Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3, 10, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HONG (US 20230215357 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses a display comprising: a substrate (substrate 110); and a plurality of display pixels on the substrate, wherein each display pixel in the plurality of display pixels comprises: first subpixels; second subpixels having a greater viewing angle than the first subpixels (Figs. 1-2 and 6-7, each display pixel comprises first, second, and third pixels SP1, SP2, and SP3, and each pixel SP includes a first subpixel comprising a light emitting element De2 and corresponding to a light emission area EA2 and a second subpixel comprising a light emitting element De1 and corresponding to a light emission area EA1; Figs. 3-4 and [0040], [0081]-[0085], second subpixel that comprises a light emitting element De1 has a greater viewing angle than the first subpixel that comprises a light emitting element De2); and driver circuits, wherein each driver circuit of the driver circuit drives at least one of the first subpixels and at least one of the second subpixels (Fig. 7; driving circuit).
Regarding claim 2, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 1, wherein the first subpixels comprise a first red subpixel, a first green subpixel, and a first blue subpixel (Figs. 1-2 and 6-7; SP1, SP2, and SP3 correspond to red, green, and blue pixels, respectively; a first red subpixel comprising a red light emitting element De2, a first green subpixel comprising a green light emitting element De, a first blue subpixel comprising a blue light emitting element De22) and wherein the second subpixels comprise a second red subpixel, a second green subpixel, and a second blue subpixel (Figs. 1-2 and 6-7; a second red subpixel comprising a red light emitting element De1, a second green subpixel comprising a green light emitting element De1, a second blue subpixel comprising a blue light emitting element De1).
Regarding claim 3, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 2, wherein the driver circuits comprise a first driver circuit that drives the first and second red subpixels, a second driver circuit that drives the first and second green subpixels, and a third driver circuit that drives the first and second blue subpixels (e.g., Fig. 7; driving circuit to drive the light emitting element De2 of the first R, G, or B subpixel and the light emitting element De1 of the second R, G, or B subpixel).
Regarding claim 10, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 1, wherein each one of the first subpixels comprises a light-emitting diode (e.g., Fig. 1; light-emitting diode De2) and a microlens (e.g., Fig. 1; microlens 230) that overlaps the light-emitting diode (light-emitting diode De2).
Regarding claim 14, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 1, wherein the first subpixels include red private subpixels, green private subpixels, and blue private subpixels, wherein the second subpixels include red, green, and blue subpixels arranged in public pixels (Figs. 1-2 and 6-7; private subpixels including red subpixel comprising a red light emitting element De2, green subpixel comprising a green light emitting element De, and blue subpixel comprising a blue light emitting element De22, public subpixels including red subpixel comprising a red light emitting element De1, green subpixel comprising a green light emitting element De1, and blue subpixel comprising a blue light emitting element De1), wherein the plurality of display pixels is arranged in repeating unit cells (e.g., Figs. 6 and 12), and wherein each of the unit cells includes at least some of the first subpixels and at least some of the second subpixels (e.g., Figs. 6 and 12).
Regarding claim 17, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 14, wherein each of the unit cells includes a red private subpixel, a green private subpixel, and a blue private subpixel (e.g., Figs. 6 and 12; each unit cell including a red private subpixel, a green private subpixel, and a blue private subpixel).
Regarding claim 18, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 14, wherein all the unit cells are oriented in a common direction (e.g., Figs. 6 and 12).
5. Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HARROLD (US 20240361626 A1).
Regarding claim 27, HARROLD discloses a display (Figs. 1, 16, 18, 26, and 29 show different examples of switchable display operated in a privacy mode and a public mode; take Figs. 1-5 as an example) comprising: a substrate (e.g., Fig. 1A; substrate 3); a plurality of display pixels on the substrate (e.g., Fig. 1A; display pixels 220R, 220G, and 220B); and an adjustable diffractive optical element layer (e.g., Fig. 1A; switchable diffractive view angle control retarder arrangement (SDVACRA) 900) that comprises a diffractive optical element layer (e.g., Figs. 1A-1E; switchable diffractive liquid crystal element 915) interposed between first and second electrode layers (e.g., Figs. 1A-1E; first electrode layer 902A/902C and second electrode layer 902R), wherein each display pixel in the plurality of display pixels is operable in: a first mode (Fig. 5A), wherein the adjustable diffractive optical element layer focuses light from the display pixel in the first mode and wherein the display pixel has a first viewing angle in the first mode (Fig. 5A; narrow viewing angle mode or private mode, switchable diffractive view angle control retarder arrangement (SDVACRA) 900 focuses light, display pixel has a narrow viewing angle); and a second mode (Fig. 3A), wherein the adjustable diffractive optical element layer does not focus light from the display pixel in the second mode and wherein the display pixel has a second viewing angle that is greater than the first viewing angle in the second mode (Fig. 3A; wide viewing angle mode or public share mode, switchable diffractive view angle control retarder arrangement (SDVACRA) 900 does not focus light, display pixel has a wide viewing angle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 4-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HONG (US 20230215357 A1) in view of KIM (US 20250239209 A1).
