DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 20, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, their dependence on indefinite claim 2, renders the claims themselves indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (CN113292123A). Zheng et al. discloses (claim 1) a system for movement of a liquid (Figure 1, pump 1 moves liquid), the system with a photovoltaic cell 12, a gas compressor (in box 13) electrically connected to the photovoltaic cell 12, wherein energy harvested by the photovoltaic cell 12 is capable of powering the gas compressor to compress gas, a compressed gas storage vessel (in box 13) fluidly connected to the gas compressor, wherein compressed gas compressed by the gas compressor is capable of being stored in the compressed gas storage vessel (paragraph [0058], “… The motor uses the electrical energy input from the energy harvesting subsystem to drive the compressor to move and store the compressed gas in the gas storage tank…”), a compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump (in box 13, paragraph [0058], “…turbo expander…”) fluidly connected to the compressed gas storage vessel, wherein compressed gas from the compressed gas storage vessel is capable of driving the compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump. See paragraph [0058].
Regarding claim 10, Zheng et al. discloses that at least a portion of the energy harvested by the photovoltaic cell 12 is configured to drive a pump 1 for pumping a liquid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 11-13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chen et al. (CN114716088A). Zheng et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter except for a conduit for a liquid fluidly connected to the compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump, wherein the compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump is capable of moving the liquid through the conduit, and optionally a desalination unit fluidly connected to the conduit.
Chen et al. teaches for a system for movement of a liquid (Figure 1, booster pump 11 moves liquid), the system with a renewable energy source (waves), a gas compressor 1,3 driven by the renewable energy source, a compressed gas storage vessel 5 fluidly connected to the gas compressor 1,3, wherein compressed gas compressed by the gas compressor is capable of being stored in the compressed gas storage vessel 5, a compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump 11 fluidly connected to the compressed gas storage vessel 5, wherein compressed gas from the compressed gas storage vessel 5 is capable of driving the compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump 11, and that there is a conduit (not numbered) for a liquid fluidly connected to the compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump 11, wherein the compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump 11 is capable of moving the liquid through the conduit, and optionally a desalination unit 13 fluidly connected to the conduit for the purposes of producing fresh water.
Since Zheng et al. and Chen et al. are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Chen et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Zheng et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify system for movement of a liquid of Zheng et al. to include a conduit for a liquid fluidly connected to the compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump, wherein the compressed air-driven motor and/or a compressed air-driven pump is capable of moving the liquid through the conduit, and optionally a desalination unit fluidly connected to the conduit for the purposes of producing fresh water.
Regarding claim 3 (third alternative), Chen et al. teaches that the desalination unit comprises one a reverse osmosis membrane 13.
Regarding claim 4 (second alternative), Chen et al. teaches for a reverse osmosis membrane 13.
Regarding claim 12, Chen et al. teaches that the liquid is moved by the method in and/or into a desalination unit 13.
Regarding claim 13 (second alternative), Chen et al. teaches that the desalination unit is a reverse osmosis membrane 13.
Regarding claim 18, Zheng et al., as modified by Chen et al., at least a portion (indirectly by conversion to energy of pressurized air) of the energy produced by the photovoltaic cell (12 of Zheng et al.) drives a pump (11 of Chen et al.) to move a liquid.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Krasnoff. Zheng et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter except for a photovoltaic cell cooling unit.
Krasnoff teaches for photovoltaic cell 10 to generate and supply electricity to a load device or system (paragraph [0034]) and that there is (claim 5) a photovoltaic cell cooling unit 220 for the purposes of cooling the solar panels. See Krasnoff paragraph [0063].
Since Zheng et al. and Krasnoff are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Krasnoff would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Zheng et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the photovoltaic cell of Zheng et al. to include a photovoltaic cell cooling unit for the purposes of cooling the solar panels.
Claims 8, 9, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, in view of Chen et al. Zheng et al. discloses all of the claimed subject matter except for one or more gears and a second gear and/or a shaft capable of being mechanically connected to the one or more gears.
Official notice is taken that gearing is well known for reducing speed and increasing torque for rotationally driven components specifically motors and or pumps. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zheng et al, as modified by Chen et al. to include one or more gears and a second gear and/or a shaft capable of being mechanically connected to the one or more gears as a matter of engineering expedience.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al., as in view of Chen et al. Zheng et al. discloses (claim 19) a compressed gas turbo-pump system comprising: a photovoltaic cell 12, a gas compressor (in box 13) electrically connected to the photovoltaic cell 12, wherein energy harvested by the photovoltaic cell 12 is capable of powering the gas compressor to compress gas, a compressed gas storage vessel (in box 13) fluidly connected to the gas compressor, wherein compressed gas compressed by the gas compressor is capable of being stored in the compressed gas storage vessel (paragraph [0058], “… The motor uses the electrical energy input from the energy harvesting subsystem to drive the compressor to move and store the compressed gas in the gas storage tank…”), and wherein the compressed gas storage vessel is fluidly connected to the compressed gas inlet of a compressed gas turbo-pump pump (in box 13, paragraph [0058], “…turbo expander…”), the compressed gas turbo-pump comprising a compressed gas inlet; a turbine fluidly connected to the compressed gas inlet; and a gas outlet fluidly connected to the turbine (in box 13). Zheng et al. does not disclose one or more gears and a second gear and/or a shaft capable of being mechanically connected to the one or more gears.
Official notice is taken that gearing is well known for reducing speed and increasing torque for rotationally driven components specifically motors and or pumps. It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Zheng et al, as modified by Chen et al. to include one or more gears and a second gear and/or a shaft capable of being mechanically connected to the one or more gears as a matter of engineering expedience.
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other system for movement of a liquid with photovoltaic cells, compressors, storage vessels, compressed air-driven motor/pumps, and desalination units.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvement comprises (claim 6) that the photovoltaic cell cooling unit is capable of being driven by the compressed air-driven motor and/or the compressed air-driven pump and (claim 14) cooling the photovoltaic cell by driving a photovoltaic cell cooling unit by the compressed air-driven motor and/or the compressed air-driven pump.
Claim 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvement comprises (claim 20) a photovoltaic cell cooling unit capable of being driven by movement of the turbine, the one or more gears, the second gear, and/or the shaft, wherein the photovoltaic cell cooling unit comprises a clutch capable of disconnecting the photovoltaic cell cooling unit from the turbine, the one or more gears, the second gear, and/or the shaft, and where the clutch can control the speed of a cooling fan.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
March 31, 2026