous driving rule relating to the autonomous driving of the vehicle, the autonomous driving rule being different from an analysis rule used in a case where the state of the peripheral vehicle or the state of the peripheral person is determined as the second state.
Shimodaira teaches the aforementioned limitation (Shimodaira at least the abstract, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu with the aforementioned limitations taught by Shimodaira with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 3.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/TODD MELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669