Regarding claim 4, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 3, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses at least one of the first subpixels and at least one of the second subpixels is selectively connected to a respective driver circuit, but does not disclose emission logic circuits as claimed. However, KIM discloses a display device that can be operated in a wide viewing angle mode (share mode) or a narrow viewing angle mode (private mode) ([0110] and [0214]), the pixel driving circuit as disclosed by KIM (Fig. 4) is same as that disclosed by HONG (Fig. 7), KIM further discloses wherein each display pixel in the plurality of display pixels comprises: emission logic circuits (Figs. 8 and 10; emission control circuit SLC) that each selectively connect at least one of the first subpixels and at least one of the second subpixels to a respective driver circuit (Figs. 4, 8 and 10; emission control circuit SLC selectively connected to light emitting diode ED2 of first subpixel and light emitting diode ED1 of second subpixel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of HONG. The combination/motivation would be to provide an emission control circuit to control the display device to be operated in a wide viewing angle mode (share mode) or a narrow viewing angle mode (private mode).
Regarding claim 5, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 3, but does not disclose emission logic circuits as claimed. However, KIM discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by HONG. KIM discloses wherein each display pixel in the plurality of display pixels comprises: a first emission logic circuit (Figs. 8 and 10; emission control circuit SLC) that selectively connects the first and second red subpixels to the first driver circuit (Figs. 4 and 3A and [0078]-[0079], [0061]); a second emission logic circuit (Figs. 8 and 10; emission control circuit SLC) that selectively connects the first and second green subpixels to the second driver circuit (Figs. 4 and 3A and [0078]-[0079], [0061]); and a third emission logic circuit that selectively connects the first and second blue subpixels to the third driver circuit (Figs. 4 and 3A and [0078]-[0079], [0061]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of HONG. The combination/motivation would be to provide an emission control circuit so that the display device can be operated in different modes (e.g., share mode or private mode) and different color pixels can be individually controlled.
Regarding claim 6, HONG in view of KIM discloses the display defined in claim 5, KIM discloses wherein the first emission logic circuit is operable in a first mode in which the first red subpixel emits light and the second red subpixel does not emit light and a second mode in which the second red subpixel emits light and the first red subpixel does not emit light (e.g., Figs. 8-10 and [0110], [0214], in wide viewing angle mode (share mode), transistor TP1 is turned on, light emitting diode ED1 emits light, and light emitting diode ED2 does not emit light, in narrow viewing angle mode (private mode), transistor TP2 is turned on, light emitting diode ED2 emits light, and light emitting diode ED1 does not emit light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of HONG for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 8, HONG in view of KIM discloses the display defined in claim 5, KIM discloses wherein the first emission logic circuit comprises two transistors that are connected between the driver circuit and a light-emitting diode for the second red subpixel (Figs. 4, 8 and 10; emission control circuit comprises at least two transistors). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of HONG for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 9, HONG in view of KIM discloses the display defined in claim 8, KIM discloses wherein a first transistor of the two transistors has a first gate connected to a privacy mode row control signal and wherein a second transistor of the two transistors has a second gate connected to a privacy mode column control signal (Figs. 9 and 10; emission control circuit, e.g., control signals of transistor T1 and T2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of HONG for the same reason above.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HONG (US 20230215357 A1) in view of KIM (US 20250239209 A1; KIM’209) and further in view of KIM (US 20250280717 A1; KIM’717).
Regarding claim 7, HONG in view of KIM’209 discloses the display defined in claim 5, but does not disclose wherein the first emission logic circuit is operable in a first mode in which the first red subpixel emits light and the second red subpixel does not emit light and a second mode in which the second red subpixel emits light and the first red subpixel does not emit light. However, KIM’717 discloses a display device similar tot hat disclosed by HONG and KIM’209, wherein the first emission logic circuit is operable in a first mode in which the first red subpixel emits light and the second red subpixel does not emit light (Figs. 6-7 and [0137]-[0138]; in narrow angle mode, first red subpixel is turned on to emit light, second red subpixel is turned off) and a second mode in which the second red subpixel emits light and the first red subpixel does not emit light (Figs. 6-7 and [0137]-[0138]; in wide angle mode, both red subpixels are turned on to emit light). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM’717 to the display device of HONG in view of KIM’209. The combination/motivation would be to provide an emission control circuit so that the display device can be operated in different modes (e.g., share mode or private mode) and different color pixels can be individually controlled.
9. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HONG (US 20230215357 A1) in view of HWANG (US 20250248286 A1).
Regarding claim 11, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 10, but does not disclose wherein each one of the first subpixels comprises a color filter element that is interposed between the light-emitting diode and the microlens. However, HWANG (Figs. 9-11) discloses a display device, wherein each one of the first subpixels comprises a color filter element (color filter CF) that is interposed between the light-emitting diode (light emitting diode comprising a first electrode 1310, an emission layer 1320, and a second electrode 1340) and the microlens (microlens LEN). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the color filter as taught from HWANG to the display device of HONG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a full color display device.
10. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HONG (US 20230215357 A1) in view of KIM (US 20220199715 A1).
Regarding claim 12, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 10, but does not disclose wherein each one of the first subpixels comprises a color filter element and wherein the microlens is interposed between the light- emitting diode and the color filter element. However, KIM (e.g., Figs. 1-2) discloses a display device, wherein each one of the first subpixels comprises a color filter element (color filter 720) and wherein the microlens (microlens 610) is interposed between the light- emitting diode (light emitting diode 300) and the color filter element (color filter 720). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the color filter as taught from KIM to the display device of HONG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a full color display device.
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HONG (US 20230215357 A1) in view of YOON (US 20120105750 A1).
Regarding claim 13, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 1, HONG discloses wherein each one of the first subpixels is overlapped by a lens (Fig. 1; lens 230), but does not disclose wherein the display further comprises: a diffractive optical element layer, wherein each one of the first subpixels is overlapped by a diffractive optical element portion of the diffractive optical element layer. However, YOON (e.g., Figs. 1-6 and 9-14) discloses a display device, wherein the display further comprises: a diffractive optical element layer (Figs. 3-4 and [0054]-[0055], [0064]; diffractive element 400), wherein each one of the first subpixels is overlapped by a diffractive optical element portion of the diffractive optical element layer (e.g., Figs. 3-6 and 9-14; diffractive element 400 is controlled to operate in a lens mode and acts as a lens unit). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from YOON to the display device of HONG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a switchable microlens for viewing angle control.
12. Claims 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HONG (US 20230215357 A1) in view of KIM (US 20240257769 A1).
Regarding claim 15, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 1, but does not disclose wherein each of the unit cells includes two red private subpixels, two green private subpixels, and one blue private subpixel. However, KIM (Figs. 2-3 and 5-6) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by HONG, wherein each of the unit cells includes two red private subpixels, two green private subpixels, and one blue private subpixel (e.g., Fig. 7; each unit cell including at least two red private subpixels RE2, two green private subpixels GE2, one blue private subpixel BE2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of HONG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a display device capable of being operated in a private mode and a share mode.
Regarding claim 16, HONG in view of KIM discloses the display defined in claim 15, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses wherein the first subpixels are overlapped by a black matrix layer that limits a viewing angle of the first subpixels relative to the greater viewing angle of the second subpixels (Fig. 1 and [0035]-[0036]; black matrix layer 210).
Regarding claim 20, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 1, wherein the display is configured to display private content in private content regions using the private subpixels, the display is configured to display public content in public content regions using the public pixels (Figs. 3-4 and [0040], [0081]-[0085]; private mode and share mode), but does not disclose the display further comprises: gamma circuitry that is configured to apply a first gamma value to the public content and to apply a second gamma value that is different from the first gamma value to the private content. However, KIM discloses the display further comprises: gamma circuitry that is configured to apply a first gamma value to the public content and to apply a second gamma value that is different from the first gamma value to the private content (Figs. 10-17 and [0159]-[0170]; first gamma signal 1101 and second gamma signal 1102 corresponding to narrow viewing angle mode and wide viewing angle mode, respectively). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of HONG. The combination/motivation would be to provide an appropriate gamma signal to a display device in accordance with different operation mode to improve image quality.
13. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over HONG (US 20230215357 A1) in view of KIM (US 20250279026 A1).
