DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 10/9/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 13-18 remain pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims 1 and 13: “analyzer” (program stored on ROM executed by CPU)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 14, 3, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 and 14 recites the limitation "the first analyzer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 3 and 15 do not cure these deficiencies and are thus similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 1 recites "at least one memory", which can be interpreted as a transitory wave. Claims 2-6 do not cure this deficiency and are thus similarly rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 13, 14, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by US20180364700A1 (“Liu”).
Claims 1 and 13:
A vehicle including an autonomous driving function comprising: at least one memory storing instructions, and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to: control an autonomous driving of the vehicle based on information about the vehicle; analyze, based on the information, a first state of the vehicle by an analyzer relating to the autonomous driving of the vehicle; transmit the information to a control apparatus located outside of the vehicle via a network; and control the autonomous driving of the vehicle based on the first state and a second state, the second state being determined outside the vehicle based on the information transmitted from the vehicle. (Liu at least the abstract, [0028], [0066-0067], [0027], [0006])
Claims 2 and 14:
the first analyzer analyzes the first state by an autonomous driving rule relating to the autonomous driving of the vehicle, the autonomous driving rule being generated by learning the information. (Liu at least [0026])
Claims 4 and 16:
the information detected by the vehicle is about an area in front of the vehicle, and a state of a peripheral vehicle or a state of a peripheral person in the area including a road is determined as the second state of the vehicle. (Liu at least [0006], FIG. 8)
Claims 5 and 17:
wherein a potential to collide with the peripheral vehicle or the peripheral person is determined as the second state of the vehicle. (Liu at least [0121])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of US20200168094A1 (“Shimodaira”).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Liu teaches the invention as described above. Liu does not disclose:
the second state is determined based on an analysis rule different from the autonomous driving rule.
Shimodaira teaches the aforementioned limitation (Shimodaira at least the abstract, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu with the aforementioned limitations taught by Shimodaira with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to avoid obstacles and congestion (Shimodaira [0025]). The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 3.
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Liu teaches the invention as described above. Liu does not disclose:
the analyzer analyzes the state of the peripheral vehicle or the state of the peripheral person as the first state by an autonomous driving rule relating to the autonomous driving of the vehicle, the autonomous driving rule being different from an analysis rule used in a case where the state of the peripheral vehicle or the state of the peripheral person is determined as the second state.
Shimodaira teaches the aforementioned limitation (Shimodaira at least the abstract, [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu with the aforementioned limitations taught by Shimodaira with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 3.
Conclusion
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/NAVID Z. MEHDIZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669