DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication 20210262403 to Andersson in view of US Patent 9752521 to Dudar and further in view of US Patent 8528329 to Gibble and further in view of US Patent 9429110 to Ulrey.
As to claim 1, Andersson discloses a computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to issue information to start a power system (Par 0001), the power system comprising an internal combustion engine and a turbo which in turn comprises an inlet air compressor and an exhaust gas turbine (Fig 2), the exhaust gas turbine comprising a turbine wheel (5), the power system comprising an exhaust gas conduit assembly comprising at least one exhaust gas conduit wherein the exhaust gas turbine is adapted to receive exhaust gases from the internal combustion engine via the exhaust gas conduit assembly (Fig 2), the power system comprising an inlet air conduit assembly comprising at least one inlet air conduit wherein the internal combustion engine is adapted to receive inlet air from the inlet air compressor via the inlet air conduit assembly (502, 303), the power system further comprising a throttle arrangement arranged between the internal combustion engine and the turbine wheel (411,412), as seen in a direction of flow from the internal combustion engine to the turbine wheel, the throttle arrangement being adapted to assume a plurality of different conditions for throttling exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine to the turbine wheel (Par 0021-0022, 0026, 0058-0059,0063-0069,0072-0073), the plurality of different conditions comprising an open condition with a smallest throttling of the exhaust gas amongst the plurality of different conditions as well as an at least partially closed condition associated with a throttling being larger than the smallest throttling (Par 0021-0022, 0026, 0058-0059,0063-0069,0072-0073), the power system further comprising a first exhaust gas recirculation path connecting a portion of the exhaust gas conduit assembly located upstream the throttle arrangement (4041 alt 4042), as seen in a direction of flow from the internal combustion engine to the turbine wheel, to a portion of the inlet air conduit assembly located downstream the inlet air compressor, as seen in a direction of flow from the inlet air compressor to the internal combustion engine (Fig 2), the power system further comprising a first exhaust gas recirculation path valve (431 alt 432) adapted to control at least a flow through the first exhaust gas recirculation path; the computer system being configured to: issue information to the power system to initiate a cold starting procedure (Par 0064, Fig 3-5) comprising: controlling the throttle arrangement, and controlling the first exhaust gas recirculation path valve (Par 0021-0022, 0026, 0058-0059,0063-0069,0072-0078).
While Andersson discloses initiating a cold start sequence based on a temperature (Par 0063,0074) to heat the engine where the exhaust throttle is controlled (Par 0072) in relation to pressure differences and the EGR is opened to reduce NOx emissions while preheating the engine (Par 0021-0022, 0026, 0058-0059,0063-0069,0072-0073), it does not expressly disclose:
A) receiving temperature information (TI) indicative of an ambient air temperature of the power system, and in response to determining that the TI indicates the ambient air temperature of the power system being equal to or below a threshold temperature,
B) controlling the throttle arrangement such that an exhaust gas counterpressure upstream the throttle arrangement is within a target exhaust gas counterpressure range (APexhaust),
C) and controlling the first exhaust gas recirculation path valve such that an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine is within a target nitrogen oxides amount range (ANOx,target).
A) Dudar discloses receiving temperature information (TI) indicative of an ambient air temperature of the power system, and in response to determining that the TI indicates the ambient air temperature of the power system being equal to or below a threshold temperature (Col 20, line 6-8,32-38) determines a cold start.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a cold start by receiving temperature information (TI) indicative of an ambient air temperature of the power system, and in response to determining that the TI indicates the ambient air temperature of the power system being equal to or below a threshold temperature using the teachings of Dudar as this would have been a well known manner to determine a cold start of the system in the art where cold start procedures would be required and would work as a backup method of determining cold start in addition to determination of cold start by other means such as the exhaust temperature to avoid incorrectly starting the engine without cold start activation in low ambient temperature.