Regarding claim 19, HONG (Figs. 1-7) discloses the display defined in claim 14, but does not disclose wherein at least some of the unit cells are oriented in different directions from one another. However, KIM discloses a display device, wherein at least some of the unit cells are oriented in different directions from one another (Figs. 2 and 7; unit cells have different orientations). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of HONG. The combination/motivation would be to provide a pixel arrangement of a display device capable of being operated in a private mode and a share mode.
14. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KIM (US 20240224692 A1) in view of CUI (US 20250089513 A1).
Regarding claim 21, KIM (Figs. 1-2 and 9-10) discloses a display comprising: a substrate (display substrate 542); and a plurality of display pixels (display pixels P) on the substrate, wherein each display pixel (display pixel P) in the plurality of display pixels comprises: a red subpixel that is not overlapped by any microlenses (Figs. 9-10; red subpixel SPr is not overlapped with any microlens); KIM (Figs. 9-10) further discloses a green subpixel that is overlapped by one microlens and a blue subpixel that is overlapped by one microlens. KIM does not disclose a green subpixel that is overlapped by two or more microlenses and a blue subpixel that is overlapped by two or more microlenses. However, CUI (Figs. 1-2) discloses a display device, a green subpixel that is overlapped by at least one or two or more microlenses and a blue subpixel that is overlapped by at least one or two or more microlenses (Fig. 2 and [0089]; one or multiple microlens 121 overlapped with green subpixel and blue subpixel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CUI to the display device of KIM or incorporate the teaching from KIM to the display device of CUI. The combination/motivation would be to improve a light extraction and improve a color purity of a display device.
15. Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over KIM (US 20240224692 A1; KIM’692) in view of CUI (US 20250089513 A1) and further in view of KIM (US 20250279026 A1; KIM’026).
Regarding claim 22, KIM’692 in view of CUI discloses the display defined in claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the blue subpixel is overlapped by more microlenses than the green subpixel. However, KIM’026 discloses a display device, wherein the blue subpixel is overlapped by more microlenses than the green subpixel (Fig. 2; [0058] and [0055]; blue subpixel overlapped with 10 microlens 163, green subpixel overlapped with 6 microlens). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM’026 to the display device of KIM’692 in view of CUI. The combination/motivation would be to improve a light extraction and improve a color purity of a display device.
Regarding claim 23, KIM’692 in view of CUI discloses the display defined in claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the two or more microlenses overlapping the green subpixel comprises an array of microlenses with more rows than columns. However, KIM’026 discloses a display device, wherein the two or more microlenses overlapping the green subpixel comprises an array of microlenses with more rows than columns (Fig. 2; green subpixel overlapped with 6 microlenses arranged in 3 rows and 2 columns). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM’026 to the display device of KIM’692 in view of CUI. The combination/motivation would be to improve a light extraction and improve a color purity of a display device.
Regarding claim 24, KIM’692 in view of CUI discloses the display defined in claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the two or more microlenses overlapping the green subpixel comprises an array of microlenses with a different number of rows than columns. However, KIM’026 discloses a display device, wherein the two or more microlenses overlapping the green subpixel comprises an array of microlenses with a different number of rows than columns (Fig. 2; green subpixel overlapped with 6 microlenses arranged in 3 rows and 2 columns). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM’026 to the display device of KIM’692 in view of CUI. The combination/motivation would be to improve a light extraction and improve a color purity of a display device.
Regarding claim 25, KIM’692 in view of CUI discloses the display defined in claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the two or more microlenses overlapping the blue subpixel comprises an array of microlenses with more rows than columns. However, KIM’026 discloses a display device, wherein the two or more microlenses overlapping the blue subpixel comprises an array of microlenses with more rows than columns (Fig. 2; blue subpixel overlapped with 10 microlenses arranged in 5 rows and 2 columns). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM’026 to the display device of KIM’692 in view of CUI. The combination/motivation would be to improve a light extraction and improve a color purity of a display device.
Regarding claim 26, KIM’692 in view of CUI discloses the display defined in claim 21, but does not disclose wherein the two or more microlenses overlapping the blue subpixel comprises an array of microlenses with a different number of rows than columns. However, KIM’026 discloses a display device, wherein the two or more microlenses overlapping the blue subpixel comprises an array of microlenses with a different number of rows than columns (Fig. 2; blue subpixel overlapped with 10 microlenses arranged in 5 rows and 2 columns). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM’026 to the display device of KIM’692 in view of CUI. The combination/motivation would be to improve a light extraction and improve a color purity of a display device.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623