B) While Andersson does disclose controlling the throttles (411,412) to specific pressure ratios (Par 0072) it does not expressly disclose controlling the throttle arrangement such that an exhaust gas counterpressure upstream the throttle arrangement is within a target exhaust gas counterpressure range, where this is understood to be the pressure upstream of the throttle. However Ulrey discloses controlling the throttle arrangement such that an exhaust gas counterpressure upstream the throttle arrangement is within a target exhaust gas counterpressure range (Col 8, Line 50-Col 9, Line 4).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have Andersson controlling the first exhaust gas recirculation path valve such that an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine is within a target nitrogen oxides amount range both to reach target pressure difference between the exhaust and the cooler as already desired (Par 0072) and to maximize the backpressure to flow exhaust from the first cylinder into the intake (Par 0072) but further in light of the teachings of Ulrey it would be obvious to control the backpressure to a range to maintain the safety of the system and prevent overpressurization and subsequent damage of the system by maintaining the pressure in a safe pressure range.
C) Gibble discloses controlling the exhaust gas recirculation path valve such that an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine is within a target nitrogen oxides amount range (ANOx,target) (Gibble: Col 3, Line 15-29; Col 4, Line 39-50).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Andersson to include controlling the exhaust gas recirculation path valve such that an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine is within a target nitrogen oxides amount range using the teachings of Gibble as the system of Andersson already seeks to reduce the NOx levels through both the first and second EGR use (Par 0072-0075), where it would be optimal to have it set to meet at least a specific range of NOx so as to avoid any pollutant levels that are outside of legal ranges while maintaining optimal engine running and heat up parameters during cold start.
As to claim 2, Andersson discloses a method for starting a power system, the power system comprising an internal combustion engine and a turbo which in turn comprises an inlet air compressor and an exhaust gas turbine (Fig 2), the exhaust gas turbine comprising a turbine wheel (5), the power system comprising an exhaust gas conduit assembly comprising at least one exhaust gas conduit wherein the exhaust gas turbine is adapted to receive exhaust gases from the internal combustion engine via the exhaust gas conduit assembly (Fig 2), the power system comprising an inlet air conduit assembly comprising at least one inlet air conduit wherein the internal combustion engine is adapted to receive inlet air from the inlet air compressor via the inlet air conduit assembly (502, 303), the power system further comprising a throttle arrangement arranged between the internal combustion engine and the turbine wheel (411,412), as seen in a direction of flow from the internal combustion engine to the turbine wheel, the throttle arrangement being adapted to assume a plurality of different conditions for throttling exhaust gas from the internal combustion engine to the turbine wheel (Par 0021-0022, 0026, 0058-0059,0063-0069,0072-0073), the plurality of different conditions comprising an open condition with a smallest throttling of the exhaust gas amongst the plurality of different conditions as well as an at least partially closed condition associated with a throttling being larger than the smallest throttling (Par 0021-0022, 0026, 0058-0059,0063-0069,0072-0073), the power system further comprising a first exhaust gas recirculation path connecting a portion of the exhaust gas conduit assembly located upstream the throttle arrangement (4041 alt 4042), as seen in a direction of flow from the internal combustion engine to the turbine wheel, to a portion of the inlet air conduit assembly located downstream the inlet air compressor, as seen in a direction of flow from the inlet air compressor to the internal combustion engine (Fig 2), the power system further comprising a first exhaust gas recirculation path valve (431 alt 432) adapted to control at least a flow through the first exhaust gas recirculation path; the computer system being configured to: issue information to the power system to initiate a cold starting procedure (Par 0064, Fig 3-5) comprising: controlling the throttle arrangement, and controlling the first exhaust gas recirculation path valve (Par 0021-0022, 0026, 0058-0059,0063-0069,0072-0078).
While Andersson discloses initiating a cold start sequence based on a temperature (Par 0063,0074) to heat the engine where the exhaust throttle is controlled (Par 0072) in relation to pressure differences and the EGR is opened to reduce NOx emissions while preheating the engine (Par 0021-0022, 0026, 0058-0059,0063-0069,0072-0073), it does not expressly disclose:
A) receiving temperature information (TI) indicative of an ambient air temperature of the power system, and in response to determining that the TI indicates the ambient air temperature of the power system being equal to or below a threshold temperature,
B) controlling the throttle arrangement such that an exhaust gas counterpressure upstream the throttle arrangement is within a target exhaust gas counterpressure range (APexhaust),
C) and controlling the first exhaust gas recirculation path valve such that an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine is within a target nitrogen oxides amount range (ANOx,target).
A) Dudar discloses receiving temperature information (TI) indicative of an ambient air temperature of the power system, and in response to determining that the TI indicates the ambient air temperature of the power system being equal to or below a threshold temperature (Col 20, line 6-8,32-38) determines a cold start.
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a cold start by receiving temperature information (TI) indicative of an ambient air temperature of the power system, and in response to determining that the TI indicates the ambient air temperature of the power system being equal to or below a threshold temperature using the teachings of Dudar as this would have been a well known manner to determine a cold start of the system in the art where cold start procedures would be required and would work as a backup method of determining cold start in addition to determination of cold start by other means such as the exhaust temperature to avoid incorrectly starting the engine without cold start activation in low ambient temperature.
B) While Andersson does disclose controlling the throttles (411,412) to specific pressure ratios (Par 0072) it does not expressly disclose controlling the throttle arrangement such that an exhaust gas counterpressure upstream the throttle arrangement is within a target exhaust gas counterpressure range, where this is understood to be the pressure upstream of the throttle. However, Ulrey discloses controlling the throttle arrangement such that an exhaust gas counterpressure upstream the throttle arrangement is within a target exhaust gas counterpressure range (Col 8, Line 50-Col 9, Line 4).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have Andersson controlling the first exhaust gas recirculation path valve such that an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine is within a target nitrogen oxides amount range both to reach target pressure difference between the exhaust and the cooler as already desired (Par 0072) and to maximize the backpressure to flow exhaust from the first cylinder into the intake (Par 0072) but further in light of the teachings of Ulrey it would be obvious to control the backpressure to a range to maintain the safety of the system and prevent overpressurization and subsequent damage of the system by maintaining the pressure in a safe pressure range.
C) Gibble discloses controlling the exhaust gas recirculation path valve such that an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine is within a target nitrogen oxides amount range (ANOx,target) (Gibble: Col 3, Line 15-29; Col 4, Line 39-50).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Andersson to include controlling the exhaust gas recirculation path valve such that an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine is within a target nitrogen oxides amount range using the teachings of Gibble as the system of Andersson already seeks to reduce the NOx levels through both the first and second EGR use (Par 0072-0075), where it would be optimal to have it set to meet at least a specific range of NOx so as to avoid any pollutant levels that are outside of legal ranges while maintaining optimal engine running and heat up parameters during cold start.
As to claim 15, while Andersson discloses reducing NOx (Par 0073) it does not expressly discloses determining the amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine by determining an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases in a portion of the exhaust gas conduit assembly.
Ulrey discloses determining the amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine by determining an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases in a portion of the exhaust gas conduit assembly (Sensor 39).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the modified Andersson to include determining the amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases emitted from the internal combustion engine by determining an amount of nitrogen oxides in exhaust gases in a portion of the exhaust gas conduit assembly using the teachings of Ulrey so as to maintain the NOx in the desired range using an accurate form of measurement to facilitate any needed NOx correction.
As to claim 16, Andersson discloses the exhaust gas turbine comprises an exhaust gas turbine housing enclosing the turbine wheel (5), the throttle arrangement comprises a pre- turbine throttle arranged between the internal combustion engine and the exhaust gas turbine housing (411,412), as seen in a direction of flow from the internal combustion engine to the turbine wheel (Fig 2).
As to claim 17, Andersson discloses A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by processing circuitry of a computer system, the method of claim 2 (Andersson Claim 17).
As to claim 18, Andersson discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry of a computer system, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 2 (Par 0001).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746